Cat Lovers V7 ^_^, Fabulous Cats & People

kizwan
post Mar 2 2017, 02:38 PM

BÖw DÖwn TÖ LÖrd PringlËs
826 posts

QUOTE(jimchan @ Mar 2 2017, 02:09 PM)
Really? But mine like still doesn't know how to chew it's kibbles.. If I don't soak the kibbles I find it swallowing it instead because of having difficulty to chew it..

So it's stool will have undigested kibbles sweat.gif
Kibbles for kitten are small, so it is fine for them to swallow.

What? Not true actually. It will be digested just fine by their digestive system.
kizwan
post Mar 4 2017, 10:08 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(jimchan @ Mar 2 2017, 04:27 PM)
Alright.. just sometimes feel a bit heartache watching it struggle to eat the kibbles coz maybe it doesn't know how to properly chew it.. sad.gif

Not sure.. but when I was cleaning it's litter box, I do find that it's stool has few undigested perfectly shape kibbles sweat.gif
That likely your kitten throw up after eating. If the kibbles undigested after going through your cat's digestive system then something seriously wrong with the digestive system. Otherwise, you should consider changing to different brand. Your kitten will not be able to get the nutrient that your kitten needs since the digestive system unable to break down the food to absorb all that nutrient.
kizwan
post Mar 18 2017, 11:45 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(viruz @ Mar 18 2017, 01:32 AM)
I have adopted a 1 month old kitten, may I know is it necessary to give kitten water? And also when I can start to bath the kitten?
Yes, make sure your kitten always have access to drinking water.
kizwan
post Apr 28 2017, 03:48 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(badai @ Apr 28 2017, 11:27 AM)
off topic: making home cat proof is far more difficult than toddler proof, yet cats' owner are better than some parent. They will spend time and money to cat proof their home while most parents just blame everyone else when their toddler get out and knocked down by car.
You knocked a toddler with your car recently? Well Malaysian mentality is when they can drive 50km/h on regular road, they can drive 50km/h anywhere. Slow the frickin' car down when driving near houses.
kizwan
post Apr 28 2017, 11:19 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(will4848 @ Apr 28 2017, 07:37 PM)
need help .... yesterday i save a cat from longkang ...

i bring it back home, but i find his eye is very watery n got tahi mata ...

and his left eye started to stick together bcos of the tahi mata ...

i try to apply eye mo on his eye but no use, still sticking together ..

anyone got any idea how to solve this problem ?? thanks.  notworthy.gif
You should ask vet for advice before using human medicine on pets. You can use cotton or clean cloth and warm water to clean the eyes.
kizwan
post May 26 2017, 03:01 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(Dresperado @ May 25 2017, 03:46 PM)
Hi all cat lovers, I need some advice...

So, 3 months ago my parents rescued a few days old kitten from a main road. The tiny kitten was seen crawling in the middle of the road all alone. They tried to ask around if theres anyone willing to foster it but no one would. So they took it home.

Long story short, me and my mom foster her til shes all grown up now. But she is starting to show some behaviour issue which i dont know how to cope with.
She is quite aggressive, she would bite my hand, climb my back, and jump everywhere. She wont even let me pet her. I have countless scars on both of my hands now.
We let her roam around the house, bought toys to play with her, but that doesnt seem to be enough. I can play with her only for awhile, after that she will start to attack me instead of the toys. Its really sad and frustrating, I love this kitten so much but everyday i will get a new scar on my hand, my back or anywhere.

What should I do?
P/s: this is not my first time fostering a kitten, but my first time facing such a kitten with behaviour problem. I didnt have any issue with my previous kittens.
QUOTE(usmanjailani @ May 26 2017, 09:19 AM)
Hi. I have an almost same story of cat problem. I adopt a 3weeks kitten from roadside. clean him up. now maybe 2-3month old. but the way he play is quite rough, he bites my hand (finger, back hand and anything fit into his mouth), my ears when he lingers around while im laying on the bed, bite my feet, to summarize, he will bite anything bite-able to him. my answer when he biting is just flick his ear (while hissing him) or his head when its too much. but i still cant pet him too much coz he thought i wanted to played with him and the way he play is biting the other person. even my other adult male (1.5yrs old) is lazy to play with him since he always biting. if the kitten is to much, he will bite back, and hard, then the kitten will run away for awhile before coming back to play (read: BITE) with him again and again.

so anyone else have this problem and overcome it?.
Kittens that separated too early from their mother may have behavior issue like this. They likely just super excited, super happy & it's the only way they know how. Good news is that they'll calm down when they get older. I can't give you guys the exact number but if your kitten is now 3 month old, after a couple months more, that kitten will calm down. In the meantime, you all just need to be superly patience with them. You can say STOP/NO with stern voice to them which what I did to my cat. I also caged her (this is like time-out for her too) because she is soo hyper & I'm afraid she can hurt herself but I did let her out for few hours for play time, with me around for monitoring her of course. I also put bandage on both of my arms & legs, so that she can bite them as she pleases.

QUOTE(myteam94 @ May 26 2017, 01:04 AM)
Hi pet lover

I'm looking for cat with this color [attachmentid=8848995]
My girlfriend cat died because of my fault/negligence
And i felt really guilty about it and depress at the same time and felt sorry about it
I know that we cant bring back the cat but i do want her to have a cat that similar to her previous cat

Cat color mix of grey and white
If someone knows a friend/contact do PM me
At the same time, i try to find in FB pages

URGENT/ASAP....sigh
Go to animal shelter near you. If your town/district/municipal council do catch stray cats, you can go to them too. I think you can easily find one that have same color like that.

...and also, don't repeat the mistake again.

QUOTE(usmanjailani @ May 26 2017, 09:38 AM)
i have another problem..yesterday i rescued 3kittens..someone stupid/ignorant/(u can add your self) just throw these 2-3weeks old kitten away without their mother. how the heck they gonna survive without their mother?.chasing bird and mouse?.dumbass.

to make it short, i put them in a cage, clean them up, fed milk, and kept in a room since i have 2 others male cat. 1.5yrs and 2-3mth old kitten.

and then, the problem happen. someone been pooping on my couch yesterday. luckily i cover the couch with a comforter just incase something like this happened. but i havent sent the comforter to the dobby just yet since dont have time so i just swipe and spray with febreeze and cover it with large plastic.

today i found another poop with bonus of pee on top of the plastic.

any sussgestion?. or they just showing that they are not satisfied with me bringing the kitten home?.
vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif

below is the link for adoption..

Kitten for adoption PLS Refer Post #320
It can be any reason but I don't think it is because of the new kittens since you already separate them with the new kittens in another room. It is possible your cats relapse for some reason. Some cats do not like when they smell another cat's poop and/or urine in the litter box. If this is the case, you should add another litter box. I just want to add that majority of cats can tolerate though. To know the real reason, you should study your cat behavior more.

This post has been edited by kizwan: May 26 2017, 03:03 PM
kizwan
post May 28 2017, 12:05 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(myteam94 @ May 26 2017, 09:40 PM)
Nearest cat shelter in KL/selangor is where except SPCA?
Sorry, I don't know where you can find animal shelter in KL/Selangor.
kizwan
post Jun 20 2017, 11:25 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Jun 20 2017, 11:11 AM)
hi all, seeking advice here

i'm in penang and plan to move back to swak (kuching) soon, i probably have 2-3 month remaining here in penang

anyone had transferred your cat from peninsular to sarawak before?

1 - does my cat need to have certain qualifications? certs?
2 - how to transport my cat by plane

thanks a lot
2 - contact the airline you're going to fly. different airline have different rule/procedure. see if you can bring your cat with you instead of putting in cargo hold.

1 - not sure but I think so. you can try ask your vet.
kizwan
post Jun 23 2017, 09:21 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Jun 22 2017, 04:35 PM)
Thanks bro ...

The cat just treated by the vet for fever, and she don't recommend to treat the skin infection at the same time.

Thinking to give Jusz Spray a try, so that the cat don't need for another injection in such a short period.
I'm not familiar with that spray but I would wait for the cat to get better from fever first before using that spray to prevent unwanted complication. There's a reason why your vet don't want to treat both at the same time. Even though it's not an injection, it is absorb through the skin. Your cat's antibodies still busy fighting the fever. You don't want "taxing" your cat's antibodies.
kizwan
post Jun 28 2017, 01:16 AM

826 posts

Yeah, I think that is the case too.

noonies_naruto@
I believe you can stress your cat if you give them bath too often. Get advice from your vets in case your cat have skin infection. Can you elaborate more on the "doesn't smell good"? Do you want your cat smell like Chanel No. 5?
kizwan
post Jul 4 2017, 12:58 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jul 3 2017, 12:48 PM)
anyone using silica cat litter?

would like to find out, does it really absorb the cat urine?
and also the cat poo sure will smear on the silica and make it dirty...?

cos i saw the silica is like small stone size nowadays, and for sure the urine will easily flow to the bottom of the box, cos the gap between silica is so big compared to fine clay...
Silica cat litter is very good in absorbing cat urine & your cat poo will dry up. However like any other non-clumping litter that I have tried, it only lasted for a week before it become smelly ("bau hancing").
kizwan
post Jul 10 2017, 12:11 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(ocyrus @ Jul 10 2017, 10:05 AM)
Hi guys, I just moved into a condo with my two 7 month old kittens. I use Cats Best Oko Plus Litter and placed their litter box in a small laundry room where there is a window and ceiling fan. The litter clumping is quite good and I clean it twice a day but the smell is still quite strong.

Anyone got suggestion to reduce the smell? Any recommendations for kitty litter with high smell absorption? My wife wants to buy the Catit Smartsift litter box but I read that cats do not like enclosed litter box.
I use Smartsift for almost 4 years & my cats don't have problem using it.

Regarding the smell, are you referring the smell in general or the poop still smell even after buried? I did tried Oko Plus but it was two years ago.
kizwan
post Jul 10 2017, 12:15 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jul 10 2017, 11:53 AM)
hv not try pellets, so i wana ask, since the pellet will break n become like sawdust when kena urine, then do u leave it in the box ? or how do you remove it?
I use this kind of litter box. The wood dust will drop down to the bottom compartment. You can easily discard the wood dust this way. You also can DIY the litter box yourself.

kizwan
post Jul 11 2017, 10:35 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jul 10 2017, 01:48 PM)
thanks for the reply bros smile.gif i saw those litter box, i wonder how it works, so now i know. smile.gif it is for pellets. 
i got tired of kikis sticky clay ...

in the past i got use feline pine clumping litter, it will clump but wont dry, not sure if they add stuff into it to make it clump.
[attachmentid=8955198]
now aft 4years , the price increase so much.. frm rm19.9 to over rm30+

oko plus wont break up into sawdust, tried before.

now anyone calculated which litter type is cheapest to use? china clay vs pellets?
Pellets (pine or any kind of wood) would be the cheapest IMO. It should last longer than clay. The only downside is the wood dust but this depends on your cat behavior.

QUOTE(ocyrus @ Jul 10 2017, 04:55 PM)
The smell from coming from the kitty litter even after I've cleaned it. What litter do you use with Smartsift? I read in the previous thread that Oko is not compatible with Smartsift.
For smartsift I use standard clumping clay litter.

QUOTE(Candlenie @ Jul 10 2017, 05:41 PM)
oh yeah smartsift is awesome. been using it for 2yrs+. Just few questions though, do you close the door? And how frequent you clear the plastic bag?
I have two smartsift for two group of cats. One smartsift with closed door & another one with opened door because one group know how to push the door. I put one of the smartsift in front of the bathroom & another one in the back room. I clear the plastic bag twice a day because I have many cats but I did not change the plastic bag frequently. There's a bit of sand in there that prevent the plastic bag from getting dirty easily.

BTW, after 3 years, the handle to rotate the internal litter box broken near the hole that used to lock it but I managed to buy replacement parts. Bought extra too for future.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Jul 11 2017, 10:41 AM
kizwan
post Jul 11 2017, 11:20 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(Candlenie @ Jul 11 2017, 10:51 AM)
I'm wondering is it possible to train my cat to enter litter box that has a door? My cats seem like don't know / don't want to enter if i close the litter box's door. The door is transparent.
Your cat should be able to learn how to enter with the door. When they really need to go, they'll try to push the door.
kizwan
post Jul 12 2017, 11:25 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(Candlenie @ Jul 11 2017, 01:41 PM)
really? cause i saw them sniffing the door, and turn away
Initially, yeah. Eventually they should be able to learn. You just need to be patient. Well I'm suck too in "be patient" department which is why one of my smartsift have the door opened. smile.gif Originally both of my smartsift have the door opened but one day I decided to closed the door for one of the smartsift. Before I know it, I saw some of my cats can enter & exit without any problem. A couple of my cats did failed though & they use the opened one.
kizwan
post Jul 12 2017, 09:29 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(ocyrus @ Jul 12 2017, 03:24 PM)
Any recommended brand for the clumping clay litter? The pet shop suggest to use Odourlock which is quite expensive.
any clumping clay should perform the same. The regular ones should be around 16 to 20 ringgit for 10L.
kizwan
post Jul 13 2017, 07:21 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jul 12 2017, 11:52 PM)
can get rm12 per bag 10L if buy 2bag, i jz bought recently, these r frm china i believe, buy bigger guni even cheaper biggrin.gif

but the tidy cat brand, yellow bag one, without scent additive, very busuk aft peepoo.. if added scent, they add chemical into it... so some is scentless.
i can only get 16 for that china brand. It's catspro right, the red bag one?

I only have ever use the non-clumping tidy cat. Yeah, it have "unique" smell when cat uses it. Did the clumping one also smelly?
kizwan
post Aug 22 2017, 02:43 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(rmsk932 @ Aug 20 2017, 03:02 PM)
I agree rescuing is just trying to fix the problem not the source. If found people to adopt it's good else finally they put down the animals also right?

Spaying is actually quite expensive as my vet says need to vaccinate 3 times first before spaying the mother stray. Is that true elsewhere?

Only way is SPCA or vets offering free spaying as a public service but doubt will happen as a big source of vets income. Any subsidy in Penang?

The other is illegal breeding farms which folks just need to stop buying pets but start adopting free from friends and centers. That's just my opinion right or wrong.
Gov veterinary clinic that I go to neuter my cats doesn't require vaccination. The clinic is Kerian District Veterinary Office & they charged 40 for male & 80 for female. I'm not sure with other gov clinics regarding the vaccination requirement but I think should be the same.

If you want start doing trap-neuter-release stray cats, then you'll need to have space at your home for temporary home for the stray cats & once they healed, then you can release them to their original "home" or find new family to adopt them.

QUOTE(basilisk @ Aug 20 2017, 03:17 PM)
spaying in penang the lowest cost i have found so far is frm a vet @ bayan baru,

the trap neuter and release group in pg send the cats to her for spaying and neutering.

normal vets will say need to fully vaccinate 3 times, but hey we are dealing with strays you know,

first catching them is an issue, now you want to catch them 3 times in 2 months then only can spay/neuter them?

by tht time the females already given birth.

so the vets that support neutering/spaying, would not insist on fully vaccinate the cats and dogs,

they will just vaccinate once and then neuter at the same time.

ngo and vet cant afford to offer free neutering, it is the local gov or some rich organization that should do it.

penang gov is planning a neuter stray program, not sure when it will happen.
Well, you don't catch them 3 times. You'll need to temporary adopt the stray cats until they are neutered & healed.

QUOTE(RaymondReddington @ Aug 20 2017, 06:05 PM)
I rescued 2 cats and recently found they have fleas. Was clean last time I checked.
Now with flea comb can whack about 5 to 10 initially but now because of regular combing and bath already down to 2 to 3 per day and today is zero.

But I believe they will come back so I started buying a bagged vacuum to clean the floor and sofa/chair they sleep on.
I bath my cats in dish washing soap for now.
I have not used any active spot-on products yet, should I ?

I am considering advantage for cats but I heard from pet store salesperson that it is not allowed to be sold in retail, and it's vet prescription only.
Should I use a spot-on product to turn my cats into a walking flea bomb?

I doubt my vacuuming/cleaning can get all the eggs/larvae immediately, as I am trying to permanently break the flea life cycle and I wonder if spot on products would help in addition to baths, vacuum, flea combing.
You're doing great using the dish soap. Even if you use poison like spot on, flea can still come back after few months. What I do to my cats are adding a tea spoon of Apple Cider Vinegar to their drinking water, regularly vacuum my place & regularly check both my cats and stray cats (that regularly come to my house) for fleas which if they have, I'll use comb & soapy water to kill the fleas. I found that using ACV in their drinking water do protect my cats from fleas for months. Also when fleas get to the cats that drinking water that contain ACV, I noticed they don't or can't multiply. The only thing I did not try yet is essential oils like coconut oil to improve the coat of their skin.

If you want to use poison, I recommend using the ones that only need to apply on the cat's shoulder blade. I'm not comfortable with the spray kind because even it dried out, there's still residue on their fur which they can lick. Also avoid using poison on cats that have health issue & senior cats.
kizwan
post Aug 25 2017, 01:37 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(rmsk932 @ Aug 24 2017, 04:20 PM)
thanks a lot basilisk and kiswan for your inputs. The stray is actually mother of the kittens whom I'm taking also but escaped once now worry pregnant again.

Where's the vet in bayan baru and maybe I can check if got government vet? Thanks.

Dunno how to link photos here but got in my blogs. Still new adding articles and photos when slow and steady.
My Khao Manees: http://FrozenInPenang.blogspot.my
My Mini Schnauzer: http://MiniInPenang.blogspot.my
If there's fetus in the mother cat, I mean it still in early stage in pregnancy, which vet can only discovered during surgery, they will continue spay the cat. Pretty much like abortion. However if the cat is near full term, I don't know whether the vet would abort or continue.

There is Veterinary Service Office South West District, 25 minutes from where you live. It is district office, so there's likelihood they offer neuter service there. Give them a call.

17 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0641sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:27 PM