ringgit Malaysia drop , how to I change my RM to USD

AVFAN
post Sep 4 2015, 10:53 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 4 2015, 10:34 AM)
In all fairness, I think malaysia is in better shape than Greece. We have most of our sovereign debt in RM, not USD (although there are about 30-35% holdings by foreigner) and we still are in charge of our own monetary policy.

Disaster will happen if the manager of our economy continue the same fiscal policy and do not exercise prudence in spending. Over long run, we will have the same fate of Greece. Just that we have a few more monetary tools than Greece to use
the key danger now is 1mdb loans.

from the way the last int payment was made, high chance it will default eventually given shadowy secretive unexplained stories climaxing now.

question is what impact it will hv on other loans, other banks, mgs, bursa.

the fact they the politicians keep harping "no systematic risk" tells u it is a n issue, however small it may seem then or now.

while we wait for bnm fx data today:

usd/myr 4.257

there isn't much confidence among investors and world community, is there?
AVFAN
post Sep 4 2015, 11:20 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 4 2015, 11:03 AM)
BUt having said the above, I don'tthink we should say, well, everybody is suffering, so we must suffer too,... like what one ot two are saying here,... things like even HK is worse, other currencies are performing worse than the RM,.... Why must we suffer and not take care of ourselves by moving ahead of the curve rather then stay and suffer together with the world because we think that it is inevitable ?
that is a manifestation of decades of weak education and policies.

the inability to look upward aspiring to be better than the best but instead, find a place among the worst and be happy with it.
AVFAN
post Sep 4 2015, 11:21 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 4 2015, 11:19 AM)
From April 1 until today, the GST claims by the businesses are still not refunded. Very hard for the people to believe all is well with the administration

I hope I am wrong though...
if true, this does not bode well - putrajaya having cashflow problems...
AVFAN
post Sep 4 2015, 11:28 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 4 2015, 11:22 AM)
I recalled there was a time quite recently that the Japanese Gov't asked the companies to repatriate funsd back to Japan to help in the fiscal problems. Our Gov't is doing that now. But how many would support his request from the Gov't ? Foreign Funds only care abt protecting themselves and making money, They flee if there are problems, period,... But local investors, outside of The EPF, etc ??
gomen can set example by instructing 1mdb to redeem their foreign "units" and mara to sell the props in oz/uk, repatriate the money. these are big $.

are they doing that?
AVFAN
post Sep 4 2015, 01:40 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Binyamin @ Sep 4 2015, 12:10 PM)
Yes, I wish goment will seek advice from really competent people with hands on market experience. We could possibly turn this around with some fancy foot work. No one alive now have ever seen this scenario before... Only people that have studied history have some idea. So personal opinions without any basis in history is not going to cut it.

Edit: More appropriately is those that have computer models with historical data of the past going back centuries before our life have some idea on what is going on. This scenario have repeated many times in history but not in our lifetime.
some menteris spewing garbage non-stop is understandable as they are either incompetent in the subject or simply saving their own skin.

but u wud think wahid in pm's dept, ex-mbb chief is a veteran banker, knows it all. but all i get from him is same "all is good".

pm dept's idris jala in his shell and mas days must have see enough oil and fx activity and risks.

zeti in bnm had said "no systematic risk" and then clammed up.

only nazir on some new economic committee has been raising alarm bells.

so, experience or not, it appears not to matter.

begats the question if there's anyone making any major decisions or we are all simply on auto-pilot now.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 4 2015, 01:40 PM
AVFAN
post Sep 4 2015, 04:53 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(anudora @ Sep 4 2015, 04:22 PM)
Ok now lets see the reporting from another source. It give much more information and data.
http://www.tradingeconomics.com/malaysia/balance-of-trade
extracted from that report below.

now we know:
electrical/electronics exports at 37% is by far the largest export.
oil/gas/petroleum products at 12.7% is 2nd.
palm oil at 9% is 3rd.
timber is not big, rubber is small.

if prices of commodities petroleum and palm oil stay low, only an excellent electrical/electronics sector can help in a signifcant way.

anyone with good info about such new factories/expansion or closures in penang or elsewhere?

exports:
electrical and electronics/E&E products (+12.1 percent to MYR23.1 billion, accounting for 36.5 percent to total exports)
timber and timber-based products (+14.1 percent to MYR1.8 billion, 2.9 percent share)
natural rubber (+60.7 percent to MYR484.1 million, 0.8 percent share)
palm oil and palm based-products (+2.4 percent to MYR5.8 billion, 9.1 percent total share).

refined petroleum products (-48.7 percent to MYR3.0 billion, 4.8 percent share)
LNG (-23.6 percent to MYR3.1 billion, 4.9 percent share)
crude petroleum (-21.1 percent to MYR1.9 billion, 3.0 percent share).

imports:
shipments of intermediate goods, representing 60.3 percent to total imports, increased 5.7 percent to MYR36.7 billion
consumption goods, contributing 8.7 percent share, rose 25.7 percent to MYR5.3 billion
capital goods, representing 12.3 percent share, rose 3.2 percent to MYR7.5 billion
http://www.tradingeconomics.com/malaysia/balance-of-trade
AVFAN
post Sep 4 2015, 05:12 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 4 2015, 05:04 PM)
World economy is softening, hence, reducing consumption. There is no way that the electrical and electronics exports can grow to the extent that it will be able to OFFSET the drop in prices for our current worldwide commodity rout.
therefore, no easy way out.

i wonder what would be the situation in say, thailand?

would it be correct to say there is huge savings in oil/gas/petroleum imports that far outweighs the loss in other exports?

plus big tourist $. all that keeping the baht strong?

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 4 2015, 05:15 PM
AVFAN
post Sep 4 2015, 06:01 PM

24,454 posts

no change, i.e bnm NOT intervening.

The international reserves of Bank Negara Malaysia amounted to RM357.7 billion (equivalent to USD94.7 billion) as at 28 August 2015. The reserves position is sufficient to finance 7.4 months of retained imports and is 1.0 time the short-term external debt[1].
http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=en_pres...ac=3262&lang=en

AVFAN
post Sep 4 2015, 06:31 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 4 2015, 06:23 PM)
actually it went up a bit  tongue.gif

from USD 94.5 to USD 94.7  laugh.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=76015934
bnm clerk mistake. tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Sep 4 2015, 06:50 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 4 2015, 06:43 PM)
u see The Star latest news  laugh.gif 

Bank Negara international reserves up RM1.3b as at Aug 28
http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...g-28/?style=biz

tonight 8pm news headline wor  tongue.gif
thumbup.gif

eh, such news very hard to come by, at least a bit of celebration! rclxms.gif

usd/rm 4.256

AVFAN
post Sep 4 2015, 07:03 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 4 2015, 06:51 PM)
After the Int'l Reserves ann't this evening, it looks like the foreign funds have slowed down the exodus.
yes, mgs 10 yr yield not rising further for now, closed at 4.20%.
http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?tpl=govtsecuritiesyield

4.25-4.30 may be the "right and stable" range for a while.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 4 2015, 07:04 PM
AVFAN
post Sep 4 2015, 07:12 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 4 2015, 07:08 PM)
We must try to read and interpret the meaning of the numbers accurately. MGS yield not increasing means bondholders not selling means bond prices did not drop further means bondholders NOT RUNNING AWAY !
now... what if gomen issues another rm50bil in the coming year to deal with deficit?

budget 2016 coming in oct...
AVFAN
post Sep 4 2015, 09:31 PM

24,454 posts

apparently, rest of the world is unimpressed with rise in fx reserves.

usd/myr 4.28
http://www.xe.com/currencycharts/?from=USD&to=MYR&view=12h

AVFAN
post Sep 5 2015, 01:17 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Sep 4 2015, 11:30 PM)
Wat is the ETA to 4.30?
0020 hrs 4.30160
AVFAN
post Sep 5 2015, 10:14 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 4 2015, 10:40 PM)
The situation now, more like MNCs and large export corporate are benefiting from the lower RM, but SME who business mainly cater for domestic market is suffering the cost increment.
If RM keep on depreciating, soon or later import also will be plummeting as importers also will feel the pressure of increase in cost, while business out there is not brisk (in fact quite slow), so it is not so easy to pass the cost to consumer without a drop in sales volume.
large mfg mnc's may benefit from the lower rm to incr profits, but if they are not expanding, it does little to help incr jobs or raise income for the local employees.

on the other hand, sme's trading with primarily imported intermediate goods in usd will find it difficult to continue. an sme having a simple biz model of cogs:overheads:profit of 60:20:20 finding a 33% rm depreciation will then hv 80:20:0. they will either have to cut staff or close shop. one explanation for potential jobs lost in the coming year.

overall, i can't see any real net benefit for the people despite claims "weak rm good for exports"!

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 5 2015, 08:26 AM)
GST can be claimed back for export goods, aware of that - one of the three types of GST 'rated' categories. But the process of claiming back is time-consuming and hits on the cashflow of these operations, definitely incurring more finance expenses in the long run. I have clients exploring ways now to perform litigation against the Cistoms for delay in refund positions and policies associated with refunds. Some SME owners (who have acceptable tax-paying backgrounds) have even decided to terminate operations because of the GST-enforcement.
if prolonged, this new cashflow problem will force lower inventories, tight supplies, prices will be forced up - more trouble for many sme's.

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 5 2015, 08:36 AM)
As any quick resignation and political remedy not in sight, 4.50 will be fast approaching, and breaking of records of above 4.7x is just a matter of time

Inflation will be out of control in the next 3-6 months. BNM might have no choice but to increase OPR as RM issue > risk of economic downturn issue. Politically they have take the risk to be seen as "we tried our best"
at 4.50, a 40% rm depr will be even more devastating on biz and employment - a recession will be imminent.

for older salaried workers and pensioners, their retirement will be dark n gloomy.
AVFAN
post Sep 5 2015, 10:43 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 5 2015, 10:36 AM)
Unker, my business still face problem employing people. Still have staff resigning for "greener pasture". Some posts are vacant for 1-2 months. It ranges from office people to factory workers. If SME like mine need to cut headcount, which is a real possibility judging from the bleak outlook, then it will be widespread

I can feel the effect to RM depreciation started to set in. 6 of my suppliers have increased price in the last 2-3 weeks. Export sale has not grown since 1st half of the year and I expect it to decline . Feedback from my sales people is very gloomy especially in China.

Most of my business associates (our associations) face the same problem. We are still surviving now, but don't know for how long.
Again, hearing from the horse's mouth, the chain effect has already begun.

Tough days ahead for all.
AVFAN
post Sep 5 2015, 06:43 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(lalachong @ Sep 5 2015, 06:14 PM)
I thought we are at 4.26 closed as at 4 Sept 2015. Bloomberg and bnm figures.
by bnm regulation, rm is not traded outside msia, traded only locally during normal hrs.

bnm figures are official, as of 5pm every working day; bloomberg follows bnm.

but there are other contracts involving rm traded in'tlly elsewhere.

gives a good indication what it will be the next msia trading day, can fluctuate a lot.
http://www.xe.com/currencycharts/?from=USD&to=MYR&view=12h

QUOTE(theoldman @ Sep 5 2015, 06:38 PM)
Hello guys, I am interest in converting some of my savings into other currencies in case of ringgit going into a continuous bad fall. Does local bank still offer multi-currency accounts that allow me to convert my ringgit into another currency. It is not for business use or tuition or anything, just for savings. Is it possible now?
3 weeks ago, i know a fren opened a multi currency account.

best to speak to yr bank.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 5 2015, 07:20 PM
AVFAN
post Sep 5 2015, 07:00 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 5 2015, 06:36 PM)
It may not be the forex speculators anymore. After what happened last night, I could have been wrong to be afraid of the speculators. We need to clean up our house first, then only we can start to think of outside interference.
this time, it is not speculators.

there has been no report of such.

moreover, thai baht and filipino peso are holding very well.

it is simply a lack of confidence, for reasons we already know.

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 5 2015, 06:23 PM)
If we are going to go with the concept put up here, then many SMEs should close down, and MNCs alone will survive and prosper. Perhaps a few 'stronger' SMEs might survive too, and they will have the luxury of raising prices.
that is actually something i am concerned about.

if a lot of the sme's fail or start downsizing, a lot of people will become jobless.

glc's may hold better, but won't be spared as we are already seeing in the banking sector.

the private sector will be in bad shape.

and there isn't room to expand the public service, is there?

lastly, can't imagine what will happen then to the few million foreign workers...

AVFAN
post Sep 5 2015, 07:21 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 5 2015, 07:16 PM)
If SMEs fail, the primary negative effects will be : job losses, more expensive goods for us end-consumers, less tax collection for lembaga, and more motion of no-confidence against the administrators (whose jobs and functions are to create jobs and opportunities for the people).

The above will trickle down to further secondary effects such as drop in GDP, drop in sentiment, etc, etc,.. countless...
that's touching on the prospect of a recession! tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Sep 6 2015, 01:44 AM

24,454 posts

among the first to "sob" - builders.

MBAM: Weakening ringgit affects builders’ margins
http://www.theedgeproperty.com/my/content/...2%80%99-margins

19 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 >Top