Planted Aquarium V14

vincent75
post Apr 21 2017, 03:01 PM

QUOTE(Vio @ Apr 21 2017, 02:10 PM)
hey guys whats the estimated cost to refill say a 2l/3l co2 tank
RM30+, usually lfs won't fill in full tank.
mujinkun
post Apr 21 2017, 03:47 PM

815 posts

QUOTE(vandechrome @ Apr 21 2017, 02:24 PM)
GH and KH?
GH and KH not been monitor (no test kit at the moment).

Any advise?
vandechrome
post Apr 21 2017, 03:53 PM

^^^^^^^
4,016 posts

QUOTE(mujinkun @ Apr 21 2017, 03:47 PM)
GH and KH not been monitor (no test kit at the moment).

Any advise?
i am not sure about this as all parameter seem pretty good for amanos.

you might want to consider :

1) lowering a bit your ph. there is possibility that the amanos had been kept in lower ph tank at lfs before.
2) check the ph from lfs and compare with yours prior purchasing them.
3) try with RCS first - see how, although both require different parameter, at least can give some idea what to do next.
4) buy GH and TDS test kit.

oh, just realized, you've upgraded your tank, with old soil or new?

This post has been edited by vandechrome: Apr 21 2017, 03:55 PM
mujinkun
post Apr 21 2017, 03:58 PM

815 posts

QUOTE(vandechrome @ Apr 21 2017, 03:53 PM)
i am not sure about this as all parameter seem pretty good for amanos.

you might want to consider :

1) lowering a bit your ph. there is possibility that the amanos had been kept in lower ph tank at lfs before.
2) check the ph from lfs and compare with yours prior purchasing them.
3) try with RCS first - see how, although both require different parameter, at least can give some idea what to do next.
4) buy GH and TDS test kit.

oh, just realized, you've upgraded your tank, with old soil or new?
New soil.

Next week I try to purchase an army of RCS. Might be a good starting point .

vandechrome
post Apr 21 2017, 04:14 PM

^^^^^^^
4,016 posts

QUOTE(mujinkun @ Apr 21 2017, 03:58 PM)
New soil.

it's kinda weird new soil can give 0 NH3 reading in 1 month.

this is based on my experience, if you are using amazonia, please at least let the tank mature for 3 months, before adding invertebrates
EternalC
post Apr 21 2017, 04:17 PM

Take what you can, give nothing back
845 posts

New soil.

hehehe

new soil

got cycle the tank or not

mujinkun
post Apr 21 2017, 04:24 PM

815 posts

QUOTE(vandechrome @ Apr 21 2017, 04:14 PM)
it's kinda weird new soil can give 0 NH3 reading in 1 month.

this is based on my experience, if you are using amazonia, please at least let the tank mature for 3 months, before adding invertebrates
I think my tank still have the ammonia, only that the yellow green quite difficult to distinguish.

Yesterday measurement:

Ammonia 0.25ppm
Nitrite 0.25ppm
Nitrate 20ppm

The parameter is up and down seem like not fully cycle yet.
Vio
post Apr 21 2017, 04:32 PM

828 posts

QUOTE(vincent75 @ Apr 21 2017, 03:01 PM)
RM30+, usually lfs won't fill in full tank.
Why is that? Also will the Co2 where ppl refill their fire extinguisher work?
kurangak
post Apr 21 2017, 10:34 PM

certified /k addict
1,154 posts

New soil.

its definitely the new soil. it might still leaching ammonia n nitrite to ur water, thats why ur shrimp population got wiped out
davido
post Apr 22 2017, 12:41 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(mujinkun @ Apr 21 2017, 04:24 PM)
I think my tank still have the ammonia, only that the yellow green quite difficult to distinguish.

Yesterday measurement:

Ammonia 0.25ppm
Nitrite 0.25ppm
Nitrate 20ppm

The parameter is up and down seem like not fully cycle yet.
Your tank is not cycled. Don't add an army of Cherries because its just throwing money away.
Yamatos are the hardiest shrimp - it have nothing to do with GH/KH or PH from the LFS to your tank as they will adapt. But they are prone to Excel - if you're double dosing for algae control, then better not.
Cycle your tank at least 1 month and ensure you have enough bio-media in your filter. If you've done that, you still might have 1 or 2 odd deaths in the beginning due to new tank syndrome. But the phase will pass once your tank is established/stabilized.

terrie
post Apr 22 2017, 01:40 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ Apr 21 2017, 04:32 PM)
Why is that? Also will the Co2 where ppl refill their fire extinguisher work?
I top up my co2 at gas factories but I've read somewhere that you can also top up at fire extinguisher refilling shops. Do you know a place? How much do they charge? Just curious smile.gif

Off topic, anyone interested in trading plants? Kinda looking for reineckii.
mujinkun
post Apr 22 2017, 04:13 PM

815 posts

QUOTE(davido @ Apr 22 2017, 12:41 PM)
Your tank is not cycled. Don't add an army of Cherries because its just throwing money away.
Yamatos are the hardiest shrimp - it have nothing to do with GH/KH or PH from the LFS to your tank as they will adapt. But they are prone to Excel - if you're double dosing for algae control, then better not.
Cycle your tank at least 1 month and ensure you have enough bio-media in your filter. If you've done that, you still might have 1 or 2 odd deaths in the beginning due to new tank syndrome. But the phase will pass once your tank is established/stabilized.
Noted.
I thought by using my old canister filter from previous 10G tank is suffice to speed up the cycle. And no wonder the tank Parameter up and down.
I will wait until end of this month with twice a week water change.
Oh, and my Ottos left to 1 today from 6 (transfered from old tank)... will closely monitor its. 3 Zebrafish fish died also within a month.
mygamingportal
post Apr 22 2017, 07:44 PM

hi, any sifu here know what is this? looks like insects or snails... scared it will ruin my plant so i contained it inside my breeding tank...

kurangak
post Apr 22 2017, 07:51 PM

certified /k addict
1,154 posts

QUOTE(mygamingportal @ Apr 22 2017, 07:44 PM)
hi, any sifu here know what is this? looks like insects or snails... scared it will ruin my plant so i contained it inside my breeding tank...

looks like baby apple snail, but im not sure
terrie
post Apr 23 2017, 08:18 PM

297 posts

More like pond snail. It must have hitch hiked onto plants or used substrate. Remove it ASAP, it should be harmless to plants, but kinda ugly once it dominate your tank.
artsyfarty
post Apr 23 2017, 08:21 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Apr 22 2017, 07:51 PM)
looks like baby apple snail, but im not sure
Pond snail. Just as Terria said, remove it as soon as possible. Even if it's Apple snails, it's something you should consider to keep or not, they breed like crazy.
mygamingportal
post Apr 23 2017, 09:40 PM

ok, thks for the info guys... gonna redo my tank anyways... hard for me to dispose it coz it now looks cute more like a ladybird... lol...
artsyfarty
post Apr 24 2017, 08:45 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(mygamingportal @ Apr 23 2017, 09:40 PM)
ok, thks for the info guys... gonna redo my tank anyways... hard for me to dispose it coz it now looks cute more like a ladybird... lol...
I can understand your situation. I did the same and let it roaming around my tank when I first had it as well smile.gif Still look cute when it had a few babies, and then 2-3 weeks later, things are out of control...
davido
post Apr 24 2017, 09:47 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Apr 24 2017, 08:45 AM)
I can understand your situation. I did the same and let it roaming around my tank when I first had it as well smile.gif Still look cute when it had a few babies, and then 2-3 weeks later, things are out of control...
Yeah agreed. Would advise to remove it. I too made the same mistake - and now I'm picking out snails whenever I see them.
If you still want to keep snails, then choose those that can't breed in freshwater or those that need a male and female pair to breed. Pond snails can breed by itself as they are both male and female at the same time.
I think Nerite snails can't breed if its only 1. Not sure about Apple or others snail though.

davido
post Apr 24 2017, 09:54 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(terrie @ Apr 22 2017, 01:40 PM)
I top up my co2 at gas factories but I've read somewhere that you can also top up at fire extinguisher refilling shops. Do you know a place? How much do they charge? Just curious smile.gif
Off topic, anyone interested in trading plants? Kinda looking for reineckii.
Hi terrie,

May I ask where did you top up your CO2? I'm also looking for other places to top up.

Also, what plants are you interested in? I'm not interested in trading, but I usually give away my excess. Just PM me.

I also will have many PRL shrimps soon (A/S grade and also Hinomaru/No Entry) - many babies now (from 2mm to 1cm) as one time 4 were berried. If anyone interested to pick up PRL (CRS) shrimps, just PM me. These are not free though.

213 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Top

0.0148sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 05:05 PM