post Jun 14 2015, 09:12 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 14 2015, 08:55 PM)
So how MYR performance would be for next week? hmm.gif
google and found this
"Strong BUY"...according to this
http://www.investing.com/currencies/sgd-my...cal?period=week

hmm.gif unable to interpret the Technical indicators and summary from it...
"strong buy" means...investors are encouraged to buy SGD or MYR?... rclxub.gif
any idea?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jun 14 2015, 09:13 PM
SUSyklooi
post Jun 15 2015, 12:34 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jun 15 2015, 12:25 PM)
Okay - in laymen terms as blow :-

When we 'play' currencies, we look at a pair. Strong Buy on the SGD/MYR pair means this pair will RISE IN VALUE. When the SGD/MYR rises in value, it means 1 SGD CAN BUY MORE MYR, which in turn means the MYR is WEAKENING against the SGD, because the amount of MYR that an SGD can buy increases.

Tech Indicators - 5 different Tech Indicators are used here to predict the turnaround points. Turnaround around points are indicators for taking prfit. Howevr, these pints are not necessarily accurate.

I will not sell, I am not a trder. I accumulate and invst more into the USD and SGD mkts. But that's me,.. and my stregy. Others may be good traders, so they can go in and out.
hmm.gif so after obtaining the comments...(if assuming want to follow the comments),
one also have to look at the TITLE of the analysis? rclxub.gif
ex,..if "Strong Buy" is recommended, could it mean different things when the title is SGD/MYR and MYR/SGD...
so or the above case,...Strong BUY for SGD/MYR means ...can buy Sing Dollars...right?? notworthy.gif
SUSyklooi
post Jun 15 2015, 12:56 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jun 15 2015, 12:48 PM)
Yes, look at title first. YES, Strong Buy would mean different things between SGD/MYR and MYR/SGD.

If a pair is, say, XXX/YYY, then always look at it as 1 unit of XXX is able buy how many units of YYY. Just carry this visualization in mind.

If it can buy more YYY, then XXX is strengthening OR in other words, YYY is weakening.

If it can buy LESS YYY, then XXX is weakening OR in other words, YYY is strengthening.

In the beginning, this may sound cofusing, but as you practise this mindset movng forward, you will become more familiar with it !
rclxms.gif notworthy.gif will try to play with my mind.... thumbup.gif
SUSyklooi
post Aug 20 2015, 12:41 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 20 2015, 12:37 PM)
Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) Governor Tan Sri Dr Zeti Akhtar Aziz says there are no intentions to move towards a less flexible forex regime.

She said the ringgit adjustments are part of the current flexible forex regime, according to Bloomberg on Thursday.

Zeti was also quoted saying Malaysia had high levels of reserves. hmm.gif  blink.gif
hmm.gif past tense?... sweat.gif sweat.gif
SUSyklooi
post Aug 20 2015, 10:31 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Parrot @ Aug 20 2015, 10:15 PM)
You mean increasing the share of hydrocarbons in total exports the past 15 years? That's is so not going to lead to disaster when some OPEC cucks wants to undermine everyone else's ability to produce and sell oil.

I heard Australia's hurting too because they allowed themselves to be commodity-driven (through mineral mining).
hmm.gif is china manufacturing driven...?? HK % S'pore...financial hubs? kena also?
SUSyklooi
post Aug 20 2015, 10:46 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 20 2015, 10:39 PM)
the discussion is about currency, not economy or stock markets.

china imports and consumes loads of commodities from malaysia, australia, etc.

when they can't sell ther manufactured goods, they reduce buying, so commodity exporting countries suffer.

china, hk, sg problems are quite different...
rclxms.gif yes...quite different...but are inter twined...guess 1 factor fall all related...different or not....but that is another thread lor.
SUSyklooi
post Aug 20 2015, 10:58 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 20 2015, 10:53 PM)
the commodity exporting countries which are mostly emerging markets are the worst hit.

because the currencies have gone so bad, people can't buy much or some essentials becoming scarce.

russia in recession, venezuela seeing riots. a few others incl nigeria and algeria are at "boiling point".
hmm.gif then is that related to economy too? notworthy.gif

0.0451sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:39 PM