Renovations Enquiry: Water Pump Installation, Is it legal and where do you install it?

TSJasonW13
post Jan 5 2015, 09:40 AM, updated 11y ago

246 posts

Hi Sifus,

Want to ask if I want to install a water pump in view that the water supply to my house has been small and same as neighboring units, is it legal to install it?

Secondly where do you install it at?

Thirdly how much does it cost you for a quiet unit but effective one. tongue.gif

Thank you for your advice. flex.gif

This post has been edited by JasonW13: Jan 5 2015, 09:47 AM
Tctf
post Jan 5 2015, 11:35 AM

248 posts

Better install inside your boundary,
and back side of your house.With proper cover from sun.
If you install at front house, sure Syabas cone find u.
Due to your neighbour water have suck up by your pump,
if you put the pump just beside the main water supply line.
Price around 1k to 2k, depend brand.

TSJasonW13
post Jan 5 2015, 12:50 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(Tctf @ Jan 5 2015, 11:35 AM)
Better install inside your boundary,
and back side of your house.With proper cover from sun.
If you install at front house, sure Syabas cone find u.
Due to your neighbour water have suck up by your pump,
if you put the pump just beside the main water supply line.
Price around 1k to 2k, depend brand.
that means it is actually illegal to do it la? cry.gif
Tctf
post Jan 5 2015, 12:54 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(JasonW13 @ Jan 5 2015, 12:50 PM)
that means it is actually illegal to do it la?  cry.gif
Should said it depend your local authority.
Johor,JB,KL,PutraJaya,Cyberjaya,Sabah, Sarawak different place rules..

numbertwo
post Jan 5 2015, 01:03 PM

1,790 posts

most ppl install one after their tangki.. ie. main pipe -> tangki - pump, i don't think anyone has faced any problem with local authorities..
TSJasonW13
post Jan 5 2015, 03:00 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(Tctf @ Jan 5 2015, 12:54 PM)
Should said it depend your local authority.
Johor,JB,KL,PutraJaya,Cyberjaya,Sabah, Sarawak different place rules..
I see. I will go and find out more from my Majlis Perbandaran. Or it is actually another dept?

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Jan 5 2015, 01:03 PM)
most ppl install one after their tangki..  ie.  main pipe -> tangki - pump,  i don't think anyone has faced any problem with local authorities..
After the tangki? I thought is after the main pipe and water meter. tongue.gif
Zot
post Jan 5 2015, 03:04 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(JasonW13 @ Jan 5 2015, 12:50 PM)
that means it is actually illegal to do it la?  cry.gif
It is illegal to install water pump before your house tank. It will mean you suck water to be distributed to other house thus making all your neighbor left with even lower pressure. You can install after the tank
puchongite
post Jan 5 2015, 03:09 PM

33,691 posts

QUOTE(JasonW13 @ Jan 5 2015, 03:00 PM)
I see. I will go and find out more from my Majlis Perbandaran. Or it is actually another dept?
After the tangki? I thought is after the main pipe and water meter.  tongue.gif
After tangki for landed.

Not much point install after main pipe and water meter, because those water pressure is much higher than water pressure after tangki. Unless you are in some weird area where the water pressure could not even pump it into your tangki. If such thing happens you should complain to syabas instead of fixing your own pump.

This post has been edited by puchongite: Jan 5 2015, 03:12 PM
TSJasonW13
post Jan 5 2015, 03:44 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 5 2015, 03:04 PM)
It is illegal to install water pump before your house tank. It will mean you suck water to be distributed to other house thus making all your neighbor left with even lower pressure. You can install after the tank
Ic. I will take note of that. TQ! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 5 2015, 03:09 PM)
After tangki for landed.

Not much point install after main pipe and water meter, because those water pressure is much higher than water pressure    after tangki. Unless you are in some weird area where the water pressure could not even pump it into your tangki. If such thing happens you should complain to syabas instead of fixing your own pump.
If Syabas said everything is ok but we all still feel that it is not, then water pressure pump is the solution? If it is after the tangki then I will need to have it be install in the roof? Those water pressure pump runs 24 hours or there is a cut off or there is an on and off switch to control?

TQ for your advice once again. .
thumbup.gif
puchongite
post Jan 5 2015, 03:51 PM

33,691 posts

QUOTE(JasonW13 @ Jan 5 2015, 03:44 PM)
Ic. I will take note of that. TQ!  rclxms.gif
If Syabas said everything is ok but we all still feel that it is not, then water pressure pump is the solution? If it is after the tangki then I will need to have it be install in the roof? Those water pressure pump runs 24 hours or there is a cut off or there is an on and off switch to control?

TQ for your advice once again. .
thumbup.gif
What is the objective of the pump ?

If your upstair bathrooms which draw water from tangki are low pressure, and bathing experience is terrible, then fixing a pump after meter does not fix anything. You got to fix it after tangki to fix this problem.

Usually the pressure after the meter is sufficient to push water upto 3 storey house's tangki, if it failed to do that, it's syabas's problem. You don't try to solve their problem.

If syabas says everything is OK, and you still have problem having water delivered to the tangki, then you need to check your water filter which you installed. Likely it's clogged or spoit.

The pump is automatic, it will run when there is a demand for water. Otherwise, it's cut off ( or draws very little current ).

This post has been edited by puchongite: Jan 5 2015, 03:59 PM
ryan_0807
post Jan 5 2015, 04:02 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 5 2015, 03:51 PM)
What is the objective of the pump ?

If your upstair bathrooms which draw water from tangki are low pressure, and bathing experience is terrible, then fixing a pump after meter does not fix anything. You got to fix it after tangki to fix this problem.

Usually the pressure after the meter is sufficient to push water upto 3 storey house's tangki, if it failed to do that, it's syabas's problem. You don't try to solve their problem.

The pump is automatic, it will run when there is a demand for water. Otherwise, it's cut off ( or draws very little current ).
hej, I am consider to install water pump for my s/s landed house, experience terrible water pressure especially multiple taps open at the same time....

With additional of pump, will it cause leaking to existing pipeing at long run? since there will be a higher pressure in the water pipe...supplying to the whole house (bathroom, toilet, kitchen, etc)

thank you for all the advise in advance....
puchongite
post Jan 5 2015, 04:09 PM

33,691 posts

QUOTE(ryan_0807 @ Jan 5 2015, 04:02 PM)
hej, I am consider to install water pump for my s/s landed house, experience terrible water pressure especially multiple taps open at the same time....

With additional of pump, will it cause leaking to existing pipeing at long run? since there will be a higher pressure in the water pipe...supplying to the whole house (bathroom, toilet, kitchen, etc)

Kitchen usually draws water from the main, so if you have low pressure at kitchen, you have to check your filters or syabas.

Wheres bathrooms and toilets get water from tangki.

Two different problems.

This post has been edited by puchongite: Jan 5 2015, 04:17 PM
puchongite
post Jan 5 2015, 04:31 PM

33,691 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 5 2015, 04:09 PM)
Kitchen usually draws water from the main, so if you have low pressure at kitchen, you have to check your filters or syabas.

Two different problems.

If the pressure at kitchen is affected by bathrooms and toilets, then you have to check if your kitchen is taking water from  tangki, or you bathrooms are taking water from main ! Likely you might have a modified piping.

TSJasonW13
post Jan 5 2015, 09:33 PM

246 posts

TQ!
peri peri
post Jan 7 2015, 04:41 PM

10k nonsense talkative club
11,943 posts

i not sure if you are seriously thought is illegal setting a pumpset after ur meter.

Most of my development project now is providing pumpset after meter with a suction tank to supply up to the domestic water tank at roof. this is mainly due to low water pressure from syabas.

Take note, Syabas dont care how you modify your pipe or system after the water meter. It is not their jurisdictional and responsible.

Installed pumpset after your tank defeat the purpose to ensure sufficient water supply to your tank. We name it as booster pump. What if your incoming water is slower than ur usage? then you will run on dry pump. burnt.

Rectify the main root of problem first. Who care your neigbour can get the juice or not???? nit your baby or syabas baby. if all not satisfy, just petisyen to syabas demand upgrade bigger pipe and elevated water tanks.
peri peri
post Jan 7 2015, 04:45 PM

10k nonsense talkative club
11,943 posts

QUOTE(ryan_0807 @ Jan 5 2015, 04:02 PM)

its depends on your age of your house and if your water supply is filtered or not.

Old house without filtered water tense clog up the distribution pipes causing dramatic loss of water pressure.

even u installed a booster pump or water pump, it wont help increase much water pressure.
GangHo
post Jan 7 2015, 04:51 PM

1,080 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 5 2015, 05:31 PM)

Two different problems.

If the pressure at kitchen is affected by bathrooms and toilets, then you have to check if your kitchen is taking water from  tangki, or you bathrooms are taking water from main ! Likely you might have a modified piping.

thumbup.gif

0.0209sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:02 PM