Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.8, Please Read Post#1 and #2

bbgoat
post Feb 4 2015, 06:11 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cj7lee @ Feb 4 2015, 04:24 PM)
Regarding the waiver of RM 5 cheque fee, is this applicable to every customer? I could not find this info in MBB website...
Should be for all customers. Please see Captain's blog for more info on banker's cheque fee. But he mentioned RM5 or RM5.15 which need to be updated for MBB.

http://generationsxyz.blogspot.com/p/fixed-deposit.html

QUOTE(cj7lee @ Feb 4 2015, 04:27 PM)
Do you know what is the interest rate for premature withdrawal?
You mean SCB or in general ?
bbgoat
post Feb 4 2015, 09:51 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 4 2015, 06:30 PM)

UOB used to charge me RM5.15 for a banker;'s cheque, now not sure how much. But some lucky people in Penang were not charge previously with UOB.

Welcome back ! rclxms.gif

UOB in Penang has been charging me RM0.15 for banker's cheque issued from matured FD. But this year onwards may be RM 0.15 +0.50 ? hmm.gif
bbgoat
post Feb 5 2015, 08:51 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(dEviLs @ Feb 5 2015, 08:33 AM)
Breakdown of UOB charges:
Service charge RM2
Stamp Duty RM0.15
Cheque Processing Fee RM0.50

Total RM2.65
thats what I heard, will try my luck tmr
UOB charges seems to be different for diff location. Captain has mentioned this I think 2 years ago also. In Penang, have been charged RM0.15 up to last year. I was told if FD to banker's cheque will be RM0.15 only. So far this year no redemption yet. So not sure will be RM0.65 or not. hmm.gif

The add'l RM0.50 should be cheque processing fee charged starting Jan 2015.
bbgoat
post Feb 5 2015, 09:12 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(dEviLs @ Feb 5 2015, 08:58 AM)
i think banks tend to have differential treatment for clients with higher net worth..ordinary client like me will not get special rate sweat.gif
For the UOB banker's cheque, I think not related to acct we have there. Captain also paid RM5.15, while I paid RM0.15 in Penang. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Feb 5 2015, 09:17 PM

6,614 posts

In SCB to place the second 15 mth 4.5% FD. The leng lui said likely that the FD promo will continue after this week. SCB did not advertise in newspaper for the current FD promo. So not many people knows about it. Leng lui said if I want to place more FD for current promo to call her to get another approval.

Today again photocopy ic, sign T & C etc. But suprisingly all over within 15 minutes. rclxms.gif Last time >45 minutes ! Leng lui again asked if someone called and asked about her service, to give her 10 points. Ha ha ha ! biggrin.gif But so far never receive any calls despite being there >8 times.

Also went to Penang Paragon to open HL Mach account. Placed RM50 to open the money box and linked to my HL accounts. So, ready for any Mach FD promo. But heard that they open up second Mach branch in Penang Queensbay. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 5 2015, 09:22 PM
bbgoat
post Feb 5 2015, 09:44 PM

6,614 posts

Just read some newspaper saying EPF dividend payout for 2014 may be between 6.4% to 6.7% !! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

The KWSP will announce the dividend payout next week.

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 5 2015, 09:46 PM
bbgoat
post Feb 5 2015, 10:33 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 5 2015, 09:47 PM)
wait for next week  rclxms.gif

anything above 6% is way better than any FD / Promo rate  yawn.gif
QUOTE(nubJeff @ Feb 5 2015, 09:51 PM)
Lol exactly, FD max only 4% +- p.a.. biggrin.gif
lol laugh.gif

Yes, this benefits current amount in EPF. Also encourage us to deposit max 60k (self contribution) per year in EPF.

But other than that, FD promo still important ! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 5 2015, 10:34 PM
bbgoat
post Feb 6 2015, 08:04 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 5 2015, 11:31 PM)
TopGoat have a lot of "spare cash" until over limit for EPF self contribution brows.gif  notworthy.gif
laugh.gif For our savings, we have to depend on FD promo (other than UT, stocks etc). Cannot have all in one basket also. tongue.gif

Your aim is to put everything in the EPF self contribution ? tongue.gif

QUOTE(gsc @ Feb 6 2015, 01:25 AM)
Was at Queensbay mall, the Mach is located at lower ground, North zone. It is still under renovation and it is covered up with the board. Very likely, they will have a promo for the new opening.
Actually in Paragon to look at the Swiss Watch exhibition. Then remember the HL Mach there. Was surprised as it would have been nearer for me if I opened in Queensbay. The Paragon Mach leng lui said the new branch opened on last Sunday ? hmm.gif

QUOTE(tbheng @ Feb 6 2015, 07:43 AM)
Wah..you are there ">8 times"? Multiple certs per visits...wah, dunno how to count liao... notworthy.gif 
Small amount each visit. blush.gif Plus it is from last year till now.

QUOTE(tbheng @ Feb 6 2015, 07:43 AM)
UPDATE: I received my SCB FD certs via courier yesterday (free of charge). All details are correctly printed.  thumbup.gif
Wow, special service, must be BIG customer of SCB. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 6 2015, 08:07 AM
bbgoat
post Feb 6 2015, 04:51 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Feb 6 2015, 01:25 AM)
Was at Queensbay mall, the Mach is located at lower ground, North zone. It is still under renovation and it is covered up with the board. Very likely, they will have a promo for the new opening.
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Feb 6 2015, 08:04 AM)
Actually in Paragon to look at the Swiss Watch exhibition. Then remember the HL Mach there. Was surprised as it would have been nearer for me if I opened in Queensbay. The Paragon Mach leng lui said the new branch opened on last Sunday ?  hmm.gif
Found that Penang HL Mach new branch in Queensbay grand opening 8/2:

https://www.facebook.com/QueensbayMall/phot...?type=3&theater

bbgoat
post Feb 6 2015, 05:20 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(McFD2R @ Feb 6 2015, 05:13 PM)
Withdrew matured FD from HLB, which charged me RM5.65 for banker's cheque. Place it at SCB FD 9 months @ 4.25% today. Last day for this promo. Collected some nice Ang Pows packets

Reminds me of Tree of Gondor from LOTR  biggrin.gif
Joined HL PB to enjoy RM0.15 fee for banker's cheque (now RM 0.65 ?).

In Affin Bank today and got decent Ang Pow packet. Looks better than Citigold Ang Pow packet. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 6 2015, 05:20 PM
bbgoat
post Feb 6 2015, 08:10 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Feb 6 2015, 08:03 PM)

http://www.hsbc.com.my/1/2/hsbcadvance/pre...ement-promotion
Max 30k ? hmm.gif

Min 5k, max 30k.

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 6 2015, 08:11 PM
bbgoat
post Feb 6 2015, 11:06 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Feb 6 2015, 10:19 PM)
Congrats bbgoatboomchachamgm EPF to declare dividend at 6.75% for 2014.
Same to you too magika ! cheers.gif

But not yet formally announced. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Feb 7 2015, 08:35 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Feb 7 2015, 08:18 AM)
"to declare" so not confirmed yet? So this is better than  ASX that non-bumi can buy? Too early to celebrate until the dividend is shown in my account. If turn out well, then congrats to those who took the plunge.
Yeah, some of us have plunged for some years. Myself 2 years and @magika 2 or more years ? tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Feb 7 2015, 10:34 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Feb 7 2015, 09:13 AM)
So the extra deposit did enjoy the same % of dividend? Just want to make sure b4 I  rclxm9.gif .
Yes, last year checked for 2013, did have but it is pro-rata based on the month you bank in.

If I remember correctly, @magika (High & Mighty Magician who get free RENTAS from BR tongue.gif ) said deposit few days before end of month, no need too early in the month (no interest for the month) something like that. biggrin.gif

So max 60k enjoying high interest (to those that said why put in banks while EPF gave the highest rate as compared to banks tongue.gif ). rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 7 2015, 10:38 AM
bbgoat
post Feb 7 2015, 11:12 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Feb 7 2015, 10:55 AM)
In one of the postings it was established that EPF will calculate the dividend from the last day of the month; so the best we can get is 6.20% if voluntary contribution is placed in Jan :-

365 days less 30 days in Jan = 335 days;
335/365 X 6.75 = 6.1952

So 6.20% is much higher than existing FD rates...  smile.gif
I understand your calculation. But I beg to differ in the sense that if one banks in for the month of Feb, from that time on you still enjoy the declared interest (pro rata). Cannot say divide the way shown. It is as if we put in the bank, the interest rate count from when you put it in. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 7 2015, 11:14 AM
bbgoat
post Feb 7 2015, 12:06 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Feb 7 2015, 11:51 AM)
IMHO, you'll still be earning just short of 6.75%pa, the leakage being those few days your mthly payment sits there waiting for the next interest cycle.
Yes, that is true. But you still get higher rates than FD. Also longer term going into subsequent years if the trend holds. smile.gif

I think we are not talking about exactly 6.75%, anything above 6.35% is already higher than last year.

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 7 2015, 12:28 PM
bbgoat
post Feb 7 2015, 10:11 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Feb 7 2015, 09:33 PM)
Confirmed 6.75% for 2014 dividend! smile.gif

Note - "The EPF account statement for the crediting of the 2014 dividend is available online via i-Akaun at myEPF website (www.kwsp.gov.my). Alternatively, members can obtain their statement via EPF Kiosks or visit any EPF branches starting Sunday, 8 February 2015."

https://www.youtube.com/user/KWSPMalaysia

http://www.kwsp.gov.my/portal/en/web/kwsp/home#
Wow, you are fast ! notworthy.gif

So it is really 6.75%. News portals are reporting this now ! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif
bbgoat
post Feb 8 2015, 10:57 AM

6,614 posts

Yes !

EPF i-acct updated with the dividend. 6.75% WOW ! rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 8 2015, 10:58 AM
bbgoat
post Feb 8 2015, 12:44 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 8 2015, 12:39 PM)
Hi, can we choose to deposit the money to account 2 only?
No idea on that. But the form we fill up for the deposit I don't think there is option to specify that. Likely cannot specify that. hmm.gif

@magika, what do you think ? smile.gif
bbgoat
post Feb 9 2015, 03:46 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(almeizer @ Feb 9 2015, 12:57 PM)
Hmm I wonder is there any bank offer 12 months FD promo but the interest credited on monthly basis instead of upon maturity?
Few banks offering that like BR, AmBank, HL Bank Islamic etc doing that. But some have certain conditions, please check or call them first. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(lowya @ Feb 9 2015, 12:12 PM)
Don't worry wait for 4.75%

Hoping and waiting for OPR to go up is just a "hope". tongue.gif We can wait but still need to put available money at those FD rates which are reasonably high at the moment. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 9 2015, 03:49 PM

24 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0523sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:01 AM