125 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V8!

terence_nwb
post May 8 2015, 11:48 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Darkspreader @ May 8 2015, 11:32 AM)
Hey guys,

Was thinking of building a desktop for gaming (GTA V  whistling.gif )

Budget is around RM 5000- 6000

This is what i'm planning to get now:

Processor: planning to get an i7 4790

GPU: Planning to get Palit/Zotac GTX 970

P. supply: planning to get Corsair ax760w

RAM: planning to get Kingston/Corsair 16 gb (8x2)

Mom. board: planning to get Asus z97-k

HDD: Planning to get 1x WD blue (1TB) + 1x WD green (2TB) for storage

Cooler: Budget RM 300, havent decided which to get. Sifu please recommend

Casing: Budget RM 200, havent decided which to get. Sifu please recommend 
Desktop: DELL 2415H 23.8"

Keyboard & mouse: Logitech G100
Any advise is appreciated!  biggrin.gif

I prioritize gaming performance, i'm poorfeg so budget max is rm 6000 +/-

All sifu please come help give suggestion ! icon_question.gif
You don't need Corsair AX760 if you are not going to SLI in the future, normal 500-600W will do.

You don't need a z series mobo as well if you are using a locked processor unless you are going to SLI in the future, H97 or cheaper B85 will do.

Your budget is healthy for SSD, drop the WD Green, it is a turtle and go for Seagate Barracuda.

Intel Core i7 4790 - RM 1179
Asrock H97 Pro4 - RM 369
Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM x2 - RM 468
Leadtek GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Hurricane - RM 1429
Seasonic M12II EVO 620W PSU - RM 379
Liteon S900 256GB SSD - RM 429
Seagate Barracuda 2TB HDD - RM 299
CM Hyper 212X - RM 169
Corsair Carbide Spec-02/03 - RM 239
Logitech G100 - RM 119
Dell S2415H - RM 769

Total: RM 5848 (Viewnet price inclusive of GST)
Cable707
post May 8 2015, 11:54 AM

I'm On My Journey
5,263 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 8 2015, 11:10 AM)
520W is enough for this setup, he can go for 620W if he wish to do so but I prefer modular cable, PC looks nicer and you can get rid of unused cable for better air ventilation.
Yes,for sure it's enuf.But it's your preferences.Better suggest something that better for long run.Non modular can also look good if you learn how to manage them.
Cable707
post May 8 2015, 12:01 PM

I'm On My Journey
5,263 posts

QUOTE(Darkspreader @ May 8 2015, 11:32 AM)
Hey guys,

Was thinking of building a desktop for gaming (GTA V  whistling.gif )

Budget is around RM 5000- 6000

This is what i'm planning to get now:

Processor: planning to get an i7 4790

GPU: Planning to get Palit/Zotac GTX 970

P. supply: planning to get Corsair ax760w

RAM: planning to get Kingston/Corsair 16 gb (8x2)

Mom. board: planning to get Asus z97-k

HDD: Planning to get 1x WD blue (1TB) + 1x WD green (2TB) for storage

Cooler: Budget RM 300, havent decided which to get. Sifu please recommend

Casing: Budget RM 200, havent decided which to get. Sifu please recommend 
Desktop: DELL 2415H 23.8"

Keyboard & mouse: Logitech G100
Any advise is appreciated!  biggrin.gif

I prioritize gaming performance, i'm poorfeg so budget max is rm 6000 +/-

All sifu please come help give suggestion ! icon_question.gif
You're spending too much.It's because there's much unnecessary item on the list..rm4000-4500 should be enuf already.
Darkspreader
post May 8 2015, 12:04 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(Cable707 @ May 8 2015, 12:01 PM)
You're spending too much.It's because there's much unnecessary item on the list..rm4000-4500 should be enuf already.
Any suggestion for cutting down the cost? I'm actually planning of using it for long-term, so some of the parts i wanna get those which can last longer...
Darkspreader
post May 8 2015, 12:08 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 8 2015, 11:48 AM)
You don't need Corsair AX760 if you are not going to SLI in the future, normal 500-600W will do.

You don't need a z series mobo as well if you are using a locked processor unless you are going to SLI in the future, H97 or cheaper B85 will do.

Your budget is healthy for SSD, drop the WD Green, it is a turtle and go for Seagate Barracuda.

Intel Core i7 4790 - RM 1179
Asrock H97 Pro4 - RM 369
Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM x2 - RM 468
Leadtek GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Hurricane - RM 1429
Seasonic M12II EVO 620W PSU - RM 379
Liteon S900 256GB SSD - RM 429
Seagate Barracuda 2TB HDD - RM 299
CM Hyper 212X - RM 169
Corsair Carbide Spec-02/03 - RM 239
Logitech G100 - RM 119
Dell S2415H - RM 769

Total: RM 5848 (Viewnet price inclusive of GST)
Thanks sifu! rclxms.gif

The PSU& mobo i was planning to get ax760& z97k respectively so that i can use use it after future upgrades.

Will switch WD green for Seagate. smile.gif
Darkspreader
post May 8 2015, 01:21 PM

146 posts

For cooler, i'm considering Cooler Master Hyper 212X & Cooler Master Seidon 120V Liquid Cooler, difference is only RM 10.

But cooler master seidon 120v is the lowest spec water cooler. In term of effectiveness, will 212X be better?

Cable707
post May 8 2015, 01:24 PM

I'm On My Journey
5,263 posts

QUOTE(Darkspreader @ May 8 2015, 12:08 PM)
Thanks sifu!  rclxms.gif

The PSU& mobo i was planning to get ax760& z97k respectively so that i can use use it after future upgrades.

Will switch WD green for Seagate.  smile.gif
Pick Seasonic G-650.It's far cheaper than AX760.Enuf even for GTX 970 SLI.
Z97?going for K series in future?
terence_nwb
post May 8 2015, 01:25 PM

7,016 posts

Thanks sifu!  rclxms.gif

Understand about the upgrade, the PSU is good to go but Asus Z97K is a waste as it only supports Crossfire but not SLI since you are choosing Nvidia GPU over AMD GPU, 9 series mobo can upgrade to 5th gen processor which is coming out in June but the performance bump isn't significant so I don't think you will upgrade the processor in short time.

May I know what is the future upgrade you are looking to do on that mobo? hmm.gif
mod_po
post May 8 2015, 01:25 PM

im a dragon in cat costume
1,462 posts

QUOTE(Darkspreader @ May 8 2015, 01:21 PM)
For cooler, i'm considering Cooler Master Hyper 212X & Cooler Master Seidon 120V Liquid Cooler, difference is only RM 10.

But cooler master seidon 120v is the lowest spec water cooler. In term of effectiveness, will 212X be better?
Ha3,
i would say, moreless the same,
im using previous version 120v,

But ur processor is not OC,
So doesnt matter much,
as ur cpu will not heat up much
mod_po
post May 8 2015, 01:28 PM

1,462 posts

Thanks sifu!  rclxms.gif

If u want save more,
u can consider swapping with xeon 1231 v3 rm974,
it perform the same with i7 4790
Darkspreader
post May 8 2015, 01:38 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 8 2015, 01:25 PM)
Understand about the upgrade, the PSU is good to go but Asus Z97K is a waste as it only supports Crossfire but not SLI since you are choosing Nvidia GPU over AMD GPU, 9 series mobo can upgrade to 5th gen processor which is coming out in June but the performance bump isn't significant so I don't think you will upgrade the processor in short time.

May I know what is the future upgrade you are looking to do on that mobo?  hmm.gif
Decided to get MSI Z97-SLI KRAIT, it only cost RM 48 more than z97k. Planning to get another GTX 970 next year (probably 2nd hand). Are there any other options for SLI mobo?

Thanks for the advice btw. thumbup.gif

Darkspreader
post May 8 2015, 01:47 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(Cable707 @ May 8 2015, 01:24 PM)
Pick Seasonic G-650.It's far cheaper than AX760.Enuf even for GTX 970 SLI.
Z97?going for K series in future?
For PSU i would prefer a higher wattage & quality one so that i don't have to change it in future. brows.gif

Was planning to get either AX760 or Cooler master 750 (which is only RM 500).

For mobo, decided to get MSI Z97-SLI KRAIT. Planning to get another GTX 970...

Might get a K-series processor too in the future biggrin.gif

Darkspreader
post May 8 2015, 01:51 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(mod_po @ May 8 2015, 01:25 PM)
Ha3,
i would say, moreless the same,
im using previous version 120v,

But ur processor is not OC,
So doesnt matter much,
as ur cpu will not heat up much
I see...

Then i'll probably get 120v since water cooler is more quiet.

Thanks for the advice thumbup.gif
Cable707
post May 8 2015, 02:15 PM

I'm On My Journey
5,263 posts

QUOTE(Darkspreader @ May 8 2015, 01:47 PM)
For PSU i would prefer a higher wattage & quality one so that i don't have to change it in future.  brows.gif

Might get a K-series processor too in the future  biggrin.gif
Seasonic is a good quality psu.Cooler Master V700 you mean?it's made by seasonic as well FYI..
Darkspreader
post May 8 2015, 02:41 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(Cable707 @ May 8 2015, 02:15 PM)
Seasonic is a good quality psu.Cooler Master V700 you mean?it's made by seasonic as well FYI..
I see...I've decided to get Seasonic 750w S12G since i dont think i really need platinum. Gonna use up the excess to get K-series processor.

Thanks for the advise bro thumbup.gif
Minecrafter
post May 8 2015, 02:51 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Darkspreader @ May 8 2015, 01:47 PM)
For PSU i would prefer a higher wattage & quality one so that i don't have to change it in future.  brows.gif

Might get a K-series processor too in the future  biggrin.gif
I'd take Asus Z97-Pro Gamer RM662.50 for overclocking. icon_idea.gif

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/id-23831...97-chipset.html
mod_po
post May 8 2015, 02:52 PM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ May 8 2015, 02:51 PM)
I'd take Asus Z97-Pro Gamer RM662.50 for overclocking. icon_idea.gif

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/id-23831...97-chipset.html
But if oni for sli msi sli krait enuf right?
Minecrafter
post May 8 2015, 02:55 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(mod_po @ May 8 2015, 02:52 PM)
But if oni for sli msi sli krait enuf right?
Yeah,it'll be enough.
Darkspreader
post May 8 2015, 02:57 PM

146 posts

Hey guys, thanks alot for the input! rclxm9.gif

This is my latest rig:

Feel free to give more suggestion, I'll appreciate it! thumbup.gif
rav3n82
post May 8 2015, 03:05 PM

I find your lack of faith disturbing!
7,084 posts

QUOTE(Darkspreader @ May 8 2015, 02:57 PM)
Feel free to give more suggestion, I'll appreciate it!  thumbup.gif
No SSD? I suggest ditching the Seidon 120V and go with stock cooler first. Then use your surplus budget to swap out the WD Blue 1TB for a Liteon S900 240GB, RM379.

125 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:34 PM