Samsung Galaxy Note 4 Official Thread V6, 4th Generation Phablet by Samsung

sordanny
post Jan 8 2015, 09:27 AM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(Renosirious @ Jan 8 2015, 12:37 AM)
Hellos sifus, the note 4 I use so far so good(previous is note1) however, the phone reception is very bad, any one here had this problem too? Using umobile prepaid rm 28.. Always drop to 2bar or maybe 1bar ):
I noticed that although 1 bar or 2 bar signal but speed test still can achieve high speed 15mbps and above on LTE signal. No drop call or call quality problems either

Perhaps it is just not pleasing to the eye? rolleyes.gif

sordanny
post Jan 12 2015, 12:16 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(mangoheng @ Jan 11 2015, 08:12 PM)
You guys with SOT over 4 hours I need give a big salute la .... been few days with my note 4 and I only get less than 3.5 hours SOT ..... damn sad... i dont even play games...going to give greenify a try and see if it makes any difference....
Bro what's your standby time?
For me I'm also about 3 hours ++ screen on time, with at least 2.5 days to 3 days standby time

I think over 5 hours screen on time can be achieved if use up the battery within the same day. But not using the phone so frequently at the moment

sordanny
post Jan 12 2015, 01:56 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(mangoheng @ Jan 12 2015, 01:00 PM)
Haha my standby time only 17 hours + definitely wont last more than 24 hours....

Barely touching my phone when at work from 9 till 6...  but during that duration it drop from 90% till 50% ! i was like wtf ? Thats why i was so shocked when so many can get awesome SOT without turning much of any features off at all.....
bro the answer is one of the below:
QUOTE(Baconateer @ Jan 12 2015, 01:42 PM)
some apps must have been sucking the battery..or the signal problem...
If it is an app draining the battery, have a look at what apps that consume most power from the list under "settings" - "power saving"
If u see any particular app that keep showing up in the top 3 u found the culprit. Next would be uninstall the app or find a way to deal with it. If through app setting it still drains battery then Greenify could be your solution here

It also could be a telco coverage issue causing battery drain. If your phone signal fluctuates a lot between 2G-3G-LTE, that will reduce battery life as well. Simple way to fix it is to lock to 3G or 2G, and only enable 2G/3G/LTE when wanna use mobile data

But from past experience, most of the time it is an app related problem

sordanny
post Jan 12 2015, 02:20 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(mangoheng @ Jan 12 2015, 02:08 PM)
Might as well put in airplane mode i guess...
Airplane mode u can't make/receive calls as all wireless connection is off
But in ultra power savings the background sync are all turned off but mobile network remain on
sordanny
post Jan 12 2015, 02:33 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(mangoheng @ Jan 12 2015, 02:25 PM)
oh awesome i just realized that i can still online while in ultra mode.... this is so much useful compared to the ultra saving mode on xperia z3... at least i can do something while on it....
Yes bro that's right
I think it is useful as u can choose few frequently used apps to enable background sync while wipe out the rest
I think this is among the best feature Samsung have done for Note 4
sordanny
post Jan 12 2015, 06:33 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(SoulRex @ Jan 12 2015, 05:08 PM)
sorry to interfere, what if the battery draining factor is due to 'Android OS'?
according to the wake up time, it was awake for more then 20hours in a 1 day run down, the phone battery lasted for 1day 10hours.
Bro I suggest u look into email sync
Last time my old Samsung phone also got this issue and it was due to stock email app wakelock. I was only pushing 2 email accounts at that time. If u dun mind to get your emails slow a bit u can adjust stock email app background sync timing to be set to maybe once in half an hour or an hour. That would cut down the aggressive background sync

If u still prefer push, I managed to fix it by replacing the stock email app with their respective native apps such as Yahoo Mail, Outlook etc. But the downside is u would need few apps to handle emails instead of all in one

sordanny
post Jan 14 2015, 09:49 AM

3,009 posts

Guys I'm having some major wakelock problem after factory reset my phone
After checking power savings it shows the phone is ALWAYS awake!!??
I believe the problem is with google play services as it has a very high stay awake time. The screenshots are below.

Appreciate help to fix without root
Thanks guys

[attachmentid=4300416] [attachmentid=4300419]

[attachmentid=4300422] [attachmentid=4300424]

This post has been edited by sordanny: Jan 14 2015, 11:18 AM
sordanny
post Jan 14 2015, 04:07 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jan 14 2015, 11:55 AM)
sometime this happens because Google is trying to restore your backup data and settings.. maybe just let it be for a day or two, unless if it persists then you have to worry, maybe reformat later..
I restarted phone and voila problem solved
phew cool2.gif

QUOTE(TyroneS @ Jan 14 2015, 02:09 PM)
welcome,and answer is no... sweat.gif

BTW,Did someone tried apply 1 layer of normal screen protector then apply 2nd layer of tempered glass?
since normal sp will stick perfectly and make the 2.5D part flatter,after maybe glass will stick nicely on it. brows.gif
Bro I tried this from lazada
http://www.lazada.com.my/galaxy-note-4-pri...ass-872617.html
No halo effect but then it doesn't fully cover the phone. There are quite some gap on all 4 edges of the phone about 1/4 inch. If u don't use any casing it looks even worse. And also the bottom part of it is not as the picture but similar to the other SP with a cut out leaving the home button exposed

sordanny
post Jan 15 2015, 11:45 AM

3,009 posts

Guys, yesterday night during bedtime hours my battery dropped from 100% to 85%
I checked under power savings the major power consumption are cell standby & device idle. And I've off Wifi but the chart shows Wifi was on all the time?

I think Wifi scanning should be the major factor causing battery to drop so much?
And so under advanced Wifi options, I disabled "always allow scanning". Hope it will be better today

Anyone had faced the same problem and fixed by doing the same thing?

sordanny
post Jan 15 2015, 02:08 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Jan 15 2015, 11:09 AM)
normal screen protector is made out of very thin plastic...tempered glass sp..is made out of flexible glass that offer far better protection compared to plastic..but more expensive..most tempered glass sp out there caused halo effect on note 4..
Depends on whether u use a casing also
Because tempered screen protector will not cover the whole screen area. There is about 1/4 inch gap on front screen all 4 sides. It is fugly if u don't use any casing. It is also inconvenient when need touch/slide finger to the edges of the screen. So far haven't find any tempered glass screen protector that 100% covers the front screen.

Probably I will be switching to a normal screen protector due to this reason rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(danieloo @ Jan 15 2015, 11:54 AM)
Common problem with all Android user since Jelly Bean.
Disabling the "Always allow scanning" will definitely help improving your battery life.
Thanks bro

sordanny
post Jan 19 2015, 04:29 PM

3,009 posts

Can anyone recommend a screen protector that will cover the whole front screen please
I bought 1 normal anti fingerprint screen protector but still the size is same as tempered glass!! Made me took out and wasted the tempered glass privacy screen protector vmad.gif
sordanny
post Jan 19 2015, 05:07 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Jan 19 2015, 04:38 PM)
Did not experience any GPS loss signal when using Note 4 with Waze app. Could this be only affecting certain Note 4 units?
So far so good
sordanny
post Jan 20 2015, 09:48 AM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(says @ Jan 19 2015, 10:05 PM)
My today battery life!
[attachmentid=4307932][attachmentid=4307933][attachmentid=4307936]
rclxms.gif

QUOTE(mangoheng @ Jan 19 2015, 10:27 PM)
Ah i dont get it i cant even reach 3.5 hours SOT 70% of the time..... usually is like 1.9 hours SOT with 19 hours standby ....... and i even use ultra saving mode when in office..... walao.... why la.... i already check no apps are eating battery in background....
I think I'm in the same situation as u bro
My SOT is about 3.5 hours, standby slightly over 1 day. Have been this way ever since factory reset
Just yesterday night before sleep 100% charged drop to 85% when I wake up rclxub.gif

Haven't root to use greenify yet but maybe soon as wakelock detector won't 100% work without root
I think definitely there are some wakelock causing drain in the background although all apps are closed

This post has been edited by sordanny: Jan 20 2015, 09:51 AM
sordanny
post Jan 20 2015, 12:25 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jan 20 2015, 10:11 AM)
One of the China edition already received lollipop 5.0.1, I believe soon others variance will coming.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/note-4/gen...alcomm-t3007061
Wow can't wait for lollipop

QUOTE(kira_88 @ Jan 20 2015, 11:06 AM)
Maybe some of your installed app are very naughty and cause yor phone to wake a lot. Its been 2 weeks since i bought my phone and i can get around 4 to 5 hour sot without even tweaking anything. I just use it as it is. Overnight only 2% drop. Wifi on when at home and data is always on
I think so. Previously before factory reset I also get 4 hours+ SOT but suddenly after factory reset it became 3.5 hours only...... Overnight drop 15% yeaterday!!

I've just installed greenify without root. Hope it will help
Will continue to monitor monitor and keeping fingers crossed

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jan 20 2015, 11:50 AM)
anybody experiences super bad network reception ...
KL. at home. level 4. only getting 1 single bar most of the time.
but I tried with my HTC with same sim, I get 4 bars..
I remembered someone complaint aabout this after the latest fw update ?

anybody?

It's a known Maxis problem, problem due to fibre cable cut
look at the complains at Maxis FTTH thread.....

sordanny
post Jan 21 2015, 11:39 AM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(Intel Core i7 @ Jan 21 2015, 11:29 AM)
Anyone using this TGSP
http://www.amazon.com/Lifetime-Warranty-Ze...00-20&m1k=vb_ac

They said it got Zero halo effect
It doesn't fully cover the screen and so there is risk of halo effect. Other factors such as installer / phone condition could also be among the reason causing it

QUOTE(shockk @ Jan 21 2015, 11:33 AM)
Unless the Glass SP is a 3D type (like what IMOS makes for the iPhone 6 and 6 Plus), I doubt that it can fully make it 'zero' halo effect.

Plain and simple laws of physics: If the sides of the screen is curved like in Note 4, there's no way a fully-flat Glass SP can stick 100%.

However, take note that some Note 4 screens have less curved sides than other units. Perhaps due to different screen glass manufacturing batches. So some may have Halo effect, and some not. But this is mainly on the phone side and nothing to do with the Glass SP.
Yes agree
But it is sooooo hard to find a screen protector that fully covers the screen
If anyone that managed to get it, please share. Thanks

sordanny
post Jan 21 2015, 02:27 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Jan 21 2015, 01:01 PM)
only non-tempered glass sp can fully cover the screen..
I've got no problem with non-tempered glass as long as it can cover whole front screen smile.gif
sordanny
post Jan 22 2015, 02:27 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(droidtrix @ Jan 22 2015, 06:36 AM)
Battery life of first 2 day usage . No power saving and data on 24hrs
I dont know why wifi show awake through out the usage.
Very nice SOT thumbup.gif
Mine is only about 3.5 hours........ cry.gif

Installed Greenify and yesterday in office everything was smooth and I think no more wakelocks. Battery drain is normal & very minimal. After work I setup TTpod app and things went haywire... I suspect it is 1 of 2 things that caused the wakelocks - TTpod or lockscreen (my interests - which I've set to randomly change lockscreen pic every 1 hour)

I've changed lockscreen back to a still image and now monitoring the situation. Keeping fingers crossed

sordanny
post Jan 23 2015, 02:38 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(Miracles @ Jan 23 2015, 02:23 PM)

Is it normal for a game to use up so much of the battery? 

Check the screenshots ,  I made a few phone calls,  fb messenger and WhatsApp and played the above game during lunch break and morning. SOT 2 hours
Seems too much?? shocking.gif
sordanny
post Jan 24 2015, 10:34 AM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(droidtrix @ Jan 24 2015, 12:58 AM)
Any 1 experincing light leakage at button area.? When u press back button, can any one notice it?
I don't have this sort of problem

sordanny
post Jan 24 2015, 10:38 AM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(bloodchow2 @ Jan 23 2015, 11:23 PM)
my note 4 playing games lag like hell >.<
I haven't experienced any lag using the phone as the main phone for the past 1month plus
I don't play games but my fren installed and tested asphalt and it ran smoothly on the phone
What was the game that caused lag on your phone?

0.0437sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:24 AM