Headphones STAX Electrostatic Earspeaker, Founder of Electrostatic Headphone

E1 - AKG
post Dec 6 2016, 10:23 AM

Your personal audio store!
6,439 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Dec 6 2016, 12:53 AM)
This system need DAC right? Is the SRS-3170 worth to buy ah? There are many models, so if sound leakage that means cannot be used in office or open environment..Anybody got a price list?
The SRS-3170 has been replaced by the new SRS-3100 (RRP MYR3198) instead brows.gif
wim1983
post Dec 6 2016, 09:38 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Dec 6 2016, 11:23 AM)
The SRS-3170 has been replaced by the new SRS-3100 (RRP MYR3198) instead  brows.gif
wow, that's pretty much a price, hmm...
E1 - AKG
post Dec 6 2016, 09:50 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Dec 6 2016, 09:38 PM)
wow, that's pretty much a price, hmm...
any reputable mid-tier headphones is already above this price point without an amp while the SRS is a complete (earspeakers + driver) system brows.gif
wim1983
post Dec 7 2016, 08:43 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Dec 6 2016, 10:50 PM)
any reputable mid-tier headphones is already above this price point without an amp while the SRS is a complete (earspeakers + driver) system  brows.gif
Too bad, the system is not complete, no DAC included blush.gif
E1 - AKG
post Dec 8 2016, 09:24 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Dec 7 2016, 08:43 AM)
Too bad, the system is not complete, no DAC included blush.gif
still it is much cheaper for the performance compared with headphones costing much more hmm.gif
wim1983
post Dec 9 2016, 02:06 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Dec 8 2016, 10:24 PM)
still it is much cheaper for the performance compared with headphones costing much more  hmm.gif
Is demo available for these STAX headphones at anywhere? notworthy.gif
Edifier
post Dec 9 2016, 09:44 PM

Store Representative
8,536 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Dec 9 2016, 02:06 AM)
Our demo at Star Pickers now, you can test it there.
E1 - AKG
post Dec 9 2016, 11:43 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Dec 9 2016, 02:06 AM)
Demo can be arranged just for you at E1 - Sg Wang Plaza. PM for date and timing devil.gif
wim1983
post Dec 10 2016, 02:04 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(Edifier @ Dec 9 2016, 10:44 PM)
Our demo at Star Pickers now, you can test it there.
QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Dec 10 2016, 12:43 AM)
Demo can be arranged just for you at E1 - Sg Wang Plaza.  PM for date and timing  devil.gif
Ok, I'll bring cash and demo if ready, thanks laugh.gif

This post has been edited by wim1983: Dec 10 2016, 02:05 PM
Quazacolt
post Dec 10 2016, 03:28 PM

Riding couple
5,216 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Dec 10 2016, 02:04 PM)
Ok, I'll bring cash and demo if ready, thanks laugh.gif
Credit card on the spot la tongue.gif

wim1983
post Dec 10 2016, 03:39 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 10 2016, 04:28 PM)
Credit card on the spot la tongue.gif
I'm well aware these headphones price can range from few k to few 10k, haha, want me bankrupt meh brows.gif
Quazacolt
post Dec 10 2016, 05:00 PM

Riding couple
5,216 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Dec 10 2016, 03:39 PM)
I'm well aware these headphones price can range from few k to few 10k, haha, want me bankrupt meh brows.gif
Stax is very well worth it whistling.gif
echineko
post Dec 10 2016, 06:31 PM

762 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 10 2016, 05:00 PM)
Stax is very well worth it whistling.gif
Stax Uber Alles biggrin.gif
Edifier
post Mar 30 2017, 01:22 PM

Store Representative
8,536 posts

When it comes to the sound, the SR-009s are supreme beings, they have the classic Stax sound but everything is so crisp and balanced. The soundstage goes for miles and the highs are vividly clear. These earspeakers a extremely spacious, it really does feel like the whole room is filled with sound. They make you feel very small, something that is very difficult to achieve with headphones.

http://adairacoustic.tumblr.com/post/68477...tax-range-part2

Edifier
post Apr 21 2017, 08:33 PM

Store Representative
8,536 posts

After one long evening under the spell of the Stax system, we went off to hear a prototype of Sennheiser’s new HE 1, replacement for the Orpheus headphones, thinking they would have quite a job to sound better. The HE 1s were perhaps softer-sounding, while still achieving the same revelations, but really, the HE 1s are likely to retail around $75,000, and the Stax were delivering similar levels of pleasure. Their open leakage makes them useless in a shared room, of course (unless you plug a second pair into the driver). That aside, if you’re after a top-level headphone (or earspeaker, sorry), then you simply can’t NOT audition Stax. We’d recommend taking a nice long playlist with you. Maybe stay the night.

http://www.avhub.com.au/product-reviews/so...s-review-415834

This post has been edited by Edifier: Apr 21 2017, 08:35 PM

Edifier
post May 10 2017, 09:33 PM

Store Representative
8,536 posts

On this episode of Head-Fi TV, we'll be taking a look at some pretty big news in the world of Head-Fi, ESPECIALLY if you're an electrostatic headphone enthusiast. Today, Stax Japan is going to unveil their Stax SRM-T8000 Vacuum Tube Input, Driver Unit For Earspeakers -- a hybrid tube/solid state electrostatic amp which is the first true flagship electrostatic headphone amplifier from STAX since 1994.

Edifier
post Jun 5 2017, 09:12 PM

Store Representative
8,536 posts

"The first thing you notice when you listen to Stax earspeakers is the space they give, the Stax sound is an airy and musical sound. It kind of feels like the band is dangling on strings beside your ears." Adairacoustic

http://www.totallywired.co.nz/stax.html

Edifier
post Jun 21 2017, 04:51 PM

Store Representative
8,536 posts

Vintage Stax Headphone Measurements and Comments

https://www.innerfidelity.com/content/vinta...ts-and-comments

E1 - AKG
post Jul 8 2017, 11:08 PM

6,439 posts

THE holy grail of tube amplifier for the flagship SR-009 devil.gif

Edifier
post Jul 10 2017, 08:36 PM

Store Representative
8,536 posts

During my stay in Kawasaki, Japan, I discovered a treasure cove of headphones near my hotel. I've been in the headphone game for 5 years now, but this was my first encounter with STAX products. Many have sung praises for STAX's Earspeakers, but did they live up to these expectations? (Spoiler: Yes yes, and then some.)

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 05:11 AM