6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

TAMIYA Mini4WD Le V15, Lets remp-it and loncat loncat!

soulfly
post Feb 18 2015, 10:05 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(AF21 @ Feb 18 2015, 10:01 PM)
Wowwwww! What grit of sand paper did you use?  shocking.gif
200 I think... could have used lower grit too. LOL.
soulfly
post Feb 19 2015, 12:12 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(moron88 @ Feb 19 2015, 01:26 AM)
Are HG or aluminium rims better than normal 5 spoke rims?
depends on how you use them.
some people like heavy wheels, but some prefer lighter setups

QUOTE(Gizmo135 @ Feb 19 2015, 04:31 AM)
I got some plated cowls  rclxm9.gif
where did u get those? do they really come together like that?

QUOTE(iamthebest22 @ Feb 19 2015, 11:59 AM)
I live in Canada sad.gif so with delivery to here it's pretty mcuh the same price. Btw is the Dash X1 Proto Emperor Premium purple worth getting?
it has no more than collectible value as far as i'm concerned.
soulfly
post Feb 19 2015, 02:19 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(iamthebest22 @ Feb 19 2015, 01:02 PM)
Even though I won't be doing it because due to where I am at, I want to be mainly a racer type. I will collect a certain kit ONLY if the kit has something that usually can't be obtained (i.e. like the tires or hardened chassis).

Happy Chinese New Year everyone btw!
I think in Malaysia here we are a bit spoiled because we can get loose parts, so sometimes there is no need to buy a kit. Limited edition kits, in complete box as it is, are usually bought by collectors. And we also have the choice of buying only specific parts like wheel sets only, chassis only, etc.
soulfly
post Feb 19 2015, 02:27 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(iamthebest22 @ Feb 19 2015, 02:23 PM)
Yeah i rely on HLJ, Hobby Search and BanzaiHobby, Banzai has usually the most parts, but their shipping now *grumles* for a box that could fit in about my backpack, they're charging me about 150 bucks for it :/ (guessing it has something to do with insurance in EMS) for stuff worth about 300.
Banzai shipping is like the most expensive among the 3 that I don't even bother ordering car kits from them anymore.
Their stuff always ran out of stock pretty quick too.
I would only order small parts, in big quantities, and get em shipped using the cheapest method (the normal shipping without tracking). A bit risky, but so far I never had any bad luck with Japanese shipments *touch wood*
soulfly
post Feb 19 2015, 02:48 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(AF21 @ Feb 19 2015, 02:46 PM)
Sorry. Not a fan of Blacktuners kind of stuff. I'm more inspired by hand made DIY customs like the japs (BIG & TTS)
anyhow. Just as we were speaking about MantaRay yesterday, look what I found   drool.gif
[attachmentid=4346537]
BIG and COB are my favs

Blacktuners make their cars for show off, while BIG (and the likes) actually race their cars.

This post has been edited by soulfly: Feb 19 2015, 02:55 PM
soulfly
post Feb 19 2015, 03:07 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(AF21 @ Feb 19 2015, 02:53 PM)
I think TMFL = TTS. I think.
COB is..?  hmm.gif
course out boyz
they're somewhat closely related to BIG

This post has been edited by soulfly: Feb 19 2015, 03:14 PM
soulfly
post Feb 20 2015, 12:45 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(iamthebest22 @ Feb 20 2015, 03:05 AM)
Since you showed that, when's the Korea 20th anniversary one coming out? I heard March, but it seems like it's available in Korea only? As I don't see it on HLJ yet, or hobby search.
pretty sure it's Tamiya Korea exclusive
have to get from Korean sources, or imported from there.
soulfly
post Feb 20 2015, 03:33 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(AF21 @ Feb 20 2015, 12:59 PM)
I got Stargek contacts bringing in Korea Avante.
Stargek will receive 25 cartons from Korea. That 25 cartons will be distributed among 4 countries in South East Asia.

That's all the info I can give for now smile.gif
i assume it's for malaysia, singapore, philippines and thailand?
soulfly
post Feb 20 2015, 07:21 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(Gizmo135 @ Feb 20 2015, 03:56 PM)
indonesia too..bt that would make 5  sweat.gif
now that you mention it, it's more likely indonesia, since there is tamiya philippines in the pinoy land.

QUOTE(blaze_spirit @ Feb 20 2015, 07:09 PM)
Thinking to make a speed car so wanna ask some sifu for opinion: usually I saw the setup for speed is using small size roller, is it faster compare to big size roller?
Most of the time speed setup uses AO 830 because of
- lightweight factor
- smoothness (compared to large size roller with 520 bearings, or 9~13mm roller bearings) Tamiya's AO 830 bearing is the best choice due to easy maintenance and doesn't rust.

This post has been edited by soulfly: Feb 20 2015, 07:28 PM
soulfly
post Feb 20 2015, 08:51 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(blaze_spirit @ Feb 20 2015, 08:27 PM)
both rear and front also using ao830? How about the front roller angle? Need to adjust (due to high speed)?
Minimal angle, just enough that the car won't fly at corners.
Sometimes you could do with zero (or near zero) angle, depending on the layout

But for speed with LC, you'll definitely need some angle to help counter the LC
soulfly
post Feb 20 2015, 10:47 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(Gizmo135 @ Feb 20 2015, 09:51 PM)
using Atomic Tuned engine in speed events? where thou? dats sound awesome dude..usually people use Sprint Dash..btw i think i'll open sale by end of this month..gonna have some must-have kits (collectors cant resist them) & normal kits..i think only for Malaysia buyers since i dunno how to appropriately handle international buyers (postage+cash transfer)..stay tuned  brows.gif
QUOTE(blaze_spirit @ Feb 20 2015, 10:06 PM)
Really? Faster than sprint dash? all of the while I think 27k rpm sprint dash is the fastest
just like @AF21 said, sprint dash will not be able to pass bridge LC

if you watch japan speed races, their layout only use LC due to original Tamiya 3 lane circuits only comes with bridge type LC. and for this, their races are often limited to torque tuned or atomic tuned, and sometimes rev tuned motor only... not because the organizer says so, but due to the layout restriction.

when you have light weight and FRP reinforced VS chassis with full bearing transmission, and ultra large diameter tires ... running on flat course, it's really really fast even on atomic.

The guys in Kuching occasionally does speed + LC races since last year. Haven't actually seen the same kind of race anywhere locally, lately. I tried to organize one last year, but not many interested even with cheap entry fee doh.gif

This post has been edited by soulfly: Feb 20 2015, 10:49 PM
soulfly
post Feb 22 2015, 05:49 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(noorimanyosh @ Feb 21 2015, 06:55 PM)
salam abam2 master sume...nk tanya..

ade sape2 penah beli tak Winning Bebird punye cowl yg imitation??

ok dop cowl tuh??pastu beli cowl tuh dpat klip dia sekali tak???
pakai cowl tu takyah pakai clip dah. tebuk skru aje, atau buat hanging jaw brows.gif
soulfly
post Feb 23 2015, 10:28 PM

15,903 posts

anyone got picture/guide for original AKD front?
planning to do super X AKD project
soulfly
post Feb 24 2015, 10:03 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(Cim~ @ Feb 24 2015, 09:03 PM)

This is meant for tracks with no change lane right? Because the rollers will skid on change lanes. Hence, what do people do to lower the rollers on high speed tracks w/ change lanes (rainbow or standard change lane).
Tamiya races always have lane changers, either bridge type or rainbow type.
My setup is for speed with rainbow lane changers.
soulfly
post Feb 24 2015, 10:23 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(Cim~ @ Feb 24 2015, 10:13 PM)
Does the screw / lower roller skid on the slope track or you lower as low as possible while not skidding / braking on the slope of the change lane?
It looks so low in the pic, but in reality it doesn't scrap the track when going up on the banks.
There's actually a few mm clearance when going through the bank

Unlike some people who does not have common sense, they have the screw heads at the bottom so low that their cars scrape tracks like nobody's business. shakehead.gif
soulfly
post Feb 24 2015, 10:46 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(Cim~ @ Feb 24 2015, 10:29 PM)
Got it. I almost thought of attaching skid brake (the stock part that came on AR / MA chassis) to lower the rollers like attaching brake pads in speed tech if lowering rollers is really needed.

Any ideas on my other questions? Plus, on high speeds, do you prefer the roller width to exactly touch the track walls or you put allowance?
When I look at your car picture, I mean, I'm not sure how you guys set up the rollers over there, but we here use rollers on its specifically assigned holes.
For example, the most outer hole is for 9mm, the mid one for 13mm, and the most inner one for 19mm. That's the standard followed by everyone, as far as I'm concerned. We don't install rollers by 'feel' lol.

I know Indonesian mini 4wd racer fits roller to the almost exact width of the track lane, but those are not Tamiya race. They're Soda or Nascar stuffs, which have different approach in setup.

In a high speed track (with straights and curves and 1 rainbow change lane), my car flies on the rainbow change lane lately (when the same track layout was transferred to another location). Any ideas what to adjust? I was thinking there was a problem with the change lane but Indonesian Mini 4WD's which are super fast did not fly off on the change lane."

With Ultra Dash, try use higher stabilizer at the front. Just double rollers without a tall positioned stabilizer is not enough. Get the stabilizing pole to be at least the same height of the wheel, but not too high.
But since the layout is just using rainbow, you could just skip the double roller and go for 9mm ball bearing, or better, the Tamiya AO 830 ball bearing as roller. They're light, smooth and doesn't rust.

As for your front bumper plates, FRP wont cut it, really. Because it will somehow flexes at high speed cornering, which could make your car fly out, or just reduces your cornering speed. Get at least a 2mm HG carbon plates.
You could use normal FRP if the motor is limited to the lightweight ones like stock motor, torque tuned or atomic. But with more powerful motor, use HG carbon plates, 2mm at least.

You might also want to change the roller hole position. Use your 13mm double roller in the middle hole (the 2nd last hole).

I have no comment regarding 2-lane tracks due to no experience with them.

This post has been edited by soulfly: Feb 24 2015, 10:52 PM
soulfly
post Feb 25 2015, 10:51 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(Cim~ @ Feb 25 2015, 10:11 PM)
Question about HG FRP's: Will combining 2 FRP's act as substitute? How about FRP-spacer-FRP?
2 FRP superglued might be a better choice than FRP-spacer-FRP
because spacers add unnecessary weight

The reason we use smaller rollers and minimal accessories/attachment is to reduce weight.

In Malaysia, most organizers stick to the standard Tamiya Japan rules, so we could only have 6 rollers at max, and no Ultra/Plasma motor allowed (although at rare times these motors are allowed by some small time organizers).

Our speed-oriented setup is usually more toward lightweight and simplicity. Which is why we use Tamiya AO 830 bearings, which are a bit costly, but low maintenance and high durability and smoothness.

For races with speed limited motor (torque/atomic/rev) we tend to go as light as possible (Super II, VS). Major chassis cutting with FRP/carbon reinforcements.
But with races with higher speed motor (mach dash pro/sprint dash) chassis durability and hardness is also very important, because 'flexing' usually apparent when more powerful motor used. Our choice of chassis are usually MS and reinforced Super II, and recently discovered potential the AR.

My opinion about large rollers like 19mm ones, is that they wiggle a bit. For me that is not ideal when paired with powerful motors. There is also a bit more weight in them. Some people don't mind. I only use them for other type of race though.
soulfly
post Feb 27 2015, 02:21 PM

15,903 posts

my setup always 100% ori brows.gif
even the screws and nuts icon_idea.gif
soulfly
post Feb 28 2015, 11:33 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(AF21 @ Feb 28 2015, 12:51 PM)
Finally got my hands on them gills!!!
[attachmentid=4354690]

[attachmentid=4354697]
I think Tamiya Crusz still have them for cheap.
Where did u get yours?

I'm making Laser Gill Super X AKD thumbup.gif
soulfly
post Mar 3 2015, 12:38 AM

15,903 posts

my attempt to do the 'original AKD' setup
learned from Zul TU

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top