ringgit Malaysia drop , how to I change my RM to USD

anudora
post Jan 6 2015, 07:55 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(velocitycnr @ Jan 6 2015, 07:15 PM)
RM3.55 for 1 USD. This is ridiculous  sad.gif
I am eager to see your reaction when reach RM4 for 1USD
anudora
post Jan 6 2015, 07:56 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 6 2015, 07:25 PM)
not at all.
where u were in 1997?
usd/rm = 3.80. fd rates >10%.
the big question to ask now is what will help strengthen rm and if these elements are there or will happen?
I see a lot of elements that weaken the RM only
anudora
post Jan 7 2015, 09:16 AM

208 posts

Actually the lowest is 4.70 and highest 2.1

This post has been edited by anudora: Jan 7 2015, 09:43 AM
anudora
post Jan 11 2015, 02:20 PM

208 posts

What if there is 1MDB 2.0? How low can RM go?

http://www.kinibiz.com/story/tigertalk/133...i-1mdb-2.0.html
anudora
post Mar 28 2015, 02:03 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(Seralph @ Mar 25 2015, 12:19 PM)
"As a foreigner, 1MDB doesn't bother me, it's a small issue and I think the government has plans A, B and C in place, and they will do something about 1MDB,"IQI Holdings Chief Economist Shan Saeed told Bernama in an interview.
"The inflation numbers in Malaysia are very much subdued, and are under control due to monetary policy."

any bets that IQI have some contracts with our Najib gahmen?
Just google and check the company and you will instantly know why he say that. Self proclaimed economist on a ... company.

http://www.iqiglobal.com/.

This post has been edited by anudora: Mar 28 2015, 02:06 PM
anudora
post Jul 7 2015, 10:06 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(LoverWhiteBoy @ Jun 25 2015, 02:51 PM)
I wanna see that badly, too. Count me in! smile.gif
getting near......maybe reach at the end of this month
anudora
post Jul 7 2015, 10:55 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(netmask8 @ Jul 7 2015, 10:47 PM)
Economy Thesis Question :-
Is weak currency = Boost TOURISM, Surplus Export > Import ? Any idea?
Many S'porean / tourists like to spend their money here like KING, while local ppls less travel out or buy imported gadgets.
Hence, more surplus inflows > outflows. I agree not to believe, but many tutors gave credit of weak currency benefits.
Think from ECONOMY PERSPECTIVE , not politic . You has returned your economy paper to your teacher?  thumbup.gif
that is why Zimbabwe is good. weak currency and come with a new slogan. Now everyone is a TRILLIONAIRE!
http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/jun/...000-old-dollars

anudora
post Jul 7 2015, 11:08 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(netmask8 @ Jul 7 2015, 11:02 PM)
Too far away.. Compare with China or Japan always low currency exchg trend to makes their export competitive and add more surplus trade / boost economy.
the theory should be applicable to all countries. Why got exception?
anudora
post Jul 8 2015, 11:16 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(langstrasse @ Jul 8 2015, 10:39 AM)
The perception problem is not going to be easy to overcome. Tougher job now to get foreign investors to come in, due to the political risk.
How sure are you that this is a perception problem and not fundamental?
Or is this the problem of your perception about the perception problem. tongue.gif
anudora
post Aug 14 2015, 11:36 AM

208 posts

Many still do not understand the implication of yesterday zeti press announcement. It is huge!
anudora
post Aug 14 2015, 01:25 PM

208 posts

read between the lines......................................as an investor.
anudora
post Aug 20 2015, 09:05 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 20 2015, 07:15 PM)
1/4 is mild. rm's  -16%  is really not bad but maybe worse coming.

check brazilian, turkish, russian, nigerian, venzuelan currencies.

some countries driven to recession already.

the result of being commodities dependent.

here, we also depend on banglas. tongue.gif

this is something, better not discount it...
Our gomen all the while had been boasting about being diversify economy when all evidence show that we are actually diversify commodities. tongue.gif
anudora
post Aug 25 2015, 10:20 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 24 2015, 11:45 PM)
Can't believe there are people who are so happy that RM is in such dire straits when  most of the fellow Malaysians are going to suffer.
This thread is about protecting our own wealth when MYR drop. There is nothing happy about it. Since gov not doing anything about it, we had to do it ourselves.
anudora
post Aug 29 2015, 02:29 AM

208 posts

This month oil price in USD drop a little but MYR drop a lot.
Maybe petrol increase by RM0.15 to RM0.30. So remember to fill your tank.
Another round of inflation coming. The dominoes are all in place.

This post has been edited by anudora: Aug 29 2015, 02:39 AM
anudora
post Aug 29 2015, 10:52 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 29 2015, 07:26 AM)
Let me give a better illustration on Monthly candlestick chart. 1 candle = 1 month.
You will be better able to see how petrol price will increase the most next month.
You can predict based on previous month petrol price setting.

This post has been edited by anudora: Aug 29 2015, 10:55 PM

anudora
post Sep 3 2015, 08:24 PM

208 posts

Lately this thread attract a lot of macai with weak argument that insults the intelligent of the average people.
I miss the time when all comments in this thread was pretty much in agreement.
anudora
post Sep 3 2015, 11:37 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(netmask8 @ Sep 3 2015, 11:03 PM)
As usual, there are dude that always linked any person to macai, mangali, mca and other names calling when he/she cannot elaborate with facts/ data.
That's why LYN ppls always "sick" , no need to "entertain" these dude and let them "syiok sendiri" .  hmm.gif

See the data currencies performance against the greenback.  http://www.tradingeconomics.com/currencies  ==>>  thumbup.gif
Per the above link, RM is drop, but it is not the worst, right? If you don't agree, kindly help to provide your arguments facts/data, and not own conclusion/assumption.  whistling.gif
The link got more than 60 different currencies, not only the basket of major currencies.
Who care about RM being the WORST or not? I know I don't. I only know that I need to protect my wealth. Worst or second worst, no need to be too obsessed with that. Might end up missing the big picture.

It only matter when you use your money to pay for something. Well, just watch TV news that eggs price are going up because the food for the chicken are imported and price in USD. So inflation is coming. Right at a time when growth slows down. Stagflation?

Of course anyone can find a currency that are worse than the other at any time. Zimbabwe anyone? rclxms.gif

anudora
post Sep 3 2015, 11:54 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(yolldddd @ Sep 3 2015, 09:10 PM)
The problem is arguing here who is more inteligent is pointless as nothing will change. Better channel that energy to look for more money Better channel that energy to look for more money like what hong kong people is doing as they exchange rate is 7.75 even worst then us! instead of giving excuse and whining here as it will help nobody.
That is what the thread is doing the whole time before you came.

We are observing the economy indicator, data, news......bla bla bla.......and also analyzing the trend of USDMYR to determine the long term movement of MYR.
That is something that I think we need to know. Not just look for money but also to protect the money.

Of course, once in a while , they will be people come here and whining. This is normal.

But then, you came with your argument and make thing worse. It is just off the scale by a wide margin!

anudora
post Sep 4 2015, 03:47 PM

208 posts

KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia saw exports in July increase 3.5% from a year earlier as demand for electrical and electronic goods surged, government data showed on Friday.

According to the median forecast from a Reuters poll, economists had forecast exports would rise 3.2% on the back of a weakening ringgit currency, although individual estimates varied.

Exports of manufactured products helped boost July's figure as demand for electronic integrated circuits grew, especially from China.
Despite a weaker ringgit, imports did much better than expected, rising 5.9% from last year due to increases in imports of electronic circuits, petroleum oils and medicament.

Economists had predicted a 0.8% drop. This is the first increase for imports after three consecutive months of decline since the government implemented a consumption-based Goods and Services Tax (GST) in April.

The ringgit is the worst performing emerging Asian currency this year, having fallen more than 17% this year.

The trade surplus in July dropped to RM2.38bil (US$559.9mil) from RM7.98bil in June. Exports to China increased 32.7%, while US exports grew 20.2%, underpinned by demand from the manufactured goods sector.

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...cast/?style=biz
anudora
post Sep 4 2015, 04:22 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 4 2015, 04:07 PM)
Data end-July 2015 :-

Exports rose 3.2% y-o-y.
Imports rose MORE, by 5.9% y-o-y.

The above could have caused the Trade Surplus to drop by a whopping RM7.98bil in end-June to RM2.38bil in end-July, 2015.

That Trade Surplus figure of USD559.9mil will help towards our International Reserves. However, the trend (falling surplus here, especially after such a big fall)  observed does not seem to be healthy.

Who said the Trade Surplus will grow in our favour with the wekening RM, and I had asked one question earlier on how much has the Trade Surplus figure been helping out in our Int'l Reserves. That question was never answered - above is the answer for the month end-July 2015.

Let's see for end-August 2015 next mth.

Wanted to edit but realized that the currency for import and export numbers are in already in the USD, hence aborted the editing.
Ok now lets see the reporting from another source. It give much more information and data.
http://www.tradingeconomics.com/malaysia/balance-of-trade

Malaysia Trade Surplus Misses Forecasts in July

Malaysia reported a MYR2.38 billion trade surplus in July of 2015, down from MYR3.64 billion a year earlier and missing market consensus. It is the smallest trade surplus since October 2014, as imports grew more than exports.

Year-on-year, exports increased by 3.5 percent to MYR63.20 billion in July. Sales rose for: electrical and electronics/E&E products (+12.1 percent to MYR23.1 billion, accounting for 36.5 percent to total exports), timber and timber-based products (+14.1 percent to MYR1.8 billion, 2.9 percent share), natural rubber (+60.7 percent to MYR484.1 million, 0.8 percent share) and palm oil and palm based-products (+2.4 percent to MYR5.8 billion, 9.1 percent total share). In contrast, outbond shipments declined for: refined petroleum products (-48.7 percent to MYR3.0 billion, 4.8 percent share), LNG (-23.6 percent to MYR3.1 billion, 4.9 percent share) and crude petroleum (-21.1 percent to MYR1.9 billion, 3.0 percent share).

Compared to the previous year, outbond shipments rose to China (+MYR2.3 billion), the US (+1.0 billion), Vietnam (+MYR322.6 million), Indonesia (+MYR278.5 million) and Thailand (+MYR278.4 million).

Imports rose by 5.9 percent to MYR60.9 billion, the first increase after three straight months of drop, as purchases gained for all categories. Inbound shipments of intermediate goods, representing 60.3 percent to total imports, increased 5.7 percent to MYR36.7 billion, mainly due to a 10.9 percent increase in parts & accessories of capital goods (except transport equipment) and a 49.1 percent rise in fuel & lubricants, processed, other. Purchases of consumption goods, contributing 8.7 percent share, rose 25.7 percent to MYR5.3 billion, mainly due to a 69.0 percent increase in semi-durables, food & beverages for household consumption (+19.3 percent) and non-durables (+20.7 percent). Inbound shipments for capital goods, representing 12.3 percent share, rose 3.2 percent to MYR7.5 billion, mainly due to transport equipment, industrial (+18.9 percent) and capital goods except transport equipment (+1.6 percent).

Compared to the preceding year, imports rise from the EU countries (+MYR941.1 million), China(+MYR640.6 million), Taiwan (+MYR511.2 million), Vietnam(+MYR390.1 million) and Saudi Arabia (+MYR319.1 million).

In June 2015, Malaysia posted a MYR 7.98 billion trade surplus.

0.0262sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:50 PM