ringgit Malaysia drop , how to I change my RM to USD

neonikson1
post Aug 25 2015, 08:11 PM

2,086 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 25 2015, 04:47 PM)
that is a last resort, will slow the economy further, maybe push it into recession.

imo, change the driver and a piece of furniture called cabinet.

rm will recover 10% easy.
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
BboyDora
post Aug 25 2015, 09:26 PM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(Croner @ Aug 25 2015, 12:31 PM)
Two days ago I change 4.17, today 4.26 WTF
I change today at 4.24 ..

eventhough RM strong against USD at closing today, after 29th August (Bersih rally)... dunno what will happen.
Keep it for long term.

Learned my lesson many years ago when SGD 1 = Rm 2.47. I do nothing that time. cry.gif cry.gif

TSCroner
post Aug 25 2015, 09:37 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Aug 25 2015, 09:26 PM)
I change today at 4.24 ..

eventhough  RM strong against USD at closing today, after 29th August (Bersih rally)... dunno what will happen.
Keep it for long term.

Learned my lesson many years ago when SGD 1 = Rm 2.47. I do nothing that time.  cry.gif  cry.gif
Sgd is slow that time. If want invest play it on British pound or USD
danmooncake
post Aug 25 2015, 09:42 PM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Aug 25 2015, 09:26 PM)
I change today at 4.24..

eventhough  RM strong against USD at closing today, after 29th August (Bersih rally)... dunno what will happen.
Keep it for long term.

Learned my lesson many years ago when SGD 1 = Rm 2.47. I do nothing that time.  cry.gif  cry.gif
I wasn't able to get that rate (4.24) despite huge amount.. I'll try again tomorrow to pester my bank. sad.gif
yck1987
post Aug 25 2015, 09:48 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 25 2015, 09:42 PM)
I wasn't able to get that rate (4.24) despite huge amount.. I'll try again tomorrow to pester my bank.  sad.gif
be confident on RM sikit smile.gif
wil-i-am
post Aug 25 2015, 09:53 PM

10,001 posts

Just clear position tis morning
Awaiting MYR to head South brows.gif
SUSWhoCaresMyName
post Aug 25 2015, 10:23 PM

96 posts

history might repeat...
SUSWhoCaresMyName
post Aug 25 2015, 10:30 PM

96 posts

although usd strong today, but myr still able to win.

This post has been edited by WhoCaresMyName: Aug 25 2015, 10:33 PM
babycry123
post Aug 25 2015, 10:52 PM

Nothing~
1,223 posts

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...hings-could-get

any comment?
cutepet
post Aug 26 2015, 12:03 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(Croner @ Jan 6 2015, 05:44 PM)
As you can see Ringgit Malaysia drop like mad in many ways aginst USD, SGD, RMB, Thai bath, New Taiwan dollar.
I want to change most of my savings RM to USD as.I believe it.might raised to one USD become 4 Ringgit malaysia.

Beside money changer is there a faster way to switch myr currency to USD??
TS predicted correctly 8 months ago icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
BboyDora
post Aug 26 2015, 12:28 AM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(cutepet @ Aug 26 2015, 12:03 AM)
TS predicted correctly 8 months ago  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Can I predict too?

By Dec this year, should be RM 3.1 = SGD 1 cry.gif cry.gif
cutepet
post Aug 26 2015, 12:29 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Aug 26 2015, 12:28 AM)
Can I predict too?

By Dec this year, should be RM 3.1 = SGD 1 cry.gif  cry.gif
this is not a prediction lo........... Now, already break 3.00

Euthenics
post Aug 26 2015, 12:58 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 25 2015, 09:53 PM)
Just clear position tis morning
Awaiting MYR to head South  brows.gif
Some analyst said RM will head North now. Market correction to happen.
Fundamentally, nothing changed but panic selling might have give way to calm now.

Will see how tomorrow goes.
danmooncake
post Aug 26 2015, 01:32 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(Euthenics @ Aug 26 2015, 12:58 AM)
Fundamentally, nothing changed but panic selling might have give way to calm now.
Aiyo... don't reverse yet.. I need to get a bid for my price. sweat.gif

Maybe need 4.40-4.35 in market to get real rate of 4.25 because of their spread. Darn banks are greedy. mad.gif
AVFAN
post Aug 26 2015, 02:10 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 26 2015, 01:32 AM)
Aiyo... don't reverse yet.. I need to get a bid for my price.  sweat.gif

Maybe need 4.40-4.35 in market to get real rate of 4.25 because of their spread. Darn banks are greedy.  mad.gif
tt has a worse rate.

sell usd to get 4.25, wait for 4.30.

crude still falling, possible this or next week.

now 4.213.

see how oil exporting country floated currencies jive brent?

rm is probably less correlated since oil exports is not that much.

still, if rm is put on the chart, probably similar pattern.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 26 2015, 02:32 AM
Nauts
post Aug 26 2015, 05:50 AM

340 posts

China market slump: Central bank cuts interest rates

China has reduced its main interest rate to boost growth in its economy.

The People's Bank of China cut its key lending rate by 0.25 percentage points to 4.6% in an effort to calm stock markets after two days of turmoil.

It is the fifth interest rate cut since November and will take effect on Wednesday.

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-34052618
wil-i-am
post Aug 26 2015, 06:44 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Euthenics @ Aug 26 2015, 12:58 AM)

I suppose speculation overwrites panic selling
TSCroner
post Aug 26 2015, 06:54 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(cutepet @ Aug 26 2015, 12:03 AM)
TS predicted correctly 8 months ago  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Yea and I lefted this thread for a long long time.

The legend is here
markpsp
post Aug 26 2015, 07:44 AM

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Aug 18 2015, 09:36 AM)
What is your plan ?

Have you sold everything you have in malaysia including property, car, KLCI stock, unit trust, your watch, your wife's collection of LV bags, redeem your insurance etc, and convert the proceeds from the sale to USD, and at the same time applied for migration ?

If you believe that would happen, I would encourage you to do so, just like what unker dreamer preached.

Or if you think there are >50% chance that would happen, at least sell half of what you have and convert to USD and park them offshore. Very logical move right ?
Heys, actually, I've already disposed all my shares early this year. I don't mind not making these few months cause parking everything in PBB's FD is safe and risk free. True enough, market went down by so much. I'm targetting 1k-1.2k in Bursa index.

Propertywise, 2017 will be good to buy, as 2013 was our peak and many of the launches are expected to be completed in 2016. However, I'll have to buy next year, might lose a bit but because I have no choice (due to personal reasons).

Let's just say, I got very strong reason to believe that market go down the next few years. Sorry, can't reveal my sources, but my contacts come from one of the largest investment banks in the world. tongue.gif

Anyway enjoy the bumpy road downwards. See you guys at 1k-1.2k.
markpsp
post Aug 26 2015, 07:53 AM

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 18 2015, 10:42 AM)
Ya, I wonder the economist is doing something to hedge the position, like shorting FKLI.

If the economist's prediction is true, then he/she may make a big kill in the market.
Short 100 contracts of FKLI if the recession is indeed worst than 1997, it just suggests KLCI may drop more than 50%.

50% drop from 1600 level, means 800 points.

800 points x Rm50 = 40K per contract.

100 contract x 40k = RM 4 mil.

Don't need to so troublesome to convert to USD, sell car or property, just pick up the phone tell remisier want to sell FKLI for 100 contracts, done.  tongue.gif
This round recession will be caused by China and not USA. China is repeating what US did last recession in 2008. Lowering interest rates, lowering the required amount to hold in banks, etc. No doubt US cant raise interest rates because of this, but Malaysia is caught between lower exports to China and currency devaluation. So lower currency is good for export, but sucks if we spend it overseas. Whereas, if the country wants to strengthen the economy, they have to raise interest rates to stamp the MYR devaluation.

Currently, I'm seeing MYR reach 4.5 against the USD over a medium period. Dont let those temporary rebound distract you. Luckily I bought some Euro and USD in hard currency when USD was 3.7. At least my next year's holiday wont feel so painful.

No doubt you can short during this period, but I'll just watch from the sideline. My CIMB trading account locked ady cause I pull out my cash earlier this year and havent log in to play shares (due to foreseeable crash that happened lately) and recently when I login again, I forgot my password and attempted to login 3 times wrongly LOL.

125 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Top

0.0351sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:42 PM