[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V8!

sunblaze
post Jan 11 2015, 02:48 PM

107 posts

Ok you system builder sifus. Looking for a new PC, including monitor but excluding keyboard and mouse (since I have those).

Purpose: Gaming @ 1080p with Ultra settings @ minimum 60fps *today*.
Additional considerations:
1) Want a PC that can run reliably for the next 3-5 years. Obviously as newer more demanding games come out over time it's possible that I might need to eventually drop from Ultra to High settings to maintain 60fps minimums or get a new GPU in say 3 years time, that is fine. GPU upgrade is easily done and less troublesome than a CPU/MB upgrade.
2) Want a good 24inch monitor that is good for gaming (e.g. 120hz and <5ms response time? or Gsync? Not sure which is more important, please advise). 27inch is too big for my liking. 1080p is good enough as a result.
3) Budget: Am overseas (Australia), so budget calculations are a bit..... different? Let's say around RM5-6k range including a good monitor, but if you say +RM500 will offer a huge improvement (e.g. the next tier CPU/GPU/monitor) then I'll give it serious thought since I want this rig to last well.

Thanks happy.gif

sunblaze
post Jan 11 2015, 04:01 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 11 2015, 03:38 PM)
120-144hz and Gsync monitor with 6k budget? Not gonna happen. Too demanding with the budget you have.

Core i7-4790K - RM1159
Noctuc NH-D15 heatsink - RM389
Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5 motherboard - RM559
Kingston 8GB DDR3-1600 x1 - RM249
MSI GTX970 4GB DDR5 OC - RM1249
Intel 530 120GB SSD - RM259
WD Blue 1TB hard disk - RM174
DVD writer of your choice - RM59
Seasonic X-750 power supply - RM629
Corsair Carbide 400R case - RM329
Dell U2414H 24" monitor - RM899

RM5954 total (Viewnet prices)

Optional:
Asus PG278Q GSYNC 27" monitor - RM2769

Overclock and SLI ready setup.
Thanks!

Some curious questions about the rig you listed:
1) Assume the rig is chosen for overclocking power since the CPU is a K variant and the D15 is included, roughly how much of an overclock would you guesstimate could be achieved while remaining safe/stable over the long run?

2) The Dell monitor looks like amazing value for money for an IPS panel, but does the 8ms response time make a noticeable difference for gaming? A lot of the stuff I hear about "gaming displays" (e.g. 2ms response time, 120-144hz, even Gsync) is news to me, so I'm wondering if it's a "night and day" kind of difference or just "it's nice if you have it, but you might as well wait 1-2 years for prices to drop since it's not a huge difference" kinda thing?

I'll skip the Asus display, while the specs look amazing 27inches is too big for me and the price premium is a bit too brutal biggrin.gif

0.0384sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:26 PM