Shell vs Petronas for Chemical Engineering

TSeddytan95
post Jan 5 2015, 03:58 PM, updated 11y ago

346 posts

Dear all,

I'm currently a Chemical Engineering student and I'm very curious to know the benefits/downside of being a Chemical Engineer or an engineer for 2014/15 in Shell vs Petronas

All these information that i listed are "Heard" or "Found" on the website or someone, correct me if i'm wrong.

Petronas
1. Starting salary start from RM 4500.00 (Chemical)
2. No Housing loan / Car loan for new batch
3. Dental coverage Rm500 / year
4. RM4000 per year medical coverage
5. Many training are provided and stay at luxury hotel during the training.
6. Offshore are Half year working and half year holidays?
7. 8% +- increment per year

For Shell
1. Starting salary is RM4000-Rm5000 (Chemical)
2. Housing loan/Car loan/Medical coverage are available.
3. Many training are also provided and stay at luxury hotel during the training.
4. Offshore are 14 days working 16 days holidays.
5. Better bonus and increment than Petronas

I'm quite interesting about the onshore and offshore salaries.

How about their working life?

How about their requirement?

How about internship? any requirement?

sonofthestage_x
post Jan 5 2015, 04:34 PM

69 posts

Dude you're still a student, why even bother asking all this salary, allowance, dental, increment, etc. Once you get an offer from either parties then come and discuss here. No point asking all this while studying and boasting how much fresh grad makes in Petronas or Shell if you're not there yet. Take it slow and steady young man!

Well in regards to INTERNSHIP REQUIREMENTS use the most advance search bar ever created GOOGLE! You'll get your information all there. whistling.gif
TSeddytan95
post Jan 5 2015, 04:38 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(sonofthestage_x @ Jan 5 2015, 04:34 PM)
Dude you're still a student, why even bother asking all this salary, allowance, dental, increment, etc. Once you get an offer from either parties then come and discuss here. No point asking all this while studying and boasting how much fresh grad makes in Petronas or Shell if you're not there yet. Take it slow and steady young man!

Well in regards to INTERNSHIP REQUIREMENTS use the most advance search bar ever created GOOGLE! You'll get your information all there.  whistling.gif
Just gathering information and prepare for future haha.

Binyamin
post Jan 5 2015, 04:58 PM

375 posts

You forgot to factor one more thing. Your skin color. It will directly affect your performance to a degree depending on which company you get into.

More for Petronas less for Shell.
wywy2020
post Jan 5 2015, 06:00 PM

1,638 posts

QUOTE(eddytan95 @ Jan 5 2015, 03:58 PM)
Dear all,

I'm currently a Chemical Engineering student and I'm very curious to know the benefits/downside of being a Chemical Engineer or an engineer for 2014/15 in Shell vs Petronas

All these information that i listed are "Heard" or "Found" on the website or someone, correct me if i'm wrong.

Petronas
For Shell
3. Many training are also provided and stay at luxury hotel during the training.

Do u know starting salary for technip n aker solutions?
ixus
post Jan 5 2015, 10:07 PM

291 posts

Dear all,

Petronas
For Shell

Salary minimum 10k after three years in shell regardless upstream or downstream as long as you are in technical path

TSeddytan95
post Jan 5 2015, 10:33 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(ixus @ Jan 5 2015, 10:07 PM)
Salary minimum 10k after three years in shell regardless upstream or downstream as long as you are in technical path
Wow! Really!!? Basic or included bonus?

This post has been edited by eddytan95: Jan 5 2015, 10:33 PM
TSeddytan95
post Jan 5 2015, 10:34 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(Binyamin @ Jan 5 2015, 04:58 PM)
You forgot to factor one more thing. Your skin color. It will directly affect your performance to a degree depending on which company you get into.

More for Petronas less for Shell.
Oh ya, i heard that too for petronas, they said mostly non-bumi are worked outside the office.
BRC
post Jan 6 2015, 01:52 AM

555 posts

Dear all,

Petronas
For Shell

For shell

1. No more car loan, they give allowance
2. Who told you when you work in O&G companies, all are offshore? You'll be sick of offshore before you even know it

Binyamin
post Jan 6 2015, 07:40 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(eddytan95 @ Jan 5 2015, 10:34 PM)
Oh ya, i heard that too for petronas, they said mostly non-bumi are worked outside the office.
Unless you talk like a Malay, act like a malay and fast like a malay during puasa, you will be akin to a clerk cum office boy in the office.(I don't think it is in every department though) I speak from experience.

But don't take it as a bad thing. Take it as part of the landscape. Meaning get over it and you will have a better time there.

This post has been edited by Binyamin: Jan 6 2015, 07:45 AM
feekle
post Jan 6 2015, 09:24 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

shut up & study. Finish your degree first

This post has been edited by feekle: Jan 6 2015, 09:25 AM
TSeddytan95
post Jan 6 2015, 11:33 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(BRC @ Jan 6 2015, 01:52 AM)
For shell

1. No more car loan, they give allowance
2. Who told you when you work in O&G companies, all are offshore? You'll be sick of offshore before you even know it
Oh, how about housing loan?

I thought there is 100% working at offshore
TSeddytan95
post Jan 6 2015, 11:35 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(Binyamin @ Jan 6 2015, 07:40 AM)
Unless you talk like a Malay, act like a malay and fast like a malay during puasa, you will be akin to a clerk cum office boy in the office.(I don't think it is in every department though) I speak from experience.

But don't take it as a bad thing. Take it as part of the landscape. Meaning get over it and you will have a better time there.
Ya, that's what i heard. But i won't be rasist lar unless the person rasist to me

This post has been edited by eddytan95: Jan 6 2015, 11:35 AM
TSeddytan95
post Jan 6 2015, 11:36 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Jan 6 2015, 09:24 AM)
shut up & study. Finish your degree first
Man, before finishing degree, i had to go for internship, that's why i ask here and gather information
razgriz_0087
post Jan 6 2015, 11:49 AM

78 posts

Dear all,

Petronas
For Shell

Does not mean to demoralize yu, but as other said, finish your study before thinking about all of this. If you said for future preparation, then get your best score & try to get as much experience out of your internship later for your career. Try not contain yourself to shell or petronas, there's still exxon or other such as schlumberger & etc. Offshore or not will be decided during interview later. Please bear in mind that all these benefits might change as time move on. As for medical coverage on Petronas, u should try to dig deeper... tongue.gif ...Btw, need also to see pro & con on worklife balance when thinking about position, salary & company. In the end, the choice is yours

TSeddytan95
post Jan 6 2015, 01:40 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(razgriz_0087 @ Jan 6 2015, 11:49 AM)
Does not mean to demoralize yu, but as other said, finish your study before thinking about all of this. If you said for future preparation, then get your best score & try to get as much experience out of your internship later for your career. Try not contain yourself to shell or petronas, there's still exxon or other such as schlumberger & etc. Offshore or not will be decided during interview later. Please bear in mind that all these benefits might change as time move on. As for medical coverage on Petronas, u should try to dig deeper... tongue.gif ...Btw, need also to see pro & con on worklife balance when thinking about position, salary & company. In the end, the choice is yours
Yup, just for future preparation and choosing which company for internship
BRC
post Jan 7 2015, 02:27 AM

555 posts

QUOTE(eddytan95 @ Jan 6 2015, 11:33 AM)
Oh, how about housing loan?

I thought there is 100% working at offshore
you need to go back to the drawing board
housing loan, there is a cap.
but they do pay you a part of the interest back so you don need to worry about BLR increasing

100% offshore?
only some personnel not all
as you work up the ranks it takes you away from offshore

O&G is not just offshore

ArenarZ
post Jan 7 2015, 09:33 AM

239 posts

Haha..compare like u gonna get shell or petronas offer, do u know how hard to even get the interview? U shud ask how to apply first before u ask the benefit and all..Life is not easy as u expect bro..
SUSsupersound
post Jan 7 2015, 10:42 AM

11,554 posts

Belum makan sudah mau fikir berak.
To join Shell, must be from overseas U or score very good if local U.
wywy2020
post Jan 7 2015, 11:10 AM

1,638 posts

QUOTE(ixus @ Jan 5 2015, 10:07 PM)
how is the increment looks like?
every year promoted?
TSeddytan95
post Jan 7 2015, 02:45 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(ArenarZ @ Jan 7 2015, 09:33 AM)
Haha..compare like u gonna get shell or petronas offer, do u know how hard to even get the interview? U shud ask how to apply first before u ask the benefit and all..Life is not easy as u expect bro..
Okie, Thanks for your information.

I heard of shell recruitment day and my uni has prepared internship for shell and also annually shell recruitment fair
TSeddytan95
post Jan 7 2015, 02:45 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 7 2015, 10:42 AM)
I'm from overseas U
ps3roxor
post Jan 7 2015, 03:34 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(eddytan95 @ Jan 7 2015, 02:45 PM)
Okie, Thanks for your information.

I heard of shell recruitment day and my uni has prepared internship for shell and also annually shell recruitment fair
You say it as if you've guaranteed your internship from both companies. These blokes may be what you consider as "oldtimers", but nevertheless they're right. Get your priorities right. It's an employer's world, not employee's world when it comes to fresh grads like you. There's no shortage of fresh blood.
TSeddytan95
post Jan 7 2015, 03:55 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(ps3roxor @ Jan 7 2015, 03:34 PM)
You say it as if you've guaranteed your internship from both companies. These blokes may be what you consider as "oldtimers", but nevertheless they're right. Get your priorities right. It's an employer's world, not employee's world when it comes to fresh grads like you. There's no shortage of fresh blood.
No, i didn't gurantee it but Shell are looking for students in my U every years as well as internships. Sometimes there are peoples coming from Shell giving siminars or talks in my U. So perhaps i could choose anyone of them if i have a chance. Just gathering information for pros and cons so i can set my priorities.
meonkutu11
post Jan 7 2015, 04:23 PM

1,597 posts

Dear all,

Petronas
For Shell

Eddy,

It is good that you already have target with which company you want to work. I wish you good luck!
With the current situation, I suggest you have a backup plan if you didn't success getting into either one of the above.
Just broaden your choices. Bear in mind that the competition is tough and people will use all the resources (connections, etc.) that they have to at least secured the interview.
Don’t be too excited with the packages that you ‘heard’ and ‘found’ as some will change and some probably just a fabricated story to cloud your mind.
The most important for the fresh grads, I would say is to secure the job, gain experiences, make as much connection as you can and progress yourself from there.

I’m not from an operating company, but I can say that Chemical Engineer not working offshore all the time (rotator). Maybe I’m wrong.
I guess, production people such as platform OIM, production techs, who are platform rotators.
If in drilling, drilling supervisors and well site engineers will be the regular offshore rotators; drilling engineers, completion engineers, geologists will travel offshore some times and based on their program.

Again, good luck! And remember if you didn't succeed, do not be like many people that will start b****ing around saying this and that not being fair to you….Maybe it just not your time yet and yes, the world is not fair.
TSeddytan95
post Jan 7 2015, 05:50 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jan 7 2015, 04:23 PM)
Eddy,

It is good that you already have target with which company you want to work. I wish you good luck!
With the current situation, I suggest you have a backup plan if you didn't success getting into either one of the above.
Just broaden your choices. Bear in mind that the competition is tough and people will use all the resources (connections, etc.) that they have to at least secured the interview.
Don’t be too excited with the packages that you ‘heard’ and ‘found’ as some will change and some probably just a fabricated story to cloud your mind.
The most important for the fresh grads, I would say is to secure the job, gain experiences, make as much connection as you can and progress yourself from there.

I’m not from an operating company, but I can say that Chemical Engineer not working offshore all the time (rotator). Maybe I’m wrong.
I guess, production people such as platform OIM, production techs, who are platform rotators.
If in drilling, drilling supervisors and well site engineers will be the regular offshore rotators; drilling engineers, completion engineers, geologists will travel offshore some times and based on their program.

Again, good luck! And remember if you didn't succeed, do not be like many people that will start b****ing around saying this and that not being fair to you….Maybe it just not your time yet and yes, the world is not fair.
Okay, Thanks for your advise and info. Just setting up goals and proceed forward is my style. Instead of keep saying hard and doesn't want to proceed, why not keep advancing and suceed, i always told people to do so. No matter how hard is the goal, if a person keep saying this and that, and doesn't want to advance him/herself, the goal wouldn't be achived anytime.
BRC
post Jan 8 2015, 12:18 AM

555 posts

not to dampen your spirits but

For Shell

if you talk about direct application you are facing 10s of thousands of other applicants
internship? Not as straight forward as you think as you need to pass the stages of interview before you get the internship..
for shell, internship is one of the 3 possible ways for a grad to get in under the Shell Grad program. Probably the easiest if you have secured the internship... so since you say you can get the internship (up to the point where you can choose) go this route... again you are competing with thousands of applicants... one can easily apply for internship in the website... but it does not guarantee a place

package wise, it is probably one of the better ones.
Yes, 5 figure is 3 years no problem...
as long as you have what it takes...

And that package is equally matched by Service companies as well (the global service companies)... even other operators are near there now...

basically you'll be surprise at the gap of in wages in Msia... the gap is huge
local companies and international companies pay way different

TSeddytan95
post Jan 8 2015, 12:43 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(BRC @ Jan 8 2015, 12:18 AM)
not to dampen your spirits but

For Shell

if you talk about direct application you are facing 10s of thousands of other applicants
internship? Not as straight forward as you think as you need to pass the stages of interview before you get the internship..
for shell, internship is one of the 3 possible ways for a grad to get in under the Shell Grad program. Probably the easiest if you have secured the internship... so since you say you can get the internship (up to the point where you can choose) go this route... again you are competing with thousands of applicants... one can easily apply for internship in the website... but it does not guarantee a place

package wise, it is probably one of the better ones.
Yes, 5 figure is 3 years no problem...
as long as you have what it takes...

And that package is equally matched by Service companies as well (the global service companies)... even other operators are near there now...

basically you'll be surprise at the gap of in wages in Msia... the gap is huge
local companies and international companies pay way different
Okay, Thank you. I just have to secure the internship in order to get in. sweat.gif
adamhzm90
post Jan 8 2015, 01:34 AM

1,389 posts

wahh ur very confident to secure job between these 2 big company..
my cousin, chemical engineering grad, now working at celcom call centre.
btw gudluck to u ts. rezeki masing2
jkl1980
post Jan 8 2015, 09:11 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 7 2015, 10:42 AM)
Alot of staff in Shell are from Local U...
But surely, u need to score good regardless you are from oversea, local or outerspace
and most importantly to score during Interview
feekle
post Jan 8 2015, 09:32 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

Try local players like scomi, tanjung, deleum, dimension bid etc. U have to set high & lows for your goal bro.
ixus
post Jan 8 2015, 06:29 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(eddytan95 @ Jan 5 2015, 10:34 PM)
Please dun simply quote some racist statement at here, I am nonbumi and i work in office & see a lot bumi working outside of office.

OOOOPP!
post Jan 9 2015, 11:41 PM

46 posts

I thought it is always good to find out the potential job prospect as early as we can.. Why the harsh comments...?

Anyway, I'm from chemical engineering background as well. Currently working for one of the service companies (aka the big blue).. i'd say either one is good for a fresh graduate. I'd go for Shell if I got the offers from both.

Btw, there are many other companies paying equally good if not better than Petronas/Shell at the entry level.. Easily over 10k basic in less than 1.5 yr in my company.
TSeddytan95
post Jan 9 2015, 11:53 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(OOOOPP! @ Jan 9 2015, 11:41 PM)
I thought it is always good to find out the potential job prospect as early as we can.. Why the harsh comments...?

Anyway, I'm from chemical engineering background as well. Currently working for one of the service companies (aka the big blue).. i'd say either one is good for a fresh graduate. I'd go for Shell if I got the offers from both.

Btw, there are many other companies paying equally good if not better than Petronas/Shell at the entry level.. Easily over 10k basic in less than 1.5 yr in my company.
Wow really? haha ya, i just can't understand why they wrote those harsh comments, like..nothing to say..just their tradisional methods maybe? After graduate then find job...

The big blue...u mean...IBM?

This post has been edited by eddytan95: Jan 9 2015, 11:54 PM
meonkutu11
post Jan 10 2015, 11:03 AM

1,597 posts

That is why i recommend TS to have a backup plan. What many of us see here, TS is too focus on the packages which is necessary but not too good for a fresh grad. Imagine freshies/juniors asking you to recommend them to join your company but just keep asking about the salary/money, allowances etc w/o focusing on the real thing which is the job itself.

Yes, there are many other companies that offer better packages and career developments than shell/petronas. whether in operating companies, service companies or drilling contractors. i'm not sure TS aware or not. if you ask me to guess 'big blue', i will say SLB....

fyi, my company pay >rm10k/month for trainee engineer and we are offshore driller.

DarkAeon
post Jan 10 2015, 11:42 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(eddytan95 @ Jan 6 2015, 01:40 PM)
Yup, just for future preparation and choosing which company for internship
the companies choose u not the other way around.

the reality is, there are stiff competition among grads. there are no shortage of grads to choose from every year and that dilutes the market value for entry level grads

for future preparation, i'd advice u to get a reality check. forget the dream of automagically landing the big bucks and mega benefits - u have to earn it. u need to learn the ways of the world, competition and politics, how to be valuable to your employers. before that, sad to say, u r cheap labour that can be easily replaced
XanVisYan
post Jan 10 2015, 11:45 AM

QUOTE(eddytan95 @ Jan 7 2015, 02:45 PM)
I'm from overseas U
Just curious, which U you come from?
ps3roxor
post Jan 10 2015, 09:15 PM

181 posts

These are not "harsh" comments. These are advice telling the TS to get a dose of reality check. The job market has no shortage of fresh grads and moreever with the current price wars hiring is pretty much frozen.

Instead of trying to ask more sensible questions like how to secure a job, he's asking about benefits already. IMO chem grads should be grateful it they even manage to secure a job in any of the oil companies at this stage, much less concerns themselves about their package.

Interns should be sending their profiles to any proper engineering firms and not just picking a few and limiting themselves.

Being money minded is the first step to failure. Career Experience and Personal Development comes first.

This post has been edited by ps3roxor: Jan 10 2015, 09:17 PM
Binyamin
post Jan 10 2015, 09:31 PM

375 posts

In this job market, it is tough especially for grads. There are less freshie jobs available and so the amount of applicant per freshie job available will be higher than before. You should apply to any OnG company not just Shell or Petronas. In certain sector of OnG contractors provide better career development than the operators(Shell/Petronas)

I know someone that offered himself to work for free in Haliburton Australia so they place him as a wireline engineer after graduation. He worked free for about 1 year after that the management decided to pay him a salary and package in accordance to his experience. He started work in 2007.
Just an idea for you.

This post has been edited by Binyamin: Jan 10 2015, 09:39 PM
meonkutu11
post Jan 10 2015, 10:24 PM

1,597 posts

attitude
thpace
post Jan 11 2015, 03:25 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jan 10 2015, 10:24 PM)
attitude
two things

attitude and commitments

Commitments are hardest to come by
Interview.. go offshore Ok? everything ok?

Come back after 2 week offshore and training
Throw resignation letter -- Canot tahan on platform laugh.gif

Anyway..TS don't count your chickens before they're hatched.

This post has been edited by thpace: Jan 11 2015, 03:31 AM
zephyrus9999
post Jan 11 2015, 04:12 PM

649 posts

think so much shell exxon petronas at this stage. In the end also enter cinaman company. Focus on better things
meonkutu11
post Jan 13 2015, 08:47 AM

1,597 posts

This can be a good lesson for us..
http://www.thestar.com.my/story/?file=%2F2...F20091128153433

0.1003sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:46 AM