Falling Oil Prices - Where it leaves Malaysia, Not too bad afterall
SUSsupersound
Feb 5 2015, 07:10 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 5 2015, 07:04 PM) i was about to say... oil price stagnant, oil price up, oil price down... rakyat gets f'ed overall as usual, nothing changes. but don't we already know...??  So what to fuss about? When oil price high, rakyat cry, government and related business laughs. Now is ok what all cry together
Hansel
Feb 5 2015, 07:27 PM
That is right - now all cry together, except for the ones who hav made thr mony and sittng pretty, riding over the current mess in a comfortable way.
AVFAN
Feb 5 2015, 07:38 PM
cry, laugh, shake head, whatever... really, it all converges on a single message so eloquently described by dreamer (pardon me for invoking u but pls see it as some recognition!) : are u ready for the finale? it may not be that far off, i fear... thanks for all input, thanks for participating in this thread!
nexona88
Feb 5 2015, 08:18 PM
QUOTE(supersound @ Feb 5 2015, 05:36 PM) The question now is, when oil price high and government's income are higher, do we get benefits from it? I'm not sure. Maybe subsidised essential item
SUSsupersound
Feb 5 2015, 08:21 PM
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 5 2015, 08:18 PM) I'm not sure. Maybe subsidised essential item  As said before, there's no such as government are subsidizing rakyat in the first place. Only rakyat subsidizing government to ensure CEOs getting millions every year. What type of essential items are subsidized by government? Rice? 15% stock can you get in all supermarkets? Nope, you can't. Sugar also cost higher.
nexona88
Feb 6 2015, 05:18 PM
nexona88
Feb 6 2015, 08:41 PM
Asian spot liquefied natural gas prices slipped to trade at a discount to European prices for the first time since 2011, as weak demand weighed, traders said on Friday. http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/g...11?type=Markets
Showtime747
Feb 7 2015, 01:01 PM
http://uk.reuters.com/article/2015/02/06/u...N0LA1PF20150206When the tiger is cornered, he will jump the wall A small nuclear bomb in neutral oil producing country, in disguise of terrorist attack, is good solution to artificially cause oil price to sky rocket and save Russia economy. Possible ?
SUSsupersound
Feb 7 2015, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Feb 7 2015, 01:01 PM) http://uk.reuters.com/article/2015/02/06/u...N0LA1PF20150206When the tiger is cornered, he will jump the wall A small nuclear bomb in neutral oil producing country, in disguise of terrorist attack, is good solution to artificially cause oil price to sky rocket and save Russia economy. Possible ? Why not? You need big scale war to flip the oil price But most of the people are coward now, talk more than do.
nexona88
Feb 8 2015, 10:58 PM
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Feb 7 2015, 01:01 PM) http://uk.reuters.com/article/2015/02/06/u...N0LA1PF20150206When the tiger is cornered, he will jump the wall A small nuclear bomb in neutral oil producing country, in disguise of terrorist attack, is good solution to artificially cause oil price to sky rocket and save Russia economy. Possible ? won't happen anytime soon.. saudi would produce more oil if really happen
nexona88
Feb 9 2015, 08:08 PM
Brent crude prices steadied near $58 a barrel on Monday, as falling U.S. oil rig counts and signs of healthy U.S. growth offset concerns over the strength of the Chinese economy
Hansel
Feb 9 2015, 10:02 PM
I realy wondered if the nos comng out from The USA are accurte. Wht about exports ? Is there realy a growng no of shipments being ordered by the Americns ?
nexona88
Feb 10 2015, 05:10 PM
Oil prices may come under more downward pressure before recovering later this year as ample supplies push inventories higher, perhaps towards record highs, the West's energy watchdog said on Tuesday. The International Energy Agency (IEA) said in its monthly report that supplies remained abundant and that it would take time for investment cuts to make more than a relatively small dent on production, keeping prices low. http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/m...ea?type=Markets
Kaka23
Feb 10 2015, 09:35 PM
Sigh... chinese tea also RM0.60 at some coffee shops
nexona88
Feb 11 2015, 01:05 PM
Brent crude held steady above $56 a barrel on Wednesday, and U.S. crude rose briefly more than $1, after a smaller than expected rise in U.S. crude stocks were viewed by some as a sign that a supply glut was starting to abate.
AVFAN
Feb 11 2015, 06:03 PM
oil prices weakening again after firming a few days. for the record... today usd1=rm3.60, again... oil usd50 going lower... msia is definitely "net oil exporter" - rm goes lower with lower oil price, every time! one sector getting hit partly by weak rm: QUOTE KUALA LUMPUR: Rising newsprint prices resulting from the weakening ringgit appear to be the least of the media sector’s problems as falling circulation and advertising expenditure (adex) threaten a shakeup in some listed press groups. - See more at: http://www.theantdaily.com/Main/Media-grou...h.hw5THeMc.dpuf This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 11 2015, 07:44 PM
nexona88
Feb 11 2015, 06:25 PM
Why rig cuts won't save oil: Goldman http://www.cnbc.com/id/102415200
dwin95
Feb 11 2015, 10:47 PM
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 11 2015, 06:25 PM) Why rig cuts won't save oil: Goldman http://www.cnbc.com/id/102415200Shouldnt Oil prices stabilize now? Highly doubt there'll be a second drop. Time to buy foreign oil stocks? This post has been edited by dwin95: Feb 11 2015, 10:53 PM
langstrasse
Feb 12 2015, 07:30 PM
On the long run this episode of low oil prices would be a good thing for Malaysia - because we'd be forced to not be so dependent on oil production as a country. This is a painful pill to swallow but the patient needs it badly. We need to diversify and develop other industries as well.
SUSsupersound
Feb 12 2015, 09:01 PM
QUOTE(langstrasse @ Feb 12 2015, 07:30 PM) On the long run this episode of low oil prices would be a good thing for Malaysia - because we'd be forced to not be so dependent on oil production as a country. This is a painful pill to swallow but the patient needs it badly. We need to diversify and develop other industries as well. Low oil price always good for most people