4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

AMD Radeon™ Discussion V12, Latest - 14.12 | WHQL - 14.12

kizwan
post Jun 9 2015, 03:25 PM

BÖw DÖwn TÖ LÖrd PringlËs
826 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jun 9 2015, 02:05 PM)
FreeSync range only 40hz-60hz.  cry.gif
Don't know that. I thought the range is bigger than that. But with 4K can go up to 60Hz only anyway.
kizwan
post Jun 9 2015, 09:57 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Jun 9 2015, 06:02 PM)
How much is a standard freesync monitor?
I saw BenQ freesync monitor 27" around RM2999.
kizwan
post Jun 10 2015, 12:53 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Jun 9 2015, 10:48 PM)
QUOTE(kizwan @ Jun 9 2015, 09:57 PM)

I saw BenQ freesync monitor 27" around RM2999.
wohooo thumbup.gif , i need to pay by installment rclxms.gif
You and me both, S4PH! cry.gif Also since you asked "standard", that is 1080p freesync monitor. laugh.gif I don't want to spent that much for monitor. Currently thinking getting 4 1080p cheap monitor (below RM700) for eyefinity.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Jun 10 2015, 12:54 AM
kizwan
post Jun 11 2015, 02:28 PM

826 posts

Well, in many benchmarks, all I see is Titan X, Titan X, Titan X, Titan X, Titan X, Titan X, Titan X, Titan X, Titan X, Titan X, holding the top ranking. Where 980 Ti? I see 980 & 290X more than 980 Ti.
kizwan
post Jun 12 2015, 03:00 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(arifhasim85 @ Jun 12 2015, 09:57 AM)
QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jun 12 2015, 03:38 AM)

Image was taken down. I think the price will be around RM2k when it reach our shore.

IMO retailers should price it less than RM2k or else people will buy 980 instead.. sweat.gif
Unpossible! I think it'll price above 2K though.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Jun 12 2015, 03:01 PM
kizwan
post Jun 18 2015, 01:24 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(shikimori @ Jun 17 2015, 06:53 AM)
Can anyone answer me with simple layman terms ,will 4gb HBM will be enough for 4k gaming or game that uses a lot of vram like gta v without stuttering/performance hit ?
4GB is enough for 4K gaming. Stuttering in this case basically after effect when VRAM maxed out. If we use GTA V as an example, I have never max out the settings including the advanced graphics setting but based on the info I found & assuming fury can max out GTA V, 4GB may not enough. Higher resolution also consume VRAM, so need to take that into account too. You can always turn down graphics settings to lower VRAM usage. Basically you can game at 4K with 4GB card.

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 17 2015, 10:18 AM)
You are too forgiving and accepting. It's NATURAL to question all the hyperbole and marketing claims on these slides. Of course two is better than one. The point of he matter is that it took them TWO Fijis to claim that, instead of one. What's stopping them from putting on that same slide that claim of "world's fastest single GPU" right next to the Fury X, instead of putting that "world's fastest graphics card" on the dual Fiji instead? 

CFX implementation on anything AMD is still poor so even if it does claim the world's fastest graphics card, having to deal with CFX peculiarities like micro stuttering and missing CFX profiles alone does not ensure "the best 4K experience" as what they claimed. It's like having the fastest Ferrari car around but giving it to drive to an 18 year old who just pass his driving license test. Single GPU card is still the metric to look for to avoid CFX complications. rolleyes.gif

You can be defensive about folks questioning AMD all you want, but it doesn't help their cause when they're not being true to their own claims. Or in this case, side skirting around vague claims and statements.

Personally to me, THIS was the only good thing that came out of the presentation yesterday:

It shows forward thinking and innovation on behalf of AMD to think outside the box on what their HBM implementation has done to shrink the PC form factor into a form which was not possible before. Almost like a PC version of that dustbin-looking Mac Pro.
I don't know about the rules but usually most powerful card will be crown to single gpu card.

CFX performance is very good nowadays. No more micro stutters. It's old news. Nowadays the problem is whether the games support CFX or not. That's all. Usually AMD will release driver update to support CFX for certain games. Only problem it may take time.
kizwan
post Jun 18 2015, 02:16 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(shikimori @ Jun 17 2015, 10:14 PM)
I'm a noob when it comes to graphic card history  . But I find it strange AMD does not care about the mid tier gamer who only budget is around 300-500 usd

Fury x to be fair is for high end level  , not really surprise about overseas price and local is another story. Rebrand for mid tier and charging the same price is almost shallow like what their competitor did .  Cant they learn from NVIDIA 970 best bang for buck until 3.5gb fiasco

In other words those with decent brain left just get crossfire 290x instead ? Oh crap freesync doesnt work on crossfire LEL
Please keep in mind, with drivers getting update, old news may not remain true anymore.

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showpost....postcount=11056
Sorry about the text formatting. I just copied-paste this from the above site.
AMD is releasing a two
-
phase driver release with Catalyst 15.15 and 15.20
. T
he 15.15
drivers
are
available immediately
and the 15.20 drivers
are
coming a few weeks later.
The Catalyst 15.15 drivers bring new features like
:

FPS Targeting
:
T
he ability to save power by setting a maximum FPS target

Virtual Super Resolution
:
The ability to down
scale a game from a high
resolution to a lower r
esolution, giving a user higher
-
quality textures in game
(
also known as supersampli
ng)

P
erformance optimizations
:
A
dding game p
erforma
nce optimizations to AMD
R9 Fur
y X
and other graphics cards
Although
Catalyst 15.15 drivers will not be available for Windows 10,
Catalyst
15.20 will
be. The Catalyst 15.20 drivers will bring features like:

C
atalyst Uninstaller
:
A
llows users to uninstall their AMD catalyst drivers
cleanly,
so new drivers can be installed without incident

OpenCL 2.0 optional features
:
M
ultiple performance and feature additions

FreeSync + CrossFire
:
T
he ability to run FreeSync
dynamic screen refresh
technology with multiple GPUs in CrossFire mode.
Catalyst 15.20 divers
will also
have
Windows 10 specific features like:

HEVC
(
H
igh
E
fficiency
V
ideo
C
odec)
:
E
nables quality streaming and 4K
experiences

DirectX 12
:
S
upport for the lo
w
-
level efficient graphics API for Windows 10

Windows 10 WHQL
(Windows Hardware Quality Lab)
:
AMD’s latest driver
release (15.20) will be WHQL and WHQL for Windows 10 as well

AMD Catalyst 15.15 modded for 290's & lower.
http://forum.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=400078&page=2

This post has been edited by kizwan: Jun 18 2015, 02:19 AM
kizwan
post Jun 19 2015, 03:50 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(sentlon @ Jun 19 2015, 12:52 PM)
I think the ram clock do not play important rule to drive up the performance. However the core clock speeds are the main things to boost performance
With 290/290X, overclocking memory doesn't boost performance much. It already have huge bandwidth anyway. The core clock will give you boost in performance. I reckon the same thing with Fiji.

FYI, you can get boost in performance in some games that love high speed memory (system RAM), e.g. BF4. So, I would make sure that covered.
kizwan
post Jun 23 2015, 12:40 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 23 2015, 12:24 AM)
Look, if you're buying flagship, you run it at the maximum setting. If this is what they got after trying to run it as such, and can only manage 60fps at Medium, then what's the point? You don't market your flagship running game on mediocre settings. It's like marketing a movie theatre as IMAX but running movie at standard definition.

I can run games on dual 4K monitors at Low, but I'm not gonna advertise that as a plus point, in fact I'd be embarrassed to proclaim that.
Why embarrassed, running medium at 5K with single card? I think you missing the point there. It's just to show what the single Fury X can do at 5K with Dragon Age game, not claiming any title. rclxub.gif
kizwan
post Jun 23 2015, 01:45 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 23 2015, 12:46 AM)
Sure, it's not claiming any title, so from the way you word your sentences there, it's nothing special either. So what the big deal then?

I'd still say that they are purposely AVOIDING running any settings higher than Medium to hide the fact that they're running out of VRAM (and the ensuing consequences of VRAM starvation). At 1440p, Dragon Age Inquisition is already eating up 4GB of video memory.

"The first thing that probably slapped you in the face is the close to 6GB VRAM usage at 4K while our VRAM test cards the R9-290s in Crossfire only have 4GB (mirrored) . This is probably due to a bug on the driver side, so it should be taken with a grain of salt."

Read more at HardwarePal: Dragon Age Inquisition Benchmark Mantle Vs DirectX http://www.hardwarepal.com/?p=7793

Take with a grain of salt. The reviewer doesn't mentioned stuttering (which is what would you get when the card out of VRAM) when testing at 4K with 290 or 970. The graph meaningless to me since the reviewer didn't go into details on it. For 290, they should have two graphs for DX11 & Mantle. Like they mentioned in the article, take with grain of salt.

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 23 2015, 12:52 AM)
Check the setting screenshot again, it's running at 5K30, NOT 5K60. The reviewer just mentions it "feels like running at 60+fps". Which is which? Also the fact that they mentioned The Witcher 3 at the start of the article and then run about correcting it to Dragon Age Inquisition, without correcting the first mention of the Witcher 3. Shows how suspect their method of reporting to me.

It's not even a review. It's only one page with 3 screenshots. Everything shown there, 5K @30Hz & like you said, he/she basically said "It was liquid smooth to my eyes, with the graphics being set to 'Medium' at 5K. It felt like 60FPS+". Sorry, I don't see why you need to fuss about this though. And no one going to run 5K or 4K even, with single GPU. I also checked other reviews on Dragon Age Inquisition, they also doesn't mentioned stuttering when playing the games at 4K @High or Ultra with either 295X2 or 980 SLI.
kizwan
post Jun 23 2015, 02:19 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 23 2015, 01:14 AM)
Then technically it is NOT 60fps, it's merely running above 30fps to alleviate any instances of stuttering, that made that "felt like 60+fps" comment. I don't have to be an AMD fan to like what they're doing or hate Nvidia to show appreciation of what they did right. Same reason why you dont have to be an AMD user here to post what you felt they did wrong. Heck, if I'm AMD (or Nvidia), I'd rather listen to constructive criticism to improve myself rather than thinking I did great (Medium 4K? Seriously.) when it is actually nothing to shout about.

Which would you rather want: people praising you for something mediocre, or people critisizing you for something great? I'd take the latter.

For posterity sake, I just disabled SLI on my rig and ran a single card at 4K Medium on Dragon Age Inquisition. I get 60 fps (possibly higher since my monitor only goes up to 60Hz) as well recorded on Shadowplay FPS counter. I don't feel so special here either. Granted I'm running Titan X, but since the Fury X's competitor, the 980Ti is a Titan X killer, 60fps on 4K at Medium in DA:I, is normal. The point to take here, it is normal to get 30-60fps at 4K and above running DA:I on Medium on flagship cards. It's probably astonishing to AMD users here since neither of their previous flagship cards are able to do so before the arrival of Fury. But it has been that way with its competitor's card, so nothing really much to shout about really. *shrugs*
"AMD user here", yeah, nice trolling. doh.gif If you can't discuss nicely here without inflaming people here, why bother posting here. According to anandtech review, 290X is only a couple FPS behind 980 in DA: Inquisition @4K @high & ultra settings. If 980 can run @60FPS with medium settings @4K, 290X will be able too. Well, your argument is faulty since you're testing @4K, not 5K.
kizwan
post Jun 23 2015, 02:42 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 23 2015, 02:08 AM)
I didnt say it was a review. It was a post with 3 screenshots. But which is which? At first say Witcher 3 then later show screenshots of DA:I? Setting screenshot says 5K at 30Hz, then mention "feels like 60+"? If the post is meant to generate a "feel-good" feeling for those justifying a Fury X purchase, maybe it works for those who are already invested or buying the Fury X already. Perhaps as justification of purchase since the person who first posted the link to that article has he himself invested in the Fury X from a local reseller, and posting this link made his purchase justifiable, maybe? The rest who are sitting on the fence, money in hand but still researching, I reckon, would prefer a more unbiased, trustworthy, and proof-readed/proof-provided article than 3 screenshots and a "feel like 60+fps" article. They're gonna be spending RM2800-2900 on this, so proof of such performance would help them make the right decision on whether to buy or not, not driven by fanboyism alone. I was in the market for this myself for a Fury SFF build, so I prefer and appreciate an unbiased article than a loosely cobbled-together one like this. 

There are no reviews on DA:I with regards to frame-rating which would elaborate further on stuttering, other than a smattering of posts from users in forums. Does not mean that there aren't any. I looked up the usual suspects like TPU, MAximumPC and PcPER since they're the ones usually with graphs of frame-rating, nothing there either. Still it does not mean that there aren't any.
That's the problem right there. Unseen already in his first post saying it's DA: Inquisition. On the (little) title is wrongly said it's Witcher 3, yes but if you really read the short article, it specifically mentioned DA: Inquisition. Anyone would be able to know there's typo there in the title. It's not really an issue.

Like I said, it's not a review or even an article to be honest. He/she basically written based on what he sees or feels on what he/she witness at the AMD event. There is no biased article/review here. No one in their right mind going to take this short news too seriously but it's worth to share it here or anywhere else. So, there is no reason to fuss about this really. doh.gif

If the game is really is maxing out 4GB RAM, then 980 SLI won't be able to run DA: Inquisition @70FPS or 54FPS at high & ultra respectively @4K. No way.
kizwan
post Jun 23 2015, 02:57 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 23 2015, 02:45 AM)
Wasn't trolling. That was an observation. In fact, it was my experience with the past AMD flagship card that they cant do 4K proper at all. I wouldnt be spending RM16,000 for CrossFire R9 290X rig for 4K if I didn't give AMD a try. If I am trolling, that would be an expensive pricetag to put on just to troll. A very expensive AMD rig built to troll? Try again.

If you cant take constructive criticism here, why bother posting here. Sure, I'll go ahead and buy the Dell 5K monitor tomorrow just to correct my faulty "argument". Just like how I built a CrossFire AMD rig just to "troll" people here. rolleyes.gif

I post on experience. Experience of using an AMD R9 290X, and unable to satisfactorily run 4K without serious repercussion on its lifespan and/or power requirement/heat generation from the rig. Wasn't arguing just for the sake or arguing. Just because I went Team Green doesn't mean that I didn't consider Team Red viable at one time. Wouldn't be building a rig that meticulous if I didn't consider it viable. Try not to put blanket statement or immediately label someone as "trolling" just because he has an Nvidia rig on his sig. It doesn't help showing how bitter AMD diehard users are. icon_rolleyes.gif
Again, you failed to read & understand properly. Seriously. I came to the conclusion you're trolling based on what you wrote, not because you have Nvidia rig. doh.gif

"It's probably astonishing to AMD users here since neither of their previous flagship cards are able to do so before the arrival of Fury. But it has been that way with its competitor's card, so nothing really much to shout about really. *shrugs*"

You're basically inflaming people right there. I have no problem with your previous posts but when you start to degenerate the discussion with the above line, it's a problem.

I can take constructive criticism. Inflaming in the other hand is not constructive. That is trolling.

"I post on experience. Experience of using an AMD R9 290X, and unable to satisfactorily run 4K without serious repercussion on its lifespan and/or power requirement/heat generation from the rig."

Yeah, we weren't talking about that but performance.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Jun 23 2015, 03:05 AM
kizwan
post Jun 23 2015, 03:24 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 23 2015, 03:01 AM)
LOL calm down man, you are the one who kept mentioning this as a "review", and nowhere in my previous post did I state that this is a review. Chill out, AMD cards are already running hot, dont tell me the users are also hot-tempered too? tongue.gif I was questioning the integrity of the article (with multiple typos), not Unseen. Read properly and calmly. Anger can distort one's conclusions.

My point was the article is taken as it is, a simple Twitter style post that generate hype and excitement without proper mentioning of parameters. It sure does create excitement here, but doesn't help potential buyers or fence-sitters whether they should jump in or go to the other team. It's just hype. No one is gonna take this seriously too I agree, but apparently it is you who are taking it seriously about me taking this article lightly (by questioning its validity). tongue.gif

Even if a game maxes out 4GB of VRAM, it will still run, it'll just have to swap textures and graphics data when its memory buffers ran out of it. That cycle of swapping textures and data is the one contributing towards the stutter. From what little I know lah. Correct me if I'm wrong.
I'm calm. BTW, forum doesn't convey tones properly. If you think I'm not calm then you're seriously misunderstand there. Like I said, read & understand properly.

About the swapping textures & graphics when VRAM maxed out, the card won't be able to do it smoothly, hence the stuttering. Then again it depends on the games codes but generally, it's not smooth.

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 23 2015, 03:12 AM)
I would be trolling if it is taken in context of looking at it from reading people's experiences and drawing conclusions from there, not from my own experiences using one. How can I be trolling when I had been using one in the first place? Sensitive much?

I was in the unique position before of having experienced, owned and used both camp's flagship GPUs in its lifetime. I draw my conclusions from those experiences. I do not base my opinion on what people posts or what I read. How can I be trolling when I have been using a flagship AMD card before and drawing my conclusion from using it? I have to like the AMD flagship otherwise I am not trolling? Wow, even I don't draw the lines there.

I dont cherry pick my games to favor one Team or the other. My choice of games comes from a broad spectrum of genres, from AMD favored games like Crysis 3 and Battlefield 4(the main reason why I built this: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3466728&hl= ), to Nvidia favored ones like Assassin's Creed Unity and Dying Light. It is from these experiences with these games that I draw the conclusion that the last generation of AMD's flagship card  the 290X as being inadequate to run at 4K compared to its counterpart, hence why I wrote "It's probably astonishing to AMD users here since neither of their previous flagship cards are able to do so before the arrival of Fury. But it has been that way with its competitor's card, so nothing really much to shout about really. *shrugs*". Nothing in between the line, there is no line, it's a straight up observation from my own experience using and owning pools of cards from the two camps. *shrugs* <-----an innocent shrug, not a sarcastic one. Have to put disclaimer, otherwise, you'd "read between these lines again"*
Again, please read carefully. Let me try this again. "It's probably astonishing to AMD users here ..." <-- This basically inflaming people. If you worded differently, only contains "since neither of their previous flagship cards are able to do so before the arrival of Fury", I wouldn't call you troll.

Please keep in topic. If you look back, we're talking about DA: Inquisition, not any other games. We're not talking about your experience with other games.

Ahh! I'm done. It's time for me to prepare sahur for my family.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Jun 23 2015, 03:26 AM
kizwan
post Jun 23 2015, 06:24 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 23 2015, 03:38 AM)
That's the thing, you yourself admit that forum doesn't convey tones properly. Perhaps "tone down" on the assumptions a bit? Helps on character building during the puasa month. icon_rolleyes.gif I probably need to use a more descriptive word than "probably astonishing" just so that egos doesn't get bruised around here. Probably.

Although I think I felt the sting harsher than any ego bruised around here, I had to spend that much on an AMD CrossFire rig just to find out that it's not viable for 4K across all games. Let's see, spent monies versus bruised pride and ego. *makes weighing motion*

Back to topic, DA:I runs with "feels like 60+fps" on a 5K 30Hz settings, at Medium. I reckon if anyone can be satisfied buying a RM2800-2900 card to run it at those settings, it's a go for Fury X for them. Not for me though. To each his own.

Now......about that CrossFire support on DA:I though, anyone ran CF on that game on recent AMD Catalyst drivers? Wonder if things are even gonna change at all with Fury X when it comes to drivers optimization.  hmm.gif
Nah, I don't make assumption. All of my reply to your posts based on the words & sentences you used, not tones. No ego involved either. I'm also not fanboy. If I do, I probably get in fight with a lot of people that doesn't pro AMD here. I have been back and forth between nvidia & ati before. The fact that I have one over the other in my rig doesn't mean I'm pro to any camp.

No need to overly defensive. Probably your ego that got bruised? I don't know, never thought about it before you post this reply. I don't buy cards based on ego & pride. Posting inflammatory post like this will not get warm welcome from anyone.

This discussion started from that news about that guy attending AMD event showing Fury X running DA: Inquisition @5K @medium settings. Anyone read the news would understand it was based on what that guy witnessed in the event. Basically the words used in the news was chose carefully. Basically that guy saw the games running smoothly to his eyes which described as "liquid smooth to my eyes" & "It felt like 60FPS+, which was absolutely astounding to see in person...". The real FPS can be lower or higher but that is what that guy witnessed in the event. Base on how that guy explaining it in the news show that someone else was running the games & that guy is only a spectator or that guy probably got a chance playing the games but can't get accurate information like what FPS the games was running at, hence the description "It felt like 60FPS+".

Anyone in their right minds would know the news was written based on what that one guy witnessed in the event & would take with a grain of salt. Anyone here, including me will not take this news too seriously but "liquid smooth" @5K do sound interesting. It sound interesting but anyone in their right minds will not hastily decided to buy this card without details review from trusted reviewer.

When you said & I quote "The point to take here, it is normal to get 30-60fps at 4K and above running DA:I on Medium on flagship cards. It's probably astonishing to AMD users here since neither of their previous flagship cards are able to do so before the arrival of Fury. But it has been that way with its competitor's card, so nothing really much to shout about really. *shrugs*" From the very beginning I tried to highlight "AMD users here" but you always missed that. I don't mind if you're saying previous flagships cards before Fury unable to play DA: Inquisition at "felt like 60FPS" compare to their competitor cards from nvidia. Not really bother at all with that claim. If AMD that bad, no argument from me. What bother me is "AMD users here". If you read the sentences, it feels like you're accusing all AMD users here don't know any better. That is to me is inflammatory message hence why I accused you being a troll. Even after a couple of times trying to explained why I accused you trolling, you still failed to get it. I hope you understand now. Probably next time tone down any kind of inflammatory message? icon_rolleyes.gif

Many people I know going to keep their 290/290X & not going to upgrade to 390/390X. As for the Fury, many people still on the fence right now. Few people that confirmed getting this cards mostly benchers which likely to sell it once they finished playing with it. Reading reviews one thing, feels it yourself is another thing & mostly satisfying to these people.

Regarding DA: Inquisition, from the information I gather, single 980 can play the games at almost 40FPS average @High settings @4K. Single 290X a couple FPS behind it. If the 980 can run at 60FPS @Medium settings @4K, then the 290X can run almost there too, probably a couple FPS less. If 290X can do that, I reckon Fury X could do better @High settings @4K. We'll see.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Jun 23 2015, 06:32 AM
kizwan
post Jun 23 2015, 02:09 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 23 2015, 09:32 AM)
kizwan

He is just pointing out frustation as a amd user. We all been there. As for AMD user/fans. I think their tolerance/loyalty to AMD doesnt reflect the performance/experience. Thats what he is trying to say.

Did you flash ure 290 to a 290x??

If nvidia posted a crap like DA 5k@30 fps  medium setting closer to 980 launch for maxwell 2, we would see a 10page hate fest in Nvidia thread.

Anyway arkham knights launch now is 12pm instead of 12am.
Amd as i speculated has drivers for it. Read that somewhere.
This is the game fury X will try to show off its edge against 980ti.

vram @1440p reported by some 980 preaccess users is 4gb
Well, I can understand if it was about frustration on AMD products in general. I'm not pro to any team. I recalled a couple of times in the past where the users (in the other forum) having nothing but problem with the AMD cards & was contemplating whether trying to fixed it or just change to 970/980, & I was basically told them to just jump ship. I wasn't even bother to tell them to try this & that because when you have nothing but problem, there's no use to waste your time trying to fixed it, just go with what the best for you. However it's not the case with the discussion last night/earlier this morning. All my reply last night/earlier this morning is specifically around the news & what that guy (the one who wrote the news) witnessed the Fury performance in DA: Inquisition @5K. That's all, nothing more & nothing less. The gist is that there nothing we can get from that news though. It's all based on what that guy witnessed, so I like to hold my judgement on the Fury X performance until someone make a detailed review on it & also cover other popular games too, not just one game. I'm not even trying to defend AMD but we can't really make conclusion based on that news though. If you asked me, based on what we know so far about Fury, I can tell you that I have mixed feelings about it & so far I kinda disappointed with AMD if I'm honest.

I don't mind constructive criticism or even heated debate/discussion. I actually did involved in heated discussion few times in forums. When one of the party degenerate it to personal attack, then it's not cool anymore. I have never degenerate any kind of discussion that I have involved to personal attack or make any kind of bad assumption of the other party, ever. I just want to mention that majority, I think 99% of the heated debate/discussion that I have involved, I can proudly say none of them was never degenerated to personal attack by the all the parties involved.

QUOTE(antaras @ Jun 23 2015, 11:14 AM)
I love constructing debates. For end users it's good info. I don't wanna burn a RM3k hole in my wallet just to regret later. Unlike the few assholes that mysteriously appear in the NVidia thread spewing garbage about the the 3.5gb debacle AFTER THE FACT.
Yeah, about the 3.5GB + 0.5GB "issue" with 970, I was kinda surprise that before anyone know about it, no one really complaining about the performance & everything was about how this card can beat 290X but once it widely known, suddenly many people having performance problem. laugh.gif Well, "many" probably not accurate because only few guys very vocal about it which can look like many. Actually the way I saw it, there was panic among 970 users but once they learned what is really going on, many people acceptes it & what left is just few guys keep vocal about it. (Forgot to say that this was what happened to 970 thread at OCN. I didn't follow 970/Nvidia thread at lowyat, so I don't know what happened here.)

This post has been edited by kizwan: Jun 23 2015, 03:06 PM
kizwan
post Jun 23 2015, 10:05 PM

826 posts

If anyone was thinking trying 390/390X BIOS on 290/290X, just FYI there seems to be incompatibility issue. A couple of people tried it & even though they got nice score in 3dmark at stock clock, however overclock is not stable especially when gaming. Also memory overclock also can not go high like it used to with 290/290X BIOS.

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Jun 23 2015, 03:14 PM)
i pay rm2.8K and rm20 shipping x
Congrats! Like others said, please do some review on it. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jun 23 2015, 04:52 PM)
Does the new Catalyst 15.6 provide frame rate control like the one on 300 series?
Do you mean the dynamic frame rate control? Did you try the 390/390X drivers (modded to support 290/290X & lower cards)?

QUOTE(S4PH @ Jun 23 2015, 06:58 PM)
anybody having issues with installing 15.6 beta drivers i certainly am , cant install it properly says successfully install but at catalyst seems like many options tab is not there. i performed DDU still the same haizzz, prepping my pc for arkham knight
Installed just now. No problem that I can see here. Do you have pic showing the option tabs missing?

This post has been edited by kizwan: Jun 23 2015, 10:19 PM
kizwan
post Jun 23 2015, 10:28 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Jun 23 2015, 10:15 PM)
i found the problem, i selected the windows 7 64 bit drivers and when i downloaded it was win8 drivers seems AMD is in a hurry and the link gives wrong drivers for the selected OS. downloaded the proper drivers and now ok.

7 hours more to download arkham knight  drool.gif

[attachmentid=4498683]

[attachmentid=4498687]
Eh...Steam show we can already add to cart. Did it means you can buy it but can only download it in the next 7 hours?
kizwan
post Jun 24 2015, 01:28 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jun 24 2015, 10:40 AM)
The Fury X 1440p heaven scores is pretty low. Only 43.8fps?

I just tested my R9 290 at 1100 core 1500 memory, at max settings 1440p heaven's benchmark and got 33.5 fps...
That didn't include that I ran it with Surface Optimization turned off and texture filtering quality set to High. That robs few percent fps...
That actually running at stock clock. Not overclock yet.

QUOTE(S4PH @ Jun 24 2015, 11:26 AM)
Damn that bad for a card costing that much. Bro just a quick question can my system get more performance by changing my cpu to intel i5/i7 currently using a fx8350 or is just better to just OC the bugger  hmm.gif . Btw what is your power configuration to achieve 1100 gpu and 1500 memory? is it at stock
Better overclock that fx8350. IMO, don't need to change to i5 or i7. Mine can run 1100 at stock voltage but I didn't thoroughly tested it in many games.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Jun 24 2015, 01:50 PM
kizwan
post Jun 24 2015, 07:36 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(Skidd Chung @ Jun 24 2015, 03:29 PM)
I have bad experience with Kangaroo. If possible I will ask seller to use others.
QUOTE(faidz85 @ Jun 24 2015, 03:35 PM)
I on the other hand had good experience with Kangaroo..they even delivered my parcel on Sunday.
QUOTE(Human10 @ Jun 24 2015, 03:48 PM)
It all back down to the branch.

For me, I can take everything but ABX/Poslaju, for which they keep silent and didn't ship my stuffs after days reached their office and their office are farther than other couriers from my place.
Usually if their office near your place, you will get faster delivery. At my place, Skynet & Pos Laju are pretty bad while GDEX & Nationwide support next day delivery.

QUOTE(S4PH @ Jun 24 2015, 07:21 PM)
Batman for pc is badly optimised, my GPU is hovering 60% only updated the latest beta drivers already, but beware using normal texture detail takes up to 3.8gb of vram this game is VRAM hungry
Where can I buy DVD version of this game? Original of course. My connection fast but limited quota.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0519sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:41 AM