Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.8, Please Read Post#1 and #2

SUSlowya
post Jan 9 2015, 01:59 PM

4,821 posts

Give me a better deal (and better bank) than Ambank's 36-month 4.50% then all of use will make a switch.

Competitive FD departments, are you listening here?

We are ready, are you?
SUSlowya
post Jan 13 2015, 07:10 AM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Jan 12 2015, 07:06 PM)
Just opened AmBank 36-mth islamic FD promo at 4.5%, no more lucky dip mentioned by bbgoat (last day 28-12)..
Got to endure almost 2 hours to open this and the associated saving account for half yearly interest crediting.  AmBank is probably one of the least efficient bank.. sad.gif
any idea what is the penalty clause if close lets say after 6 months, how much interest would you still get if any?

reasons: step up would be a better consumer choice to avoid lock up.
SUSlowya
post Jan 13 2015, 07:11 AM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Jan 12 2015, 07:06 PM)
Just opened AmBank 36-mth islamic FD promo at 4.5%, no more lucky dip mentioned by bbgoat (last day 28-12)..
Got to endure almost 2 hours to open this and the associated saving account for half yearly interest crediting.  AmBank is probably one of the least efficient bank.. sad.gif
that is why even with this rate I will think twice, you want your hard earn money to be in the right bank also, not just the rate.
SUSlowya
post Jan 16 2015, 01:40 PM

4,821 posts

4.5% for 1 year

4.75% for 2 years

5% for 3 years..

promos like these, we are anticipating patiently...
SUSlowya
post Jan 19 2015, 04:46 PM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(orangutan67 @ Jan 19 2015, 02:38 PM)
MBB 7.5% FD actually is a step-up FD:

1-3 mth 3.3%
4-6 mth 3.5%
7-10 mth 3.8%
mth 11 5.7%
mth 12 7.5%

EIR:4.07%

source: kwonghua Yitpoh
sure con a lot of aunty uncle with a big 7.5%.

In other country, misleading advertisement would get fined.
SUSlowya
post Jan 20 2015, 01:53 PM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Jan 20 2015, 01:42 PM)
Just learnt about new 12mth step-up promotion by MBB starting from today, effective 4.13% min. 10k, till 5-Feb. if I remember correctly.
still not good enough.
SUSlowya
post Jan 26 2015, 08:44 AM

4,821 posts

I get a feeling that the best is yet to come.

At least 5% structure.
SUSlowya
post Jan 29 2015, 12:38 PM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Jan 29 2015, 12:04 PM)
Macam ni, dont expect anything more than SCB's 4.5% la right?  Then I go OCBC la.  Mah fan buka account lagi at SCB.  Nearby no branch some more.  Haih.
Expect 5.0% 12months around the corner.
SUSlowya
post Feb 6 2015, 10:52 PM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Feb 6 2015, 10:19 PM)
Congrats bbgoatboomchachamgm EPF to declare dividend at 6.75% for 2014.
too bad it's not for 2015.
SUSlowya
post Feb 9 2015, 12:12 PM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Feb 9 2015, 10:48 AM)
i went to SCB Kepong, was informed that the 4.5% is over =(
Don't worry wait for 4.75%

EPF rate so high, how can we use it as FD? any guide?
SUSlowya
post Feb 11 2015, 12:15 PM

4,821 posts

More details on BR 4.5%?
SUSlowya
post Mar 1 2015, 06:39 PM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(Battlefield1942 @ Feb 28 2015, 11:37 PM)
For comparison, bank in Myanmar is offering about 6-8% rate on Normal Account.
The higher the interest rate, the lower the value of the currency.

you may earn that rate, but after the spread and forex cost of round trip, you might get much lower than expectations, unless you don't intend to convert back to ringgit, such for migration case are more worthwhile to do so.

Have you pick up Myanmar language yet?
SUSlowya
post Mar 3 2015, 02:02 PM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(radical85 @ Mar 3 2015, 10:59 AM)
Guys I'm at cimb opening FD account 4.15% for 12mth. However the staff recommend me Islamic FD which is 4.2% or even better AManah saham gemilang which pays 6-7% at least.
Now my question is what's the difference between Islamic n conventional FD. And if ASG pays so well why ppl still keep FD?
for Bumi only?
SUSlowya
post Mar 6 2015, 08:03 AM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(radical85 @ Mar 3 2015, 02:37 PM)
Mind sharing which amanah saham u bought? I have a baby, they mentioned something about getting 9% if i set up under his name. I was in a hurry so i didn't ask much about this.

This is all new to me  sad.gif
I look forward to this one too.
SUSlowya
post Apr 23 2015, 07:38 AM

4,821 posts

is SCB Saadiq (Islamic) 15 Months - 4.5% eligible for non-muslim, when is the promo ends?
SUSlowya
post Apr 27 2015, 01:56 PM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 27 2015, 12:54 PM)
MBSB 1 year FD at 4.3% does not have monthly interest, it pays upon maturity
Better get

SCB Saadiq (Islamic) 15 Months - 4.5%

instead?

SUSlowya
post Apr 28 2015, 07:11 AM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 27 2015, 09:13 PM)
I went to SCB Saadiq (Islamic)this afternoon, the customer service told me
no need to wait for the check clearance, Islamic FD can be effective on
the same day if submit check before 4.00pm. And can just ignore the
sms when SCB ask you to participate something.
I agree..  hmm.gif
I was thinking to place FD in Alliance Bank, now I change my
mind to place FD with SCB Saadiq (Islamic) 15 Months - 4.5%..
obviously a better deal..No pain no gain lah...  sweat.gif
I will place SCB Islamic in two days later..

HSBC 5% for 3 Months FD has extended to 30 June 2015
Minimum RM 5K, maximum RM 30K
Min RM 5 to open a current account
Free Umbrella while stock last
SCB Saadiq (Islamic) 15 Months - 4.5%

vs

HSBC 5% for 3 Months FD has extended to 30 June 2015

clear choice isn't it?
SUSlowya
post May 1 2015, 09:05 PM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 1 2015, 12:41 PM)
Yup that is what I meant. Say move to affin 4.38.  If I am not mistaken the ocbc was 3.9% right?

Bag/air filter definitely worth more than the interest given.

By moving to say affin or uob,  one can get the best world. Bag/air filter + high interest. 

Am I right here? Correct me if I am wrong
looks like we need to add free gift and expiry date on page 2 hot promo.
SUSlowya
post May 15 2015, 12:46 PM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(magika @ May 15 2015, 10:09 AM)
Most banks FD has the clause rates may changed according to OPR. Dont read much into it.
change when OPR change?

i thought its FIXED deposit with interest rate FIXED.
SUSlowya
post May 18 2015, 09:39 AM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(Plutoman @ May 17 2015, 10:01 PM)
The sales charge is 5% plus GST. But I was offered 2% rebate where they will give me back 2% after the purchase.
If a deal is so complicated, it's probably there to confuse/disappoint you with much hidden fine prints later. I tend to stay away.

0.0556sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:58 AM