128 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

NVIDIA GeForce Community V14

SSJBen
post Jan 28 2015, 07:33 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 28 2015, 06:52 PM)
Wait for updated drivers...

Or sell 970 cheap cheap and upgrade to GTX 980  drool.gif
347.25 IS a game ready driver for Dying Light...

980 is great and all bro, but not RM700 greater than the 970. If tonight kena Toto then different story.

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jan 28 2015, 07:26 PM)
Well, nVidia confirms there will be an update to alleviate this issue...

http://www.techpowerup.com/209369/nvidia-t...ver-update.html

I know the 970 is a powerful card, but why would they have a huge miscommunication between the engineering and the PR team is extremely confusing. 

Don't you think something is fishy behind it?  hmm.gif  If there is a mistake in the specifications, nVidia could have issued a statement telling that the specifications are incorrect as soon as possible.  hmm.gif
...and the petition has reached more than 2500 signatures in just a few days... sweat.gif

https://www.change.org/p/nvidia-refund-for-gtx-970
Lol the way they say a driver is going to fix the VRAM issue is equally fishy. It's a hardware limitation, no unicorn driver from the next galaxy will do anything to "fix" it.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Jan 28 2015, 07:33 PM
SUSgogo2
post Jan 28 2015, 07:33 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

Well, nVidia confirms there will be an update to alleviate this issue...

http://www.techpowerup.com/209369/nvidia-t...ver-update.html

I know the 970 is a powerful card, but why would they have a huge miscommunication between the engineering and the PR team is extremely confusing. 

Don't you think something is fishy behind it?  hmm.gif  If there is a mistake in the specifications, nVidia could have issued a statement telling that the specifications are incorrect as soon as possible.  hmm.gif
...and the petition has reached more than 2500 signatures in just a few days... sweat.gif

https://www.change.org/p/nvidia-refund-for-gtx-970
Definitely weird.

And the update will just alleviate the issue. Does not fix the fact that this is 3.5GB card.
antaras
post Jan 28 2015, 07:35 PM

196 posts

I think it's not really fishy things going on here. Writing 4GB on the front of the case is a lot easier than 3.5GB + 0.5GB. Yup, technically, it's 4GB but... bla bla bla... you know the whole thing here. The thing now is nVidia f***up big time here. Whatever happen to them, they'll have to deal with it. I'm more than happy if they got fined or whatever shit. Gotta keep these companies in check and from giving false advertisement.
chocobo7779
post Jan 28 2015, 07:40 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 28 2015, 07:33 PM)

980 is great and all bro, but not RM700 greater than the 970. If tonight kena Toto then different story.
Lol the way they say a driver is going to fix the VRAM issue is equally fishy. It's a hardware limitation, no unicorn driver from the next galaxy will do anything to "fix" it.
I think you misread alleviate as solve... tongue.gif
Gamer
post Jan 28 2015, 07:42 PM

Be Original
3,366 posts

should be less then RM1.4k
SSJBen
post Jan 28 2015, 07:56 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jan 28 2015, 07:40 PM)
I think you misread alleviate as solve... tongue.gif
I know, I know. What I meant in my context is that Nvidia is saying they are working on some driver to actually you know... do something, that's why I said "fix". Why hadn't they done so 2 months ago? When everyone raise their pitchforks and get angry, only then they wanna start working on a driver?

As it stands, 1080p users and have RM1.2-1.5k to spend, get a 970. 1440p, tri-1080p, 4k guys, either wait for AMD's next flagship or get a 980.
Najmods
post Jan 28 2015, 08:11 PM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 28 2015, 07:56 PM)
As it stands, 1080p users and have RM1.2-1.5k to spend, get a 970. 1440p, tri-1080p, 4k guys, either wait for AMD's next flagship or get a 980.

Agreed. To be honest even 980 don't have enough power to run at higher resolution than 1920x1080. I tested few games that can stressed out RAM like Wolfenstein: The New Order and FarCry 4 with 4x DSR (native 1920x1080) Ultra setting, I don't notice any weird slowdown or artifacts like some posted on YouTube, memory usage is way above 3.5GB from GPU-Z utility.

Although the performance of the card is good, great even, I really hate a company that isn't honest. It's as simple as that
terradrive
post Jan 28 2015, 08:19 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 28 2015, 07:33 PM)

That sucks lol.

What to do? GTX 980 is the card that have no VRAM problems laugh.gif

By the way Nvidia have no problems screwing up. Remember bumpgate? Nvidia GPUs will still sell like hotcakes.

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jan 28 2015, 08:21 PM
S4PH
post Jan 28 2015, 08:23 PM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Jan 28 2015, 08:11 PM)
Agreed. To be honest even 980 don't have enough power to run at higher resolution than 1920x1080. I tested few games that can stressed out RAM like Wolfenstein: The New Order and FarCry 4 with 4x DSR (native 1920x1080) Ultra setting, I don't notice any weird slowdown or artifacts like some posted on YouTube, memory usage is way above 3.5GB from GPU-Z utility.

Although the performance of the card is good, great even, I really hate a company that isn't honest. It's as simple as that
wolfenstein runs on opengl and it sucks
alfiejr
post Jan 28 2015, 09:08 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

just tested Shadow of Mordor, man the game stutters like crazy when it hits around 3GB onwards. Sigh the only way to reduce it is by reducing the texture sad.gif . Fps wise its very good , maintaining 60FPS at most of the time.
rurushu
post Jan 28 2015, 09:18 PM

2,021 posts

the GTX970 fiasco, is it a software driver issue? thought they mention it was the hardware side's memory architecture design? if so, how does a software driver would help the situation?? hmm.gif
SUSngkhanmein
post Jan 28 2015, 09:24 PM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jan 28 2015, 09:18 PM)
the GTX970 fiasco, is it a software driver issue? thought they mention it was the hardware side's memory architecture design? if so, how does a software driver would help the situation??  hmm.gif
they goin to cheat with s/w after done with h/w icon_idea.gif
Gamer
post Jan 28 2015, 09:26 PM

Be Original
3,366 posts

if hardware issue, no matter how good the driver also can't help
yaphong
post Jan 28 2015, 09:38 PM

659 posts

What I don't understand is this;

Prior to this RAM-Gate,
Everyone was like, uhh 970 is the best card and performs better than 780.

After discovering that the 0.5GB RAM is not the same fast RAM,
Uhhh now my 970 sucks and I need refund badly. NVIDIA penipu scammer

My question is that, has the performance of the GTX 970 changed after knowing the issue? If not, then why everyone cried for a refund? Or just people wanted to take this advantage to get a free upgrade to GTX 980 instead?
SSJBen
post Jan 28 2015, 09:38 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(alfiejr @ Jan 28 2015, 09:08 PM)
just tested Shadow of Mordor, man the game stutters like crazy when it hits around 3GB onwards. Sigh the only way to reduce it is by reducing the texture sad.gif . Fps wise its very good , maintaining 60FPS at most of the time.
Fortunately for SoM, the quality difference between high and ultra texture is pretty minimal. It'll be more apparent if you play on 4k and on a big screen (30+ inches), but if not then I think no one should play with ultra textures on SOM in the first place.

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jan 28 2015, 09:18 PM)
the GTX970 fiasco, is it a software driver issue? thought they mention it was the hardware side's memory architecture design? if so, how does a software driver would help the situation??  hmm.gif
In theory, they can improve the memory allocation. But to what extent I'm not sure. My guess is, not enough to make a difference.
marfccy
post Jan 28 2015, 09:48 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(yaphong @ Jan 28 2015, 09:38 PM)

Prior to this RAM-Gate,

My question is that, has the performance of the GTX 970 changed after knowing the issue? If not, then why everyone cried for a refund? Or just people wanted to take this advantage to get a free upgrade to GTX 980 instead?
as per my previous post

frankly, TLDR version of ram-gate

> users upset cos kenot muh 4K with 3.5GB VRAM

i do agree with the parts where GTX970 is still a whooping powerful card, just not at VRAM intensive games

alfiejr
post Jan 28 2015, 10:02 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 28 2015, 09:38 PM)
Fortunately for SoM, the quality difference between high and ultra texture is pretty minimal. It'll be more apparent if you play on 4k and on a big screen (30+ inches), but if not then I think no one should play with ultra textures on SOM in the first place.
In theory, they can improve the memory allocation. But to what extent I'm not sure. My guess is, not enough to make a difference.
yup agree , the difference between the texture settings ain't too much.
SSJBen
post Jan 28 2015, 10:18 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(alfiejr @ Jan 28 2015, 10:02 PM)
yup agree , the difference between the texture settings ain't too much.
Done downloading Dying Light. Now let's see how it tanks. laugh.gif
rav3n82
post Jan 28 2015, 10:40 PM

I find your lack of faith disturbing!
7,084 posts

QUOTE(yaphong @ Jan 28 2015, 09:38 PM)

Prior to this RAM-Gate,

If they would have come clean in the first place, I am sure all of us would not even have an issue to begin with. From my personal point of view; small issue made big. And biasalah, people sometimes still carry this mob mentality with them. Don't fully understand the issue, just jump in and join the bandwagon. tongue.gif Awhile ago all everyone so happily praising the 970, suddenly with this RAM-gate fiasco, all cry foul. sweat.gif You can see for yourself, some of those that complain in our forum are those that read from forums/websites and don't even have this dreaded 970 to begin with. I for one hardly have any issue with this 970 playing on 1080p. Most (if not all) of my games are optimized by Geforce Experience. Even with a fully enabled fast memory buffer of 4GB on the 970, I doubt it would have made much of an impact on higher resolutions (particularly 4K). To churn out such amount of pixels would require significant GPU processing power, not just memory buffer alone. Suddenly, all wanna jump ship and go for 290X with humongous 8GB VRAM, as if that would really made much of a difference. biggrin.gif
yaphong
post Jan 28 2015, 11:59 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Jan 28 2015, 10:40 PM)
If they would have come clean in the first place, I am sure all of us would not even have an issue to begin with. From my personal point of view; small issue made big. And biasalah, people sometimes still carry this mob mentality with them. Don't fully understand the issue, just jump in and join the bandwagon. tongue.gif Awhile ago all everyone so happily praising the 970, suddenly with this RAM-gate fiasco, all cry foul. sweat.gif You can see for yourself, some of those that complain in our forum are those that read from forums/websites and don't even have this dreaded 970 to begin with. I for one hardly have any issue with this 970 playing on 1080p. Most (if not all) of my games are optimized by Geforce Experience. Even with a fully enabled fast memory buffer of 4GB on the 970, I doubt it would have made much of an impact on higher resolutions (particularly 4K). To churn out such amount of pixels would require significant GPU processing power, not just memory buffer alone. Suddenly, all wanna jump ship and go for 290X with humongous 8GB VRAM, as if that would really made much of a difference. biggrin.gif
I thought we already established long ago that having more GPU RAM does not really improve performance when the GPU itself isn't fast enough. I would agree if everyone is double or triple SLI their GTX 970 to run 4K (because the RAM is still limited to single card RAM) then it is an issue. I guess people just take opportunity (like every fanboys) just to jump the gun and take the shoot for trolololol.

I still remember I first got conned by a salesman in Low Yat saying that my ATI X300 with 256MB HyperMemory is a powerful card. Only later I learned that X300 is entry card (not even mid range)... all the additional RAM went unused. doh.gif

This post has been edited by yaphong: Jan 29 2015, 12:00 AM

128 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0173sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:06 PM