135 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.8, Please Read Post#1 and #2

quedriel
post Jan 16 2015, 02:04 PM

i was wondering which of the following option would be better for maybank's fixed deposit since im not sure how their calculation works

a) rm5000 for 1 month @ 3.15% with the interest credited to principal, auto renewal for 6 months

b) rm5000 for 6 months @ 3.25%

cklimm
post Jan 16 2015, 02:13 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(quedriel @ Jan 16 2015, 02:04 PM)
i was wondering which of the following option would be better for maybank's fixed deposit since im not sure how their calculation works

a) rm5000 for 1 month @ 3.15% with the interest credited to principal, auto renewal for 6 months

I will say, spilt em up
RM 1500- 2months @ 3.15%,
RM 1500- 3months @ 3.2%,
RM 2000-6 months @3.25%.
In case u need to touch yr funds, u will not lose all of the interest. whistling.gif
quedriel
post Jan 16 2015, 02:17 PM

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jan 16 2015, 02:13 PM)
I will say, spilt em up
RM 1500- 2months @ 3.15%,
RM 1500- 3months @ 3.2%,
RM 2000-6 months  @3.25%.
In case u need to touch yr funds, u will not lose all of the interest.  whistling.gif
lets say i wont be using the funds anytime soon. i just wanted to know which of the two options would give more interest.
aeiou228
post Jan 16 2015, 02:24 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(quedriel @ Jan 16 2015, 02:04 PM)

Bro, Very obvious, 1 month is better.
For a mere 40sen lesser a month, you will get 5 times better liquidity.

However if the deposit amount is RM500,000, then you have to decide whether you want better liquidity or extra RM40 per month.
aeiou228
post Jan 16 2015, 02:32 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(quedriel @ Jan 16 2015, 02:17 PM)
lets say i wont be using the funds anytime soon. i just wanted to know which of the two options would give more interest.
Oh... So you want to know the effective rate ?

1 month FD is 3.2% effective (up to the 6th month)
quedriel
post Jan 16 2015, 02:44 PM

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 16 2015, 02:32 PM)
Oh... So you want to know the effective rate ?

1 month FD is 3.2% effective (up to the 6th month)
owh so its called an effective interest rate! hahaha sorry for my lack of knowledge >.<
i guess option 2 would be still be better in terms of return then
nomen
post Jan 16 2015, 03:13 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 16 2015, 09:05 AM)
Well, like I reported earlier UOB Christmas Promo extended and they are offering 4.2% 12 Months too but min RM50K and not RM50 I mentioned earlier, hahaha

To ALL:

Once again, check my Fixed Deposit Page for latest FD Promo.

Reason why I have been checking bank's latest FD rates recently is because I have funds due next week and so have updating my FD Page whenever I have new info.
Bro Gen-X, OCBC is also offering 4.2% for 12 Months till end of this month. I can confirm it because I just made a placement yesterday.

The difference is that UOB minimum placement is RM50K whereas OCBC's minimum placement is only RM5K, which
is more feasible for many. thumbup.gif

okuribito
post Jan 16 2015, 05:08 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Jan 16 2015, 01:40 PM)
4.5% for 1 year

4.75% for 2 years

5% for 3 years..

promos like these, we are anticipating patiently...
rich man put money into swiss account gotta pay 0.5% more now ... they just "upped" their interest rate on deposits from -0.25% to -0.75% rclxub.gif

PS: regarding the 4.09% effective rate claimed and advertised in a recent fd promo, it made me think about ethics of advertising in the financial services industry In the US they have legislation covering this issue, though most cases involve banks' effective lending rates. In bolehland, dunno lar tongue.gif

This post has been edited by okuribito: Jan 16 2015, 05:29 PM
TSGen-X
post Jan 16 2015, 09:01 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(nomen @ Jan 16 2015, 03:13 PM)
Bro Gen-X, OCBC is also offering 4.2% for 12 Months till end of this month. I can confirm it because I just made a placement yesterday.

The difference is that UOB minimum placement is RM50K whereas OCBC's minimum placement is only RM5K, which
is more feasible for many.  thumbup.gif
Yes Bro, OCBC also 4.2% where I posted last weekend and gsc reconfirm earlier this week. But I did not know minimum RM5K only!!! I thought it would be at least RM10K. Boy, it does sound like OCBC is desperate.

And did you know that you can get a Maybank Banker's Cheque from another branch which is not your "main branch". Well, today I went to a MBB branch that I placed a FD with, gave the Cert to the teller and told her I want a Banker's Cheque but she told that the that FD account got no money in it! You see, previously I instructed that upon maturity, the principal and interest are to be credited into my Savings Account with another branch doh.gif Luckily I did not need to waste time going to the branch where I opened the Savings Account to get the banker's cheque. Click here to my Facebook Page to read more.

P.s. nomen - gave you credit in my Facebook too.
eddie2020
post Jan 17 2015, 12:41 AM

Trusted
3,125 posts

erm, today, out of curiosity i saw my few bank statement and interest they gave on EOY..
seems certain bank gv quite low like less than RM1 even i have over 1k inside.. some other bank give a better rate with almost same balance... last time small open sav acc without see their benefit or compare..

so, went to check for saving account (last time i dint see so much when i study uni, or maybe less noticeable since much transaction during study and ptptn come in and make the interest jump higher)

and i found out something, mbsb account in ringgit plus adv it as 6%, then i go mbsb website only 2.xx . . why so misleading or i interpret it wrongly? lol sorry for out of topic..

This post has been edited by eddie2020: Jan 17 2015, 12:42 AM
bbgoat
post Jan 17 2015, 08:37 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 16 2015, 09:01 PM)
And did you know that you can get a Maybank Banker's Cheque from another branch which is not your "main branch". Well, today I went to a MBB branch that I placed a FD with, gave the Cert to the teller and told her I want a Banker's Cheque but she told that the that FD account got no money in it! You see, previously I instructed that upon maturity, the principal and interest are to be credited into my Savings Account with another branch  doh.gif  Luckily I did not need to waste time going to the branch where I opened the Savings Account to get the banker's cheque. Click here to my Facebook Page to read more.

P.s. nomen - gave you credit in my Facebook too.
Bro, read ur Facebook and you paid RM5.50 for the banker's cheque. For Maybank, if we do banker's cheque from FD, it is FOC. Recently did 2 cheques FOC from FD maturing. But paid RM5 for a banker's cheque from closing of one SA. biggrin.gif

So you got FD receipt in 10 minutes from UOB. Yes, I have the same experience with Penang UOB when there is no crowd there. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jan 17 2015, 08:50 AM
victorian
post Jan 17 2015, 09:14 AM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,594 posts

If my mach hlb fixed deposit is maturing today does that mean I can withdraw it today or tomorrow?
TSGen-X
post Jan 17 2015, 09:40 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Jan 17 2015, 12:41 AM)
erm, today, out of curiosity i saw my few bank statement and interest they gave on EOY..
seems certain bank gv quite low like less than RM1 even i have over 1k inside.. some other bank give a better rate with almost same balance... last time small open sav acc without see their benefit or compare..

so, went to check for saving account (last time i dint see so much when i study uni, or maybe less noticeable since much transaction during study and ptptn come in and make the interest jump higher)

and i found out something, mbsb account in ringgit plus adv it as 6%, then i go mbsb website only 2.xx . . why so misleading or i interpret it wrongly? lol sorry for out of topic..
Savings Account generally pays miserable interest rates, something like 0.01%. However they are some Savings Account that pay 2% or more, e.g. Kids Savings Accounts, OCBC Smart Savers with conditions, HLB Premier SA (this is useless, better put in 1 month FD with other banks and combine it with Savings Account that pay 2%), M2U Online SA. So, if you do not need to use the money, go deposit in FD for 1 month (or more) to earn better interest rates.

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 17 2015, 08:37 AM)
Bro, read ur Facebook and you paid RM5.50 for the banker's cheque. For Maybank, if we do banker's cheque from FD, it is FOC. Recently did 2 cheques FOC from FD maturing. But paid RM5 for a banker's cheque from closing of one SA.  biggrin.gif

So you got FD receipt in 10 minutes from UOB. Yes, I have the same experience with Penang UOB when there is no crowd there.  biggrin.gif
Bro, thanks for visiting my Facebook. Ya loh, wasted RM5 (50 sen service charge excluded) for nothing because it was debited from SA. But by paying the RM5 tuition fee, I learned that I can go to any MBB branch to get a Banker's Cheque and shared the info with you guys.

QUOTE(victorian @ Jan 17 2015, 09:14 AM)
If my mach hlb fixed deposit is maturing today does that mean I can withdraw it today or tomorrow?
Should be today. And to confirm - check if the interest have been credited into your account.
harmonics3
post Jan 17 2015, 09:41 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Jan 17 2015, 09:14 AM)
today.. on maturity date.
Bonescythe
post Jan 17 2015, 10:44 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Jan 16 2015, 01:40 PM)
4.5% for 1 year

4.75% for 2 years

5% for 3 years..

promos like these, we are anticipating patiently...
Can try russian bank.

probably will be
10%
12%
15%

smile.gif smile.gif
victorian
post Jan 17 2015, 11:28 AM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,594 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 17 2015, 09:40 AM)
Savings Account generally pays miserable interest rates, something like 0.01%. However they are some Savings Account that pay 2% or more, e.g. Kids Savings Accounts, OCBC Smart Savers with conditions, HLB Premier SA (this is useless, better put in 1 month FD with other banks and combine it with Savings Account that pay 2%), M2U Online SA. So, if you do not need to use the money, go deposit in FD for 1 month (or more) to earn better interest rates.
Bro, thanks for visiting my Facebook. Ya loh, wasted RM5 (50 sen service charge excluded) for nothing because it was debited from SA. But by paying the RM5 tuition fee, I learned that I can go to any MBB branch to get a Banker's Cheque and shared the info with you guys.
Should be today. And to confirm - check if the interest have been credited into your account.
QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Jan 17 2015, 09:41 AM)
today.. on maturity date.
Allright thanks smile.gif
Chili_90
post Jan 17 2015, 02:37 PM

160 posts

one question. for OCBC bank.

put FD better or housing loan capital repayment better?
cappuccino vs latte
post Jan 17 2015, 06:10 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(Chili_90 @ Jan 17 2015, 02:37 PM)
one question. for OCBC bank.

put FD better or housing loan capital repayment better?
If the housing loan interests is greater than FD one, better go for the repayment.
Chili_90
post Jan 17 2015, 08:01 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ Jan 17 2015, 06:10 PM)
If the housing loan interests is greater than FD one, better go for the repayment.
terima kasih bro drool.gif
ikanbilis
post Jan 17 2015, 11:15 PM

Trusted member since 2003
2,541 posts

I'm interested in the PBB FD promo. Anyone knows if I issue a personal check for the FD, is the FD effective date applicable on the date I deposit the check or the date when the personal check is cleared? Thanks

135 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0354sec    1.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:55 AM