The Rolex / Tudor Watches Club V1, Is time to have this now?

vans1088
post Feb 26 2016, 10:30 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(prs516 @ Feb 26 2016, 08:08 AM)
I'm thinking of selling my 6 months old Tudor Black Bay Blue. What price range should i expect? Condition near mint.
PM your expected price. thanks
vans1088
post May 18 2021, 01:08 PM

93 posts

I'm at a weird phase now. Have been eyeing a BB58 from 2018 and finally managed to acquire one earlier this year. However, now it feels a bit "meh"

Anyone else have similar experiences ?
vans1088
post May 18 2021, 04:45 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(infiniti123 @ May 18 2021, 01:52 PM)
was the bb58 a watch to scratch your itch due to 'ah dam submariners and rolexes are not obtainable' ?

I personally feel the bb58 is a very lowkey and subtle watch without a WOW factor. But its one of my favourite watches and i daily wear it 80% of the time due to its size and looks. it cant scratch your itch for a rolex for sure.
QUOTE(Chinoz @ May 18 2021, 03:52 PM)
Agree with this sentiment.

On its own, it's a great watch for the price you're paying - but it is not a Submariner.

I compared it against my 5-digit Sub and definitely felt something was missing with the Tudor.
Funny thing is I've never been a fan of submariners. I've always swayed more towards the Explorer & DJ line. I just wanted to add a diver to the collection but now it seems like may be divers aren't my thing doh.gif

This post has been edited by vans1088: May 18 2021, 04:48 PM
vans1088
post May 19 2021, 09:01 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ May 18 2021, 10:50 PM)
I believe it’s because you bought the BB58 as a placeholder for the Sub?

If you want a Submariner. Get the submariner. Go grey if you are impatient but get the sub.

Nothing is going to scratch that itch if your mind is already set on a certain watch.

When I buy the alternative which is cheaper/more obtainable/affordable instead of the watch I really wanted, it just doesn’t feel the same. I ended up selling the placeholder and get the watch I want in the first place.
Well that's the thing - I've never been a fan of the Sub lol. The BB58 is a great watch and I thought it can be the only diver in my collection. But 3 months on, I still can't seem to appreciate the watch. Like someone mentioned above, this is just user problem doh.gif doh.gif
vans1088
post May 19 2021, 09:07 AM

93 posts

I still remember the time I got my Omega Speedmaster Reduced. It felt like my one of my greatest accomplishments. Just loved looking at the watch. Even up to now, 3.5 years on I still feel that spark every time I put it on. Omega purists might argue about the quality and relevance of the watch but I would never trade that piece for anything smile.gif
vans1088
post May 19 2021, 01:44 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(infiniti123 @ May 19 2021, 12:21 PM)
The speedmaster reduced in one amazing watch! i think to look for a diver in your collection, you need to go every higher, to the range of a 41mm submariner or maybe a sport-style design like the gmt master.

From our conversation, i feel you'll be one suited to a 41mm Datejust !  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Oh yes, love the DJ however I'm part of the "itty bitty wrist community" tongue.gif so I don't venture towards anything more than 40mm. A DJ in 36mm format would be perfect but the exorbitant asking prices is really turning me away at the moment. I'll probably wait a little longer for that
vans1088
post May 19 2021, 01:45 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ May 19 2021, 12:42 PM)
I am a huge fan of divers and have 4 in my collection at the moment.

I can tell you that for divers, you get what you paid for.

And the Submariner is basically the perfect GADA diver watch there is out there. On the fly bracelet length adjustment, great water resistant, and scratch resistant ceramic bezel + sapphire glass makes this a great everyday watch. 

You need a tough watch as your first diver. An aluminum bezel ain’t gonna cut it as it is easily scratched.
Nice.. I definitely see and understand the appeal of Rolex divers but just no sure if it's for me. Are all your divers from Rolex ?
vans1088
post May 20 2021, 10:02 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ May 19 2021, 02:02 PM)
No lah. That would be overkill. I love Rolexes but not that much. I tend not to collect the same look so if I already have a submariner, I will avoid GMT and Yachtmaster due to the same DNA.

Currently, I have a Longines Legend Diver, Omega Seamaster Professional GMT, Rolex Submariner Date and Audemars Piguet Royal Oak Offshore Diver as my dive watches. 2 internal timing bezel operated by a crown and 2 unidirectional bezel.
Ah yes compressors - lovely watches. LLD and the Polaris are brilliant in my opinion. What's your take on GO SeaQ ?

0.1403sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:47 PM