ringgit Malaysia drop , how to I change my RM to USD

Hansel
post Sep 4 2015, 05:31 PM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 4 2015, 05:12 PM)
therefore, no easy way out.
i wonder what would be the situation in say, thailand?

would it be correct to say there is huge savings in oil/gas/petroleum imports that far outweighs the loss in other exports?

plus big tourist $. all that keeping the baht strong?
The timing is all against Msia, especially.

Someone said earlier that with the weak RM, we can also depend on tourist income. I am waiting for the numbers here. I highly doubt our tourism revenue will help us out here, but like they say,... wait for the numbers. Numbers donèt lie.
Hansel
post Sep 4 2015, 05:48 PM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(anudora @ Sep 4 2015, 05:32 PM)
Actually you can find PART of the answer already at this article. Tell me I am wrong.  tongue.gif

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...-47.2-in-august

Malaysia's manufacturing activity weakened further to 47.2 in August from 47.7 the previous month, as measured in the Nikkei Malaysia Manufacturing Purchasing Managers' Index, or PMI.

The reading was at its weakest in nearly three years. A reading above 50 indicates economic expansion, while a reading below 50 points toward contraction, said the Japanese media giant.

Nikkei said output and new orders declined sharply last month since September 2012, leading to further sharp falls in both production and purchasing activity.
"Subsequently, employment decreased for the third straight month, albeit at a weaker rate. Cost pressures persisted, as input prices rose at the quickest rate since November 2013, consequently leading to higher charges," the Nikkei PMI report said.
The low reading came as the Malaysian ringgit remained at 4.17 to the US dollar this morning, after going past the psychological 4.00 ringgit barrier last month.

“Latest survey data pointed to a stronger rate of deterioration in operating conditions at Malaysian manufacturers. Both production and new orders declined sharply, with incoming new work decreasing at the quickest rate since September 2012.

"Meanwhile, input prices rose at the sharpest rate since November 2013 in August. Unfavourable exchange rates pushing up raw material costs and an increase in taxation were cited as the key drivers behind higher cost burdens.

"Subsequently, charges increased and at a quicker pace than in the previous survey period,” said Amy Brownbill, an economist at Markit which compiled the PMI.

Nikkei said the deterioration in operating conditions at Malaysian manufacturers was reflected in all five components, with production, new orders and stocks of purchases recording sharper rates of decline.

"New orders at Malaysian goods producers contracted for the sixth month in a row. Moreover, the rate of decline was the second-sharpest in the series history. Poor demand, unfavourable exchange rates and challenging economic conditions were cited as the main factors behind the latest fall.

"Subsequently, a sharp contraction in manufacturing production was recorded, with the rate of decline little-changed from June, when output contracted at the fastest rate in 32-months.

"In contrast, new orders from abroad were unchanged in August, following a six-month period of expansion. Higher exports were attributed by some panellists to stronger demand, while unfavourable exchange rates were cited to have weighed on new exports," it said.

Nikkei also said that reflecting further falls in output and new orders, manufacturers shed workers in August, stretching the current sequence of decline to three survey periods, although the rate of job shedding slowed and was modest overall.

As a consequence of worsening operating conditions, buying activity was reduced in August.

In fact, the rate of decline was the quickest in the series history to date. This was matched by a survey-record fall in volumes of pre-production items, as companies tried to clear stock, Nikkei said.

It said that on the price front, input price inflation was the strongest since November 2013.

"According to panellists, a combination of higher taxes and the depreciation of the Malaysian ringgit against the US dollar driving up raw material costs led to higher purchasing prices.

"Charges also increased and at a sharper rate than in the prior month," it added. – September 1, 2015.
Manufacturing activity weakened further in August, 2015 from July, 2015. I donèt see this as very encouraging for the end-August Trade Surplus Number.

It is always raw materials being mentioned as the biggest component for price increase for the manufacturers.

New orders at local goods producers dropped for the SIXTH month IN A ROW.

Anyway, the above report covers all the factories in general, and not limited to only the electronics and electrical sector.

Hansel
post Sep 4 2015, 06:28 PM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 4 2015, 06:00 PM)
The potential boost in export due to weak currency is because of your currency is weaker than regional currency, or your competitor, not solely because depreciated against USD.

Every currency in the world also depreciated against USD, so all same playing field level between 2014 up to middle 2015.

But the weak RM is more pronounced when RM plunged from 3.80 to 4.20, whereby we see how RM vs Sgd crossed 3.00 mark, while depreciate against Bath to near 12 level as well.
You were comparing the RM vs the USD earlier for the corresponding period, hence my analysis of the exchange rate as in my earlier posting.

I believed the same effect has persisted too, using yr eg : the SGD vs RM BEFORE crossing the support of 3.80 vs the USD.

SGD vs RM on July 31, 2914 : 2.5584

SGD vs RM on July 31, 2915 : 2.7797

By the way, I thought we were discussing abt why the import figure ballooned in end-July 2015 compared to end-July 2014. You are mentioning 'export' now.

It's okay,.. I would agree that if we are exporting exactly the same things as our neighbours, then if our currency depreciated more against the USD compared to our neighbour's currency, then we may have an advantage there in terms of pricing point if our pricing is denominated in the RM, and if our raw materials did not increase in cost. Or in other words, all else remaining the same.

Otherwise, if we have new taxes imposed (eg GST), or our raw materials increased in cost, or we have new labour problems because of the currency depreciation (eg my maids don't have enough funds to repatriate home, hence demanding more pay), then the advantage may be evened out.

Hansel
post Sep 4 2015, 06:38 PM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 4 2015, 06:07 PM)
The only way to have better trade surplus for Aug is a lower import figure, there is remote chance that export can rise further in current worldwide business environment.

The exchange rate of USD/RM 4.25 may deter importer to import more goods for local consumption.

The rising import cost will be hitting more on local manufacturers particularly SME, while large corporate and especially MNC, they are not affected that much as their sales will be in USD so net effect of rising cost due to exchange rate will be nullify by export in USD.

Instead MNC will be the one benefit most from the lower RM, operation and wages cost become cheaper for them. Last time hiring an engineer at RM 6.2K cost them USD2k, now only need USD1.5k.
If the export can be maintained with current factory output, then the import needs to be lowered ! But what Nikkei hinted points to the export being possibly lowered due to lower factory output for August compared to July this yr.

I believed SMEs make up a larger proportion of components contributing to the overall export figure. If SMEs suffer higher costs of raw materials and disadvantages in export procuders due to the currency being used to quote to their customers, then we have a big roblem here too.

On the workers, it depends on what type of workers we are talking about. If they are foreign talents needing to repatriate funds home, then we have a problem too since after they sent the funds home, the conversion will cause their families back home to receive a lower amount compared to previous times, eg Filipino maids sending funds home will find their families getting lower amount of pesos after conversion. Subsequently, they will demand a higher pay to offset the reduced pesos arriving back home.

Hansel
post Sep 4 2015, 06:47 PM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(anudora @ Sep 4 2015, 06:20 PM)
Err.. this is the statement for the foreign reserve.
Monetary Policy Statement is on September 11.
The Monetary Policy Statement will have a more direct effect on us. The ann't will declare if the Base Lending Rate (BLR) will be increased or maintained at the current level. An increase will INCUR a lot of (further) Direct and Indirect Inflationary pressures on us, as if what we are experiencing now is not enough...

Let's watch the Sep 11 ann't closely...

Hansel
post Sep 4 2015, 06:48 PM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 4 2015, 06:43 PM)
u see The Star latest news  laugh.gif 

Bank Negara international reserves up RM1.3b as at Aug 28
http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...g-28/?style=biz

tonight 8pm news headline wor  tongue.gif
Yeah, a small victory to encourage us not to worry too much,... smile.gif
Hansel
post Sep 4 2015, 06:51 PM

9,354 posts

After the Int'l Reserves ann't this evening, it looks like the foreign funds have slowed down the exodus. This will be a plus point to support why BNM NEED NOT increase the BLR on Sep 11...

...but there are other good reasons why they need to increase it too.
Hansel
post Sep 4 2015, 07:00 PM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 4 2015, 06:52 PM)
small victory / a bit of celebration but for how long?  next one could be bad news  sweat.gif
Right,... sad.gif
Hansel
post Sep 4 2015, 07:08 PM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 4 2015, 07:03 PM)
yes, mgs 10 yr yield not rising further for now, closed at 4.20%.
http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?tpl=govtsecuritiesyield

4.25-4.30 may be the "right and stable" range for a while.
Good,... this confirms my point. Thank you.

We must try to read and interpret the meaning of the numbers accurately. MGS yield not increasing means bondholders not selling means bond prices did not drop further means bondholders NOT RUNNING AWAY !
Hansel
post Sep 4 2015, 07:19 PM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 4 2015, 07:12 PM)
now... what if gomen issues another rm50bil in the coming year to deal with deficit?

budget 2016 coming in oct...
Yes, I thought we can start answering 'Yol' later, but since AV has initiated this, that's right - what about the debts that we have currently, and the expenses that we will soon be incurring to handle the budget deficits ?

We are really contented with comparing between 'going down' and 'staying-put'. ...
Hansel
post Sep 5 2015, 08:26 AM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 4 2015, 10:50 PM)
A factory import a goods to manufacture and export further.
The raw material price in term of USD won't matter, as later on it will also being export in USD.
So the manufacturer is actually immune to the RM exchange rate.

While if the imported raw materials goods consist of 50% of its cost (considered high already), the rest cost component like wages, factory expenses are in RM denominated, then the factory actually won't suffer cost increase in materials (as mentioned immune to exchange rate), but benefit from the rest 50% cost related to RM, typically MNCs, that view from overseas.

Export goods are zero rated in GST, everything GST incurred is treated as input tax, which is claimable back. So no increase in cost for exporter.

GST is hitting hard on consumer, not manufacturers or factories, as they are merely tax collector or middleman.
GST is not a cost to manufacturers or factories. Just manufacturers suffer business downturn or poor volume due to poorer consumer sentiment as consumer need to pay more, not manufacturers.
While for export market, GST doesn't affect the cost of manufacturers.
Good morning.

If a factory does not have USD reserves and has been using the RM all this while in their dealings, only purchasing USD when there is a need to purchase from overseas, then that factory will experience higher cost when it needs to purchase raw materials denominated in the USD. An MNC has many overseas operations, eg production facilities everywhere, it would already have USDs in-hand, the negative effect may be less but will not be totally immune to effects from the exchange rate.

As in the report issued by Nikkei shown a few pages back, it keeps talking abt raw materials being the largest cost contributor. If we believed in the report and make effort to interpret the numbers, then it is fair to say that the majority of our manufacturing operations DO NOT have USD reserves in-hand.

We'll see how many of the factories close down moving fwd, then we'll know the 'combined' effect of what we are experiencing.

If we are going to do down the path as in the above and protect ourselves against the exchange rate, then it would look like all busniesses need to do their transactions in the USD already, and nobody would want to hold the RM anymore. We all know what tis means for the RM.

GST can be claimed back for export goods, aware of that - one of the three types of GST 'rated' categories. But the process of claiming back is time-consuming and hits on the cashflow of these operations, definitely incurring more finance expenses in the long run. I have clients exploring ways now to perform litigation against the Cistoms for delay in refund positions and policies associated with refunds. Some SME owners (who have acceptable tax-paying backgrounds) have even decided to terminate operations because of the GST-enforcement.
Hansel
post Sep 5 2015, 08:28 AM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 4 2015, 09:31 PM)
apparently, rest of the world is unimpressed with rise in fx reserves.

usd/myr 4.28
http://www.xe.com/currencycharts/?from=USD&to=MYR&view=12h
This was what I feared : numbers good but do not translate into desired results.
Hansel
post Sep 5 2015, 08:33 AM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Sep 4 2015, 10:55 PM)
Gud time to lock-in profits
If we are talking abt locking-in profits from the USD-MYR exchange rate, then we should wait further. If this news does not create the desired effect that the MYR will 'turnaround', then the MYR is destined to fall further, due to whatever other 'overriding reasons' such as price of crude oil, world economy prospects, current commodity rout, etc,...

The MYR is just not able to 'turnaround' anymore,... sad.gif
Hansel
post Sep 5 2015, 06:23 PM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 5 2015, 11:10 AM)
You buy raw materials in USD, and sell and export in USD, whether the exchange rate of USD/RM fall to whatever level has no impact on the cost.
It has nothing to do with USD cash in hand or not, credit facilities, LC,  hedging or whatever finance facilities are easily available.

The issue has no impact what we were discussing previously about, MNCs are not greatly affected by the exchange rate, in fact they are beneficiers.

Factories that closing down because of downsizing, business volume died down, profit margin died down or shift to a much cheaper wages countries.

Large corporate doing export, and MNCs have not cashflow problem generally,
GST claiming back is not time consuming. Our company have filed GST every months since the onset of GST, little issues.

The issues mentioned are only pronounced in SMEs, as until now I  still see many still not quite understand how the GST works.

Yes, there is a hiccup in the claiming process for some. But I believe it soon will be ironed out.
GST is not a cost to business, the cashflow issue due to claiming process is not a bigger deal for large corporation, but SME may be hit harder.

SME that ceased operation because of razor sharp thin profit margin, and with GST implementation just induce them to close down, not because of GST issue alone, because GST is not a cost to business except for those non-GST registered.

Yes, business is not good out there, in fact our company suffer 30~40% drop in revenue compared to previous year, but this slowdown is worldwide currently, there is not much can be done, to be fair, although can be better.
If you buy raw materials with USD in-hand, and then sell and collect USD and in-turn park it somewhere in the USD, you don't have a problem. If you do not convert and perform your acct'g treatments in RM, you don't have a problem. It is all about the acct'g treatment.

I have SME clients doing this, and they are not as badly affected as the others who delve into the RM.

Hence MNCs will not be affected so much in terms of raw material costing.

GST issue IS AN ISSUE, though not directly, but the indirect effects should not be ignored too. If the execution of the GST taxation process is not good, it will bring hardships to good operations which, as claimed (though I wouldn't concur is limited to this) have 'razor-thin profit margins'. Why should a strong cashflow company prosper and a company with lower cashflow capability suffer because of the GST ? If an SME operation is able to sell at a lower profit margin so that entities down the 'food-chain' can enjoy better cost savings, and finally benefitting the end-consumer, it will be good for the end-consumers. Furthermore, the percentage of GST charged against the end-consumer will be lower because of the lower pricing.

If the problem here is an entity which is not paying taxes or evading taxes, hence not respecting the law and the courts, that would be a problem. But if the problem resides with the tax-collection authorities, then it is not fair to eliminate the smaller guy which is trying to follow the rule-of-law.

There is a hiccup in the claiming process..., but it will soon be ironed out ? How long will it take to iron out, when we have a few tsunamis hitting us now in the face along with this GST thing ? Do we, then blame it on the timing of these issues coming together at the same time ? No,... blaming won't help the smaller guy who will be wiped out before the problems external to him are erased.

If we are going to go with the concept put up here, then many SMEs should close down, and MNCs alone will survive and prosper. Perhaps a few 'stronger' SMEs might survive too, and they will have the luxury of raising prices. We, as the end-consumers, will bear the brunt of this effect in the end. Perhaps we are already feeling that now, with the rising prices of 'everything' around us.

If your MNC (with good cashflow and dealing in the USD alone in and out) can suffer a revenue drop of approx. 30%-40% in these times, how do you think an SME (with razor-thin margins and not able to deal entirely in the USD) will be affected ? Is it fair to let the little guy go ? Is it fair for the end-consumers to pay more for products and services later on ?

Is it fair to let only MNCs survive ?

All should be given a chance to survive.
Hansel
post Sep 5 2015, 06:27 PM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 5 2015, 09:01 AM)
Hansel,

So, is putting a lot of your eggs into ASx such a good deal??  How much of your asset / investment is tied to Malaysia?? Are you diversified enough??

You have ENOUGH.  Protect your money / investment from any single country's failure should be your highest priority.

Dreamer
Tq, yes, I am moving-on from the ASx holdings, before it is too late to redeem at RM1.00 per unit.

Hansel
post Sep 5 2015, 06:36 PM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(netmask8 @ Sep 5 2015, 10:50 AM)
Why NOT, you ask these companies like Sime Darby, PETRONAS, MISC, IOI Corp, YTL ..etc that earn income in USD or seek
Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) or Arab country friends to stabilize FOREX speculator ?  rclxms.gif

http://www.themalaymailonline.com/malaysia...gest-firms-list

Should you profit taking now ? Don't get your fingers burn.  laugh.gif
I used to be afraid of the forex speculators more than anyone else and any other effects.

Forex speculators will always be there. But if those so-called 'forex speculators' start selling down your currency because you have a problem that makes them feel risky and feel uncomfortable with holding your currency (and your bonds), then we start to blame ourselves, our structural problems and our fundamentals instead of the 'forex speculators'.

It may not be the forex speculators anymore. After what happened last night, I could have been wrong to be afraid of the speculators. We need to clean up our house first, then only we can start to think of outside interference.
Hansel
post Sep 5 2015, 06:47 PM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(yolldddd @ Sep 4 2015, 09:41 PM)
Wow some people here are just so full of it having been proven wrong time and time again but old face too thick to admit it. As some have said the number don't lie and the reserve is up. A lot of these old thick face people says dooms days coming god know how long like 10years ago. We're still here and with the reserve number is up. It can only get better smile.gif
Right - the reserve number is up, and numbers don't lie. But round one says that the desired effect is not being produced here. Perhaps too early to tell,.. that would be fair to say....

Do you think raising the BLR on Sep 11 will help to stabilise the RM, at least a little bit ? Will our BNM be willing to take this step, to the detriment of the people ?

We all agree that if the RM continues to fall, the effects created will be hard on the majority of us. As we await the desired effects to kick-in, the more the RM will fall, and the more difficult it will be to reverse the effects. We will be stuck with a high cost-push inflation after the dust has settled, provided the dust can settle, if the country does not fall into a deeper hole.

Hansel
post Sep 5 2015, 07:03 PM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 5 2015, 11:48 AM)
Sometimes really don't know where people went already.
Keep on reading news graduate cannot get a job, but in actual situation for those running businesses, we tend to see employer always complain hiring is difficult. Almost everywhere see banner of hiring.

For sure, high wages, and goyang kaki job is not available.  laugh.gif
I believed graduates who are not able to find jobs are : job-seekers who desire 'goyang kaki' type of jobs with high remuneration and benefits.

And employers who complain of hiring difficulties and employers who put up banners and buntings for hiring are : employers who are looking for hard-working candidates demanding lower pays and lower benefits.

Hence, there is a mismatch in the above two categories of people, creating more 'job-seekers' outside and more hiring advertisements everywhere.
Hansel
post Sep 5 2015, 07:16 PM

9,354 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 5 2015, 07:00 PM)
this time, it is not speculators.

there has been no report of such.

moreover, thai baht and filipino peso are holding very well.

it is simply a lack of confidence, for reasons we already know.
that is actually something i am concerned about.

if a lot of the sme's fail or start downsizing, a lot of people will become jobless.

glc's may hold better, but won't be spared as we are already seeing in the banking sector.

the private sector will be in bad shape.

and there isn't room to expand the public service, is there?

lastly, can't imagine what will happen then to the few million foreign workers...
hmm.gif So no reports of speculators fooling around with our RM. ...

If SMEs fail, the primary negative effects will be : job losses, more expensive goods for us end-consumers, less tax collection for lembaga, and more motion of no-confidence against the administrators (whose jobs and functions are to create jobs and opportunities for the people).

The above will trickle down to further secondary effects such as drop in GDP, drop in sentiment, etc, etc,.. countless...

Hansel
post Sep 5 2015, 07:24 PM

9,354 posts

Hmm,.. sometimes I'm thinking,... our lives are being made harder to cater for a chance to get higher figures in Trade Surplus and Int'l Reserves, as what we are witnessing now.

Is this a compulsory economic cycle event that everybody must go thourgh and suffer through ?

Or is it somebody's faulty decisions that cornered us into this ?

10 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0471sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:11 PM