Exhaust Setting VS Gear Shift (AT)

TSBob-Marley
post Dec 30 2014, 09:38 PM, updated 11y ago

Hi all sifu2 icon_question.gif

recently, my car(AT) are having 2 issues:-

1. gear shift earlier than before, they shift at between RPM 1.7-2.5, and im stepping the pedal as usual, not too hard/ light.

And 2. no pick up unless i step hard.

im not sure if it was related to my full exhaust changed recently, due to crackin' here n ther.
this is wat recomended:
4-2-1 (nt sure the size, but told its only have 1 size for my model)
2 bullet (long n sort)
1.6 piping
mugen twin loop (imitation)

car driven:-
Honda City SX8 (yr1998)
1.5 AT.

thank you very much icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by Bob-Marley: Dec 30 2014, 11:05 PM
amad108
post Dec 30 2014, 10:24 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

Piping size same as before?
TSBob-Marley
post Dec 31 2014, 01:07 AM

QUOTE(amad108 @ Dec 30 2014, 10:24 PM)
Piping size same as before?
yes it is. bt i din measure the ori 1, nt sure wat diff it is.
but i GUESS just a slightly wider. huhu

current-
1.5 in, 2.0 out for 421, 1.6 piping.
amad108
post Dec 31 2014, 02:38 AM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

try to post here.. there's a lot people can help u there..
TSBob-Marley
post Dec 31 2014, 10:04 AM

QUOTE(amad108 @ Dec 31 2014, 02:38 AM)
try to post here.. there's a lot people can help u there..
Noted! great 1, will go thru them and see...thanks yo notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
k!nex
post Dec 31 2014, 11:55 AM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

I had an SX8 2001 model as well.

I changed exhaust as well because it had rusted. I did not choose Mugen Twin loop because that time only have 2 choices for the inlet which is 2.0inch and 2.5inch.I choosed something with smaller inlet S flow muffler. Piping size I also up it to 1.6inch from original 1.5inch.

I believe its your muffler inlet too big, that is why the car like no power.

I remember last time the exhaust shop did solder a silencer inside the bullet to increase back pressure / scavenging effect.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Dec 31 2014, 11:56 AM
TSBob-Marley
post Dec 31 2014, 07:08 PM

QUOTE(k!nex @ Dec 31 2014, 11:55 AM)
I had an SX8 2001 model as well.

I changed exhaust as well because it had rusted. I did not choose Mugen Twin loop because that time only have 2 choices for the inlet which is 2.0inch and 2.5inch.I choosed something with smaller inlet S flow muffler.  Piping size I also up it to 1.6inch from original 1.5inch.

I believe its your muffler inlet too big, that is why the car like no power.

I remember last time the exhaust shop did solder a silencer inside the bullet to increase back pressure / scavenging effect.
Hello rclxms.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

shocking.gif shocking.gif oh really? i took the 2 inch, cos its a smallest. but i thot the muffler will not affect the performace but only sound...danq
yewly1990
post Jan 2 2015, 12:30 AM

QUOTE(Bob-Marley @ Dec 30 2014, 09:38 PM)
Hi all sifu2 icon_question.gif

recently, my car(AT) are having 2 issues:-

1. gear shift earlier than before, they shift at between RPM 1.7-2.5, and im stepping the pedal as usual, not too hard/ light.

And 2. no pick up unless i step hard.
im not sure if it was related to my full exhaust changed recently, due to crackin' here n ther.
this is wat recomended:
4-2-1 (nt sure the size, but told its only have 1 size for my model)
2 bullet (long n sort)
1.6 piping
mugen twin loop (imitation)

car driven:-
Honda City SX8 (yr1998)
1.5 AT.

thank you very much  icon_question.gif
Gear box change fliud on time? every 20~30k?

Usually changing new exhaust system u will having different powerband.
Most car after change whole system, specially header, the car refuse to go when hard press, or refuse to go when light press... Thats why sometimes ppl not recommended to change header / decat if u did not plan to retune your car with piggyback.

TSBob-Marley
post Jan 2 2015, 05:49 PM

QUOTE(yewly1990 @ Jan 2 2015, 12:30 AM)
Gear box change fliud on time? every 20~30k?

Usually changing new exhaust system u will having different powerband.
Most car after change whole system, specially header, the car refuse to go when hard press, or refuse to go when light press... Thats why sometimes ppl not recommended to change header / decat if u did not plan to retune your car with piggyback.
i guess its chge around on time, now using penzoil, (honda atf too exp) sad.gif

piggyback = smtg like emanage? shocking.gif

it was chged bcos cracked evywher cry.gif ...n the short bullet come after, cos ihav no pwer at pickup+gear shift earliy, pomen told to add-in a short 1....no gain a very little, n rpm goes quite high like dw to shift.
TSBob-Marley
post Jan 2 2015, 11:05 PM

isit true that gear shift based on back pressure? (wana make sure if it is wat causing gear shift early)
damn.............
yewly1990
post Jan 3 2015, 12:44 AM

QUOTE(Bob-Marley @ Jan 2 2015, 05:49 PM)

it was chged bcos cracked evywher  cry.gif ...n the short bullet come after, cos ihav no pwer at pickup+gear shift earliy, pomen told to add-in a short 1....no gain a very little, n rpm goes quite high like dw to shift.
Yes, something like emanage...

Actually I have some recommended set up for 1.5 auto, for model with cat con... there are few choices.*without change header

1st : change everything after cat con... to 1 long bullet + system block type muffler + 1.6 mandrel bent or 1.75 crush bent.

2nd : Decat ( if the oem cat is stuck ), replace cat with a twist type bullet, or replace with a straight through short type bullet, other same with the 1st choise.

Technically the back pressure change your car powerband, which might made higher or lower low end torque, which will slightly effected gear change.
Exhaust gases back pressure din`t effect your gear change.. your exhaust gases will never go to your gear box marh...

TSBob-Marley
post Jan 3 2015, 04:58 PM

QUOTE(yewly1990 @ Jan 3 2015, 12:44 AM)
Yes, something like emanage...

Actually I have some recommended set up for 1.5 auto, for model with cat con... there are few choices.*without change header

1st : change everything after cat con... to 1 long bullet + system block type muffler + 1.6 mandrel bent or 1.75 crush bent.

2nd : Decat ( if the oem cat is stuck ), replace cat with a twist type bullet, or replace with a straight through short type bullet, other same with the 1st choise.

Technically the back pressure change your car powerband, which might made higher or lower low end torque, which will slightly effected gear change.
Exhaust gases back pressure din`t effect your gear change.. your exhaust gases will never go to your gear box marh...
thanks!! for the suggestion smile.gif bt my header sudah crack, same goes other.

1st- wat is system block type muffler? (gas go around in the box bru keluar?) n muffler wit bent bent?

2nd- r u sayin replace the 1 of the '2' in 4'2'1 to a short bullet? o.o

u'r right, gas dont go into gb. i rmb i saw somewher sayin ie. less backpressure on AT will make shift chge earlier, nt sure abt is true or wat....hehehe

efaceninja
post Jan 3 2015, 05:01 PM

QUOTE(Bob-Marley @ Jan 2 2015, 11:05 PM)
isit true that gear shift based on back pressure? (wana make sure if it is wat causing gear shift early)
damn.............
Gear shift is supposed to based on engine load and throttle demand. When you changed the exhaust, it affects the back pressure, which affects engine load. The ecu detects higher load (due to back pressure) so it may thought that you're climbing up hill, or towing something, so it don't change gear as it thought you need more torque/power at the higher rpm range
TSBob-Marley
post Jan 3 2015, 08:51 PM

QUOTE(efaceninja @ Jan 3 2015, 05:01 PM)
Gear shift is supposed to based on engine load and throttle demand. When you changed the exhaust, it affects the back pressure, which affects engine load. The ecu detects higher load (due to back pressure) so it may thought that you're climbing up hill, or towing something, so it don't change gear as it thought you need more torque/power at the higher rpm range
in opposite, can i say if ecu detect less back pressure then it'll shift to next gear?
**less back pressure = no load OR/AND gas pass thru fast due to (1) nt much restriction on muffler box (2) muffler in/outlet size too big for ur car

sry noobie hmm.gif
k!nex
post Jan 3 2015, 11:02 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(Bob-Marley @ Jan 2 2015, 05:49 PM)

it was chged bcos cracked evywher  cry.gif ...n the short bullet come after, cos ihav no pwer at pickup+gear shift earliy, pomen told to add-in a short 1....no gain a very little, n rpm goes quite high like dw to shift.
Honda ATF too expensive ??? It is like RM22/L in 2013 . Your car only needs 2.5L . Use only Honda ATF-Z1 . Don't simply listen to the mechanics and use other stuffs. The gearbox is much more sensitive than the engine. You're really asking for trouble if you try being cheapskate on this stuff.
yewly1990
post Jan 3 2015, 11:26 PM

QUOTE(Bob-Marley @ Jan 3 2015, 04:58 PM)
thanks!! for the suggestion smile.gif bt my header sudah crack, same goes other.

1st- wat is system block type muffler? (gas go around in the box bru keluar?) n muffler wit bent bent?

2nd- r u sayin replace the 1 of the '2' in 4'2'1 to a short bullet? o.o

u'r right, gas dont go into gb. i rmb i saw somewher sayin ie. less backpressure on AT will make shift chge earlier, nt sure abt is true or wat....hehehe
For honda city sx8 larh...
I recommended to replace header with a design which same with your stock, sx8 originally comes with long type 4-2-1 if I`m not wrong.
So u just get a long type 4-2-1.

So here is the setting, Header 4-2-1 > 1.6 piping > 40cm bullet > 1.6 piping > system block muffler.

System block type muffler are those tri flow/dual flow/twin loop/chamber type.
Tri flow muffler in local they called it S-flow.

The exhaust backpressure effect your engine power... and technically the power effected your gear change.

I usually never ask my customer to change header and cat con, unless it is crack or rust, talk about cat con, i think city sx8 dun have 1.
TSBob-Marley
post Jan 4 2015, 12:51 AM

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jan 3 2015, 11:02 PM)
Honda ATF too expensive ??? It is like RM22/L in 2013 . Your car only needs 2.5L . Use only Honda ATF-Z1 . Don't simply listen to the mechanics and use other stuffs. The gearbox is much more sensitive than the engine. You're really asking for trouble if you try being cheapskate on this stuff.
haha den nt sure wat make me think its expensive lol smile.gif sad.gif
probably bcos of gear shift prob. nt fixed tho...wil hav atfz1 soon he2

QUOTE(yewly1990 @ Jan 3 2015, 11:26 PM)
For honda city sx8 larh...
I recommended to replace header with a design which same with your stock, sx8 originally comes with long type 4-2-1 if I`m not wrong.
So u just get a long type 4-2-1.

So here is the setting, Header 4-2-1 > 1.6 piping > 40cm bullet > 1.6 piping > system block muffler.

System block type muffler are those tri flow/dual flow/twin loop/chamber type.
Tri flow muffler in local they called it S-flow.

The exhaust backpressure effect your engine power... and technically the power effected your gear change.

I usually never ask my customer to change header and cat con, unless it is crack or rust, talk about cat con, i think city sx8 dun have 1.
THAT is wat my setting at 1st place yo..until las week addin 2nd bullet, help a LITTLE at low end, little + top speed 'lesser'......

yep only 1 size for sx8, wat pomen said la....n sx8 do have cat,, probably nt functionable after 15 yrs, nw, 16 biggrin.gif

ard on twinloop 2inch. mayb wat k!nex said is right, too big for a 1.5 AT, cudn 'keep' pressure....or else itself doesnt restrict much......BUT, why some other r doin fine wit it, hahaha.....

k!nex
post Jan 4 2015, 02:18 AM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(Bob-Marley @ Jan 4 2015, 12:51 AM)
THAT is wat my setting at 1st place yo..until las week addin 2nd bullet, help a LITTLE at low end, little + top speed 'lesser'......

yep only 1 size for sx8, wat pomen said la....n sx8 do have cat,, probably nt functionable after 15 yrs, nw, 16 biggrin.gif

ard on twinloop 2inch. mayb wat k!nex said is right, too big for a 1.5 AT, cudn 'keep' pressure....or else itself doesnt restrict much......BUT, why some other r doin fine wit it, hahaha.....
SX8 original catcon comes together with the extractor as 1 piece. Once you change extractor, the catcon is gone too.
yewly1990
post Jan 4 2015, 03:27 AM

QUOTE(Bob-Marley @ Jan 4 2015, 12:51 AM)

Did u double confirm with yout current header size, and your muffler should not bigger than 30cm..., 2.0 is okie for u,
and how long was your header lenght?
TSBob-Marley
post Jan 4 2015, 11:53 AM

QUOTE(yewly1990 @ Jan 4 2015, 03:27 AM)
Did u double confirm with yout current header size, and your muffler should not bigger than 30cm..., 2.0 is okie for u,
and how long was your header lenght?
if im nt mistaken, the header size - 1.58, 1.6, 2.0 accordingly. il update here once i get info (header length+muffler) from the mech biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Bob-Marley: Jan 4 2015, 09:18 PM

0.0202sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:50 AM