[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V8!

Darkspreader
post May 8 2015, 11:32 AM

147 posts

Hey guys,

Was thinking of building a desktop for gaming (GTA V whistling.gif )

Budget is around RM 5000- 6000

This is what i'm planning to get now:

Processor: planning to get an i7 4790

GPU: Planning to get Palit/Zotac GTX 970

P. supply: planning to get Corsair ax760w

RAM: planning to get Kingston/Corsair 16 gb (8x2)

Mom. board: planning to get Asus z97-k

HDD: Planning to get 1x WD blue (1TB) + 1x WD green (2TB) for storage

Cooler: Budget RM 300, havent decided which to get. Sifu please recommend

Casing: Budget RM 200, havent decided which to get. Sifu please recommend

Desktop: DELL 2415H 23.8"

Keyboard & mouse: Logitech G100

Any advise is appreciated! biggrin.gif

I prioritize gaming performance, i'm poorfeg so budget max is rm 6000 +/-

All sifu please come help give suggestion ! icon_question.gif
Darkspreader
post May 8 2015, 12:04 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(Cable707 @ May 8 2015, 12:01 PM)
You're spending too much.It's because there's much unnecessary item on the list..rm4000-4500 should be enuf already.
Any suggestion for cutting down the cost? I'm actually planning of using it for long-term, so some of the parts i wanna get those which can last longer...
Darkspreader
post May 8 2015, 12:08 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 8 2015, 11:48 AM)
You don't need Corsair AX760 if you are not going to SLI in the future, normal 500-600W will do.

You don't need a z series mobo as well if you are using a locked processor unless you are going to SLI in the future, H97 or cheaper B85 will do.

Your budget is healthy for SSD, drop the WD Green, it is a turtle and go for Seagate Barracuda.

Intel Core i7 4790 - RM 1179
Asrock H97 Pro4 - RM 369
Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM x2 - RM 468
Leadtek GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Hurricane - RM 1429
Seasonic M12II EVO 620W PSU - RM 379
Liteon S900 256GB SSD - RM 429
Seagate Barracuda 2TB HDD - RM 299
CM Hyper 212X - RM 169
Corsair Carbide Spec-02/03 - RM 239
Logitech G100 - RM 119
Dell S2415H - RM 769

Total: RM 5848 (Viewnet price inclusive of GST)
Thanks sifu! rclxms.gif

The PSU& mobo i was planning to get ax760& z97k respectively so that i can use use it after future upgrades.

Will switch WD green for Seagate. smile.gif
Darkspreader
post May 8 2015, 01:21 PM

147 posts

For cooler, i'm considering Cooler Master Hyper 212X & Cooler Master Seidon 120V Liquid Cooler, difference is only RM 10.

But cooler master seidon 120v is the lowest spec water cooler. In term of effectiveness, will 212X be better?

Darkspreader
post May 8 2015, 01:38 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 8 2015, 01:25 PM)
Understand about the upgrade, the PSU is good to go but Asus Z97K is a waste as it only supports Crossfire but not SLI since you are choosing Nvidia GPU over AMD GPU, 9 series mobo can upgrade to 5th gen processor which is coming out in June but the performance bump isn't significant so I don't think you will upgrade the processor in short time.

May I know what is the future upgrade you are looking to do on that mobo?  hmm.gif
Decided to get MSI Z97-SLI KRAIT, it only cost RM 48 more than z97k. Planning to get another GTX 970 next year (probably 2nd hand). Are there any other options for SLI mobo?

Thanks for the advice btw. thumbup.gif

Darkspreader
post May 8 2015, 01:47 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(Cable707 @ May 8 2015, 01:24 PM)
Pick Seasonic G-650.It's far cheaper than AX760.Enuf even for GTX 970 SLI.
Z97?going for K series in future?
For PSU i would prefer a higher wattage & quality one so that i don't have to change it in future. brows.gif

Was planning to get either AX760 or Cooler master 750 (which is only RM 500).

For mobo, decided to get MSI Z97-SLI KRAIT. Planning to get another GTX 970...

Might get a K-series processor too in the future biggrin.gif

Darkspreader
post May 8 2015, 01:51 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(mod_po @ May 8 2015, 01:25 PM)
Ha3,
i would say, moreless the same,
im using previous version 120v,

But ur processor is not OC,
So doesnt matter much,
as ur cpu will not heat up much
I see...

Then i'll probably get 120v since water cooler is more quiet.

Thanks for the advice thumbup.gif
Darkspreader
post May 8 2015, 02:41 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(Cable707 @ May 8 2015, 02:15 PM)
Seasonic is a good quality psu.Cooler Master V700 you mean?it's made by seasonic as well FYI..
I see...I've decided to get Seasonic 750w S12G since i dont think i really need platinum. Gonna use up the excess to get K-series processor.

Thanks for the advise bro thumbup.gif
Darkspreader
post May 8 2015, 02:57 PM

147 posts

Hey guys, thanks alot for the input! rclxm9.gif

This is my latest rig:

Feel free to give more suggestion, I'll appreciate it! thumbup.gif
Darkspreader
post May 8 2015, 03:38 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ May 8 2015, 03:11 PM)
Let me get you prices that are cheaper on some parts.And also,better Motherboard.And one more thing,the price of the GPU from GBros isn't updated for GST...

Intel Core i7 4790K 4GHz RM1270.94
Asus Z97-Pro Gamer RM662.50
Zotac GTX970 Reference 4GB GDDR5 RM1271
Corsair Value RAM 8GB DDR3 1600MHz x2 = 16GB RM446
WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM199
Seagate Barracuda 2TB RM299
Seasonic S12G 80+ Gold 750W RM529
Corsair Carbide Spec-03 RM219.42
CM Hyper 212X RM168.54
Dell S2415H RM730 - https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2787186&hl=
Total:RM5795.40
Prices with cents are from Jayacom@LYP,GPU is from Cycom@LYP,Monitor is from the user in the link above and the rest are from Viewnet@LYP. smile.gif

Costs RM20.40 more but better motherboard. icon_idea.gif I've no idea where did you get the price of CM Seidon 120V priced at RM179,couldn't find it on C-Zone's pricelist... rclxub.gif
Thanks alot for the recommendation bro! rclxms.gif

The CM Seidon 120v @ RM 179 is from [email=LingLoong]LingLoong[/email]

One question though, why z97 pro gamer over z97 SLI krait? The price difference is RM 563 vs RM 663.

This post has been edited by Darkspreader: May 8 2015, 03:50 PM
Darkspreader
post May 8 2015, 04:05 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ May 8 2015, 03:58 PM)
Look at this list.Take a look where Asus Z97-Pro Gamer and MSI Z97-SLI Krait sit.For overclocking,former is better.
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/id-23831...97-chipset.html
Ah i see...will consider it.

The dilemma now is:

1) Gainward GTX970 Phantom (RM 1249) vs Gainward GTX970 Reference (RM 1149)

(Price quoted from IdealTech PC)

2) ASUS Z97-Pro Gamer (RM 663) vs MSI Z97-SLI Krait (RM 563)
(Price quoted from C-zone)

Darkspreader
post May 8 2015, 04:12 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ May 8 2015, 03:05 PM)
No SSD? I suggest ditching the Seidon 120V and go with stock cooler first. Then use your surplus budget to swap out the WD Blue 1TB for a Liteon S900 240GB, RM379.
But will stock cooler be enough? Planning to get some overclocking.
Darkspreader
post May 8 2015, 04:44 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 8 2015, 04:35 PM)
If oc, your processor will overheat, need to use aftermarket air cooler or liquid cooler.

If no oc, stock cooler will run fine but expect some noise when it runs full speed.
I see.. will get a proper cooler then.

1 question though, deciding on whether to get Gainward GTX970 Phantom or GTX970 Reference. Heard they say Reference is not really well-built and have issues with their fan. Phantom has better fan but is very bulky..takes up 3 slot and makes SLI in the future difficult.

Any opinion on this? hmm.gif
Darkspreader
post May 8 2015, 05:18 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 8 2015, 05:04 PM)
Yea the 3 slots really headache sometimes if your chassis doesn't have many expansion slot, but for me I will go for Phantom version due to its aftermarket cooler and design since the price difference is not very big, but if you are going to SLI soon, reference model is better due to its reference blower cooler.
I see...thanks for the advice! thumbup.gif

0.0462sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:45 PM