IT fresh grad, pay

short_tounge
post Feb 10 2015, 06:18 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(sendomike @ Feb 10 2015, 05:02 PM)
better go get a degree because the difference salary for diploma and degree grads is quite big.
Is it worth the study loan? For a 60k loan to breakeven with the degree payment take quite a time
ZR46
post Feb 11 2015, 08:34 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(sendomike @ Feb 10 2015, 05:02 PM)
better go get a degree because the difference salary for diploma and degree grads is quite big.
QUOTE(short_tounge @ Feb 10 2015, 06:18 PM)
Is it worth the study loan? For a 60k loan to breakeven with the degree payment take quite a time
If get loan 4 degree, what is the best? PTPTN or MARA?

GreenSamurai
post Feb 11 2015, 08:45 AM

The Green One
2,144 posts

QUOTE(ZR46 @ Feb 11 2015, 08:34 AM)
If get loan 4 degree, what is the best? PTPTN or MARA?
If you are a humid/malay then of course mara but if you're not then you have no choice but to take ptptn
ZR46
post Feb 11 2015, 08:51 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(GreenSamurai @ Feb 11 2015, 08:45 AM)
If you are a humid/malay then of course mara but if you're not then you have no choice but to take ptptn
Because I'm Bumi, other than these 2. what else I can borrow bcuz my PTPTN got stopped(p.s : have 2 pay almost 10K) when I got rayuan semula to get back in Poly(berhenti dapat SPA offer(under KKM) tak lepas exam,kena tendang)
sendomike
post Feb 11 2015, 09:54 AM

854 posts

how about your parents? are they able to help you out in terms of paying some of the fees?

i think can get a degree in IT in a reputable local uni for RM40+k?
mosfet83
post Feb 11 2015, 10:24 AM

215 posts

you can proceed with degree or professional certificate (SAP, Microsoft, Oracle, etc) which will be significantly cheaper. try MSC Malaysia MyProCert for some incentive from the government for this approach.
babykon101
post Feb 11 2015, 10:44 AM

Bodyslammin' Sailormoon
584 posts

QUOTE(sendomike @ Feb 11 2015, 09:54 AM)
how about your parents?  are they able to help you out in terms of paying some of the fees?

i think can get a degree in IT in a reputable local uni for RM40+k?
Which are some of the good uni in malaysia to study IT then?

A degree which is reputable and can easily join in big MNC should I get good grades.

They are some good uni like sunway/taylor/nottingham, but feel like those are buying degrees rather than studying for them. rclxub.gif
ZZMsia
post Feb 12 2015, 10:24 AM

3,303 posts

QUOTE(babykon101 @ Feb 10 2015, 10:44 PM)

A degree which is reputable and can easily join in big MNC should I get good grades.

They are some good uni like sunway/taylor/nottingham, but feel like those are buying degrees rather than studying for them.  rclxub.gif
Your friends in those universities tell you that they are buying their degrees and not studying hard?? it is the public university graduates as well as UTAR ones which are incompetent. SOME not all...
ZZMsia
post Feb 12 2015, 10:25 AM

3,303 posts

QUOTE(short_tounge @ Feb 10 2015, 06:18 AM)
most companies with a diploma you are stuck in that "assistant" position for the rest of your career.. Degree although just a paper opens many doors, IT has a lot of certifications which are super important IMHO

Binyamin
post Feb 12 2015, 10:30 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(babykon101 @ Feb 11 2015, 10:44 AM)

They are some good uni like sunway/taylor/nottingham, but feel like those are buying degrees rather than studying for them.  rclxub.gif
That explains why a lot of computer science graduate got through uni without learning to code at all... Even Curtin uni in Miri, supposedly one of the better uni in Australia and Malaysia. One of the comp sci graduate told me about 6 years ago they only offer 1 paper in the 1st year for coding C++ and then that is it.

I just got a question. Does IT courses in uni malaysia lack coding subjects?? It seems like it.
chamelion
post Feb 12 2015, 10:36 AM

Back to Bricking
2,751 posts

Its quit different if u have diploma or degree.
Offered role will be significant different.

Also in MNC, the promotion path will also be determine as there requirement a company need to meet in filling up their annual report. Thats why degree is prefered.

Diploma holder can climb too but it will take more effort and time compare to a degree holder.
lyrilmaki
post Feb 23 2015, 01:33 AM

963 posts

I got 2.8k offer in PJ for IT programming job.. + 300 allowance
EvanSoon
post Feb 23 2015, 02:18 PM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

QUOTE(Binyamin @ Feb 12 2015, 10:30 AM)
That explains why a lot of computer science graduate got through uni without learning to code at all... Even Curtin uni in Miri, supposedly one of the better uni in Australia and Malaysia. One of the comp sci graduate told me about 6 years ago they only offer 1 paper in the 1st year for coding C++ and then that is it.

I just got a question. Does IT courses in uni malaysia lack coding subjects?? It seems like it.
Yes it lacks coding courses, mine had about 2 coding courses only and both is C++. It acts a stepping stone for you to go further into coding if you want to.

QUOTE(lyrilmaki @ Feb 23 2015, 01:33 AM)
I got 2.8k offer in PJ for IT programming job.. + 300 allowance
Programmers can do freelance also. I sometimes kinda envy programmers but I hate coding.
lyrilmaki
post Feb 23 2015, 03:15 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Feb 23 2015, 02:18 PM)
Yes it lacks coding courses, mine had about 2 coding courses only and both is C++. It acts a stepping stone for you to go further into coding if you want to.
Programmers can do freelance also. I sometimes kinda envy programmers but I hate coding.
I have skills, but i duno where to get project. So its quite for me.. And I heard that many company dont prefer outsource to freelance as the payment will be quite difficult because dun have company account something..
EvanSoon
post Feb 23 2015, 04:29 PM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

QUOTE(lyrilmaki @ Feb 23 2015, 03:15 PM)
I have skills, but i duno where to get project. So its quite for me.. And I heard that many company dont prefer outsource to freelance as the payment will be quite difficult because dun have company account something..
You can always register a company ma, not that expensive also.
valve
post Mar 6 2015, 09:50 PM

238 posts

2.8k for average IT fresh grad

This post has been edited by valve: Mar 6 2015, 09:51 PM
JerseyBest
post Mar 6 2015, 11:22 PM

51 posts

don't have to pay if you get 1st class

It salary in Msia is really low, even Thailand Vietnam is better than us

This post has been edited by JerseyBest: Mar 6 2015, 11:34 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0201sec    0.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th March 2024 - 12:01 AM