sms2u
post Jan 9 2015, 11:41 AM

3,281 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 8 2015, 05:34 PM)
I put 4.38% for 2 years for the following reason :

a) not using the money
b) no need for yearly "maintenance" tongue.gif
c) Feel the interest is quite good compare to tothers. The only one with so high interest is Ambank 4.5% for 3 years and MBSB 4.7% for 5 years
d) No stupid CASA which will lower your overall interest rate (effective interest rate)
Also, the interest for 2 years have to wait muturity before can take interest and are no compount interest,
Pinnacle1295
post Jan 9 2015, 01:04 PM

418 posts

I just checked with Maybank this morning. They have offer effective this coming Monday for 12-month placement @ 4.07% (no need any fresh fund). Acording to them the 4.12% is for "private banking" customers ..... dunno what that mean.
SUSlowya
post Jan 9 2015, 01:59 PM

4,821 posts

Give me a better deal (and better bank) than Ambank's 36-month 4.50% then all of use will make a switch.

Competitive FD departments, are you listening here?

We are ready, are you?
bbgoat
post Jan 9 2015, 02:51 PM

6,614 posts

Passing by BR. Went in and was given a calendar, backpack and eco bag.

Was told that for Pg, with BR Exclusive Card no need to queue up. Also nego rate is available now. 50k may be able to get nego rate but 100k is better.

Looks like BR adjusting their strategy to retain customers.
alexkos
post Jan 9 2015, 03:37 PM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy1314 @ Jan 8 2015, 03:25 PM)
bro... u open HL 12-month FD at the rate of 4.08% one?
What is E_SI?
yup =)

standing instruction (telling bank what to do, aka transfer money by my consent)

This post has been edited by alexkos: Jan 9 2015, 03:37 PM
culain99
post Jan 9 2015, 03:37 PM

-----
765 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 9 2015, 02:51 PM)

Was told that for Pg, with BR Exclusive Card no need to queue up. Also nego rate is available now. 50k may be able to get nego rate but 100k is better.

BR, have nego rates again......? damn my fd's oni mature in july
magika
post Jan 9 2015, 04:01 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 9 2015, 02:51 PM)

Thanks. Call BR and wait for confirmation on nego rates. Closest should be Public Bank on 12 months rate.

bbgoat
post Jan 9 2015, 05:27 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Jan 9 2015, 11:22 AM)
uob system always down, that day i went, waited total of 2 hours just for fd placement. sleep.gif
Looks like common for people to wait for hrs to get the acct opened and get FD cert in UOB !! mad.gif I have already send a complaint to UOB, waiting for their reply. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Pinnacle1295 @ Jan 9 2015, 01:04 PM)
I just checked with Maybank this morning. They have offer effective this coming Monday for 12-month placement @ 4.07% (no need any fresh fund). Acording to them the 4.12% is for "private banking" customers ..... dunno what that mean.
Doubted on this requirement on Private Banking. You can try to call other MBB branches on the 4.12% FD promo. biggrin.gif MBB branches have been known to cite different req'm for FD's. smile.gif
okuribito
post Jan 9 2015, 05:49 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 9 2015, 05:27 PM)
Looks like common for people to wait for hrs to get the acct opened and get FD cert in UOB !!  mad.gif I have already send a complaint to UOB, waiting for their reply.  biggrin.gif
Doubted on this requirement on Private Banking. You can try to call other MBB branches on the 4.12% FD promo.  biggrin.gif MBB branches have been known to cite different req'm for FD's.  smile.gif
wow what a mess! but I think I didn't get any cert when I went UOB in Nov. Just an acknowledgement of the fd? They said no need to bring cert when mature, just my IC & can go any branch?

Regarding the MBB multi-interest rate "stepup" averaging 4.12%, anyone see the T&C yet? I wonder if it actually works on "roll-over if not withdrawn" basis like PBB's
bbgoat
post Jan 9 2015, 05:53 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Jan 9 2015, 05:49 PM)
wow what a mess! but I think I didn't get any cert when I went UOB in Nov. Just an acknowledgement of the fd? They said no need to bring cert when mature, just my IC & can go any branch?
The issue is related to open of new acct. I encountered when I wanted to open new joint acct. Already have personal acct there.

UOB not issuing FD cert as such (advice sheet only, check what they have gave you). UOB FD uplift just need IC, any branch can do. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jan 9 2015, 05:55 PM
bbgoat
post Jan 9 2015, 06:13 PM

6,614 posts

Looks like common for people to wait for hrs to get the acct opened and get FD cert in UOB !!  mad.gif I have already send a complaint to UOB, waiting for their reply.  biggrin.gif
Received a std reply from UOB:

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your email.

Thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We wish to inform that we are currently investigation the issue(s) raised in your email.

Please be assured that we will revert to you on the outcome or explanation once we have completed our investigations.

We appreciate your patience and understanding.

In the meantime, please email us again at uobcustomerservice@uob.com.my or contact our Customer Service at telephone number 03-2612 8121 (KL), 04-2401 121 (PNG), 07-2881 121 (JB), 082-287 121 (KCH), 088-477 121 (KK) if you require further assistance or information.

Lets see ...................... rclxms.gif
nexona88
post Jan 9 2015, 06:21 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 9 2015, 06:13 PM)
Received a std reply from UOB:

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your email.

Thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We wish to inform that we are currently investigation the issue(s) raised in your email.

Please be assured that we will revert to you on the outcome or explanation once we have completed our investigations.

We appreciate your patience and understanding.

In the meantime, please email us again at uobcustomerservice@uob.com.my or contact our Customer Service at telephone number 03-2612 8121 (KL), 04-2401 121 (PNG), 07-2881 121 (JB), 082-287 121 (KCH), 088-477 121 (KK) if you require further assistance or information.
Lets see ...................... rclxms.gif
lol copy paste reply.. don't expect high on them to act on your complain rolleyes.gif
bbgoat
post Jan 9 2015, 06:34 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 9 2015, 06:21 PM)
lol copy paste reply.. don't expect high on them to act on your complain rolleyes.gif
Well, I said std reply. What do you expect from them ? Maybe ended up saying system problem ......

Just to let them know customer frustration !!! You did not see what I wrote to them. brows.gif tongue.gif
nexona88
post Jan 9 2015, 06:37 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 9 2015, 06:34 PM)
Well, I said std reply. What do you expect from them ? Maybe ended up saying system problem ......

Just to let them know customer frustration !!! You did not see what I wrote to them.  brows.gif  tongue.gif
well I guess u wrote that u would withdraw all your $$ worth millions with them & also your family members sweat.gif
bbgoat
post Jan 9 2015, 06:40 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 9 2015, 06:37 PM)
well I guess u wrote that u would withdraw all your $$ worth millions with them & also your family members  sweat.gif
doh.gif laugh.gif tongue.gif
sweetpea123
post Jan 9 2015, 10:35 PM

800 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Jan 9 2015, 01:59 PM)
Give me a better deal (and better bank) than Ambank's 36-month 4.50% then all of use will make a switch.

Competitive FD departments, are you listening here?

We are ready, are you?
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif AMBANK SERVICE SUCK BIG TIME !!!!!
TSGen-X
post Jan 9 2015, 11:44 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Jan 9 2015, 05:49 PM)

Regarding the MBB multi-interest rate "stepup" averaging 4.12%, anyone see the T&C yet? I wonder if it actually works on "roll-over if not withdrawn" basis like PBB's
Bro, UOB where got FD Cert? UOB, OCBC and if not mistaken RHB too are Statement Based where no certs are issued.

Click here to read the article A Little Bit Of This and A Little Bit OF That Vol.1, Chapter VII where I highlighted on this matter. I mentioned that the FD acknowledgement copy can be thrown into the rubbish bin without any worries. I also mentioned the pros and cons of Statement Based Term/Fixed Deposit versus Certificate Type Fixed Deposit.

As for MBB 12 months step up, Monday onwards the Effective Interest Rate will be 4.07% even for Premier Wealth customers, Not sure for Private Banking customers if they still offering 4.2% as mentioned earlier by Pinnacle1295.

From what I know, if you withdraw prior to the first 3 months (which is the first "phase" of the step up), you will not get any dividend (yes, it is Islamic Term deposit). For subsequent months, if you make any withdrawals, the T&C did not specifically state the penalty but something like depending on Profit Sharing and also you may need to pay rebate. Click here to my Fixed Deposit Page if you want to see the breakdown of the Interest Rate Step Up Phases (can't think of a better word of hand, hahaha) again tongue.gif

Bro, if you ask me, PBB step up 12 months better, besides higher effective interest rate, the T& clearly states how much you will be paid should you uplift the FD and the end of the first 6 months. However, PBB also did state that the interest rate for the subsequent next 6 months is not guaranteed and subjected to OPR. And I guess why PBB can change the interest rate is because the Promo is joint with Term Deposit-i and we know that for Islamic Banking products, there is no such thing as guaranteed interest rate but dependent on profit sharing.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 9 2015, 11:47 PM
okuribito
post Jan 10 2015, 12:24 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 9 2015, 11:44 PM)
Bro, UOB where got FD Cert? UOB, OCBC and if not mistaken RHB too are Statement Based where no certs are issued.

That's what i remember also. But when bbgoat said "to get the acct opened and get FD cert in UOB" I ask lah becos I didn't get any cert as you had written before ... here's his post >>
Doubted on this requirement on Private Banking. You can try to call other MBB branches on the 4.12% FD promo.  biggrin.gif MBB branches have been known to cite different req'm for FD's.  smile.gif
As for MBB 12 months step up, Monday onwards the Effective Interest Rate will be 4.07% even for Premier Wealth customers, Not sure for Private Banking customers if they still offering 4.2% as mentioned earlier by Pinnacle1295.

From what I know, if you withdraw prior to the first 3 months (which is the first "phase" of the step up), you will not get any dividend (yes, it is Islamic Term deposit). For subsequent months, if you make any withdrawals, the T&C did not specifically state the penalty but something like depending on Profit Sharing and also you may need to pay rebate. Click here to my Fixed Deposit Page if you want to see the breakdown of the Interest Rate Step Up Phases (can't think of a better word of hand, hahaha) again  tongue.gif

Bro, if you ask me, PBB step up 12  months better, besides higher effective interest rate, the T& clearly states how much you will be paid should you uplift the FD and the end of the first 6 months. However, PBB also did state that the interest rate for the subsequent next 6 months is not guaranteed and subjected to OPR. And I guess why PBB can change the interest rate is because the Promo is joint with Term Deposit-i and we know that for Islamic Banking products, there is no such thing as guaranteed interest rate but dependent on profit sharing.
Absolutely! That's why I said in my earlier comment MBB's interest rate structure over the 12 mths force you to stay the course. After we learn to appreciate PBB's stepup structure, one look at MBB's and you can tell it's a poor attempt... I'd dare to say insincere! Still, I would like to read the actual mbb T&C but have not been able to find it. Can you pls post the link if you have it?

This post has been edited by okuribito: Jan 10 2015, 12:25 AM
TSGen-X
post Jan 10 2015, 01:02 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Jan 10 2015, 12:24 AM)
That's what i remember also. But when bbgoat said "to get the acct opened and get FD cert in UOB" I ask lah becos I didn't get any cert as you had written before ... here's his post >>
Absolutely! That's why I said in my earlier comment MBB's interest rate structure over the 12 mths force you to stay the course. After we learn to appreciate PBB's stepup structure, one look at MBB's and you can tell it's a poor attempt... I'd dare to say insincere! Still, I would like to read the actual mbb T&C but have not been able to find it. Can you pls post the link if you have it?
hahaha, that goat so mad with UOB that he got confused and thought that UOB issuing FD certs.

Bro, Maybank FD promos mostly under table promo, mana ada link, some of their staff don't even know the exact details of the promo, e.g. MBB staff told bbgoat that the 4.12% promo valid until end of the year doh.gif Last time the 4% upfront FD Attack some MBB staff also not aware. No lah, it is not that they insincere, if you do not withdraw before the agreed tenure, no issues.

It is just that PBB Step Up have been looking good because they had to revised upwards the effective interest rates to be competitive and retain the previous customers who got lower interest rates for the first 6 months. Maybank on the other hand, allows companies and societies to enjoy their FD/TD promos and as such usually their promo hit quota very fast and ends earlier than expected.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 10 2015, 01:12 AM
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Jan 10 2015, 07:47 AM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

BR - 3.2 % since Jan 15

b4 this how much is it..

will it affect fd rate ?

135 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top