Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.8, Please Read Post#1 and #2

bbgoat
post May 31 2015, 09:42 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ May 31 2015, 08:30 PM)
Banks offer high FD rate in order to entice depositors to take up UT products
They always do that. FD/UT bundle. Whether local or foreign banks. But as I said before, one should not take up the bundle just because of the high FD rate offered. It should be one has interest to invest in UT and can withstand the volatility of UT.

OK, end of UT discussion. You guys are regulars in the ASNB thread. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: May 31 2015, 09:43 PM
gsc
post May 31 2015, 09:48 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 30 2015, 06:12 PM)
In UOB about 3 years ago, I RENTAS out the matured FD to CB then used CB cheque to place new FD so as to get the promo rate (fresh fund required). RENTAS cost me RM9 at that time. Then later UOB knew the tricks of customer and suggested for me to just top up matured FD with 10k and get the promo rate.  biggrin.gif
UOB is customer oriented...I have been using the same approach on Ocbc FD for more than a year but the RM never asvised to top up. Either it is Ocbc policy very strict on fresh fund or RM unwilling to help. My RM was promoted recently, the new RM not even bother to sms or call to show her presence. Comparatively UOB RM ringed up to introduce herself and asked to drop by when free.....
bbgoat
post May 31 2015, 10:06 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ May 31 2015, 09:48 PM)
UOB is customer oriented...I have been using the same approach on Ocbc FD for more than a year but the RM never asvised to top up. Either it is Ocbc policy very strict on fresh fund or RM unwilling to help. My RM was promoted recently, the new RM not even bother to sms or call to show her presence. Comparatively UOB RM ringed up to introduce herself and asked to drop by when free.....
Not sure I get what u are trying to say. I am saying for UOB, instead of RENTAS out my matured FD and then issue a cheque as fresh fund to get FD promo rate, the counter girl said top up the matured FD by at least 10k to get the promo rate. But their FD require fresh fund of 10k also. So this is no big deal as if I put in fresh 10k, then I got the FD promo. So the suggestion becomes, fresh 10k plus matured FD. tongue.gif

What approach did you take on OCBC ? biggrin.gif

Why are you bringing RM into this discussion ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: May 31 2015, 10:19 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jun 1 2015, 09:08 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 31 2015, 07:47 PM)
I have mentioned on this before. You probably missed out on this. In April I went in on this UT/FD bundle of RHB.  biggrin.gif
Good Morning, Ah Sir..

BR is abnormal today, I just checked my iRakyat account, I have not received the monthly interest.. sad.gif
Have you received yours..?

About less than 2 years ago, BR credited monthly interest right after mid-night like 12.05am; then they
changed to credit interest at around 7.00am...
faradie
post Jun 1 2015, 09:48 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ May 31 2015, 08:40 AM)
Affin 15 mths FD promotion is until when?
Some Board members of Affin and 1MDB are same people. Not red herring (warning) sign to you?
cklimm
post Jun 1 2015, 10:04 AM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(faradie @ Jun 1 2015, 09:48 AM)
Some Board members of Affin and 1MDB are same people. Not red herring (warning) sign to you?
some board member of CIMB and 1MDB are from a same family some more brows.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 1 2015, 11:05 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 1 2015, 09:08 AM)
Good Morning, Ah Sir..

BR is abnormal today, I just checked my iRakyat account, I have not received the monthly interest.. sad.gif

About less than 2 years ago, BR credited monthly interest right after mid-night like 12.05am; then they
No issue up to end of May. I do not monitor time of the xfer. tongue.gif

They are still better than HL. I have one FD matured on Sat. But they did not show up in my acct until Sunday !

For me, BR wise, monthly interest crediting is satisfactory or great ! rclxms.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jun 1 2015, 11:32 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 1 2015, 11:05 AM)
No issue up to end of May. I do not monitor time of the xfer.  tongue.gif

They are still better than HL. I have one FD matured on Sat. But they did not show up in my acct until Sunday !

For me, BR wise, monthly interest crediting is satisfactory or great !  rclxms.gif
Mine has a problem so far... sad.gif
I just called BR, they said would fix it...

BR staff said they have this FD promotion:
1 year at 4.25%
25K minimum

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jun 1 2015, 11:43 AM
wil-i-am
post Jun 1 2015, 11:36 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(faradie @ Jun 1 2015, 09:48 AM)
Worst case I need to visit PIDM
bbgoat
post Jun 1 2015, 12:00 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 1 2015, 11:32 AM)
Mine has a problem so far...  sad.gif
I just called BR, they said would fix it...

BR staff said they have this FD promotion:
1 year at 4.25%
25K minimum
BR new promo was reported on 26/5. See post below. From 1st to end of June with monthly interest.

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 26 2015, 06:14 PM)
In BR today, after the previous Sunday makan makan and winning a lucky draw.  biggrin.gif

They will have a new promo starting Jun 1st to 30th. 12 mth 4.25%, min 25k. Have monthly interest as usual. @magika, interested ??  hmm.gif

Confirmed that they are now charging RM5 per year for co-op card, RM8 for the other card.

Also called CB to place some short term FD. Liked their phone banking as convenient to place and uplift FD. Except their rate is bad.  tongue.gif
Someone in BR must have missed you and wanted you to contact them. tongue.gif

You are really making use of ATM to withdraw from BR, 3 times in one day ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jun 1 2015, 12:04 PM
ragk
post Jun 1 2015, 03:03 PM

BooBoo~
2,353 posts

hi, wanna to ask PB FD monthly auto-renewal, any1 did that b4? any specific thing 2 do or i can do it via e-banking?

SUSlowya
post Jun 1 2015, 04:32 PM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 26 2015, 06:16 PM)
For me I go to a bank with PIDM and max profit.  biggrin.gif Don't care how more account needs to be open. As long as can get max profit and protected by PIDM, good enough for me.  rclxms.gif
which bank/promo have you decided based on your criteria?
Ramjade
post Jun 1 2015, 04:40 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Jun 1 2015, 04:32 PM)
which bank/promo have you decided based on your criteria?
Affin bank. 4.33% 15 months. Rm10k fresh funds. No stupid CASA. Just normal SA so that they can deposit interest + principal upon maturity.
cybpsych
post Jun 1 2015, 05:19 PM

---------------------
65,274 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 1 2015, 04:40 PM)
Affin bank. 4.33% 15 months. Rm10k fresh funds. No stupid CASA. Just normal SA so that they can deposit interest + principal upon maturity.
Concur thumbup.gif

It's worth keeping a CASA with Affin since they've been consistently introducing competitive FD rates.
bbgoat
post Jun 1 2015, 05:28 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 1 2015, 05:19 PM)
Concur  thumbup.gif

It's worth keeping a CASA with Affin since they've been consistently introducing competitive FD rates.
Also their 12 month FD board rate is the highest among PIDM banks. rclxms.gif
nitehawk
post Jun 1 2015, 06:03 PM

699 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 1 2015, 09:08 AM)
Good Morning, Ah Sir..

BR told me interest will pay when the FD matured, how you get monthly interest? rclxub.gif

ivzh
post Jun 1 2015, 11:39 PM

668 posts

Hi guys, let say I have a fresh fund for rm100k for FD for 1 year, what is my best option?
cklimm
post Jun 1 2015, 11:58 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(ivzh @ Jun 1 2015, 11:39 PM)
Hi guys, let say I have a fresh fund for rm100k for FD for 1 year, what is my best option?
i will place 30k into 3 months HSBC 5% FD, 20k for 6 mths RHB 7.8% asnb bundle, the rest into 1year CIMB 4.2% FD.
dont forget to apply for HSBC advance and CIMB prime, freebies awaiting.
M3L7991
post Jun 2 2015, 12:06 AM

87 posts

Guys,i have around 25k in hand now. Where shud i put?looking for the short period fd or best option u guys can give..kinda blur now..

I'm not quite understand about the 3 month,6 month,9 month,12 month period. If i put the money for 3 months,what about the 6 months?shud i put new fresh fund or continuesly from the existing fund?

This post has been edited by M3L7991: Jun 2 2015, 12:23 AM
gsc
post Jun 2 2015, 01:06 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 31 2015, 10:06 PM)
Not sure I get what u are trying to say. I am saying for UOB, instead of RENTAS out my matured FD and then issue a cheque as fresh fund to get FD promo rate, the counter girl said top up the matured FD by at least 10k to get the promo rate. But their FD require fresh fund of 10k also. So this is no big deal as if I put in fresh 10k, then I got the FD promo. So the suggestion becomes, fresh 10k plus matured FD.  tongue.gif

What approach did you take on OCBC ?  biggrin.gif

Why are you bringing RM into this discussion ?  hmm.gif
Sorry for the confusion. for Ocbc i always IBG out matured FD and place a new FD with some top up using personal cheque. The similar approach you did at UOB. UOB later allowed you to top up instead of Rentas out. My Ocbc RM should have allowed me to top up too on the matured FD.

Bottomline I am trying to say UOB is more understanding and customer friendly.

135 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Top

0.0751sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:25 PM