Planted Aquarium V14

EternalC
post Jan 22 2016, 08:09 AM

Take what you can, give nothing back
845 posts

QUOTE(applebee @ Jan 21 2016, 11:06 PM)
what shrimp is this? I think it came with the Riccia i found in a small stream. It was smaller than the Cherry when I first saw it in my tank 3 months ago. Now it is about 2-3 inches.

Worst thing is my moss getting lesser and lesser. Shall I throw it away?
macam crayfish lol

you might wanna get it out of your tank if you have smaller shrimp in there
mkcmeng
post Jan 22 2016, 10:57 AM

15 posts

reminds me of my days with my late dad who brought me into oil palm estate somewhere between mambau and port dickson to catch harlequins in a small cool stream. now that area is gone because of development. mowed down into a flat land area. once we his friend's drove us with a small jeep into an oil palm estate which is now KLIA to catch pencil fish. also now all gone. LCCT, KLIA2, KLIA. used to get freshwater eels, crabs etc there.
artsyfarty
post Jan 22 2016, 11:52 AM

125 posts

That brought back my childhood memories, gone are those days my friend.
davido
post Jan 23 2016, 06:49 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Jan 22 2016, 11:52 AM)
That brought back my childhood memories, gone are those days my friend.
Well you still can relive your childhood memories tongue.gif At FRIM, I caught a couple of long clawed shrimps, and put them in my tank. They were about 1.5 inches long. Also caught cherries but it may not be appropriate to publish the location here. There also another very interesting local fish - the Boraras Maculata that is native to our land, but I don't know where to catch them. Would really be interesting if there's a chance to catch some worthwhile shrimps or fishes.

mkcmeng
post Jan 24 2016, 09:02 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(davido @ Jan 23 2016, 06:49 PM)
Well you still can relive your childhood memories tongue.gif At FRIM, I caught a couple of long clawed shrimps, and put them in my tank. They were about 1.5 inches long. Also caught cherries but it may not be appropriate to publish the location here. There also another very interesting local fish - the Boraras Maculata that is native to our land, but I don't know where to catch them. Would really be interesting if there's a chance to catch some worthwhile shrimps or fishes.
By cherries do u mean cherry barb?
WaSzupDupe
post Jan 24 2016, 09:34 PM

Hi guys, beginner here. Just bought my first tank last week and now i want to try my first aquascaping tank. What are the equipment i need? Do i still need a filter? How about Co2, do i need them? Thanks
Bigboyz
post Jan 25 2016, 12:12 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(WaSzupDupe @ Jan 24 2016, 09:34 PM)
Hi guys, beginner here. Just bought my first tank last week and now i want to try my first aquascaping tank. What are the equipment i need? Do i still need a filter? How about Co2, do i need them? Thanks
Please read first page then post your questions.
LuQEE
post Jan 25 2016, 12:38 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(applebee @ Jan 21 2016, 11:06 PM)
what shrimp is this? I think it came with the Riccia i found in a small stream. It was smaller than the Cherry when I first saw it in my tank 3 months ago. Now it is about 2-3 inches.

Worst thing is my moss getting lesser and lesser. Shall I throw it away?
looks like cherax, not planted tank and community tank friendly.
if it cherax/common yabby, i recommend you to dump it to another tank,
give it away to other fish hobbyist or lfs or feed it to your other fishes.
Just dont release it back to our river. They are invasive species.

jctasoga
post Jan 25 2016, 08:25 AM

179 posts

@applebee : i got that in my planted tank once. long story short, it does not harm other smaller sized fishes or ghost shrimps but it remodeled my layout.

likes to dig holes and go "underground".

recommend u ditch it asap. they can get quite big.
davido
post Jan 25 2016, 02:09 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(mkcmeng @ Jan 24 2016, 09:02 PM)
By cherries do u mean cherry barb?
Not cherry barb. Cherry shrimps.
artsyfarty
post Jan 25 2016, 02:13 PM

125 posts

Speaking of Cherry shrimps, just spotted a female RCS holding eggs under its belly yesterday night, they are populating in my planted tank rclxms.gif
davido
post Jan 26 2016, 09:56 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Jan 25 2016, 02:13 PM)
Speaking of Cherry shrimps, just spotted a female RCS holding eggs under its belly yesterday night, they are populating in my planted tank  rclxms.gif
Congrats. That's a nice feeling isn't it? rclxms.gif
artsyfarty
post Jan 26 2016, 11:05 PM

125 posts

yeah man, hopefully it will hatch!

@davido, what plants do you have in your tank?

This post has been edited by artsyfarty: Jan 26 2016, 11:06 PM
davido
post Jan 27 2016, 09:22 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Jan 26 2016, 11:05 PM)
yeah man, hopefully it will hatch!

@davido, what plants do you have in your tank?
No reason why it won't hatch, but it will be a few weeks before you see the first fry. They are cute as anything when you first see them. smile.gif

I have Eleocharis sp mini, rotala red vietnam, christmas moss, monte carlo, 2 types of buce, mini fissidens and one more plant I don't what it is.

This grew by itself when it hitched a ride with my monte. I quite liked it, so I let it grow. Any idea what plant is it?

usmanjailani
post Jan 27 2016, 11:24 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(davido @ Jan 27 2016, 09:22 AM)
No reason why it won't hatch, but it will be a few weeks before you see the first fry. They are cute as anything when you first see them. smile.gif

I have Eleocharis sp mini, rotala red vietnam, christmas moss, monte carlo, 2 types of buce, mini fissidens and one more plant I don't what it is.

This grew by itself when it hitched a ride with my monte. I quite liked it, so I let it grow. Any idea what plant is it?
nice hitch plant!..

btw..do you use CO2?
davido
post Jan 27 2016, 01:08 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(usmanjailani @ Jan 27 2016, 11:24 AM)
nice hitch plant!..

btw..do you use CO2?
Yes usman, I use CO2.
I remember you used to find some interesting plants at the sungai. How did they work out?

fookie
post Jan 27 2016, 01:45 PM

What?
622 posts

Free java fern XL size for collection. Just trimmed my office tank 15 mins ago.

artsyfarty
post Jan 27 2016, 01:52 PM

125 posts

No ideas what plant is that. Do you find buce hard to grow? Thinking of getting one, pretty pricey though.
kimimaro_kun
post Jan 27 2016, 02:20 PM

I Am Whatever You Say I Am
669 posts

ah pek plant is it?
usmanjailani
post Jan 27 2016, 03:52 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(davido @ Jan 27 2016, 01:08 PM)
Yes usman, I use CO2.
I remember you used to find some interesting plants at the sungai. How did they work out?
its not entirely sungai..just some stream between waterfall..it going well..from 3 leaves to maybe around 8 or maybe 9..even new sprout coming out before..

the growth is not that significant..maybe because i put it in between pack of vallis..later i try take some pic..

214 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:41 AM