Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V12, TP inflation,400TP=RM1 starting 1 May 15

midnight_plue
post Feb 23 2015, 04:28 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Feb 23 2015, 03:42 PM)
feeling that mbb services are becoming more incompetent..

my statement date is on the 3rd of every month, called in on the 31st jan to request for a chg to the 28th of every month... the cust serv told me takes 7 working days, it will take effect this month - means statement will be on 3rd of february, followed by 28th of february..

called again just to double confirm, they tell me still yet to change.. next statement is 3rd of march, then 28th of march... 1 month still haven't change..

anyone can enlighten me on the standard procedure on how long will the change of statement date take effect? can't plan my expenses wisely if i don't even know when will the statement date take effect
that's pretty weird, mine change on the next statement cycle itself.

my initial statement date is on the 18th, i call in somewhere around Xmas time to request for change to 21st. told me the change will only be reflected in my Feb statement as it requires 30 days for activation. But to my surprise the new date was reflected in my January statement.

not sure if they change the SOP but mine was definitely very quick.
midnight_plue
post Mar 2 2015, 12:05 PM

283 posts

MBB keep blocking my AMEX card whenever I use it to make payment online, either via Paypal or by the card itself. Anything above ~USD35 is sure to get blocked, only those below went through.

it's really very troublesome needing to call MBB to unblock the Amex card each time so that payment can go through. Ugh......
midnight_plue
post Mar 2 2015, 12:55 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(kinabalu @ Mar 2 2015, 12:18 PM)
With the high amount of fraud case, I guess MBB have to be more stringent. Cant blame them. sad.gif
yup i understand it's for security purpose, but the trouble!!! i waited about 15 mins today to get the call go through.

midnight_plue
post Mar 2 2015, 02:49 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 2 2015, 01:06 PM)
AMEX's fraud cases are among the highest for all credit cards. MBB want to safeguard them self and you.
When fraud case happens, you need to lodge police report and all the hassle involved.
But, you can make instructions to MBB on all the potential purchases you are going to do and the duration can be 1 month max.
eh? really? because the CS told me I have to call in to unblock it whenever I have any transaction and got denied.

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Mar 2 2015, 02:19 PM)
which number did you call?
platinum number should't wait for so long..
i call the general hotline only LOL

QUOTE(firee818 @ Mar 2 2015, 02:34 PM)
What is the criteria for blocking the transaction?

Last week I used Amex to pay membership subscription- Pound Sterling 200+, but neither no blocking nor any enquiry from MBB staff,. Even there was no one time password sent to me.
not sure what is the criteria. I think it's random?

my amount not very big, maybe around USD100 or so, but sometimes it gets blocked sometimes it doesn't. But I notice amount that is small, say around USD30 and below normally goes through, anything more they block. At least for me that is.

midnight_plue
post Mar 4 2015, 10:41 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 4 2015, 12:28 AM)
Actually I noticed this PayPal issue doesn't seem to hit old cardholders. I have made so many PayPal transactions via my AmEx and not even once being denied.

However, if nothing happens I will receive my Plat card soon, so I might be hit with this issue. Let's see, since I will have to re-link my AmEx to PayPal again due to changes in credit card number.
wah so lucky leh, i kena hit almost every other time by AMEX. so annoying.

QUOTE(kyu85 @ Mar 4 2015, 12:48 AM)
to is even bigger ow now... sigh... only AMEX like tat or even the mastercard/visa oso like tat?
never had an issue with my visa/ master, only AMEX.

midnight_plue
post Mar 4 2015, 05:07 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Mar 4 2015, 10:57 AM)
i'm same with fruitie, no issues with amex on any usage; be it offline or online mode.

not sure if Maybank accepts permanent allowance (no blocking), provided explicit consent from you, of course.
QUOTE(herc @ Mar 4 2015, 03:13 PM)
I were blocked on first use, call maybank and ask them not to block any future payment to Paypal and no problem after that, for years. The risk in on you, anyway, dispute can be done from both paypal and maybank.
i called up Maybank earlier on this matter and they say they can't do it for security purposes. I have to call them up whenever my AMEX gets denied, then go through the process of unblocking and then make payment all over again.
midnight_plue
post Mar 4 2015, 06:58 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 4 2015, 06:37 PM)
You may call CS upfront on the payment you want to make. This is what I'm doing now.
I already have a Paypal account but no credit card attached to it. Before I do any purchase, I'll the AMEX in after I call the CS to unblock my card for a week and type of transaction and the amount involved. I need 1 week as I need the verification code that taking 1-3 days to posted and refund back to Paypal. Once my paypal account are fully "active", then I buy and pay.
Once done, I'll remove the card from paypal.
wow! i definitely can't do the link-unlink cc to paypal all the time as I buy my stuff online most of the time and going through paypal 70% of the time.

i may try again call maybank for the 1 week/ month duration for all AMEX payment going through paypal and see if that works out. if not, I'll just go through the manual way. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by midnight_plue: Mar 4 2015, 06:58 PM
midnight_plue
post Mar 6 2015, 11:54 AM

283 posts

if RM50 tax has been waived, will we be charged 6% GST on amount swipe each time we use the card? Since technically it's a service provided by the bank, end up if you swipe a lot won't be the 6% much more than the RM50 itself?
midnight_plue
post Mar 6 2015, 12:32 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Mar 6 2015, 11:57 AM)
The 6% GST will be charged on the annual fee instead of every transaction.
QUOTE(kinabalu @ Mar 6 2015, 12:00 PM)
Yeah 6% on annual fee and those merchant will include the 6% for whatever we spend.

double whammy.
annual fee? mbb2 cards don't have annual fee, so that's not included, unless t&c changed la.
merchant all will jack up price and include the 6% in their product sold/ service provided, it's happening now already >.<

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Mar 6 2015, 12:08 PM)
The 6% is charged for the merchant service/product, not for using the credit card itself as stated by midnight plue.
yup, any ideas if using the credit card itself got 6% charge per swipe? cuz what i know even IBG transfer 0.10cent will also incur 6% GST sweat.gif

This post has been edited by midnight_plue: Mar 6 2015, 12:33 PM
midnight_plue
post Mar 6 2015, 12:51 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Mar 6 2015, 12:36 PM)
Yes mbb2 don't have annual fee now. If they decided to add annual fee, i think it will only affect new comers (since t&c was no annual fee for life).

If got 6% extra charge per swipe for using credit card, no one will use credit card anymore.
ya that's true, but was just curious how they going to earn back the RM50 since now abolished d tongue.gif

QUOTE(victorywp @ Mar 6 2015, 12:35 PM)
no, on bank cc side, 6% only on fees/charges by the bank, not on your swipes.
oh thank you for the clarification! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by midnight_plue: Mar 6 2015, 12:53 PM
midnight_plue
post Mar 14 2015, 12:23 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Mar 14 2015, 08:16 AM)
If I am not mistaken, previously in Maybank2U, we cannot use AMEX to pay for Maxis bill.

So, I am not sure whether you all are aware of this finding. Apparently, we can now use AMEX to pay for Maxis bill, inside Maybank2U. I have not tested this feature yet.

[attachmentid=4371965]
yup confirm can make payment via Amex! woohoo! finally biggrin.gif
astro please have the same function too plz plz plzzzzzz
midnight_plue
post Mar 17 2015, 12:46 PM

283 posts

MBB visa now also getting similar effect like AMEX, i was buying some stuff on Ebay and paid via Paypal using Visa, but got denied twice. called up CS to check and say they regard Ebay as a "high risk site" hence the payment via visa didn't go through. need to ask them to manually "open" the card so I can make payment, just like how we have to do with AMEX.

so Ebay in MBB eyes in high risk site huh? most likely a lot of unauthorized activities/ disputes going on hence the trigger.

but weird thing is using MBB debit card to make payment no problem, go through immediately.
midnight_plue
post Mar 25 2015, 10:34 AM

283 posts

was at 1U Maybank centre, Aeon Big vouchers all habis d, but Aeon RM100 vouchers still available smile.gif i thought they used to have the RM50 Aeon vouchers?
midnight_plue
post Mar 25 2015, 11:08 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Mar 25 2015, 10:51 AM)

11000 TP for RM50 Sogo Voucher
awesome! just nice to redeem my balance TP biggrin.gif
and i got sogo points to redeemmmmm wahahahahaha
thanks for the heads up!
midnight_plue
post Mar 25 2015, 02:51 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Mar 25 2015, 12:44 PM)
biggest is RM20 now. i haven't seen RM50 or RM100 one piece voucher before...
it's in RM20 denomination smile.gif
i dun remember where i see the RM50 is available to redeem using TP
i got goldfish memory
sorry!

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 25 2015, 01:54 PM)
I'm the abnormal one then. laugh.gif
Every time try to make full use of my credit cards. laugh.gif
lol count me as another abnormal one, apply credit card/ member card must make full use mah, since now RM so shitty, need to stretch it as much as we can!
midnight_plue
post Mar 26 2015, 02:40 PM

283 posts

finally got my RM100 CB! rclxms.gif

0.0542sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:39 PM