QUOTE(Clueless07 @ Dec 10 2020, 10:34 AM)
hey you are back visiting us.
you do shrimp too?
i am doing shrimp too.... yes got mixture of solid red and transparent.
so the only way is to do culling? like that cruel leh
at which stage do we cull? juvenile? would it be obvious by then?
most shrimp don't show apparent colour during juvenile 9 weeks after born
if you want to do culling its best to do after week 10
or 1.2cm length
if you are talking about neocaridina, if you are breeding for the colour you have to do it
because at the end they will turn transparent, usually the males are less colourful
like cherry shrimp the males are usually dotted / line red instead of full red
and usually mixing different neocaridina will result in brown shrimps
if you are talking about caridina, if you are breeding for the pattern you have to do it
because at the end they will turn to a solid colour without pattern
what i have been told is
neocaridina shrimp are transparent brown in natural selective breeding causes the change of colour
so if somehow transparent strain appear its going to dominate and turn everything back to normal
for caridina originally is solid colour, selective breeding bring out the patterns...
based on my experience
well if you get expensive breed the gene is more stable and it will take more generations for it to turn back to normal if you don't do culling
there a misconception that bad water parameter will make your shrimps colour or pattern turn bad,
but the real cause is the gene, high quality ones have too much abnormalities and weak, so they die or fail to breed
left the low quality which its gene is normal, strong and able to adapt to the environment, so they fail to die and breed like crazy
for me i don't do culling its too much works
if the quality turn bad, i just kill them all and buy new ones