Cat Lovers V7 ^_^, Fabulous Cats & People

scsoo
post Sep 19 2017, 05:25 PM

427 posts

Adding an inguiry here as well...

Looking for a 2 storey mid-size Cat Cage say around 2.5 ft wide and maybe up to 4 feet or more in height... Prefer something nice instead of the current black powder coated/painted wire frame with wire frame as platform..
Seen some nice cage in the internet with nice plastic/metal platform and colored structure. but all seem overseas...
Anywhere in Kuala Lumpur (Klang Valley - PJ, Klang ) Pet shop that would have such cage/crate and wont cost a bomb?
scsoo
post Oct 10 2017, 04:11 PM

427 posts

Can I suggest maybe can add this information onto the 1st thread, some FAQ for Cat Lover, to help newbie..

Cat Food & Cat Litter : Premium Brand
Budget Brand
Low Cost Brand

Basic Start-up for Cat : Litter Box - type brand premium to low cost
Carrier, toy and type of toys.
Cages, bed, scratching needs and others.

Think this will be helpful to all and be a guide to all of us.. some kind of Wiki...

scsoo
post Oct 17 2017, 10:35 AM

427 posts

RC is one of the sponsor of SPCA, as such think SPCA need to hand out RC starter kit and think would suggest adopter to register also with RC. Think RC is doing this as community service, giving adopter some support with free food or such. In addition it gain RC good marketing and good corporate image as well.

SPCA think would also received some sort of returns from RC on every RC Starter Kit handed out, maybe more RC food to SPCA. This will greatly help SPCA as feeding so many mouth there.

Beside RC, notice SPCA do mix up whatever cat food available to them. Saw some PowerCat the last time I visit. Many mouth to feed and not enough to go around, so those that can do support by giving donation to SPCA...

scsoo
post Oct 23 2017, 02:45 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(leftycall9 @ Oct 22 2017, 02:04 AM)
Is that really possible to adopt Bengal for only RM250? as far as I know people don't send rare exotic breeds of cats to animal shelters just like that. even for plain looking Persian/British Shorthair/Scottish Fold they usually sold for at least RM500-RM1000 or maybe more
It's all depends on luck as there was indeed an exotic breed cat there in spca during one of my visit. Same also once on a visit to Paws. But they won't tell you unless you saw those cat and specifically enquire on that specific cat. Don't think last very long as they should get adopted super fast.
scsoo
post Oct 23 2017, 03:23 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(gotgiant @ Oct 22 2017, 11:36 AM)
any tips for 1st time to adopt fully indoor cat in a small flat.
i live alone.
what is the monthly maintenance cost for 1 kitten(cat)

do small kitten need cat tree to scratch?

hutazi
and what is the procedure to adopt cat from spca. can we choose the cat breed?
As said by some here, go visit spca and paws first before adopting, find out if you are indeed a cat person or something else... Don't want after adopting then need to return as find out not a cat person...
My advise, some may disagree with me.. For adoption with spca and paws...
Get yourself a cage... Spca and paws cat are cage trained.. Get those 2 feet wide and as high as you can take in your home... Maybe 2 ft X 2.5ft X 4ft with platform for the cat to perch... Those think around RM200 can get already.
Get 1 water bowl and 1 food bowl. And a litter box that can fit inside the cage... Others stuff can get later on such as toys, sratching tree 2nd litter box and others.. Standby a small bag of litter to see what your cat may like. Here maybe another RM50-100 for bowl litter and litter box.
Buy a cat carrier if you want something special. If not you can get one from spca or paws during the trip to adopt.
A visit to a neighbourhood pet shop will get you all this at less than RM500.
On the day you go adopt, bring a small container.
Go to the shelter and play around and choose the cat that you like.. Don't be greedy, start with 1 and not adopt more. Once decided, then do paperwork... Ask for the shelter to give you food for few days with the container you bring along. Also find out what they are feeding the cat. If you have no carrier can buy from the shelter, if you already have then pack your cat and remember your container of food as well.
Once reach home, put the cat in the cage with a bowl of water and some food you carry back in the container. Don't let it out straight away, let it stay there for 1-2 hours to destress from being taken into a new home. Play with it if you want to but keep it inside the cage until you notice it's look OK. After 1-2 hours then open the cage door BUT don't take the cat out. Let it come out naturally and let it's start to explore it's new home. Take your time. Cat take time to get used to new places up to 1-2 weeks depending on cat.
Cat take time to bond. With a cage the cat know it's have its own space in the house that is all his.
1st step done, then its further shopping time for cat food, wet and dry food, litter, sratching stuff, toys, collar.
Yeah, if possible when adopt ask the shelter to let you keep the collar of the cat you adopt as a stress up cat not easy to take off and put a new collar. Just buy that collar from the shelter. Finally remember to bring cash to the shelter for adoption charges and also whatever they try to sell to you to help you along... Like carrier, food, toys, bowl..
Happy adopting... Hope don't bored you with long write-up.

scsoo
post Oct 30 2017, 10:50 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(kuwy86 @ Oct 28 2017, 10:56 AM)
Just adopt this handsome from power station.
Curious where is power station?
scsoo
post Oct 31 2017, 05:05 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(skystrike @ Oct 31 2017, 12:46 PM)
not sure if on purpose or not...

i even bought another litter box with bigger size...now got 2 box...as i got 2 cat....but still she sometime poop outside box...any idea to tackle this issue?
Maybe fighting and don't wanna share? Do you specify which box for each cat? or share share until fight and tunjuk perangai...
scsoo
post Nov 17 2017, 04:31 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(keeganwoon90 @ Nov 17 2017, 04:30 PM)
My friend adopted already. She has 11 cats at home
Salute to your friend.. 11 cats at home will indeed be a task to take care them. Respect to your friend. Hope you can help her out as well by visiting your kitten once in a while.
scsoo
post Dec 4 2017, 12:23 AM

427 posts

Saw a blue eye Siamese cat at SPCA Ampang today. Don't know how long it will be there. It's not at the main Cattery but can be said hidden away. As due to the no photography rules there I cannot provide evidence and they are also secretive about it. Believe there are a few nice breed there and can be said not at the public displayed area. Dont know why the secret secret about these....
scsoo
post Dec 4 2017, 10:51 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(hutazi @ Dec 4 2017, 11:16 AM)
yes. they do have nice cats. the back lane of the spca thing i think is for cats who have been neutered recently. thats where i got my cat. also check out petfinder. many pretty cats out there.
To be honest, in SPCA you need to know where to look to see the nice cat (the pedigree or specific breed type that cost more to adopt). Those that just walk in (General Public) can only see those in the Cattery and so far I only see SPCA put those normal DSH there. That why I mentioned the secretive thingy.
Maybe SPCA want to be fair to the normal DSH but its also making things suspicious, as such seem SPCA keeping some cat away from General Public adoption. Maybe staff there keeping for selected SPCA guest and not open to all that walk in first come first serve?
So far I never seen those so-called more expensive adoption breed type in the main cattery, only normal DSH but they are there just not at the main place for General Public viewing.

scsoo
post Dec 4 2017, 11:46 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(hutazi @ Dec 4 2017, 12:34 PM)
haha. that i dunno. seems like a lot of effort... but yea easier to find nicer breed via petfinder if looking for those nice fluffy ones.
Yeah, Petfinder seem easier... SPCA suppose to be a good cause, was visiting on and off and with lately saying not much space and such, need foster and such, but go visit and notice this. Just a few word on this thread to let all know... Wanna help but put off by this... better go Petfinder again....
scsoo
post Jan 2 2018, 05:18 PM

427 posts

Have you tried Odourlock from Intersand? Clumping type as well... think its also heavy but not sure it heavier or not compared to everclean..
Think if want not heavy litter need to choose non clay type... sand/clay are more heavy compared to others.. like those wood or such...

scsoo
post Mar 13 2018, 02:54 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(SummerSkyLuxe @ Mar 13 2018, 01:18 PM)
yup I'm planning to switch to britcare  thumbup.gif they have quite a good range and not too pricey as well

yeah I always look for meat based food, but now that I have a bit more to spare I wanted to switch to something better than prodiet.
My cat on Blackwood instead of Britcare. Before this was on Royal Canin. Blackwood meat is chicken with Rice... aka Chicken Rice.... made in USA.
Britcare not bad but I opted for USA product instead.

This post has been edited by scsoo: Mar 13 2018, 03:05 PM
scsoo
post Mar 13 2018, 03:17 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(SummerSkyLuxe @ Mar 13 2018, 04:11 PM)
any reason why it has to be USA product

because they regulate pet food?
If you read up review on the net, mostly they will refer to USA Pet food regulation, as such would presume USA have Pet Food regulation.
Most in the net review seem to be bias toward Canada product and USA their next door neighbor... and those from Canada are mostly more expensive.
scsoo
post Mar 14 2018, 09:15 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Mar 14 2018, 01:36 AM)
if your cat doesn't go out, it may not be necessary to get the vaccines every year. Every other year maybe.

I would think that yes, you should have them fully vaccinated before spaying.
Actually depend on the vet. some would prefer to vaccine prior to spay as to give the cat recovery from vaccine then another round from spay. two trip to the vet....
Some will do it same time, vaccine on same day as spay as already under anestic. easier to vaccine... single trip settle all.
Costwise think should be same.. as both procedure cost money... unless vet charge for visitation...
sorry for reply on reply.. better to vaccine.. if you can afford it.. its better (cheaper) to prevent illness compared to treat (costly) after getting sick....

scsoo
post Apr 30 2018, 10:48 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(serpentking @ Apr 29 2018, 07:45 PM)
Roughly how much does it cost to look after an american shorthair per month? This is going to be my first time owning a cat. Please dont tell me to adopt stray cat. Been wanting this breed for a very long time. Going to check out pet planet at seri kembangan. Thanks a lot.
Think not going to be expensive, but that up to you. As this is shorthair, think no need full bathing routine... think will give you an expensive monthly estimate.... Food RM100, Litter RM50 others.. treat and such RM50.. Monthly RM200.. and every 3 month say you want to groom/full work out spa treatment... RM100... Then yearly maybe a vet visit for medical RM100...
Please add in in case I miss out anything.. and think for initial Catification purpose.. cat trees, beds, toy, crate, and others.. think RM1000-2000 depends on the luxury level... 1 star to designer suite catification...
Yeah.... can also take some photo of the cat... once you got him/her.... Can try to adopt an American Shorthair.. just need some effort to look for one... don't be angry at me.... adopt don't buy attitude...

This post has been edited by scsoo: Apr 30 2018, 10:50 AM
scsoo
post May 21 2018, 11:21 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(meiteoh @ May 18 2018, 04:28 PM)
Need some advice for the sifus here. smile.gif

I'm thinking of adopting an adult cat (probably from a shelter here in Seremban). Anything that I should prepare apart from carrier, scratching posts, food, litter box and bed?

Any tips to share on how to help my future adoptee settle in?

Note that I have two kids - 9 and 6 yo but they are familiar with having cats as pets (my IL has two cats).
Something I have written sometime back.. cut and paste and hope its useful for you...

For adoption with spca and paws...
Get yourself a cage... Spca and paws cat are cage trained.. Get those 2 feet wide and as high as you can take in your home... Maybe 2 ft X 2.5ft X 4ft with platform for the cat to perch... Those think around RM200 can get already. (Some may disagree with me on this as some practice cage free)
Get 1 water bowl and 1 food bowl. And a litter box that can fit inside the cage... Others stuff can get later on such as toys, scratching tree 2nd litter box and others.. Standby a small bag of litter to see what your cat may like. Here maybe another RM50-100 for bowl litter and litter box.
Buy a cat carrier if you want something special. If not you can get one from spca or paws during the trip to adopt.
A visit to a neighbourhood pet shop will get you all this at less than RM500.
On the day you go adopt, bring a small container.
Go to the shelter and play around and choose the cat that you like.. Don't be greedy, start with 1 and not adopt more. Once decided, then do paperwork... Ask for the shelter to give you food for few days with the container you bring along. Also find out what they are feeding the cat. If you have no carrier can buy from the shelter, if you already have then pack your cat and remember your container of food as well.
Once reach home, put the cat in the cage with a bowl of water and some food you carry back in the container. Don't let it out straight away, let it stay there for 1-2 hours to destress from being taken into a new home. Play with it if you want to but keep it inside the cage until you notice it's look OK. After 1-2 hours then open the cage door BUT don't take the cat out. Let it come out naturally and let it's start to explore it's new home. Take your time. Cat take time to get used to new places up to 1-2 weeks depending on cat.
Cat take time to bond. With a cage the cat know it's have its own space in the house that is all his.
1st step done, then its further shopping time for cat food, wet and dry food, litter, scratching stuff, toys, collar.
Yeah, if possible when adopt ask the shelter to let you keep the collar of the cat you adopt as a stress up cat not easy to take off and put a new collar. Just buy that collar from the shelter. Finally remember to bring cash to the shelter for adoption charges and also whatever they try to sell to you to help you along... Like carrier, food, toys, bowl..

As for cage, once the cat acclimatize, its up to you cage or not to cage. For me I keep the cage around in case you need to have to quarantined during sick time or fleas or mite issue.
scsoo
post May 22 2018, 10:27 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(artsie fartsie @ May 22 2018, 09:09 AM)
I'm actually asking for input if anyone has fed their cats Nature's Protection brand before happy.gif
But anyway, I'll wait for the RC stock to arrive at the local store - delivery isn't an option where I am.
Suggestion ; Can always try to buy those small starter pack and test out. So next time if no RC can still get NP. Also if both ok with your cat, then good also as you have alternative. Sometime its also good to switch brand once a while as not to get bored. I know its kibble only and having variety think no harm right?
scsoo
post May 25 2018, 03:37 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ May 25 2018, 01:44 PM)
She only rubs when we approach her so I don't think its a tick issue

I thought if cats want attention and show affection they would rub around the person instead?

Claim ownership sounds like it but do cats rub the same things almost all the time? 
Forgot to mention yesterday she started rubbing the stairs railing too laugh.gif
As she don't dare to approach you yet, she will not be daring enough to rub you.. hehehe... some cat actually don't rub against human even tho they let them pet them..
As such she rub against things nearby her feeding place and communicate her pleasure of being fed....
If you intend to lure her in.. then get a small bowl and start bowl feeding and start moving the bowl in.. so she will follow the bowl in... hahaha
scsoo
post May 26 2018, 05:11 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ May 25 2018, 06:12 PM)
She wont let people touch her yet... :/
she can eat from the bowl if I'm holding it!
If you are feeding kibble then try to feed from your hand to get the cat the get use to human smell. Put on palm and let the cat eat from palm top. Slowly she get use to human contact and you can touch her.
Don't touch the head... Start by petting the body... For head dont pet, just touch or scratch in the beginning. Something like headbutt or finger touch only.

0.0872sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:36 AM