post Jan 6 2015, 04:09 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(AxeFire @ Jan 5 2015, 11:19 PM)
how much does it cost to have a 4khd gaming rig

dual gpu

RM 11K + monitor can?
depending on what graphical settings youre looking for

a single GPU can juice 4K gaming at ~30FPS on Med-High Graphics fine (depending on game, my GTX780 can run Shadow Of Mordor 20-30FPS on High at 4K downsampled) , but if youre looking for Ultra Settings, 8x MSAA (okay this one is overkill) etc etc, youll need at least triple GPUs

as for monitor, cheapest 4K is Samsung atm, at RM2k tops.

try this for decent 4K gaming rig

i7 4790K RM1159
Swiftech H220-X RM549
MSI Z97 MPower RM779
4x4GB DDR3 HyperX Fury RM578
Crucial MX100 256GB RM399
WD Black 2TB RM459
Sapphire R9 290X 8GB x2 RM3398
Seasonic X-Series Platinum 860W RM799
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe RM499
Total : RM8619 without monitor

for pure performance, swap the R9s to GTX980s, which is more expensive but performs better albeit at a small margin

This post has been edited by marfccy: Jan 6 2015, 04:10 AM
marfccy
post Jan 8 2015, 09:13 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 8 2015, 03:04 PM)
Xeon is quite hot for a stock cooler . You can add Coolermaster Hyper 212X at RM149 if you want.
this is where it gets dodgy, Xeon has lower TDP than most Haswell i5/i7, yet runs hotter

i assume its the architecture?
marfccy
post Mar 31 2015, 08:44 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Mar 31 2015, 06:53 PM)
From my experience on overclocking GPU so far,it's kinda easy IMO.Overclocked my R7 265 from its stock core and memory clock to 1100MHz and 1500MHz,before suffering a few screen freezing while benchmarking with Unigine Valley(Or Heaven,can't remember. laugh.gif ) in which i reduced 50MHz each.

Personally,i'd not suggest overclocking it for gaming or other things except for benchmarking. tongue.gif The card at its stock clocks is good already,and it might shorten its lifespan..correct me if i'm wrong on that part. hmm.gif

You can also look-up to Austin Evans' tutorial on how to overclock GPU. wink.gif
nah, it wont. just dont touch voltage unnecessarily and keep the GPU in acceptable temperatures

GPUs by default are constantly being degraded over time due to heat anyway. heat is usually the main issue for all these electronic parts. as long as its within temp threshold, i daresay overclocked GPUs wont die any sooner than normal clocked GPUs

on a different note: looking to get parts for NAS build. however, im not sure to pick which option

1. buy cheap CPU/mobo/PSU then plug in whatever HDD i can find

2. relegate my current CPU/mobo to NAS duties, then grab a new LGA1150 Xeon to be new PC

hmm.gif
marfccy
post Mar 31 2015, 08:53 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Mar 31 2015, 08:48 PM)
Oh,guess i'm wrong all this while. doh.gif
Anyway..if you go with 2,you'll have to spend more. whistling.gif Well,you can just hunt for Intel Xeon E3-1230 V2. wink.gif Cheaper.Or option 1 if you wanna save some money first.

option 1 gave me the choice of getting a cheap CPU+ cheap mobo + cheap PSU + 1 4TB HDD at around RM1.4k

option 2 gives me option to get Xeon + decent mobo + cheap PSU (for NAS) + 1 4TB HDD at around RM2k

hmmmmm
marfccy
post Apr 1 2015, 08:50 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(TheHitman47 @ Apr 1 2015, 04:15 PM)
do you really need the Z97 board?.
oso take out the cooler, stock cooler by intel works just like it intended to.  thumbup.gif
pretty sure OP put it cause he want the Krait design, i mean look at that mobo lol

its sexy as heck
marfccy
post Apr 2 2015, 05:29 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(MaKiMo @ Apr 1 2015, 11:29 PM)
Lol... Sexy as sexy can get, plus the Phanteks Enthoo Pro in white! What can I say...? whistling.gif

Yeah, plus I wanna SLI too in future. I admit it might be an overkill to put in the Hyper 412, but I like to keep things cool. Finally, I've yet to pay for the GTX970, maybe I will negotiate. How much should a used one cost?
used one? give or take, its abt RM100 cheaper at most i guess?
marfccy
post Apr 23 2015, 05:54 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Apr 23 2015, 01:23 AM)
Cheap I guess. I got mine cuz I was given a steep discount too. Should've seen it as a red alert.

My codes differ every time. I get 286, 7e, 10, and others I forgot. Initially the problem was the highly unstable TP Link drivers. Then it was BF4.exe. now I don't even know what program is causing it. But it's ALWAYS when playing BF4. My RAM speeds were initially OC to 1866Mhz with added voltage for the speeds but now it's back to 1600MHz at stock voltage.

Nah, don't even want to add another sound card. Just want my rig to be as basic as it is. No fancy WC or extra PCI cArds. Going back to AIO and air cooling.
youre upgrading so fast shocking.gif

demmit, youre making my fingers itching towards upgrades as well..

but yiss, join us at air cooling land

Phanteks cooler whistling.gif

0.0222sec    0.06    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:32 AM