Graduate entry MBBS

TSTrulySu
post Jan 18 2015, 02:43 PM, updated 11y ago

Hey there!
Was wondering is it hard to enter as a graduate for MBBS programme in Malaysia? Maybe thinking of applying to Australia too biggrin.gif
After doing loads of research, i've seen alot of ppl opt for graduate entry into medicine.
I'm actually planning to do biomed before medicine as i fail to meet the requirement for most unis sad.gif
and idw to do foundation again :l
Also, with a degree in biomed, i actually thought of maybe being a lecturer, furthering my studies in masters or even phd. (provided im no longer interested in med but ive a passion for med!)
I do am aware that with a biomed degree, my job prospects are quite narrow, more towards sale D:
Well, in your own opinion, can you guys give me some advice on whether i'm on the right path?
Thanks in advance smile.gif
mrleafeon
post Jan 18 2015, 04:46 PM

46 posts

for biomed, yes it s hard to enter graduate entry if u wanna study in australia, cause they need to take GAMSAT which is a 9-hour-test. That means if u have undergone ISAT, u will know that gamsat is more difficult than is at A LOT. so why don't u consider pharma? or as a lecturer teaching chem? but u still can specialise in research after bachelor of biomed.
BrachialPlexus
post Jan 18 2015, 06:24 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(TrulySu @ Jan 18 2015, 02:43 PM)
Hey there!
Was wondering is it hard to enter as a graduate for MBBS programme in Malaysia? Maybe thinking of applying to Australia too biggrin.gif
After doing loads of research, i've seen alot of ppl opt for graduate entry into medicine.
I'm actually planning to do biomed before medicine as i fail to meet the requirement for most unis sad.gif
Also, with a degree in biomed, i actually thought of maybe being a lecturer, furthering my studies in masters or even phd. (provided im no longer interested in med but ive a passion for med!)
I do am aware that with a biomed degree, my job prospects are quite narrow, more towards sale D:
Well, in your own opinion, can you guys give me some advice on whether i'm on the right path?
Getting into graduate-entry medical programs in Australia is slightly easier than undergraduate entry, although it's still no walk in the park. While applicant numbers for graduate-entry programs are smaller than undergraduate entry, most applicants will be of a higher calibre and maturity by virtue of work and educational experience. If you have the funds for it and are sure that you want to pursue medicine, I would encourage it. Many of my colleagues who failed to get into med school straight after high school but took up graduate-entry medicine are exceptional doctors, many of whom are better than my undergraduate compatriots.

Even if you eventually choose against medicine, having an undergraduate degree in biomed would open you to numerous postgraduate opportunities. While employment may not be as assured as other degrees, you could consider other health-related degrees like dentistry, pharmacy, physiotherapy or research degrees... all of which are sought-after in the workplace. It's just a longer process but since you're already seriously considering graduate-entry medicine, I don't think time is a barrier to you.
CyberSetan
post Jan 18 2015, 07:39 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(TrulySu @ Jan 18 2015, 02:43 PM)
Hey there!

In Malaysia.... there was a Graduate Entry medical program in collaboration with John Hopkins Uni.... but its no more already + added humiliation to our country.... (also it costs Rm1 million for tuition fee alone).

If you choose to do medical program in Malaysia, you will have to enter the 5 years normal medical program using your BSc. Biomed in one of our various IPTS that we have.

... or if you are unable to gain admission into UK/Australian graduate entry medical program...

You can opt for Poland.

My collegues have graduated from Warsaw Medical University's 4 years graduate entry medical program and currently serving as MOs.

http://2wl.wum.edu.pl/en/admissions-inform...-degree-program

Google it up.... or dig deeper into this sub forum...

Note - I am BSc.Biomed (Hons) + MBBS holder... currently a 'slave' in one of our major hospitals.

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Jan 18 2015, 10:04 PM
usesoap
post Jan 19 2015, 09:51 PM

139 posts

dont do medicine..
malaysia already have surplus of doctor..
that one if u intended to work here btw..
usesoap
post Jan 19 2015, 09:51 PM

139 posts

dont do medicine..
TSTrulySu
post Jan 19 2015, 09:52 PM

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jan 18 2015, 07:39 PM)
In Malaysia.... there was a Graduate Entry medical program in collaboration with John Hopkins Uni.... but its no more already + added humiliation to our country.... (also it costs Rm1 million for tuition fee alone).

If you choose to do medical program in Malaysia, you will have to enter the 5 years normal medical program using your BSc. Biomed in one of our various IPTS that we have.

... or if you are unable to gain admission into UK/Australian graduate entry medical program...

You can opt for Poland.

My collegues have graduated from Warsaw Medical University's 4 years graduate entry medical program and currently serving as MOs.

http://2wl.wum.edu.pl/en/admissions-inform...-degree-program

Google it up.... or dig deeper into this sub forum...

Note - I am BSc.Biomed (Hons) + MBBS holder... currently a 'slave' in one of our major hospitals.
Was wondering what made you took up biomed then medicine? Do you think it was worth the effort and hassle?
Was medicine your first choice?
But I've seen some medicine school like CUCMS and your previous uni, MSU, providing graduate entry med for around 4-4.5 years.
Also, may I know what did your other biomed friends did after graduation? biggrin.gif

TSTrulySu
post Jan 19 2015, 09:56 PM

QUOTE(mrleafeon @ Jan 18 2015, 04:46 PM)
for biomed, yes it s hard to enter graduate entry if u wanna study in australia, cause they need to take GAMSAT which is a 9-hour-test. That means if u have undergone ISAT, u will know that gamsat is more difficult than is at A LOT. so why don't u consider pharma? or as a lecturer teaching chem? but u still can specialise in research after bachelor of biomed.
I've never considered pharmacy in my life sweat.gif
Just really disliked that the job opportunities are really little and restricted cry.gif
Erm, is biomed more restricted towards research only? rclxub.gif
TSTrulySu
post Jan 19 2015, 10:06 PM

QUOTE(BrachialPlexus @ Jan 18 2015, 06:24 PM)
Getting into graduate-entry medical programs in Australia is slightly easier than undergraduate entry, although it's still no walk in the park. While applicant numbers for graduate-entry programs are smaller than undergraduate entry, most applicants will be of a higher calibre and maturity by virtue of work and educational experience. If you have the funds for it and are sure that you want to pursue medicine, I would encourage it. Many of my colleagues who failed to get into med school straight after high school but took up graduate-entry medicine are exceptional doctors, many of whom are better than my undergraduate compatriots.

Even if you eventually choose against medicine, having an undergraduate degree in biomed would open you to numerous postgraduate opportunities. While employment may not be as assured as other degrees, you could consider other health-related degrees like dentistry, pharmacy, physiotherapy or research degrees... all of which are sought-after in the workplace. It's just a longer process but since you're already seriously considering graduate-entry medicine, I don't think time is a barrier to you.
Time isn't a barrier!
But my parents are just really conserned about it cry.gif as it takes a really long time to get to where I want to be
I actually considered graduate entry as i do not want to retake foundation and it's actually quite a waste of time imo.
I assumed that you studied medicine yourself?
May I know where you studied? biggrin.gif
How long has it been?

TSTrulySu
post Jan 19 2015, 10:09 PM

QUOTE(usesoap @ Jan 19 2015, 09:51 PM)
dont do medicine..
Yes, I do know about that matter sad.gif
but hey! I have a passion in being one! tongue.gif
Intending to work here tho...
BrachialPlexus
post Jan 20 2015, 07:36 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(TrulySu @ Jan 19 2015, 10:06 PM)
Time isn't a barrier!
But my parents are just really conserned about it  cry.gif  as it takes a really long time to get to where I want to be
I actually considered graduate entry as i do not want to retake foundation and it's actually quite a waste of time imo.
How long has it been?
I see. Well if time/money is not a concern, go ahead. However, if you're planning to work in Malaysia eventually, I don't think there's a point going to Australia and spending that kind of money. You might as well skip biomed and go straight for a local undergraduate medical degree- it would save you about 2-3 years and close to a million ringgit compared to the postgraduate option.

Yea, I graduated from the University of Western Australia last year from its 6-year undergraduate program. Working in Australia now.
mrleafeon
post Jan 20 2015, 08:14 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(usesoap @ Jan 19 2015, 10:51 PM)
dont do medicine..
How about pharmacists in malaysia? Does malaysia have too many pharmacists?
How about working as a doctor in singapore?
limeuu
post Jan 20 2015, 11:14 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(mrleafeon @ Jan 20 2015, 08:14 PM)
How about pharmacists in malaysia? Does malaysia have too many pharmacists?
How about working as a doctor in singapore?
how was your foundation results at trinity, and what offers have you got?....
mrleafeon
post Jan 21 2015, 11:10 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 21 2015, 12:14 AM)
how was your foundation results at trinity, and what offers have you got?....
Hey there. Haha u still remember that i was a student in trinity. Thanks for ur concern. I got 96.
Now i have changed my plan. I plan to study medicine or pharma in imu and take up the twining programme in aus then plan to do my clinical housemanship in singapore. But the problrm is i wonder is it a risk do do practice in singapore if there are too many doctors there? And the competition is high? So I am considering between these two courses. If doctors are difficult to get in singapor, i may change to pharma.
Do u have any suggestion?
Thanks again.
CyberSetan
post Jan 21 2015, 11:18 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(TrulySu @ Jan 19 2015, 10:06 PM)
Time isn't a barrier!
But my parents are just really conserned about it  cry.gif  as it takes a really long time to get to where I want to be
How long has it been?
You don't need to take Foundation studies if you already have a Bachelors Degree.

However you will need to have at least the minimum CGPA requirement from your BSc. in order to gain admission into a medical program.

For a 4 years Graduate-Entry medical program you will need a minimum of CGPA 3.3 and for a 5 years normal medical program, a CGPA of 3.0 is needed.

See here:

http://mmc.gov.my/v1/docs/Min_Entry_Requir...d_30.7.2013.pdf

Do note that a Biomedical program runs around 3-4 years, by the final semesters you are expected to do your research/final year project prior to graduating...

if you manage to get into a Graduate entry medical program... it will be another 4 years.... so it will be 7-8 years before you can get a medical degree...

If you are determined to do medicine... the fastest way will be via the 1year 'Foundation' program (which I disapprove) then to medical degree program...

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Jan 21 2015, 11:32 AM
limeuu
post Jan 21 2015, 03:49 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(mrleafeon @ Jan 21 2015, 11:10 AM)
Hey there. Haha u still remember that i was a student in trinity. Thanks for ur concern. I got 96.
Now i have changed my plan. I plan to study medicine or pharma in imu and take up the twining programme in aus then plan to do my clinical housemanship in singapore. But the problrm is i wonder is it a risk do do practice in singapore if there are too many doctors there? And the competition is high? So I am considering between these two courses. If doctors are difficult to get in singapor, i may change to pharma.
Do u have any suggestion?
Thanks again.
exactly how does a score of 96 in trinity foundation translate into atar rank?....

there is no 'twinning' pharmacy programme with australia....

there are very few places left for matching to in australia.....most are to uk, so there is a high chance you will end up in uk or ireland.....

if you are a pr in australia, you CANNOT match to oz med schools....

there are too many specialists in singapore, but they are short of junior doctors.....this shortage will likely be reduced or gone in 5-6 years time....

mrleafeon
post Jan 21 2015, 06:20 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 21 2015, 04:49 PM)
exactly how does a score of 96 in trinity foundation translate into atar rank?....

there is no 'twinning' pharmacy programme with australia....

there are very few places left for matching to in australia.....most are to uk, so there is a high chance you will end up in uk or ireland.....

if you are a pr in australia, you CANNOT match to oz med schools....

there are too many specialists in singapore, but they are short of junior doctors.....this shortage will likely be reduced or gone in 5-6 years time....
Erm I am not sure but that score is aggregate.
Yes, for imu pharma, their partner uni is queensland uni.
I m not a pr in aus btw.
Thanks for ur opinion.
limeuu
post Feb 7 2015, 05:51 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(mrleafeon @ Jan 21 2015, 06:20 PM)

Yes, for imu pharma, their partner uni is queensland uni.

that is not 'twinning', but a credit transfer....ie there is no automatic transfer process unlike the pms and pds programmes and the strathclyde pharmacy programmes.....it will be a case by case credit transfer, and a bridging course is required....

incidentally, they have stopped advertising their 2+2 and 21/2+1 strathclyde programmes, so it looks like that will cease.....

0.0169sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:35 AM