Most bank in Malaysia have a multi currency account. So, open one and convert your savings to USD. Easy as.
ringgit Malaysia drop , how to I change my RM to USD
Jan 7 2015, 07:07 AM
375 posts Joined: Jul 2012 From: Malaysia |
Most bank in Malaysia have a multi currency account. So, open one and convert your savings to USD. Easy as.
Jul 31 2015, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 31 2015, 03:34 PM) Prior before the 2008 financial crisis, USD was labelled as a currency worthless to hold and keep on going down. USD is considered a safe haven currency by the masses. When times are good entities short sell USD to but other assets because of USD low interest rate. When times are bad the world rush to USD because well you know. You need to know the climate world wide to know where the world reserve safe haven currency is going.At that time, many including professional traders/analysts said US had tremendous debt, the only way for USD was going down. USD index against basket of major currencies plunged from 100 sink to around 70. Against RM from RM3.80 to RM3.10. There is no certainty in investment. Having USD denominated asset seem a wise choice now, but situation after 5 or 10 years later, we never know whether it is still a wise choice. |
Aug 26 2015, 11:56 AM
Aug 27 2015, 08:51 AM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 27 2015, 07:27 AM) Some questions here For a) a quick Google can give you the answer. Malaysia is not the only country in trouble now. We are a small part of a very big global crisis.a) How much of our national debt is foreigner held? It is said if there is a short term run on our bonds, the national reserves of &96 is unable to cover b) Next, while foreigners may sell, there are others who maybe attracted to the yields, Bear in mind, the rating agencies have not down graded Msia yet. c) Why should Bank Negara raise the BR while the country is not doing well? b) you cannot analyze malaysia economy without taking into account what is going on in the world. The world now is risk-off. c) To hopefully limit the MYR drop. |
Aug 27 2015, 09:05 AM
Aug 27 2015, 09:11 AM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 27 2015, 09:04 AM) Increasing tax will further depress economic activity and we don't need that.Best thing to do perhaps is to default on their external debt. Greece has done it many times in the past and they are still around. Check out what's going on with Puerto Rico and Greece now. Default is their way out. That might also be our solution. This post has been edited by Binyamin: Aug 27 2015, 09:13 AM |
Aug 27 2015, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 27 2015, 09:27 AM) High tax means high cost of doing business, less economic activity and less foreign investment. And in this economic climate will speedily result in a dead goose anyway.Wanna see high tax in action? Greece. That is why the eu system is scavenging their assets. Instead of increasing taxes and further have more of their assets strip they are better off to default and leave the eu. Malaysia can do without higher tax too. The end is a dead goose too with higher taxes. This post has been edited by Binyamin: Aug 27 2015, 09:36 AM |
Aug 27 2015, 09:49 AM
In my personal opinion if we eliminate all corporate and income tax and we eliminate also employer contribution to epf. Only implement consumption tax like gst I think we might do better than even singapore.
We should never ever punish business for doing business. This post has been edited by Binyamin: Aug 27 2015, 09:50 AM |
Aug 27 2015, 09:58 AM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 27 2015, 09:50 AM) 7) Do you seriously think US will hike their interest rates? Do you seriously think US economy is in good state? They need to hike interest rate or else their states will go bankrupt trying to pay for pensions. Its a catch 22, benefit themselves or benefit the world. |
Aug 27 2015, 10:02 AM
USA mistake was they did not raise back interest rate after the 2007 crisis. As a result all emerging country borrowed heavily in USD.
A solution to an old problem not lifted becomes another problem down the line. It's a definite that most of the emerging countries are going to default as the USD gets higher. They will receive the margin call from hell itself. Malaysia is also on the chopping block too This post has been edited by Binyamin: Aug 27 2015, 10:03 AM |
Aug 27 2015, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 27 2015, 10:07 AM) Don't think it was mistake. Raise rates and yr economy stalls further. They had to QE their way out. Therefore interest rates had to stay low. Their mistake for not raising interest rate has only recently started to show its ugly face... the rise of the USD. Capital world wide are now heading to USA prepping up USD and sending USA into a recession. Irony at its finest |
Sep 4 2015, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 4 2015, 07:08 AM) I don't think the RM depreciation will end soon. It has many interesting development waiting for unfolding. We are witnessing history live Yeah like a sovereign debt crisis. We will most likely default, life will still go on though not to worry.Our trouble will be the same reason why Greece got into trouble when they converted their debts to euro when they join the European union. Just that ours is in USD. Like the eu we are divided but unlike them we live together. AMong the eu population there is a lot of anger and they want to come out of the eu. However in malaysia we can't do that. Oh maybe Penang and east malaysia can split since these states generally have a lot in common with their passion. But we are not like eu where each group can just come out we live together. This will be interesting. This post has been edited by Binyamin: Sep 4 2015, 10:29 AM |
Sep 4 2015, 11:10 AM
Delete
This post has been edited by Binyamin: Sep 4 2015, 11:16 AM |
Sep 4 2015, 11:24 AM
Sigh... it is frustrating that I can't talk and give evidence about the things I come across because I am bound by my employers T and C.
I agree right now we are not facing any sovereign debt issue. So are the other emerging countries that have about north of 5 trillion in USD debt. 1 thing may lead to another. |
Sep 4 2015, 11:30 AM
Sep 4 2015, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 4 2015, 11:37 AM) It's okay,.. we can estimate too,.. and I think you are talking about counter-party risk on the emerging countries having more than 5 trillion in debt. Than many countries will default forst before Msia, and we can capitalise on that in many ways, if ours up there are smart enough. Yes, I wish goment will seek advice from really competent people with hands on market experience. We could possibly turn this around with some fancy foot work. No one alive now have ever seen this scenario before... Only people that have studied history have some idea. So personal opinions without any basis in history is not going to cut it.I don't think is entirely right to say that we are not faving any foreign debt issue. If we are forward-looking enough, it is inevitable that we will need to default on the foreign debts because we can't sacrifice the other expenses, right ??? Unless,... some funds come in from somewhere by charitable countries or organozations that do not impose rules onto us, then things would brighten-up. Or,... some debts are forgiven,.. Edit: More appropriately is those that have computer models with historical data of the past going back centuries before our life have some idea on what is going on. This scenario have repeated many times in history but not in our lifetime. This post has been edited by Binyamin: Sep 4 2015, 12:37 PM |
Sep 4 2015, 03:29 PM
http://edition.cnn.com/2015/08/01/entertai...ogg-italy-feat/
If this happens here owning USD in our local banks won't do any good I will think. It is called civil asset forfeiture to control capital and squeeze money out of the people. This usually happens in hard times. So to avoid that having an offshore account might be a safer bet. This post has been edited by Binyamin: Sep 4 2015, 03:31 PM |
Sep 4 2015, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 4 2015, 03:55 PM) There is, Cyprus was direct and what is going on around the world is indirect.http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/...-the-wheel.html Historically it has always happen. It is just human nature to hold on to power and that never change. The hunt for money globally to keep the status quo will get worst as we head into this mess. This post has been edited by Binyamin: Sep 4 2015, 04:44 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0246sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:19 PM |