Travel Travel to Japan V6, Discover Japan start here.

Tally33
post Apr 1 2015, 11:35 PM

106 posts

hey guys, i have read v5 n v6, so i will be travelling to tokyo 16/9-24/9. I will be arriving at around 12am, so i plan to stay at hotel nearby airport, next day straight buy hakone 2day pass and travel down to hakone+mt fuji, then after two days in Hakone, I will back to tokyo, stay nearby tsukiji market to see the fish auction then the next day move to shinjuku and travel around the city then spend one day in Disneysea.

Basically, its airport-->hakone-->tsukiji market-->shinjuku-->disneysea, so i need to move to 4 different hotels, i feel thats abit troublesome.
Can give some opinion or comment on this itinerary?
Tally33
post Apr 7 2015, 03:15 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Apr 2 2015, 01:27 AM)
1) hakone/fuji need to depart from Shinjuku station (Odakyu/RomanceCar)

2) highly recommended to buy fuji hakone pass 1day before u depart to hakone,
u need to BOOK ur bus Fuji->Shinjuku seat
i go during peak period... luckily i bought 1day earlier, else cant go

3) shinjuku to gora-hakone will cost u 4-5hours traveling time
recommend u to go b4 8am, i go around 10am... regret

4) hotel @japan checkout time is 10am

5) tsukiji auction, u need to register at kachidoki's gate(@kachidoki north bridge) before 4am
i saw a lot of Caucasian come with taxi at 4am sharp and got rejected... pity them... japan taxi $_$

6) tsukiji auction close on sunday and certain wednesday

7) recommended u plan ur itinerary using google maps... can get distance+time+train info
eg: disney is nearer to tsujiki, compared to shinjuku
Yea, i will make sure go at 6/7am and now i dont plan to stay overnight at hakone, so will only have 1 day trip to hakone, Im planning to buy Hakone Free Pass a+ 1 way romance car to Hakone, then From Hakone Take Odakyu Highway Express Bus back to Shinjuku. what do u think?

Tsukiji market i plan to go at 3am from shinjuku, take taxi, roughly how much is the taxi fares? should i ask the hotel book a taxi for me? Will be going on monday btw.

Suck at using google, but i did my homework d, roughly know where to go. Im staying at E hotel Higashi Shinjuku. Last question, may i know where in tokyo can rent kimono or yukata? just to take photos.

QUOTE(Alidavidsun @ Apr 2 2015, 11:22 AM)
I got a nice view of Mt Fuji at hakone but it was quite cloudy and can only manage to see the base from Kawaguchiko during the next day. The bus to 5th station was not available, only 4th station which is a car park which I didn't go. ( I was there on 1/4, I think it'll be available when you go since it's summer). Buses at hakone and Mt Fuji area end quite early, mostly no more buses by 7pm, so better plan on your return bus.
Thanks for the infor, is it everywhere in Hakone can capture the view of Mt Fuji? Since i only allocated one day there so i think the first thing i do is take picture with Mt Fuji when i arrived there. biggrin.gif
Tally33
post Apr 7 2015, 04:32 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Apr 7 2015, 03:27 PM)

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Apr 7 2015, 03:33 PM)
this mean u no longer going to Kawaguchiko?
Do u know that Hakone Free Pass is 2days?
Dont waste it

My personal experience Hakone very hard to see Mt Fuji, u need very good weather+luck
I think Gotemba is easier for mt fuji and there hv Premium Outlet.
Some ppl goto Gotemba to shop (tripadvisor)... and they skip Hakone

And it is time to learn google maps  cool2.gif
I think u better stay in Ginza/Tsukiji, good median point for South East of Tokyo
Shibuya oso a good place... for West of Tokyo

Most of the hotel give free Yukata when u stay there, especially the hotel with onsen
if u wan guarantee, u hv to book Japanese Style Room...
Western Style... sometime talak
actually my purpose to Hakone is for Mt Fuji, so according to this http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e5203.html, Hakone Free Pass can do that, I cant go Kawaguchiko at the same day? I mean i just drop by Owakudani and Gotemba as suggested by u masters, then straight go Kawaguchiko? is it ok? Sorry my homework still havent complete. Im aware of the pass is for 2 days, but this is budget trip (student budget only), so i dont plan to overnight there.

Btw, i already booked and paid 7 nights @ E Hotel, i find the place quite convenient, i hope its really like what they described there, one min from Higashi-Shinjuku Station. So, i plan to drink around tsukiji market which is suggested by someone here, until 3am then go queue for the auction. not so crazy i guess.

btw, my sis wants to go to Tokyo zoo, i dont see anyone here suggests to go zoo, is it not worth visiting?
Tally33
post Apr 9 2015, 04:02 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Apr 7 2015, 05:16 PM)
If you want going Lake Kawaguchiko, you need more expensive pass which is Fuji Hakone Pass. Not Hakone Free Pass. Both are diffrent thing.

Tokyo Zoo worth visit if you want. Most people will spent more time on shopping or going Nikko or Kamakura.  Tokyo Zoo will take half of day to visit.
thanks for the infor, btw the link you provided for renting the kimono set all in Japanese sad.gif mind giving other links? biggrin.gif thanks in advance first.

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Apr 8 2015, 09:42 AM)
U hv 2days oni??? pls consider my 2cents better
Mt Fuji in Hakone is not worth of it... u need chances
Owakudani is not worth of it... the view not nice, oni hv sulfer egg and ropeway
Gotemba is not worth of it if u r not shopping
Gora, Hakone need 4 to 5hours travelling time from Shinjuku, so not worth of it

U better off to Kawaguchiko 2 full days
1. Goto Kachi Kachi Ropeway for Lake+Fuji view
2. Goto Mt Fuji Subaru 5th Station, this is Mt Fuji itself. 1000% can see mt fujišŸ—»
3. Fuji Q Theme Park
4. 2hours travelling time from Shinjuku using express bus, train 3hours
5. Other, pls google urself...

___
Tsukiji Market, ppl start to queue at 1 or 2am
But I think the gate oni open 3:30am
When I go the time, 4am close... all rejected at the entrance
Actually i have one day to go outside Tokyo only, so since you mentioned Hakone not worth going, then i will go straight to Kawaguchiko for one day trip, thanks for the infor yah, you are working in Japan?

QUOTE(Alidavidsun @ Apr 9 2015, 03:26 PM)
I travelled to hakone and kawaguchiko in 2 days, spending a night at kawaguchiko. Since I only travel 1 way, I only purchased the Hakone Free Pass and surprisingly they allowed me to buy the discounted pass for 4000 yen in Shinjuku. Since I have JR pass, I took the shinkansen to Odawara and from there onwards use the free pass around Hakone and went to Gotemba. From Gotemba took a bus to Kawaguchiko station costing 1510yen. Explore around the lake on the next day and took the train back to Tokyo.
so if i want to go kawaguchiko only, i still have to purchase the Hakone Free Oass and the discounted pass? I dont plan to buy JR pass. Did you captured the beautiful view of Mt Fuji?

0.0390sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:03 AM