post May 14 2015, 04:10 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ May 14 2015, 02:56 PM)
Just back from OCBC Bank
They offer 1st 6 mths @ 4.0% pa n 2nd 6 mths @ 4.4% pa
Effective rate is 4.2% pa -v- normal board rate of 3.25% pa for 12 mths
QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 14 2015, 03:21 PM)
I think another forummer mentioned that the interest from the 1st 6 months will be added into the principal so the final rate is slightly higher than 4.2% for 12 months.  smile.gif
Will be placing it tomorow as one of my FD with BR is ripe for plucking.

bbgoat
post May 14 2015, 04:24 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ May 14 2015, 04:10 PM)
Will be placing it tomorow as one of my FD with BR is ripe for plucking.
Ha ha, for me, it gives me good reason to get some more eyetertainment in OCBC. Probably next week. rclxms.gif tongue.gif

BR called today asking me to confirm this Sunday hi-tea in Penang. Still maintaining some FD but did not top up for quite some time already. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: May 14 2015, 04:25 PM
magika
post May 14 2015, 04:41 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 14 2015, 04:24 PM)
Ha ha, for me, it gives me good reason to get some more eyetertainment in OCBC. Probably next week.  rclxms.gif  tongue.gif

BR called today asking me to confirm this Sunday hi-tea in Penang. Still maintaining some FD but did not top up for quite some time already.  biggrin.gif
OCBC changing RM quite frequently, now don't remember which RM assigned to me.

BR function I never attend. Now don't think they will invite as mostly all my FD out already.

cybpsych
post May 14 2015, 04:56 PM

---------------------
65,288 posts

OCBC going all-out by printing physical flyer and inserting into paper (TheSun)

MoneyMaker prince
post May 14 2015, 05:30 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(magika @ May 14 2015, 04:41 PM)

BR function I never attend. Now don't think they will invite as mostly all my FD out already.
Will they assign RM to you when you put in FD?

mine in MBB, I just go counter and put 10k in. Nothing about specific RM serving me
bbgoat
post May 14 2015, 05:35 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(MoneyMaker prince @ May 14 2015, 05:30 PM)
Will they assign RM to you when you put in FD?

mine in MBB, I just go counter and put 10k in. Nothing about specific RM serving me
You need to join the bank as a PB customer before RM assigned to you. smile.gif
Pbr016
post May 14 2015, 09:49 PM

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 14 2015, 04:21 PM)
I think another forummer mentioned that the interest from the 1st 6 months will be added into the principal so the final rate is slightly higher than 4.2% for 12 months.  smile.gif

Interest can add on? Or must credit to saving?
cappuccino vs latte
post May 14 2015, 11:29 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(Pbr016 @ May 14 2015, 09:49 PM)
Interest can add on? Or must credit to saving?
I hate the requirement to open CASA thingy mad.gif Hopefully this one no need.
Ramjade
post May 15 2015, 12:10 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ May 14 2015, 11:29 PM)
I hate the requirement to open CASA thingy mad.gif Hopefully this one no need.
FD with CASA is different with FD which requires CASA. FD with casa, means you need to put usually 10% of what you put inside your FD into your CASA which will effectively lower your effective rate as the money inside the CASA cannot be removed for the entire length of that FD

FD which requires you to have CASA just need rm50 inside for them to credit your interest and principle. So it is OK

By the way, the OCBC step up rates will change with opr like PB or they will maintain it?

Bonescythe
post May 15 2015, 01:12 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(magika @ May 14 2015, 04:41 PM)

u always place FD.. never support the RM by buying the unit trust.. so they no business, then lingkup and run else where lor.
magika
post May 15 2015, 08:47 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ May 15 2015, 01:12 AM)
u always place FD.. never support the RM by buying the unit trust.. so they no business, then lingkup and run else where lor.
I got Unit Trust mah.. from PRS tax purpose lah.. I m also heavy in bluechip. My money all in RM ( ringgit) all support 1MDB..

This post has been edited by magika: May 15 2015, 08:49 AM
bbgoat
post May 15 2015, 09:37 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ May 15 2015, 08:47 AM)
I got Unit Trust mah.. from PRS tax purpose lah.. I m also heavy in bluechip.  My money all in  RM ( ringgit) all support 1MDB..
When I read:
My money all in RM

excitement of "which RM", "RM in which bank ?" ........... rclxm9.gif

But short lived. Good one ! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: May 15 2015, 09:38 AM
Ramjade
post May 15 2015, 09:42 AM

24,346 posts

Guys,

Ocbc step up is it the same like PB which will change according to opr?
magika
post May 15 2015, 10:09 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 15 2015, 09:42 AM)
Guys,

Ocbc step up is it the same like PB which will change according to opr?
Most banks FD has the clause rates may changed according to OPR. Dont read much into it.

raptar_eric
post May 15 2015, 11:08 AM

Live life to the fullest!
1,367 posts

alliance bank's efd system is the most sheety system i have ever used... transferred fresh funds in, cannot detect as fresh funds... called CC, they tell me to wait 1 month... what nonsense? promo ended by then =.=
SUSlowya
post May 15 2015, 12:46 PM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(magika @ May 15 2015, 10:09 AM)
Most banks FD has the clause rates may changed according to OPR. Dont read much into it.
change when OPR change?

i thought its FIXED deposit with interest rate FIXED.
magika
post May 15 2015, 01:08 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ May 15 2015, 12:46 PM)
change when OPR change?

Its offer may change according to OPR but no mention of before or during FD period. So far nobody has any complaints yet.

Bonescythe
post May 15 2015, 01:31 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ May 15 2015, 11:08 AM)
alliance bank's efd system is the most sheety system i have ever used... transferred fresh funds in, cannot detect as fresh funds... called CC, they tell me to wait 1 month... what nonsense? promo ended by then =.=
mad.gif mad.gif

Zzzzz

shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
cybpsych
post May 15 2015, 02:24 PM

---------------------
65,288 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ May 15 2015, 12:46 PM)
change when OPR change?

"fixed" is for the nature of the deposited fund, NOT "fixed" interest rate that remains perpetual.

OPR tends to be revised from time-to-time, hence banks are protecting themselves in-advance if they need to revise the interest rates according to revised OPR (if occurs).
Ramjade
post May 15 2015, 03:09 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 15 2015, 02:24 PM)
"fixed" is for the nature of the deposited fund, NOT "fixed" interest rate that remains perpetual.

OPR tends to be revised from time-to-time, hence banks are protecting themselves in-advance if they need to revise the interest rates according to revised OPR (if occurs).
So how about those fd with say 4.2/year? Will the interest rate change even though you put for for 1 year? I am not talking about those step up

135 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Top

0.0329sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:00 PM