How to bypass TMNet torrent shaping / throttling?, NEWBIE - Read 1st Post
tirumisu
Nov 1 2006, 03:35 PM

QUOTE(steven437 @ Nov 1 2006, 02:51 PM) we just got to leave with it. I been sending mutiple email to them  saying what they are doing infect my company connection as well which is true  i keep having time out and just imagine me have to settle with 7 screamyx line  , my boss scream i also kena scream  5 corporate line from tmnuts somemore  this is how they provide the service to us. sigh~~ haiii they really make other people suffer  What your company do with their ADSL leh?Your boss download P2P stuffs all day long kah?I see no reason for regular websurfing and http transfers to be affected. People are complaining because they can't get their P2P to download porn at home like they use to before the P2P throttling started. So what's wrong with your company's line?I see no reason for any slow web browsing at the moment.
tirumisu
Nov 2 2006, 10:09 AM

This is my neighbour's Home66 connection, screenshot just taken a few minutes ago.As u can see bting can easily hit 60kB/sec in just few seconds.This is an example of TMnet Penang gateway's unthrottled ports.Damn lucky peopl up north... There's no proxy used here.
tirumisu
Nov 6 2006, 01:47 PM

To those who are considering using VPN tuneling services such as HTTP Tunnel and Relakks, I want to advise you not to fall for them because TMet has already started throttling your HTTP downloads from overseas whic is pure BS con act. Those who are using HTTP tunnel client just do a bandwidth test with the client's built in bandwidth meter and you'll see that even your premium line can never go beyond 20kB/s.You can also try doing a speedtest which has a server located overseas like in the US and you'll notice that your 1.5mbps line is not much better than a 512kbps and even a 384kbps line sometimes.
Such VPN tunneling services banks on your HTTP/Socks4/5 port connections to route other application packets to prevent TMnet's P2P packet filtering server from shaping your speed.But as you can see, they have now even make a loser move to limit your overseas bandwidth connection to somewhere like 20kB/s.So no matter how your tunneling service encrypts the packets the route that sends it over will only reach around 20kB/s now.In other words our lines are actually crippled lines that only shows 1500/512 on our modem config screen.
Apart from being able to get 1300-1400kbps speed test results and using download managers to speed up your downloads, there is nothing much you can do by paying an extra RM22 every month.
tirumisu
Nov 6 2006, 02:17 PM

QUOTE(Haruji Sora @ Nov 6 2006, 02:04 PM) You sure about that? Last few days on those rare occasion that a JPN high speed peer went through and get connected, I still manage to get above 60kb/s from that single connection. It's rare though.... This is proof:  I am using the latest client with paid subscription.Using direct dialer connect not router mode and firewall was set to allow VPN pass through.
tirumisu
Nov 6 2006, 05:05 PM

QUOTE(nwk @ Nov 6 2006, 04:42 PM) if tm@nut dares to cap corporate user's vpn or ssh then they will see tons of law suits thrown at them by these big corporate users. it will be out on the news everywhere if that happens and tm@nut will never hear the end of it from those big corporations. imo tm@nut will not temper with these services because of these big corparate users. Well you see problem is very few companies use VPN to send large amounts of data.Even for banks a dedicated dual channel 128kbps ISDN line will work for transfering databases across branches.Of course more is better. The VPN just works like a pipe.Virtual as it implies, it creates a non physical pipe/tunnel/connection between you and the secure server.It's basically a proxy so at the end of the day it still depends on TMnet's network to connect you to the overseas server.Data that is being send across the connection established between you and the server is encrypted.The only benefit that you'll get is that the data is only between you and the tuneling service provider.They'll provide the necessary connection to the servers/peers you request to connect to and send it back to you over the secured link without your isp,the government and 3rd parties from knowing unless they are capable of intercepting these packets. Earlier we used this tunneling service because it could hide P2P packets from being detected by TMnet's P2P filtering solution.But it's a matter of time before they'll notice about the high bandwidth/traffic of users connecting to these secure tunneling servers.All they have to do is to shape the connection speed to these server ips and poof! we get throttled once again.Even if your tunneling service client can establish multiple connections back to its server, you're back to square one when your overseas connection is limited. This post has been edited by tirumisu: Nov 6 2006, 05:08 PM
tirumisu
Nov 6 2006, 05:21 PM

QUOTE(virtual @ Nov 6 2006, 05:12 PM) What you were saying is right. But, do they have the right to do so? I meant who knows what the VPN users doing. If they transfer large data for research, who knows? Is it legal to do so? Subscribers deserve their own privacy.The way you brought it up it worries me quite a bit.It hints that our isps are reading what we see on our computer screen if they wanted too.I may sound paranoid but our isps, other people and even the government has no right to interfere unless it involves huge concerns for the country.It's absolutely against human rights and unethical. Come on let's say if I'm a research student doing some important research and I made a significant discovery.If you were that position do you want your data stolen or published by someone else in some journal claiming that it's his work?You may also not want people seeing what you upload into your personal ftp/hosting server don't you? This post has been edited by tirumisu: Nov 6 2006, 05:25 PM
tirumisu
Nov 6 2006, 08:55 PM

QUOTE(ocdetective @ Nov 6 2006, 08:16 PM) Besides if the limit is say 20kB/s per peer and using such tunneling methodology allows full peer access then ones bandwidth is utilised with just 6 peers on a 1M setup. That's misguiding.It still relies on the connection between you and the VPN server to allow that 6 peers traffic to reach you.The VPN service does not allow you to make 6 different connections to these peers to max out your 1M setup.Al of the packets sent by them will be forwarded through a single connection established betwen you and the VPN server. You see the problem is if my 1500kbps connection can download over 100kB/s from a US server I won't be complaining.It's can hardly achieve 30kB/s.
tirumisu
Nov 8 2006, 11:31 AM

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Nov 8 2006, 09:50 AM) hey forget to add that my fren also BM got speed exceeding 250kB/s  So how you think Tmnet should compensate us Central and Southern region users for paying the same but getting speeds which are much lesser than those in Penang, Bukit Mertajam(BM), Sugai Petani and Alor Setar users? Give us half a month rebate la.I doubt many will be reluctant to cancel their Streamyx service.If most Klang Valley subscribers cancel their subscription is enough to half Stremyx user base to almost half.I'm serious.Most Streamyx subscribers are located in the Kland Valley.