Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.8, Please Read Post#1 and #2

bbgoat
post Feb 27 2015, 10:16 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Feb 27 2015, 05:16 PM)
Its just not an effective way to complain. In theory the poison arrow has boomerang to oneself. To shoot poison arrow , must make sure it never return, nevermind if the arrow lost direction, aim must be accurate and effective. Just shoot email to Hq Customer Service and let the arrow find its own path.
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Feb 27 2015, 09:10 PM)
Yes, I will send complaint email to HQ during this weekend..  biggrin.gif
Yes complaining to HQ will be better. The branch manager may try to cover it up as the issue affect his branch's standing in HQ and maybe even his performance. biggrin.gif
cybpsych
post Feb 28 2015, 10:23 AM

---------------------
65,308 posts

CIMB Investment Bundle Campaign
Campaign period: 2 February to 30 April 2015

Enjoy promotional Fixed Deposit rates when you bundle a conventional Fixed Deposit with any participating conventional Equity Unit Trust fund.

*Minimum placement of RM20,000 to be equally divided between a conventional Fixed Deposit and conventional Equity Unit Trust fund.

More Info: CIMB | T&Cs (EN) | T&Cs (BM)
cklimm
post Feb 28 2015, 11:37 AM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Feb 28 2015, 10:23 AM)

CIMB Investment Bundle Campaign
Campaign period: 2 February to 30 April 2015

Enjoy promotional Fixed Deposit rates when you bundle a conventional Fixed Deposit with any participating conventional Equity Unit Trust fund.

*Minimum placement of RM20,000 to be equally divided between a conventional Fixed Deposit and conventional Equity Unit Trust fund.

More Info: CIMB | T&Cs (EN) | T&Cs (BM)
with the 3% sales charges, you wont earn much with the 6.88% FD brows.gif
bbgoat
post Feb 28 2015, 12:19 PM

6,614 posts

I am looking at placing some bullets with CIMB UNFIXED FD. Both 3 mths 4% (FRIA-i ) & 12 mth 4.2%. It is shown for UNFIXED there are 3 types of FD. Anyone has placed FD for the UNFIXED ?

Read their T & C. There is even one paying monthly interest. Have been withdrawing FD from CIMB for some time. Now this promotion looks attractive ! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 28 2015, 12:25 PM
darjana
post Feb 28 2015, 12:39 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Feb 28 2015, 12:19 PM)
I am looking at placing some bullets with CIMB UNFIXED FD. Both 3 mths 4% (FRIA-i ) & 12 mth 4.2%. It is shown for UNFIXED there are 3 types of FD. Anyone has placed FD for the UNFIXED ?

Read their T & C. There is even one paying monthly interest. Have been withdrawing FD from CIMB for some time. Now this promotion looks attractive ! biggrin.gif
Just a note, it requires fresh funds.. what is the best way you guys do to get fresh funds in?
bbgoat
post Feb 28 2015, 03:01 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(darjana @ Feb 28 2015, 12:39 PM)
Just a note, it requires fresh funds.. what is the best way you guys do to get fresh funds in?
Normally I would use personal/banker's cheque. Some people use cash, IBG to the bank etc. biggrin.gif
Human Nature
post Feb 28 2015, 03:20 PM

- student of human nature -
26,525 posts

I have previously opened a UOB joint FD account with my sister (meaning our details are registered in their system) and have since uplifted it. If I want to place a new joint FD account under the same name, will our details still be in their system or we need to re-register?
bbgoat
post Feb 28 2015, 03:26 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 28 2015, 03:20 PM)
I have previously opened a UOB joint FD account with my sister (meaning our details are registered in their system) and have since uplifted it. If I want to place a new joint FD account under the same name, will our details still be in their system or we need to re-register?
UOB told me that once no more FD in the acct, within 6 mths acct still valid. More than that they may close the FD acct and have to open new one. You can check with them and see.
Human Nature
post Feb 28 2015, 03:51 PM

- student of human nature -
26,525 posts

^noted, thanks

From SCB online portal, this are the details for one of the FD placed during the 4.25%, 18 months promo:

Principal Amount: 20,000.00
Principal + Interest: 21,273.27

This amount is RM15.18 less than what being calculated by online FD calculator tool, 21288.45.

Any idea why? Due to different number of days in a month?

Also,
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Feb 25 2015, 10:48 AM)
Just talked to SCB RM:

They have new FD promo for:

Conventional FD:
9 mths 4.25%
15 mths 4.5%

Conditions are single placement only, cannot split into multiple FD certs, min 5k to 1mil max. But I guess can get approval if needed. Until 31/3 or max 600 mil.

Islamic FD 15 mth 4.5% promo for existing customer OK (fresh fund only) but need approval. Also need to wait for cheque to clear before effective. So might as well go for the conventional one.
Does it mean that current SCB customers (NOT New to Bank Customers) are not eligible for the Conventional 15 months 4.5% promotion?

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Feb 28 2015, 04:02 PM
??!!
post Feb 28 2015, 04:41 PM

2,548 posts

Hmmm...reading posts from last few pages, I realised something:-

1) my BR branch either got no budget for chicken essence,etc of someone kong lou the gifts.
I did ask them evertime i renew/put new FD..got nothing except for the 1st time only.

QUOTE(kmarc @ Feb 25 2015, 11:30 AM)
Amsignature gets 0.05% higher i.e 4.08 + 0.05%. Can also get umbrella and join the deposit for gold promo biggrin.gif
QUOTE(gchowyh @ Feb 25 2015, 02:40 PM)
Wah, Nilai branch too far for me  cry.gif a online tongue.gif

I think at Ambank, you can complaint as much as you can but not much change will happen.

The last time I went to the AM Signature outlet, I asked to check who is my RM, they asked me back.
I said I don't know ever since my previous RM left so they asked me to choose. I said anyone as long as I get updated from time to time but after suggesting an RM they did not make any note on it so I don't think they bother which RM will attend to us.

The %$# Am branch i went to din give me the 0.05% coz they say they are not de priority branch. And i kenot cancel the FD as they have alrdy printed them.. Too tired to argue with them back then.

When i go withdraw the other day, they show me promo ask me not to withdraw, i tell them i no have fresh fund. they say nvm can kautim.. i said i don like to buta loose the extra 0.05% cus becoz they r not priority branch.And I m not prepared to go to their priority branch which is like in Timbuktu.

Then they tell me must pay for Rentas or CO. And the most ridiculous was must pay RM5 if i wan to take cash.
I really lost it at the RM5 thingy...I told them i will check with BN if this is true. In the end, i din have to pay anything after i make a lot of bising bising.

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 28 2015, 03:51 PM)
^noted, thanks

Does it mean that current SCB customers (NOT New to Bank Customers) are not eligible for the Conventional 15 months 4.5% promotion?
I got the 9 months promo rate altho m exisitng customer. They also quoted me the 15 months 4.5% rate.

This post has been edited by ??!!: Feb 28 2015, 04:42 PM
SUSxeda
post Feb 28 2015, 07:15 PM

740 posts

Sharing some rates for you guys, since I'm staying in Thailand (thankfully, my FDs are in Malaysia, and not Thai).

https://www.bot.or.th/english/statistics/fi...te/IN_Rate.aspx
cklimm
post Feb 28 2015, 07:49 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(xeda @ Feb 28 2015, 07:15 PM)
Sharing some rates for you guys, since I'm staying in Thailand (thankfully, my FDs are in Malaysia, and not Thai).

feeling curious, i went to CIMB Thai site and ended up with:
CIMB Thai

nexona88
post Feb 28 2015, 08:18 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,448 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Feb 28 2015, 07:49 PM)
CIMB Thai
Interest rates, fee rates and conditions are subject to the Bank's announcement rolleyes.gif
SUSxeda
post Feb 28 2015, 08:23 PM

740 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Feb 28 2015, 07:49 PM)
CIMB Thai
Of course, it is up to the banks how much interest they want to give, but the link I gave was the rate that their central bank (Bank of Thailand - kinda like Bank Negara in Malaysia) are fixing for all the banks.

Minimum FD rate, so to say. And if you're not a Thai citizen, that's all you're gonna be getting.

Edit - CIMB Thai website also says you'd need a valid Thai ID card - foreigners won't be able to apply for that. So when compared like-to-like, in Malaysia, MY citizens gets special promotion >4% for FD, but Thai citizen only gets 3.25% (which is our standard FD rate)

This post has been edited by xeda: Feb 28 2015, 08:26 PM
cklimm
post Feb 28 2015, 10:22 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(xeda @ Feb 28 2015, 08:23 PM)
Of course, it is up to the banks how much interest they want to give, but the link I gave was the rate that their central bank (Bank of Thailand - kinda like Bank Negara in Malaysia) are fixing for all the banks.

Minimum FD rate, so to say. And if you're not a Thai citizen, that's all you're gonna be getting.

Edit - CIMB Thai website also says you'd need a valid Thai ID card - foreigners won't be able to apply for that. So when compared like-to-like, in Malaysia, MY citizens gets special promotion >4% for FD, but Thai citizen only gets 3.25% (which is our standard FD rate)

bbgoat
post Feb 28 2015, 10:44 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 28 2015, 03:51 PM)
Also,

For SCB Conventional FD promo, existing customer can also enjoy it. But for Islamic FD, existing customer need to get approval. But most people would go for the conventional one as for Islamic one cheque need to be cleared first. So we lose 2 or 3 days interest. biggrin.gif
SUSSarah Jessica
post Feb 28 2015, 11:19 PM

622 posts

QUOTE(xeda @ Feb 28 2015, 07:15 PM)

malaysia FD rate better
Battlefield1942
post Feb 28 2015, 11:37 PM

73 posts

For comparison, bank in Myanmar is offering about 6-8% rate on Normal Account.
SUSlowya
post Mar 1 2015, 06:39 PM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(Battlefield1942 @ Feb 28 2015, 11:37 PM)
For comparison, bank in Myanmar is offering about 6-8% rate on Normal Account.
The higher the interest rate, the lower the value of the currency.

you may earn that rate, but after the spread and forex cost of round trip, you might get much lower than expectations, unless you don't intend to convert back to ringgit, such for migration case are more worthwhile to do so.

Have you pick up Myanmar language yet?
BoomChaCha
post Mar 1 2015, 08:28 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Feb 27 2015, 10:16 PM)
Yes complaining to HQ will be better. The branch manager may try to cover it up as the issue affect his branch's standing in HQ and maybe even his performance.  biggrin.gif
Yes, Ah Sir, I will complain to customercare@ambankgroup.com

By the way, I just called UOB help-line, UOB has extended the FD promo until 6th March 2015:
(1) 3 Months at 3.95% (was 3.90%)
(2) 6 Months at 4.00%
(3) 12 Months at 4.2%

Min fresh fund RM 10K, max RM 5 million

135 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0317sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:41 AM