NVIDIA GeForce Community V14

chocobo7779
post Jan 17 2015, 07:55 AM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jan 17 2015, 07:43 AM)
Oh i see.. icon_rolleyes.gif  hmm.gif

Ikr..well,let's wait for the benchmarks to roll out first. biggrin.gif
The Gainward GTX970 4GB is priced at RM1099.. sweat.gif Well,don't know if the price is still the same,due to the currency exchange.. sweat.gif
If that's the case, might as just well get a GTX970 instead... doh.gif

The pricing doesn't make any sense for me. rclxub.gif

BTW, the leaked nVidia slides are hilarious and pretty misleading at the same time:

...especially when the chart starts at a certain value instead of 0. sweat.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 17 2015, 03:52 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jan 17 2015, 01:55 PM)
if that is the price,,,might as well jump shoot over GTX970 LOR laugh.gif doh.gif
Don't know but I think nVidia must be smoking some 'good stuff' right now... sweat.gif

Why would they price the 960 so close to their 970s? doh.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 17 2015, 04:21 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jan 17 2015, 04:14 PM)
Or maybe they have another plan on that? hmm.gif
Let people buy up all their 970s until shortage... then use the opportunity to raise up prices... brows.gif brows.gif

Then people is forced to get the weaker 960s... brows.gif

Note: This is a speculation tongue.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 17 2015, 09:50 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jan 17 2015, 09:21 PM)
and then Nvidia troll later when true Maxwell cards are released whistling.gif
Then nVidia releases a much cheaper card, with slightly less performance than true Maxwell cards. icon_idea.gif

Just like what nVidia has done to the 780s and the Titan. whistling.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 19 2015, 07:27 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(jamilselamat @ Jan 19 2015, 02:44 AM)
Wait, people want a 960?

You'd think 970 is overkill for you at 1080p, but console parts ain't gonna be so kind to your machine. I play on 1080p almost exclusively and even Tomb Raider struggles to stay over 60fps at all times(obviously it's higher than 60 most of the time, but framerates dropping below 40 is distracting).
Parts or ports? tongue.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 22 2015, 10:57 PM

14,673 posts

Well reviews are out...

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/nvidia...x-960,4038.html

...and it's not particularly impressive, since you can get the R9 280/X for about the same money here... sweat.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 25 2015, 09:32 AM

14,673 posts

rclxub.gif So is the VRAM allocation issue a hardware fault, or a software bug? rclxub.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 25 2015, 09:38 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jan 25 2015, 09:37 AM)
Gigabyte released a new bios for their GTX970 lineup that fixed the issue, one guy confirmed it last time i checked.
Well, that's OK I think... If it's a hardware fault then those early adopters are going to get messed up... sweat.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 25 2015, 04:55 PM

14,673 posts

So do we still recommend the 970? Since the VRAM issue seems to be pointing out to be a hardware issue. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Jan 25 2015, 05:04 PM
chocobo7779
post Jan 25 2015, 05:26 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jan 25 2015, 05:22 PM)
advise them not to go GTX970 first until problem is resolved

later we kena bombed balik :3
So what alternatives are available? sweat.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 25 2015, 05:32 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jan 25 2015, 05:28 PM)
R9 290 biggrin.gif

i think we can still recommend GTX970 la, but let the fella know the possible issue of VRAM? hmm.gif
Though wasn't that this is pretty much confirmed unless nVidia issues a fix/recall? hmm.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 25 2015, 07:19 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 25 2015, 06:31 PM)
Well, end of the day, the 970 is still faster than the 780 and R9 290. This is a fact that won't changed, even if a game takes up more than 3.5GB of VRAM. The latest AMD Omega driver did close the gap a little bit and if there are mroe games making use of Mantle in the near future, we could potentially see the 290 to come quite close to the 970 and probably even equalling it in a VRAM intensive game.

Best case scenario is not to buy anything right now. Prices has increased (I just got another MSI 970 for SLI for RM1430 so that's still a decent deal considering the MSI 970 released at RM1.5k a few months ago).

Note: The 970 will indeed start to drop frames like crazy if VRAM allocation goes above 3.5GB. You don't even have to try a game, just open up Kombuster and run the 4GB VRAM stress test then compare it with the 3GB, the frames are nearly double on the latter.

On another side note, I think this is why Nvidia didn't push for 3GB of VRAM on the 960. That puny 128bit bus would have bottlenecked like crazy.
Erm... for the price of a custom 970, I could get a 290X Lightning... brows.gif

BTW, this is borderline shady and may be classified as false advertising. sweat.gif

...and apparently users are taking out their pitchforks... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Jan 25 2015, 07:19 PM
chocobo7779
post Jan 26 2015, 10:22 AM

14,673 posts

Well, someone managed to chat with nVidia's support....

Meanwhile at Nvidia (a chat from a forum user):

[10:11:39 PM] NV Chat: We have our entire team working on this issue with a high priority. This will soon be fixed for sure.
[10:11:54 PM] Me: So, what is the issue?
[10:12:07 PM] Me: What needs to be fixed?
[10:12:46 PM] NV Chat: We are not sure on that. We are still yet to find the cause of this issue.
[10:12:50 PM] NV Chat: Our team is working on it.

Either this boils down to:

1. Drivers
2. VBIOS
3. GPU hardware itself

If the drivers and the VBIOS are to be blamed, then this is probably a small issue, since they can always update the drivers and the VBIOS. If the GPU itself is the culprit, well.... sweat.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 26 2015, 10:41 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(antaras @ Jan 26 2015, 10:34 AM)
Well, I'm definitely one of them. Still think it's working perfectly for me though. Am able to max out everything thrown at it. Not a multi-mon or 4k gamer here. So, perhaps this ram-gate thingy doesn't apply to me.  sweat.gif
The problem is the principle itself...

Why would they label their 970s as a 4GB card when it can access 3.5GB of them without ending up in massive drops in memory bandwidth? sweat.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 27 2015, 10:14 AM

14,673 posts

http://wccftech.com/nvidia-geforce-gtx-970...rns-56-rops-64/

Another response by nVidia... so the VRAM issue is pretty much by design and cannot be fixed... sweat.gif doh.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 27 2015, 11:52 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 27 2015, 10:45 AM)
Unless Marketing Team wrote the BIOS to display to CPU Z  brows.gif

Or nVidia can blame Asus/MSI/etc for writing wrong spec inside BIOS.  laugh.gif
...and the GeForce forums is literally in chaos right now... whistling.gif sweat.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 27 2015, 08:17 PM

14,673 posts

I'm pretty sure a lot of nVidia users are ready to jump ship into AMD after this scandal... sweat.gif shocking.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 28 2015, 07:26 PM

14,673 posts

Well, nVidia confirms there will be an update to alleviate this issue...

http://www.techpowerup.com/209369/nvidia-t...ver-update.html

I know the 970 is a powerful card, but why would they have a huge miscommunication between the engineering and the PR team is extremely confusing.

Don't you think something is fishy behind it? hmm.gif If there is a mistake in the specifications, nVidia could have issued a statement telling that the specifications are incorrect as soon as possible. hmm.gif

...and the petition has reached more than 2500 signatures in just a few days... sweat.gif

https://www.change.org/p/nvidia-refund-for-gtx-970

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Jan 28 2015, 07:27 PM
chocobo7779
post Jan 28 2015, 07:40 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 28 2015, 07:33 PM)
347.25 IS a game ready driver for Dying Light...

980 is great and all bro, but not RM700 greater than the 970. If tonight kena Toto then different story.
Lol the way they say a driver is going to fix the VRAM issue is equally fishy. It's a hardware limitation, no unicorn driver from the next galaxy will do anything to "fix" it.
I think you misread alleviate as solve... tongue.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 30 2015, 10:08 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 30 2015, 10:04 AM)
If that conclusion make you feel any better, then good. Some people just don't like being cheated. Also this is effectively 3.5GB card.
Same here, and the most unacceptable thing here is nVidia took more than 4 months to realize this issue. doh.gif sweat.gif

0.0476sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:47 AM