ringgit Malaysia drop , how to I change my RM to USD

Showtime747
post Sep 8 2015, 11:41 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 8 2015, 09:12 AM)
I remembered him , made big headlines news almost every week, and always in CNBC TV during 2008.
Talked a lot about how worthless of USD back then, how stock market can plunge. 

But after 7 years later, aka now,
USD is the strongest currency
DJ made all time high, 18k, which is higher than previous high of 13k.
whistling.gif
Many people talked about the inherent risk of fiat money. In this LYN also have many people condemning paper money. Most are gold seller. Like the Maloney fella etc

But this guy I google he is not selling gold. Maybe I didn't dig deep enough
Showtime747
post Sep 8 2015, 11:43 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Sep 8 2015, 09:30 AM)
He's definitely selling something.
Logically yes. Based on human nature, a person will make presentation in a way beneficial to himself

But I don't know what is he selling
Ramjade
post Sep 8 2015, 11:43 AM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 8 2015, 11:41 AM)
Many people talked about the inherent risk of fiat money. In this LYN also have many people condemning paper money. Most are gold seller. Like the Maloney fella etc

But this guy I google he is not selling gold. Maybe I didn't dig deep enough
He selling his book what.
AVFAN
post Sep 8 2015, 11:52 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 8 2015, 11:41 AM)
fiat money, current world economic system is based on capitalism, man-made, will collapse one day.

but not now, maybe in a couple of hundred yrs time.

there isn't a better way.

not gold, not barter, not going backwards to cavemen time.

all that is just doomsayers prophecies with too many assumptions happening too fast. tongue.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 8 2015, 11:56 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 8 2015, 11:43 AM)
He selling his book what.
I check Amazon website search for "shimitah", his name does not appear

Maybe he is paid by the gold traders to promote the fear
Showtime747
post Sep 8 2015, 11:58 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 8 2015, 11:52 AM)
fiat money, current world economic system is based on capitalism, man-made, will collapse one day.

but not now, maybe in a couple of hundred yrs time.

there isn't a better way.

not gold, not barter, not going backwards to cavemen time.

all that is just doomsayers prophecies with too many assumptions happening too fast. tongue.gif
Those doomsayers prediction is very interesting to watch. Very entertaining thumbup.gif

Anyway, after September, if what the claim does not happen, they will be laughed at tongue.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 8 2015, 12:15 PM

4,258 posts

US$ 4.3451
EUR 4.8730
GBP 6.6512
A$ 3.0214
S$ 3.0476

RM depreciating further...don't know happy or sad...
cherroy
post Sep 8 2015, 12:41 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 8 2015, 11:56 AM)
I check Amazon website search for "shimitah", his name does not appear

Maybe he is paid by the gold traders to promote the fear
You can google this book.
The Real Crash; America's Coming Bankruptcy

Can also google Euro pacific gold fund.
or
Euro Pacific fund.
Showtime747
post Sep 8 2015, 01:04 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 8 2015, 12:41 PM)
You can google this book.
The Real Crash; America's Coming Bankruptcy

Can also google Euro pacific gold fund.
or
Euro Pacific fund.
The video is not made by Peter Schiff. if you have time, do watch it. very interesting
anudora
post Sep 8 2015, 01:08 PM

208 posts

With such hazy condition, tourism is going to have a hard time. Every year same problem. MYR drop good for tourism? What tourism?
Bonescythe
post Sep 8 2015, 01:23 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

political tourism.. yea.. very good.. media all over the world
SUSlowya
post Sep 8 2015, 01:25 PM

4,821 posts

cherroy
post Sep 8 2015, 01:26 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(anudora @ Sep 8 2015, 01:08 PM)
With such hazy condition, tourism is going to have a hard time. Every year same problem. MYR drop good for tourism? What tourism?
Tourism outward aka Malaysian travel to overseas business surely will be hit hard.

But tourism inward aka foreigner come to Malaysia should be good, because accommodation, foods and expenses become relatively cheaper for foreign tourists.

Just like Singaporean come to Malaysia to take a dinner, RM100, so cheap SGD 33 only, pump petrol in Malaysia only SGD 0.60, as compared SGD2.00 in Sg.

BboyDora
post Sep 8 2015, 01:31 PM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 8 2015, 12:15 PM)
US$ 4.3451
EUR 4.8730
GBP 6.6512
A$ 3.0214
S$ 3.0476

RM depreciating further...don't know happy or sad...
Japanese Yen 3.685 cry.gif cry.gif

Jap Yen also consider strong currency

Hansel
post Sep 8 2015, 01:34 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 8 2015, 01:26 PM)
Tourism outward aka Malaysian travel to overseas business surely will be hit hard.

But tourism inward aka foreigner come to Malaysia should be good, because accommodation, foods and expenses become relatively cheaper for foreign tourists.

Just like Singaporean come to Malaysia to take a dinner, RM100, so cheap SGD 33 only, pump petrol in Malaysia only SGD 0.60, as compared SGD2.00 in Sg.
Well, agreed that Singaporeans making daytrips to Msia will increase. JB will prosper.

But the tourists that we want, ie the foreugners who come to usfrom faraway places will still think of the haze as a possible deterrent. Unless they don't know-lar and they land and... ooops !

One more factor - Red SHirts demo in Bkt Bintang, KL. I believed it's a tourist spot. Will the demo deter tourists from going there ?
anudora
post Sep 8 2015, 01:49 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 8 2015, 01:26 PM)

Tourism to USA maybe hit hard but not to other countries. My prove below!!!

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2015...ohs-MATTA-Fair/

IPOH: Despite the continuous depreciation of the ringgit, many are still bitten by the travel bug as the Perak Malaysian Association of Tour and Travel Agents (MATTA) Fair enjoyed brisk sales here.

Perak chapter association secretary Wendy Shin said their lucky draw count was already over 8,500 as of 6pm yesterday, which was the last day of the three-day fair.

“Only those who spend more than RM300 during the fair are entitled to enter. Just imagine: we already have at least 8,500 people spending RM300 and above, how much will that be in total?

“And this is only their deposits. I’m confident that many will return at night to make their final purchases,” she said.

Shin also said it was normal for people to observe a slow period of an hour or two during lunch time or tea time.

“Our customers are still eager to travel to European countries, not only Asian countries. Our cruise packages to China and Japan are doing quite well too,” she said.

Asked if the fair saw fewer trips to the United States, Shin said she noticed there were very few travel companies who promoted travel packages there.

“I’m not sure why, but it may probably be because of our ringgit’s poor performance,” she said.

MEANWHILE in msia. Inward tourism??? What tourism?

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2015...even-bad-areas/

PETALING JAYA: Seven areas in Peninsula Malaysia recorded unhealthy air pollutant index (API) readings as at 8am Tuesday.

Nilai recorded the highest API reading at 135 followed by Bukit Rambai (126), Port Dickson (117), Seremban (114), Batu Muda (112), Malacca (110), and Banting (107).

Several other areas recorded high moderate readings, such as Port Klang (97), Putrajaya (95), Muar (95) and Shah Alam (91).

Meanwhile, Sarawak, which was previously the worst-hit state, recorded moderate-to-good API readings.

Samarahan recorded 88, followed by Sri Aman (82) and Kuching (77), with Limbang having the lowest API reading of 20.

The haze is due to open burning in Indonesia’s Sumatra and Kalimantan provinces as it is the fastest way to clear plantation and forest lands.

According to the Meteorological Department, both provinces continued to be shrouded in widespread moderate to dense smoke haze.

API readings of between 0 and 50 indicate good air quality; 51 and 100, moderate; 101 and 200, unhealthy; 201 and 300, very unhealthy; and over 301, hazardous.

This post has been edited by anudora: Sep 8 2015, 02:19 PM
SUSWhoCaresMyName
post Sep 8 2015, 01:51 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Sep 8 2015, 01:31 PM)
Japanese Yen 3.685 cry.gif  cry.gif

Jap Yen also consider strong currency
not really. if u compare nikkei 225 and usdjpy. u will see nikkei 225 up = jpy weak, nikkei 225 down = jpy strong
prody
post Sep 8 2015, 02:01 PM

Dance while the record spins
1,548 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 8 2015, 11:43 AM)
Logically yes. Based on human nature, a person will make presentation in a way beneficial to himself

But I don't know what is he selling
He's selling books.
Showtime747
post Sep 8 2015, 02:30 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Sep 8 2015, 02:01 PM)
He's selling books.
Can't find any recent books by him (Jeff Berwick). The most recent and related could be his Bitcoin ATM project in 2013. But no news of the project since 2 years ago
BboyDora
post Sep 8 2015, 02:36 PM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(WhoCaresMyName @ Sep 8 2015, 01:51 PM)
not really. if u compare nikkei 225 and usdjpy. u will see nikkei 225 up = jpy weak, nikkei 225 down = jpy strong
ahh i see..

All in all.. the worst are RM? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

125 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 >Top

0.0182sec    1.04    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:50 AM