Can I do this? I feel that it is wrong by doing so, Can we find part time job with such way?

TSliangko
post Sep 28 2006, 02:50 AM, updated 20y ago

129 posts

Halo, everyone. I need all your opinions about this. Recently, I've juz finished my final exam and now having 3 months holidays. I wish to get a part-time job during this long holidays which is relevant to my study(accountancy). But until now, I've been few companies to have interviews, but none of them are going to hire me. I told them I only work for 3 months during the interview. Is this the reason that they don wan to hire me? I think of that way is because some of my friends who are sucessfully got a job, they don tell their employer about how long they are going to work in the company or even telling lie that they are applying for full-time job.
For me, I think we can't do this because once u tell ur employer that u working for full time basis, they will register the EPF acc for you, and when the moment you leave the company, it will be recoreded right? Thats why I reluctant to do so.
Is there any consequences by telling lie like that? Is it the only way to find some part-time job with such a way? I really need help! Don know wat to do next.
please comment about it.
awh85
post Sep 28 2006, 02:56 AM

2,156 posts

everyone who finds a short term job lies..well except for me.
cpteoh
post Sep 28 2006, 02:57 AM

Starcraft - Broodwar
1,093 posts

if i were you, i personally would not do that...
it is your name, as you did that...
not worth to cheat simply you want to work...

tell them the truth, you're really insterested, and willing to learn. hope they will give you the chance. if they reject, then accept it with smile. at least you tried your best.
terencey
post Sep 28 2006, 03:04 AM

119 posts

When a company is looking for someone to fill a Full Time position they would expect that the candidate stay as long as they can. As the candidate will be receiving formal and informal trainings, to prepare them for the actual job. Thats why when you mentioned that you only want to work for 3 months they will not hire you. Not to say that the hassle of the paperworks involved.

Its good that you did not lied. Imagine if you joined a good company and leave after 3 months, after you graduate, the company's door might not be open to you anymore.

Your options would be to look for some companies that offer internship jobs. Maybe check with your lecturers for contacts.

Hope this helps.
alextan99
post Sep 28 2006, 04:15 AM

Wassup
2,660 posts

If all you need is just the money then get a sales job if not good luck with your temp job hunting
ah_suknat
post Sep 28 2006, 04:21 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

white lies is good.

simply dont tell them how long you gonna work, after 3 month working, say that you got an offer somewhere else. they will understand your "lies". that way, they wont angry, you get the job, win win situation here.
goliath
post Sep 28 2006, 08:18 AM

5,532 posts

Can I do this? I feel that it is wrong by doing so, Can we find part time job with such way?

Of course you can do it. It is the matter of ethical. Furthermore, if you lie to them, you will leave a bad record in that particular company. What's more is that they have to take all trouble to register your EPF, SOCSO, etc and there you go, you decided to leave within 3 month. That's probably inside your probation period.

If you really need money, look for other job. I rather tell the company that I'm looking for internship or something like that rather than lying.
SUSspanker
post Sep 28 2006, 12:47 PM

Custom Made e-Penis
7,606 posts

Don't make promises you can't keep. You're better off searching for a part time job.
SUShootguuy
post Sep 28 2006, 12:52 PM

215 posts

Go to Audit Firm la!! They need 3 months part timer.

My housemate done his internship training there!!
low yat 82
post Sep 28 2006, 02:33 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(liangko @ Sep 28 2006, 02:50 AM)
Halo, everyone. I need all your opinions about this. Recently, I've juz finished my final exam and now having 3 months holidays. I wish to get a part-time job during this long holidays which is relevant to my study(accountancy). But until now, I've been few companies to have interviews, but none of them are going to hire me. I told them I only work for 3 months during the interview. Is this the reason that they don wan to hire me? I think of that way is because some of my friends who are sucessfully got a job, they don tell their employer about how long they are going to work in the company or even telling lie that they are applying for full-time job.
    For me, I think we can't do this because once u tell ur employer that u working for full time basis, they will register the EPF acc for you, and when the moment you leave the company, it will be recoreded right? Thats why I reluctant to do so.
    Is there any consequences by telling lie like that? Is it the only way to find some part-time job with such a way? I really need help! Don know wat to do next.
please comment about it.
its normal for some semester break, undergrad find works to do... but if u r in d line of bankin, plz dun do taht, ur name will go busuk....

usually epf will start deduceted from ur acc after probation period....wat im tryin to say is, after probation, then they will regester u....

and also b4 this period ends, a day onli is needed to resign...

usually if u wan 3-4 months work, u can either work as promoter or sales(i.e. credit card) or waiter....

jus my 2 cents
kimmie
post Sep 28 2006, 03:41 PM

KIM IMPOSSIBLE
1,532 posts

odd u didnt check the part time tread job listing in low yat.anywayz u got pm
WaCKy-Angel
post Sep 28 2006, 03:48 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Sep 28 2006, 02:33 PM)
its normal for some semester break, undergrad find works to do... but if u r in d line of bankin, plz dun do taht, ur name will go busuk....

usually epf will start deduceted from ur acc after probation period....wat im tryin to say is, after probation, then they will regester u....

and also b4 this period ends, a day onli is needed to resign... 

usually if u wan 3-4 months work, u can either work as promoter or sales(i.e. credit card) or waiter....

jus my 2 cents
Agreed...
Why u want to go accounting firm for that?
Wanna put in your resume later ? " i worked in xxxxxx for 3 months probation" ?

Naota-kun
post Sep 28 2006, 03:51 PM

All the stars below are lights in the heavens.
1,345 posts

why must get a full-time or part-time job? you never heard of a thing called "INTERNSHIP"?
kimmie
post Sep 28 2006, 04:02 PM

KIM IMPOSSIBLE
1,532 posts

QUOTE(Naota-kun @ Sep 28 2006, 03:51 PM)
why must get a full-time or part-time job? you never heard of a thing called "INTERNSHIP"?
maybe because internship pays peanuts:P lol
lucklydiamond
post Sep 29 2006, 08:48 AM

40 posts

Apply INTERNSHIP...
What you need is experiece, only start earning $$ after grad!
still young what
goliath
post Sep 29 2006, 10:22 AM

5,532 posts

Where's TS??

Anyway, internship is better way in your case rather than lying to get a job smile.gif
kimmie
post Sep 29 2006, 02:37 PM

KIM IMPOSSIBLE
1,532 posts

any luck liangko?btw ppl my company searching for part time account assitance executive http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=205774&st=80

0.0154sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:19 AM