I agree with what basilisk has said, but I will add that the best food for your cat is the food your cat will eat. brands matter only a little bit.
Cat Lovers V7 ^_^, Fabulous Cats & People
Jan 6 2021, 01:57 PM
1,890 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
I agree with what basilisk has said, but I will add that the best food for your cat is the food your cat will eat. brands matter only a little bit.
Jan 6 2021, 02:57 PM
841 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
QUOTE(basilisk @ Jan 6 2021, 01:01 AM) wet food provides moisture/water for the cat. which is good. Thanks for your advice. generally cat doesn't drink enough water. if the cat is prone to develope stones, after several years of dry food, enough crystals will have developed and cause serious complications. even dry food, if the cat likes to swallow like vacuum, it wont clean the cat's teeth. you need to brush the cat's teeth , tht's wht i do. if you can afford you can buy better quality wet food. scroll back a few pages, to read more info previously posted. These few days i have been reading a lot on cat's food and stumbled across few brands, namely Blackwood, TOTW, Cindy's Recipe, Equilibrio and Proud Holistic. There's a petstore across my condo and the pet shop owner who happened to rear a few cats of her own, keeps recommending Proud Holistic but this is my first time hearing it. Checked online and not many reviews about it and would like to you from the sifus here, based on the ingredients which they claimed, grain-free; is it ok to give a try? Pure Holistic (Skin & Fur) |
Jan 6 2021, 11:17 PM
30 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
QUOTE(off_shore @ Jan 6 2021, 02:57 PM) Thanks for your advice. Youre welcome, no prob. These few days i have been reading a lot on cat's food and stumbled across few brands, namely Blackwood, TOTW, Cindy's Recipe, Equilibrio and Proud Holistic. There's a petstore across my condo and the pet shop owner who happened to rear a few cats of her own, keeps recommending Proud Holistic but this is my first time hearing it. Checked online and not many reviews about it and would like to you from the sifus here, based on the ingredients which they claimed, grain-free; is it ok to give a try? Pure Holistic (Skin & Fur) Nowadays alot of pet food in the market. pet food biz is very lucrative, cos pet can't complain, owners doesn't really bother, as long as the pet looks fine, no health issues, but biz ppl are getting a lof of profit by using very low cost ingredients. Just by saying it is grain free, ( yes it's grain free) they can price it same as imported good quality food frm usa / europe, tht needs to be shipped half across the globe, taxed more etc etc. where as their oem food is made in china / thai / vietnam. ? they don't even need to state where the food is made. For example the brand 'greens' and many more. The brand you mentioned ' proud holistic' most likely is another oem pet food. I checked on shopee, the 10kg bag is 22x rm, which is 2x per kg. this price is same as imported Eu brand. The ingredient looks low cost, esp the oil, uses blended oil including palm oil etc. Pet food that's being sold in over 10 countries, with info of the manufacturer/factory, owners, etc are highly recommended. One example is carnilove, which i really like, cos their food is just irresistable. The aroma tells alot about their blend / ingredient used. What's the price you can afford for cat food? Buy 6-8kg bag to save $$, you can save alot. very easy to keep the food frm exposing to air, check out my earlier post. use shopee to do price check. This post has been edited by basilisk: Jan 6 2021, 11:22 PM |
Jan 7 2021, 02:31 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
446 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
wow at that price better to get imported premium food, I fed my cats with vital plus for almost 3 years cos of its affordable price, always buy the 18kg pack, but my cats got bored of it, wanted to try carnilove coz heard only good things about it and my cat seemed to enjoy it very much at a boarding place I once sent him to where he was fed free flow of carnilove. But my local petshop I always go to did not carry it and recommended Mera instead which is made in germany and my cats seem to like it, the kibbles are quite large too so the cats need to chew it and cant swallow alot at one time, price is about the same as carnilove tho, so far so good.
Jan 7 2021, 10:29 PM
160 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Keep trying until you feel its good for your cat. Diff cat diff stomach.
I used to give totw, then drop alot fur. Change to equilibrio drop less. Recently I sent cats to boarding. They give Proud for 10 days. I feel cats drop more fur. More funny is, one of my cat when boarding no diarrhea. But return home eat back equilibrio, diarrhea for 4-5 days pulak. Tried carnivore wet food. None of my cat eat lol. Just taste abit only |
Jan 8 2021, 03:12 PM
A hungry cat cant be a choosy cat...
it will eat anything tht's edible. ![]() right is carnilove kibble + 60ml of water, left is reflex kibble + xx water.. all sapu clean.. cat wont eat food served - not hungry/over fed/wrong timing - spoil brat - sick/health issues This post has been edited by basilisk: Jan 8 2021, 04:38 PM |
Jan 8 2021, 08:24 PM
Bought 1.5kg Reflex Plus++ to test. Price /kg (15kg bag) is ~rm11 or less. ![]() Manufacture date - oct 2020 exp - apr 2023 should be very fresh. ![]() Selected 'choosy' cos it's suppose to have strong aroma. The smell is actually not very strong, just a bit better? than totw. Smell is like added flavouring, like those add to junk food, ie twisties perasa ayam, but not strong. Once added water , the flavouring smell becomes more distinct, like 'maggi' chicken flavour, but not strong. Also smells like cereal. ![]() ![]() |
Jan 9 2021, 03:54 PM
![]() Recent years we have seen these terms " xxx(meat) protein " on pet food ingredient list. For eg the above list of Reflex Plus+ Choosy. What actually is salmon protein? chicken protein? poultry protein? Actually they have replaced the term " by-product" with protein. So salmon protein = salmon by-product chicken protein = chicken by-product. Excerpt from this article on petfoodindustry.com https://www.petfoodindustry.com/articles/38...re-a-difference " A proposal in 1998 to drop the "by-product" designation from poultry products and replace it with the term "protein" was rejected by AAFCO. " That is why you wont find these term on pet food made and sold in the USA. By-product is of course a low cost ingredient. What is in pet food? from aafco.org website https://www.aafco.org/Consumers/What-is-in-Pet-Food |
Jan 10 2021, 12:38 PM
Jan 10 2021, 12:39 PM
Jan 10 2021, 07:32 PM
Need suggestion how to tame this cat. He showed up at my porch with tail broken. Did surgery amputate and keep at room at home 4 months+. Now I plan to release him to porch.
Problem is he got wild behavior. He can be very manja but after 10 mins, he will go crazy and hug/bite you with claws on (play intention). I bleed many times from his att. Occasionally when release him from room, he will straight chase and hug/bite my other cats outside living room. Initially I plan to keep him at house but he keep att my other cats, so i have to stick to my original plan, release him outside since he come ask for my help to heal his tail only. So I didn't neuter him also, though that might tame him. Now I worry release him out, he will be aggressive like in my home. Most probably because of his aggressiveness, he got his tail broken, either cut by human or fight with others. This post has been edited by IpohGuyz: Jan 10 2021, 07:33 PM |
Jan 10 2021, 10:31 PM
Neuter might help abit, but most likely it will behave the same.
There's one fler here with me, neuter ~6mth+ , still grows up to be a gangster, always wana fight with other cats that passes by. |
Jan 11 2021, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(basilisk @ Jan 10 2021, 10:31 PM) Neuter might help abit, but most likely it will behave the same. Yeah I think will be same too. Problem is he is playing but dunno his strength. Outside really worry he broke this and that againThere's one fler here with me, neuter ~6mth+ , still grows up to be a gangster, always wana fight with other cats that passes by. |
Jan 12 2021, 12:59 PM
3,335 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Pluto |
QUOTE(neome @ Jan 7 2021, 02:31 PM) wow at that price better to get imported premium food, I fed my cats with vital plus for almost 3 years cos of its affordable price, always buy the 18kg pack, but my cats got bored of it, wanted to try carnilove coz heard only good things about it and my cat seemed to enjoy it very much at a boarding place I once sent him to where he was fed free flow of carnilove. But my local petshop I always go to did not carry it and recommended Mera instead which is made in germany and my cats seem to like it, the kibbles are quite large too so the cats need to chew it and cant swallow alot at one time, price is about the same as carnilove tho, so far so good. I buy Carnilove kibbles from Shopee. Much easier and cheaper than shop. I buy 6kg pack and it's normally finished within 3 months (for a single cat). So far after eating it for a year, he's still not bored of it. |
Jan 16 2021, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(basilisk @ Jan 8 2021, 03:12 PM) A hungry cat cant be a choosy cat... ur very good at displining ur cats, my cats r all spoiled it will eat anything tht's edible. right is carnilove kibble + 60ml of water, left is reflex kibble + xx water.. all sapu clean.. cat wont eat food served - not hungry/over fed/wrong timing - spoil brat - sick/health issues i just hope my cats drink enough everyday, I place water bowls/fountains at 3-4 different places at home, and they drink alot esp the long haired one QUOTE(hirano @ Jan 12 2021, 12:59 PM) I buy Carnilove kibbles from Shopee. Much easier and cheaper than shop. I buy 6kg pack and it's normally finished within 3 months (for a single cat). So far after eating it for a year, he's still not bored of it. yup planning to get it from shopee also, but the shipping cost cn be quite alot depending on the weight of the item, thts y sometimes i prefer to just buy from physical stores, coz the price will be almost the same in the end..This post has been edited by neome: Jan 16 2021, 02:19 PM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jan 17 2021, 08:18 PM
1,202 posts Joined: Dec 2010 From: HELL |
Hi
I just adopt 2 new cat (3month old) Now after bring back to my house, it seems that they both scared Hide back of my door, curtain etc... I prepared food, raw fish, boiled fish but dint eat much Did a bit reading many suggest that let them play and familiar at specific place 1st (e.g my 1st floor) later when they ready they will come play... Any suggestions and advice for me? |
Jan 17 2021, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(myroy @ Jan 17 2021, 08:18 PM) Hi yes, the kitten will get used to the new environment in no time. nothing to worry about.I just adopt 2 new cat (3month old) Now after bring back to my house, it seems that they both scared Hide back of my door, curtain etc... I prepared food, raw fish, boiled fish but dint eat much Did a bit reading many suggest that let them play and familiar at specific place 1st (e.g my 1st floor) later when they ready they will come play... Any suggestions and advice for me? |
Jan 17 2021, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(myroy @ Jan 17 2021, 08:18 PM) Hi Yeah eventually will eat. Or kurung them in a room for few days. Sure eat cause less place to hide.I just adopt 2 new cat (3month old) Now after bring back to my house, it seems that they both scared Hide back of my door, curtain etc... I prepared food, raw fish, boiled fish but dint eat much Did a bit reading many suggest that let them play and familiar at specific place 1st (e.g my 1st floor) later when they ready they will come play... Any suggestions and advice for me? |
Jan 18 2021, 05:50 PM
1,202 posts Joined: Dec 2010 From: HELL |
Which one better
1) buy raw fish mix with rice 2) steam raw fish mix with rice 3) buy proper cat food For option number 3, i saw many cons as discuss over the internet -can lead to bladder stone, artificial is not good laaa Any other suggestion? I still learning now |
Jan 18 2021, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(myroy @ Jan 17 2021, 08:18 PM) Hi What was the cats on before u adopt them? maybe cn start frm there then u cn slowly change to whatever is better and convenient to u n ur cats, unless u adopt them from the streets then cn try anything huhuu.. but I think they r not eating bcoz they r scared of the new environment, but like others said its normal they will adapt very fast..I just adopt 2 new cat (3month old) Now after bring back to my house, it seems that they both scared Hide back of my door, curtain etc... I prepared food, raw fish, boiled fish but dint eat much Did a bit reading many suggest that let them play and familiar at specific place 1st (e.g my 1st floor) later when they ready they will come play... Any suggestions and advice for me? QUOTE(myroy @ Jan 18 2021, 05:50 PM) Which one better Proper cat food all the way for me mostly bcoz I hav no time to preprae food for them and the poo smell will be tolerable as compared to raw or own cooked food huhuu.. I prepare alot of water access for them too, so far after 3 years my cat nvr had any bladder prob, touchwood huhuu..1) buy raw fish mix with rice 2) steam raw fish mix with rice 3) buy proper cat food For option number 3, i saw many cons as discuss over the internet -can lead to bladder stone, artificial is not good laaa Any other suggestion? I still learning now This post has been edited by neome: Jan 18 2021, 07:28 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0244sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:03 PM |