Falling Oil Prices - Where it leaves Malaysia, Not too bad afterall

SUSsupersound
post Mar 19 2015, 11:41 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(stanzai @ Mar 19 2015, 04:04 AM)
Nice little trending there. I have notice this thing. The US crude is always inverse proportional to our exchange rate.

However, if look closely always after the increase in US crude the next drop will still result in a higher rm/usd exhange rate against the previous one.

So just want to conclude MYR is weak regardless of the crude. It may have some effect but I would say not significant.
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 19 2015, 09:41 AM)
yes, i had the same question - is oil price still the driver for rm since msia is still deemed a net oil (or energy) exporter?

more likely, oil is still a factor but it's not all about oil anymore. fiscal deficit, debt, confidence appear to carry more weight.

yellen's statement last night drove the usd down by 3% against the euro, and oil prices up by 5%. this morning, rm gained 1% over usd. compared to sgd or thb, no significant change as these currencies also recovered about 1%.

now that the usd is back to more normal levels, we'll see how the rm fare from this point.

Mar 19 2015
usd46.13
I think I said this before doh.gif
Now I say it again, crude is crude, USD is USD, rm is rm.
All of them does not have any relation to each other.
Price/rate changing is because someone are speculating it.
SUSsupersound
post Mar 20 2015, 02:47 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(energy6 @ Mar 20 2015, 02:27 PM)
Do you mean the current low RM value is cause by mega rich Malaysian/companies moving out large portion of money to oversea account?
Yes, increasing debt is the only reason.
SUSsupersound
post Mar 26 2015, 12:01 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 25 2015, 05:11 PM)
Oil to reach $100 a barrel by end of 2016: US oil magnate T. Boone Pickens
http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...2016/?style=biz
Oil price will reach $150 by end 2019, TCSS by me whistling.gif
Just because is billionaire does not means can bullshitting around doh.gif

SUSsupersound
post Mar 26 2015, 11:34 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(stanzai @ Mar 26 2015, 02:54 AM)
Definitely no signs of OPEC cutting down the output though..WTI crude is narrowing the gap to only USD6.++ lowest I have ever seen so far since the crisis. The reduction of rig count did show some improvements in the states.
Saudi won't reduce output thumbup.gif
This is the fact.
SUSsupersound
post Mar 26 2015, 02:45 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 26 2015, 01:00 PM)
Brent crude oil prices shot up nearly 6 percent on Thursday after Saudi Arabia and its Gulf Arab allies began a military operation in Yemen, although Asian importers said they were not immediately worried about supply disruptions.

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/o...en?type=Markets
We need war thumbup.gif
But seriously, Yemen does not block the major sea road unlike Arabian Gulf areas. So buying from Saudi to far East won't really affected. More on speculation sweat.gif
SUSsupersound
post Mar 26 2015, 04:29 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 26 2015, 03:56 PM)
correct, it's more on speculation than supply disruptions  tongue.gif

some pipu needed to cari makan  laugh.gif
KSA cannot buy diamond liao, so need to speculate the bloody price doh.gif
SUSsupersound
post Mar 26 2015, 08:13 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Mar 26 2015, 07:35 PM)
that is not the issue, now by having saudi fully involved in this fight, this is just creating discontent among shiite population in middle east. they already have isis pushing their back at iraq and now saudi joining the fight againt the shiite rebel in yemen.
Don't worry, petroleum industry in Iraq are pro ISIS sweat.gif
So the production won't be affected. ISIS also knows that, if bomb that area, they will have nothing after they managed to take over total government control in Iraq.
So if you were to ask my opinion, it won't have much impact to the price.
SUSsupersound
post Mar 27 2015, 12:54 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(stanzai @ Mar 26 2015, 10:28 PM)
But the funny thing is of all the bombing campaign it only surge 6%. instead, just shutdown some wells la for god sake, preserve the mother earth la and cherish some precious life. icon_rolleyes.gif
If it can surge to 100USD by end of month may be, just may be a different story la whistling.gif
Nope, this is the thing KSA won't do as they will lose out the market share later on.
SUSsupersound
post Mar 27 2015, 02:09 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(stanzai @ Mar 27 2015, 01:01 AM)
Its just me being sarcastic, I know it will not happen, having them as the top producers, they will not reduce their production be it for their reputation or market share. They have already mention they can survive at the current bbl rate for another 6 to 7 years.
Personally i do really hate them as they are putting my job at stake.  vmad.gif
For me, in between US and KSA, I prefer US to lose on this battle(of flooding the oil market).
Remember, US with their QE for few times already making them going to broke, so the shale oil is their last bet.
SUSsupersound
post Mar 27 2015, 11:08 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(stanzai @ Mar 27 2015, 02:19 AM)
I think what is happening now is just purely newtons law action leads to reaction. OPEC is reacting to the excessive fracking/shale gas happening in the states which cost around USD60 to produce 1 barrel.

I am not sure what the future lies, is OPEC going to maintain 60USD to continue suppressing it or is it the end of conventional crude oil?

What do you think?
To produce shale oil, the fuel used, amount of waste gas(methane) generated will be a lot. So is not just cost of money, cost of creating more waste included.
The future lies to OPEC's hand now. But then OPEC are run by a bunch of alligators, so they may cut production to protect their interest. Still KSA refuse to do so, not much worry for this for the time being. We only need to worry if KSA come out with statement that they will reduce output. That will be nightmare to us.
US are waiting for this. And the price will shoot up to USD200 when this really happens.
SUSsupersound
post Mar 27 2015, 08:05 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Mar 27 2015, 07:58 PM)
USA is a net oil importer. They dont export oil due to the export ban even when there is excess lying around. low oil price is always good for USA. You need to differentiate between US shale oil producer interest and the country interest. In the long run USA is the one that benefit the most from suppressed oil price.
For consumer, low oil price always good.
But for government's stand point, it is no good.
That's why they tried to flood the market with their low margin oil. Sell cheap, gain more market then raise back the price. The difference will be their net margin drool.gif
Even the not so clever KSA also can see this. You think they are not hear sick because of low oil price? Across the Middle East, all are starting to cancel mega projects.
Not to mention smaller scale companies even started the retrenchment process.
SUSsupersound
post Mar 27 2015, 08:06 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 27 2015, 07:35 PM)
looks to me... in feb, crude price around usd50, rm hangs around 3.60.
mar, crude around 50, rm hangs around 3.70.
feel free to make yr own inference. smile.gif
will see what happens in apr, may...

date
crude price
rm/usd

Jan 29 2015
usd44.50
Feb 4 2015
usd52
Feb 11 2015
usd50
Feb 18 2015
usd54
Mar 4 2015
usd51
Mar 10 2015
usd49.60
Mar 18 2015
usd44.12
usd46.13
Mar 19 2015 7pm
usd45.34
Mar 27 2015 7pm
usd50.55
I predict rm3.75 for next month whistling.gif
But 1MDB's debt due on end of the month also, so may strike rm3.80 also doh.gif
SUSsupersound
post Mar 27 2015, 08:47 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Mar 27 2015, 08:12 PM)
you better check your facts on how much actually USA depends on oil . The updated economic data for USA,GDP is mainly contributed by the service sector , around 80% for USA. so like i said, check your facts before spurting around nonsensical information
My facts are simply and easy :
If oil contribution to KSA and US's GDP are low, why both of them die die want to flood the market and refuse to reduce production?
Or you are telling me that they want to do charities whistling.gif
US technically already long bankrupt while KSA is just another greedy businessman whistling.gif
So you reply more on telling they are doing charity shocking.gif
SUSsupersound
post Mar 27 2015, 09:08 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Mar 27 2015, 09:04 PM)
do you even read what i just wrote, like i said KSA is fully dependent on oil , but not US, this is based on published economic figures. maybe you can google check it out yourself.
You mean those published rubbish whistling.gif
I read those, it still can't deny the fact that US bankrupt already whistling.gif
Maybe you can show me the fact on why both of them refuse to reduce output, this will help clear the doubts.
But I doubt you able to show that laugh.gif
SUSsupersound
post Mar 27 2015, 09:31 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(stanzai @ Mar 27 2015, 09:18 PM)
the only reason OPEC and its cartel is doing this is to suppress the shale fracking and also to maintain its market share which I agree.
However, personally this would not be the long run solution, how long can they do it? 6 years? They are using their own profit/revenue as a bet now.
Also do you know how easy for this well pad in the States to go back online? With a flick on the switch.
I think OPEC should have a smarter plan than this.
People in Middle East? Come to 1 of those country and you will know how good they are sweat.gif
They are playing poker right now, see who surrender first.
Like oil price low, some are trying to keep them on ship tanker. but then it is risk also, like leaking to sea due to corrosion.
So is like you say, it won't last long.
OPEC knows that they can't lose out their market share to US, but they are not united going against their common enemy, US doh.gif
So, this is what happen now, people are getting jobless.

SUSsupersound
post Mar 27 2015, 10:08 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(stanzai @ Mar 27 2015, 09:51 PM)
Yup, that is exactly the scenarios. See who show hand 1st and who dare to follow.
But I only afraid 1 thing, for middle east ego first, rational second.  rclxub.gif
Yup saw mega oil tankers all over.
Why do you think US don't export crude oil? the main reason like you say try to be the market share leader some point in the future. no doubt US is smart.
so ya, just get ready ur popcorns.
For ME fellows, they already gain from the past, so they won't worry much.
But then now they are heart sick also, for every barrel sold, they are making much lesser profit.
Now US are keep on importing oil and at the same time exporting shale oil, this is to secure more market share.
And once they secured more market share, they will sell back the oil they imported with much higher price.
Like with average price they got was USD45, if they sell it out at USD200, how much they are making?
That's why some speculate the price will reach USD200 last time. Those speculators are paving the way for this.
But they never expect that KSA never get shaken by this icon_rolleyes.gif
So, this is it. Now what can really affect the price of oil is war and is started.

This post has been edited by supersound: Mar 27 2015, 10:09 PM
SUSsupersound
post Mar 28 2015, 01:25 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(stanzai @ Mar 27 2015, 10:45 PM)
Hmm, hate to say it but probably true.
However, they definitely need to launch a bigger scale in their offensive campaign. The attack on the tribes in Yemen did not seem any good. Its going back to starting point. Brent crude oil is USD57.69 as of now and showing bearish trend.
I think I said it before : Yemen is not situated at strategic location. If Yemen is located like Singapore, today the price will touch USD70 shocking.gif

QUOTE(stanzai @ Mar 27 2015, 10:55 PM)
In fact Shell and some major O&G operator have this idea beginning of this year and started booking them. This vessels are set to sail around the sea.

S.O.S: http://uk.reuters.com/article/2015/01/08/o...N0UN0UO20150108

I dont think storage of crude is an issue. Building tank farms or hiring tankers can solve it. The main issue is for them to overcome the "demand" i guess. biggrin.gif
Building a storage tank take 1-2 years.
They will use tanker instead, cheaper but then the question is, how much more they can continue store the oil?
SUSsupersound
post Mar 28 2015, 01:34 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 27 2015, 10:29 PM)
this aspect is interesting.

any idea how much storage is available there - still plenty, almost full...?

saudi is said to be sitting pretty on usd700 billion reserves, surely can last a long fight.

but do they have the space to store for say, another 6 months?

unchartered territory - will anyone just dump anywhere or burn if n when the "overflow" situation arrives? hmm.gif
Both are in pain already, just don't want to show.
As now reaching spring in most countries, demand for fuel will be lesser.
So, it will be very fast to see the effect.
SUSsupersound
post Mar 28 2015, 11:10 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Mar 28 2015, 07:47 AM)
So if we do not depend on official published figures, then i guess we have to depend on your wild guess then
Nope, I'm considering current economy, politics, securities as a whole.
Is not wild guess but logical thinking.
Why they need to publish rubbish? It is for misleading people.
No doubt US can print money, but they still need to clear the debts.
Is like us, 2 years back Jib Gor says we will not breach 52% debt over GDP, then suddenly it is increased to 55%
SUSsupersound
post Mar 28 2015, 07:40 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(stanzai @ Mar 27 2015, 09:18 PM)
the only reason OPEC and its cartel is doing this is to suppress the shale fracking and also to maintain its market share which I agree.
However, personally this would not be the long run solution, how long can they do it? 6 years? They are using their own profit/revenue as a bet now.
Also do you know how easy for this well pad in the States to go back online? With a flick on the switch.
I think OPEC should have a smarter plan than this.
http://www.forbes.com/sites/christopherhel...-gas-companies/
In response for your query, it is until June only.
Get your red wine, popcorn ready thumbup.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0316sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:31 AM