137 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Cat Lovers V7 ^_^, Fabulous Cats & People

wrb7878
post Mar 16 2015, 12:14 PM

843 posts

Will travel oversea for 15 Days, looking any good recommend pets hotel around RM 20 per day? Used to check in at Kitten cottage at TTDI, willing to pay RM35 if for short term 2-3 days. but now need to stay 15 Days, wish can look for budget pets hotel for my CAT.
kizwan
post Mar 17 2015, 02:32 AM

BÖw DÖwn TÖ LÖrd PringlËs
826 posts

QUOTE(adioz88 @ Mar 16 2015, 10:15 AM)
Hello.

I want to ask about my cats health problem.

She was not well about a week ago. I check her at nearest pet shop and it hit 39.9 celcius. So the vet staff
give vitamin+antibiotik ( liquid ) + fever ( pills) . Howeber after 3-4 days my cat refuse to eat and drink at all and even i assit her to eat she will vomit together with kibbles.Not much at all when eat, just 10 pieces.All that only she can eat for single day.Im really worried.Last 2 day she start to poo with blood.And i check after she just poo, it come together with worm.Anyone can help me? I stay at Kepala Batas Penang.
I think worm is what cause the blood in the stool. Parasitic worms such as hookworm or roundworms suck the blood from the intestinal wall, resulting in blood in the stool. Your cat probably need de-worming.

By pet shop, do you mean they do have animal clinic there? The vet is actually a vet?

When it involve lost of appetite, you really need to consult vet immediately. If your cat vomiting after eating, you should change to different cat food. You also can try wet food. When my cats got sick I fed them with wet food or boiled chicken. Wet food also good in case the sick cat don't drink enough.

My 5 - 6 months kittens also got sick lately, cat flu. One of them really bad, watery eyes & mouth. The vet said they all don't have fever which is good. The prescribed pills worked quickly too, after 24 to 48 hours, no more watery eyes & mouth. Only one lost appetite for a day but start eating again the next day. With the heat season lately, I need to turn on the A/C to maintain room temperature between 30 to 32 Celsius, especially between 11 to 5 p.m.. I'm just afraid the heat might slow down their recovery or worsen their condition. 34C during heat season feels like 40C.

I hope your cat get well soon. smile.gif
Seager
post Mar 17 2015, 10:44 AM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

Hi guys,

I need some input with regards to dry cat food. I've been feeding my little one with Orijen for a 4-5 months now, and changed to Nutrience earlier this week, due to the fact that it's rather hard to find Orijen nearby. Contents are similar, no grain.

My cat seems comfortably with Nutrience, she basically will eat everything laugh.gif

But my concern here is her weight. She's is a little chubby right now (not exactly fat yet), but still very active. I feed her dry food twice in a day (acceptable amounts), and some treats in between. Once every 2-3 days I give her wet food for dinner.

I am trying to control her weight before she gets fat. Are there any recommended dry food/ kibbles that I can try? Perhaps something easily available too - Both Orijen and Nutrience seem hard to come by laugh.gif

Besides, I work regular office hours so she's with my mom most of the time - and well, my mom manja her a lot la. Gives treats, fills her food bowl up whenever it's empty (I just found out), so I've told my mom to cut down a bit, not to put dry food whenever her bowl is empty - let me be in charge and only put her kibbles twice a day.

But back to the main question, any recommended dry food I can try? Should I stop going grain-free?
splatzkill
post Mar 17 2015, 01:09 PM

QUOTE(Seager @ Mar 17 2015, 10:44 AM)
Hi guys,

I need some input with regards to dry cat food. I've been feeding my little one with Orijen for a 4-5 months now, and changed to Nutrience earlier this week, due to the fact that it's rather hard to find Orijen nearby. Contents are similar, no grain.

My cat seems comfortably with Nutrience, she basically will eat everything laugh.gif

But my concern here is her weight. She's is a little chubby right now (not exactly fat yet), but still very active. I feed her dry food twice in a day (acceptable amounts), and some treats in between. Once every 2-3 days I give her wet food for dinner.

I am trying to control her weight before she gets fat. Are there any recommended dry food/ kibbles that I can try? Perhaps something easily available too - Both Orijen and Nutrience seem hard to come by laugh.gif

Besides, I work regular office hours so she's with my mom most of the time - and well, my mom manja her a lot la. Gives treats, fills her food bowl up whenever it's empty (I just found out), so I've told my mom to cut down a bit, not to put dry food whenever her bowl is empty - let me be in charge and only put her kibbles twice a day.

But back to the main question, any recommended dry food I can try? Should I stop going grain-free?
hmm in my opinion the main reason why she's put on weight is because your mom is free feeding her. i think you should cut it down to 2 meals a day. not sure if the type of cat kibbles you give will have a huge impact on their weight, but mine seems alright and i'm feeding her eureka, i believe like what jess gives her cats as well.
i've got friends who fed their cat tesco brand kibbles as well and didn't turn out fat because of controlled food handouts.
Seager
post Mar 17 2015, 01:12 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(splatzkill @ Mar 17 2015, 01:09 PM)
hmm in my opinion the main reason why she's put on weight is because your mom is free feeding her. i think you should cut it down to 2 meals a day. not sure if the type of cat kibbles you give will have a huge impact on their weight, but mine seems alright and i'm feeding her eureka, i believe like what jess gives her cats as well.
i've got friends who fed their cat tesco brand kibbles as well and didn't turn out fat because of controlled food handouts.
I've told my mom already, but then again we all have a soft spot for our cat, who is really good in guilt tripping us laugh.gif

For now she's just a little chubby, but still very active. I just do not want her to grow fat.
splatzkill
post Mar 17 2015, 01:17 PM

QUOTE(Seager @ Mar 17 2015, 01:12 PM)
I've told my mom already, but then again we all have a soft spot for our cat, who is really good in guilt tripping us laugh.gif

For now she's just a little chubby, but still very active. I just do not want her to grow fat.
haha trust me i have that same concern with my kitty. i'm worried she will get fat and lazy and refuse to move around and just laze whole day, like garfield shakehead.gif
Seager
post Mar 17 2015, 01:24 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(splatzkill @ Mar 17 2015, 01:17 PM)
haha trust me i have that same concern with my kitty. i'm worried she will get fat and lazy and refuse to move around and just laze whole day, like garfield shakehead.gif
Mine is okay, so far lah.
Sometimes once a day she has a crazy streak where she runs around the house.
She is responsive to toys when we play with her too.

I just don't want her getting fat, even the vet told me during my last visit that my cat is getting a bit chubby. Since then I really control, completely avoid all grain products. Even her treats all so expensive, plus I'm giving her vitamins too.

Is no-grain good?
splatzkill
post Mar 17 2015, 01:37 PM

QUOTE(Seager @ Mar 17 2015, 01:24 PM)
Mine is okay, so far lah.
Sometimes once a day she has a crazy streak where she runs around the house.
She is responsive to toys when we play with her too.

I just don't want her getting fat, even the vet told me during my last visit that my cat is getting a bit chubby. Since then I really control, completely avoid all grain products. Even her treats all so expensive, plus I'm giving her vitamins too.

Is no-grain good?
here's a good article for your question
http://www.hillspet.com/cat-care/what-is-g...e-cat-food.html

It is certainly possible for grain free foods to provide this type of complete nutrition for your cat. However, these foods are not the only option, or even necessarily the best option, for each individual cat. There is no one nutrition or type of cat food that is perfect for all cats. In other words, no cat food is a one-size-fits-all nutritional solution.

so to answer your question directly, it doesn't have to be no-grain to be good. you should try other products to see if it works and not limit yourself to no-grain only. but this is just my opinion.
Seager
post Mar 17 2015, 01:42 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(splatzkill @ Mar 17 2015, 01:37 PM)
here's a good article for your question
http://www.hillspet.com/cat-care/what-is-g...e-cat-food.html
so to answer your question directly, it doesn't have to be no-grain to be good. you should try other products to see if it works and not limit yourself to no-grain only. but this is just my opinion.
Ahh.. Thanks.
Thankfully she's not too picky yet, perhaps I should start experimenting with other types while I can smile.gif
SUSnasrulafiq93
post Mar 17 2015, 08:50 PM

625 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ Mar 17 2015, 10:44 AM)
Hi guys,

You can try Feline Caviar Holistic. I fed my overweight male cat with this and now he seems a lil under controlled lol laugh.gif
Seager
post Mar 17 2015, 08:52 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(nasrulafiq93 @ Mar 17 2015, 08:50 PM)
You can try Feline Caviar Holistic. I fed my overweight male cat with this and now he seems a lil under controlled lol laugh.gif
Will do thanks
just out of curiosity, how much do you guys actually feed per day? As in how big is your serving size?
TSspunkberry
post Mar 17 2015, 10:28 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ Mar 17 2015, 08:52 PM)
Will do thanks
just out of curiosity,  how much do you guys actually feed per day? As in how big is your serving size?
In response to all your other questions, it is definitely your mother's free feeding and probably the excessive treats. It may help to add two 10 minute play times every day.

The type of food does not significantly impact your cat's weight. It is overfeeding and a lazy lifestyle that causes it. Lay down the law with your mother, or don't allow her access to the cat food. Your cat is cute and can manja etc. but your mother can provide pets and not food.

I feed my cats 1oz wet food each twice a day for a total of 2oz, and leave out about 40g dry food to free feed that they don't always finish. They've maintained their weight very well.

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Mar 17 2015, 10:29 PM
Seager
post Mar 17 2015, 10:47 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Mar 17 2015, 10:28 PM)
In response to all your other questions, it is definitely your mother's free feeding and probably the excessive treats. It may help to add two 10 minute play times every day.

The type of food does not significantly impact your cat's weight. It is overfeeding and a lazy lifestyle that causes it. Lay down the law with your mother, or don't allow her access to the cat food. Your cat is cute and can manja etc. but your mother can provide pets and not food.

I feed my cats 1oz wet food each twice a day for a total of 2oz, and leave out about 40g dry food to free feed that they don't always finish. They've maintained their weight very well.
lol thanks.
My cat plays quite a lot, i make sure i play with her when I get home from work
Other than that she's generally quite active, unless everyone in the household is in lazy-mode, then she gets lazy as well.

I've told my mom to cut down on her treats already - will see how it goes.
What to do, my cat knows how to manja2 very well, only if she could speak laugh.gif
TSspunkberry
post Mar 17 2015, 10:56 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ Mar 17 2015, 10:47 PM)
lol thanks.
My cat plays quite a lot, i make sure i play with her when I get home from work
Other than that she's generally quite active, unless everyone in the household is in lazy-mode, then she gets lazy as well.

I've told my mom to cut down on her treats already - will see how it goes.
What to do, my cat knows how to manja2 very well, only if she could speak laugh.gif
Haha I know what you mean. I can spend a very long time just kissing and nuzzling and cuddling my two girls, but I know that I should not give them too many treats.

I actually cut back on their wet food because my black cat was gaining weight very very quickly (she looooves her wet food). They used to be on 1.5oz, twice a day, which is a whole can each per day plus free feed on kibble. Their weight has stabilized now, which I'm very happy with.

I hope your mom will stick to the plan. I know that if it were my mother, I would have to lock the food up because she wouldn't listen.
splatzkill
post Mar 18 2015, 09:51 AM

this is how much i feed my kitten per meal.. twice a day. my 6 mth old kitten is already finding it insufficient tho, so i may up it for her.

jessteong
post Mar 18 2015, 10:11 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(splatzkill @ Mar 18 2015, 09:51 AM)
this is how much i feed my kitten per meal.. twice a day. my 6 mth old kitten is already finding it insufficient tho, so i may up it for her.
mine is half of that, but feed them 4-5 times a day. @Seager, maybe you want to cut down the portion and increase the frequency or have your mum feed only when yr cats ask for it.

Mine are gaining weight and getting lazy as well which i believe because i neutered them.

anyway I'm changing to Britcare Sterile soon after they finished up Eureka to control their weight.
At the same time also bringing them for 'cat-walk' on leash to get them moving
splatzkill
post Mar 18 2015, 10:43 AM

QUOTE(jessteong @ Mar 18 2015, 10:11 AM)
mine is half of that, but feed them 4-5 times a day. @Seager, maybe you want to cut down the portion and increase the frequency or have your mum feed only when yr cats ask for it.

Mine are gaining weight and getting lazy as well which i believe because i neutered them.

anyway I'm changing to Britcare Sterile soon after they finished up Eureka to control their weight.
At the same time also bringing them for 'cat-walk' on leash to get them moving
so u've just confirm my suspicion. i did suspect my cat gaining weight (slightly) after changing to eureka. on the flipside, their furs are as beautiful and shiny as ever.
let me know how britcare sterile works for you and where to get them. a friend of mine is feeding smarthearts and more than double the portion i give my cats and her cats seems to be in a a very fit state. hmm.gif
Seager
post Mar 18 2015, 11:00 AM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(splatzkill @ Mar 18 2015, 09:51 AM)
Wow this is per meal? Significantly more than the amount I feed my little one.
This is close to 2 meals already. I feed her twice a day, just over half the amount you give every meal.

I guess it's perhaps due to all the free-feeding then laugh.gif
Then again, I did spay her about 4-5 months back - not sure if this contributes in any way though.

I tried bringing her for a cat walk (using a leash), but all she does is sits close next to me, and crawl around. She's always been a scared kitty, ever since I've known her. She's only used to my family and I. That's why most of her exercise is within the house lol

This post has been edited by Seager: Mar 18 2015, 11:01 AM
wrb7878
post Mar 18 2015, 11:39 AM

843 posts

QUOTE(nasrulafiq93 @ Mar 17 2015, 08:50 PM)
Nowaday petsmore always out of stock for Feline Caviar Holistic. Where you can get it?

splatzkill
post Mar 18 2015, 12:51 PM

QUOTE(Seager @ Mar 18 2015, 11:00 AM)
Wow this is per meal? Significantly more than the amount I feed my little one.
This is close to 2 meals already. I feed her twice a day, just over half the amount you give every meal.

I guess it's perhaps due to all the free-feeding then laugh.gif
Then again, I did spay her about 4-5 months back - not sure if this contributes in any way though.

I tried bringing her for a cat walk (using a leash), but all she does is sits close next to me, and crawl around. She's always been a scared kitty, ever since I've known her. She's only used to my family and I. That's why most of her exercise is within the house lol
yeah per meal... wow and my friends are saying i am under feeding my cats .. lol
its about 2 scoops from the chinese soup spoons (img link below)
http://i00.i.aliimg.com/wsphoto/v0/1721324...Ramen-White.jpg

and yes i have heard that cats significantly gains weight after spaying/neutering.

my cats are also very afraid of going out the house. but when they are at home they chase each other all over the house. its hilarious to watch really.

137 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:56 PM