Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.8, Please Read Post#1 and #2

bbgoat
post Jan 28 2015, 10:09 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jan 27 2015, 11:41 PM)
Sorry it is 4.2% .....my mind was thinking of SCB 15 months FD but my fingers were supposed to type the rate for Ocbc. That was what the RM wrote till 31 Jan. My guess she meant till this Friday..
Ya I was thinking if it is true, then the OCBC rate will be even better than SCB. Then changing my plan to put another one in SCB. sweat.gif

The Captain has mentioned before that UOB and OCBC "fighting" for depositor. UOB also has 4.2% 12 mth 50k min. But SCB 4.5% 15 mth still the better one IMHO. rclxms.gif I changed my plan for AmBank 3 yr 4.5%. tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Jan 28 2015, 10:45 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jan 28 2015, 10:26 AM)
My apologies if unintentionally offended.  notworthy.gif

My England education initially meant Rich Fag Poor Fag to be Rich Man Poor Man which then makes it to be gender sensitive. Rich Fag in England education is meant to be slang for person but with the Gay movement in America for want of a better word they use Fag. Need to brush up on American English Gay modules.  biggrin.gif

SC promotion on 15 months 4.5% came too late for  me as commited to OCBC 4.2%.  Next deposit will be around May so hoping got further promo.
Ya, I am British educated as well. I know there is some gray area in the usage of "fag" vs American usage of "gay". But you know I am attracted by leng lui. Ha ha ha ! tongue.gif

Poor man struggling in life, not debt free (depends on how you see it, in case someone challenged me later) as some people are, can get loan to buy better smart phone ? hmm.gif brows.gif

I am lucky that I have FD spread throughout the year that can be used. Also last year resisted to put some FD long term though FD promo started to breach the 4% level like SCB, MBB etc. So hopefully the 4.2% to 4.5% or higher will be coming as my short term FD matures. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jan 28 2015, 10:54 AM
bbgoat
post Jan 28 2015, 12:03 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jan 28 2015, 11:35 AM)

I saw some one mentioned SCB offer end of Jan.But you mentionrd that you will call SCB this Friday on second placement. Does this mean SCB offer is not end Jan? tq

Wish BBgoat in advance prosperous goat year....goat + goat =Huat Ong Heng
It has been mentioned SCB FD promo is until 6/2 or 600 mil target. But looks like not many people know about it as not advertised in newspaper. So, may be extended ??

Thank you, "GOAT" more properties and prosper even more !! Ha ha ! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Jan 28 2015, 12:17 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 28 2015, 12:08 PM)
Please calculate the effective rate of the loan 3.99% first.

For example like car loan, the effective rate of 2.9% loan rate actually is 5.22% (2.9% x 1.8)

Bank will not offer any effective loan rate lower than FD rate; otherwise bank how to make money..?
Remember bank is always the winner

Ya loh, bank will not give out loan so people can put into FD to gain bullets ! nod.gif

Ah Boom, come here more often la, you !! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 28 2015, 12:08 PM)
Ya loh.. the whole world belongs to bbgoat this year  thumbup.gif
blush.gif All of us getting older now. Hopefully getting older, smarter and fatter (in the pocket not the belly) !! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jan 28 2015, 12:18 PM
bbgoat
post Jan 28 2015, 09:28 PM

6,614 posts

As expected, BNM maintained OPR at 3.25%.

http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=en_pres...ac=3143&lang=en

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jan 28 2015, 09:29 PM
bbgoat
post Jan 29 2015, 02:36 PM

6,614 posts

In CB to see RM to review UT. At the end, after changing some UT products, was given FD 1 mth 9.18% placement (up to amt of UT product switched) drool.gif . Still need to consider as SCB promo of 15 mth 4.5% ends soon. CB 1 mth very good but may not go for it. Has 2 weeks to decide.

Collected first Ang Pow packet from CB.

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jan 29 2015, 02:38 PM
bbgoat
post Jan 29 2015, 02:50 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Jan 29 2015, 02:46 PM)
can scan/photograph the AP packet? if nice, will go get them, if not...  cool2.gif
Their design not that good for past few years already. Some flowery, 2 tone front and back. Not for younger generation. Haha.
bbgoat
post Jan 29 2015, 07:00 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Jan 29 2015, 04:08 PM)
Just confirmed UOB FD 4.2% promo still available till tomorrow.

But I should have gone for SCB 4.5%, only did not want to visit so many banks & had to go UOB since they have a special 3 months FD promo at 5.6% if signup for their retirement plan.
Yes, today CB also tempted me with the 9.18% FD 1 month AFTER I have switched some UT products. Luckily still have some fund that I can put there to enjoy this high 1 mth interest. Also will put into SCB second placement 4.5% but have to get their HQ approval. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jan 30 2015, 05:42 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Jan 30 2015, 11:15 AM)
wahhhhh today only find out uob so goood. they say no need to split into multi certs because can do partial withdrawal... balance not wdrawn can continue on same terms.

summore banker chq 65sen cheaper than ibg $1 biggrin.gif
3 weeks ago when I placed for the 4.2%, wanted to split, initially was advised that no need to split. Can always terminate some amt of the FD and the remainder will continue the promo rate. But later at the end the leng lui said because it is a special rate of 4.2% instead of 4.1%, may not get it if premature withdrawal of partial amt. So ended up still split the FD.

Is yours 4.2% (>50k)or 4.1% promo ? hmm.gif
bbgoat
post Jan 30 2015, 08:10 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Jan 30 2015, 05:58 PM)

Saw your post on SCB priority banking, afraid when their promos end & when moving out our money, we forget to terminate the status as they will charge fees for it if the balance fall below RM250k. Thinking of just terminating it now since not much use.
No worry. First they told me can inform them and hold for few months on PB status if fund <250k (monthly charge RM100). Was in MBB today talking to their funding exec, their Private Banking/Premier Wealth will charge RM800 per year if acct drop below 250k. But so far they did not do that as customers will run away. That is what she said.

Also some promo from SCB may keep you there. For JustOne, don't keep any inside so nothing for them to deduct. tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Jan 31 2015, 08:46 AM

6,614 posts

Saw news that EPF may be giving out dividend of 6.35% to 6.45%. Copied from malaysiakini.com:

"The dividend last year was 6.35 percent. A dividend more than 6.35 percent would make it the highest since 1999, where the dividend was 6.84 percent."

Past history pay out:
http://www.kwsp.gov.my/portal/en/web/kwsp/.../dividend-rates

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jan 31 2015, 08:47 AM
bbgoat
post Feb 2 2015, 04:33 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Feb 1 2015, 09:06 AM)
Beware of the SCB RM100 monthly fee. It will kick in automatically. I kena last year when my total drop below the minimum. RM100 per month charged to my account on the dot every month like clock work!!  sweat.gif  sweat.gif I found out only after the 2nd monthly fee charged as SCB is not my main banker.
Called to ask for waiver...they say if top up then can waive. I got no more bullet then, all gone to other FD promo.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Thanks for the info. But they deduct it from your SA or JustOne acct ?

So by not keeping anything in there, can we avoid the "penalty" ? tongue.gif So far my FD there can "last me" until mid next year. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(cklimm @ Feb 1 2015, 07:48 PM)
4.08%for 8 months, i better off take scb 9 months 4.25%
But second placement for the promo need to get HQ approval. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Feb 2 2015, 04:52 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Feb 2 2015, 04:01 PM)

For Ambank & BR, if you have PB, you can jump queue to the next available number in the normal banking branches.

But ya, I don't agree with SCB, in automatically making a person PB customer with such charges. They should ask our consent first like Ambank, I was required to sign a form to agree to being a PB customer.
I was thinking of joining AmBank PB. Did they explicitly say if balance fall below 200k or 250k (not sure of the figure), there will be monthly charges ? smile.gif

QUOTE(tbheng @ Feb 2 2015, 04:19 PM)
I requested and they will ask HQ approval on : Backdate FD to start from today; split to multiple certs and uplift to JOC upon maturity.
They will then send me the FD certs. JOC opened without deposits.

Lucky it is my personal cheque and not banker's cheque... I will transfer the money back to my SA to get 2 days interest@2.45% first.  tongue.gif
If HQ agree to start my FD from today, I untung 2 days interest. Haha.  laugh.gif
When I placed my FD for 4.5%, the leng lui told me cannot split to multiple FD cert. Later one forumer said can get HQ approval.

Today I asked the leng lui again for 2nd FD placement, she said got HQ approval already but "subject to promotion still ongoing". Their promo supposed to end on 6/2 Friday. biggrin.gif Forgot to ask her to get approval for splitting FD cert. My RM has not come onboard yet as just signed up recently (though has met him for a talk). Not sure will regret if get monthly charges of RM100. Have declined to join the PB few months back when the leng lui tried to ask me to sign a form for PB. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Feb 2 2015, 07:57 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Feb 2 2015, 05:22 PM)
It was not JustOne acct, no such acct back then. I guess they will tag it to one of your CASA.
If insufficient fund they will still deduct and shown as Debit instead of Credit balance. It happen to some of my bank acct before but not specifically for this PB fee case.
Interesting. I have no experience on CASA showing negative balance. Just heard if SA drops to <0, close acct. Haha. tongue.gif

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Feb 2 2015, 07:08 PM)
It is RM 200k but I cannot recall what the charges were if fall below it & believe there should be some fees tongue.gif
I think I will just try SCB PB once & then terminate it biggrin.gif Just afraid may forget to terminate it next year.  sweat.gif

I also avoided joining PB for AmBank despite the branch asking. No point lah, have to worry about the charges if AUM falls to below threshold.

I know HL allows AUM to be minimum 50k before charging or cancel PB. CIMB implement charges if AUM <200k. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 2 2015, 08:01 PM
bbgoat
post Feb 2 2015, 08:06 PM

6,614 posts

Today was in MBB to uplift FD. Have to pay 50 cent for the processing fee for banker's cheque. Used to be free. Was told bank absolve the RM5 cheque fee and customer pay 50 cent for processing fee.

But found that MBB do pay the additional interest over Sat/Sunday. As the FD matured on Saturday, they paid me 2 add'l days of interest. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 2 2015, 08:08 PM
bbgoat
post Feb 3 2015, 01:16 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 3 2015, 12:58 PM)
so it's mean RM5+RM0.50 = RM5.50? or just RM0.50 blink.gif  hmm.gif
Bank absolve RM5, we pay RM0.50. tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Feb 3 2015, 01:39 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 3 2015, 01:31 PM)
wah so nice  rclxms.gif  The "old" Maybank I know love to "suck" people $$ by charging every single services they offer  nod.gif
Just early of Jan, FOC for banker's cheque lah. Now pay RM0.50. Still better than some banks that charge RM2 to RM5 for bankers' cheque. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Feb 4 2015, 01:57 PM

6,614 posts

In BR today to uplift FD to move to SCB tomorrow. Despite Exclusive card, still charged RM2 IBG charge. shakehead.gif Admire magika able to get free RENTAS some more. thumbup.gif

But must admire the speed that the transaction was done, all within 10 minutes ! rclxms.gif Though the counter lady covered her face upon seeing me tongue.gif (as she knows it is for withdrawal). Ha ha ha.

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 4 2015, 01:59 PM
bbgoat
post Feb 4 2015, 02:08 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 4 2015, 01:02 PM)
Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) is likely to maintain its overnight policy rate (OPR) at 3.25 per cent into 2016, said Standard & Poor’s (S&P) Ratings Services today.
GF or dream girl photo ? rclxms.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE(okuribito @ Feb 4 2015, 01:54 PM)
haha let's hope their prediction holds. put this way, chances of lowering rates is higher than of raising rates at the moment (imho, though we like it to go up, the majority will scream if it does)... therefore if they maintain rates is already "good" hmmmm now feel like frog in sauna, slowly boiled to death  cry.gif

ps: nice avatars  tongue.gif
So I am happy of locking in 4.5% with AmBank. Except may not be enough ? hmm.gif

Anyway, not a good idea to wait for rates to go up as some have done. Lock in for FD with high rates. Too many short term FD while waiting for rates to go up may not be good as you "lose" out on interest rate as time passes. But each will have their own perspective on this. biggrin.gif

bbgoat
post Feb 4 2015, 06:05 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(dEviLs @ Feb 4 2015, 03:47 PM)
just uplift my FD from UOB, bankers cheque charge RM2.65
since ocbc 12m 4.2% is still ongoing then most likely will deposit with them tongue.gif
So UOB ended the 4.2% since 31/1 (50k min) ? hmm.gif

Looks like they are the same as MBB charging add'l 50 cents for banker's cheque. They used to charge RM0.15 in Penang while some has reported RM2.15 last year. smile.gif

See below under banker's cheque, Captain's blog:

http://generationsxyz.blogspot.com/p/fixed-deposit.html

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 4 2015, 06:07 PM

24 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0545sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:32 PM