How to bypass TMNet torrent shaping / throttling?, NEWBIE - Read 1st Post

-=Axis=-
post Oct 1 2006, 08:13 AM

- SS -
2,453 posts

QUOTE(blackamikaze @ Sep 30 2006, 07:26 PM)
i use this one

https://www.secure-tunnel.com .. u can pay with paypal or credit card. They got tutorial on their website. But please dont expect too much since sumtimes their server will be loaded so the speed gonna decrease a little.. but at least u can download from internation peer n u can sleep without worry.  biggrin.gif

but i also found another one..

http://www.pfproxy.com .. 15 dollar a month via e-gold. This still new, i dont how good 
their services. Maybe sumone can try  tongue.gif

for sumone who wanna find free solution, sorry.. i cant find yet.
hi blackamikaze,

about the secure tunnel, what's the average DL speed during day time, and night time? also, what is the difference between platinum and gold package? i think i'm going to get an account if the DL speed is good.

This post has been edited by -=Axis=-: Oct 1 2006, 08:14 AM
-=Axis=-
post Oct 1 2006, 11:36 PM

- SS -
2,453 posts

i tried the platinum package. should've taken the gold but nevermind, guess i'll change my plan next month, or switch to another SSH. DL speed around 40-50 but there are local seeds under the peer list. international connection still awful. if i run my utorrent without SSH, max i can reach is 20kb/s. with free VPN i manage to hit 50 sometimes even more but it always DC me from MSN, browser and so on. also not as stable as SSH.
-=Axis=-
post Oct 2 2006, 12:57 AM

- SS -
2,453 posts

QUOTE(blackamikaze @ Oct 2 2006, 12:20 AM)
thats weird... i can hit 100kb/s on private tracker that dont have local peer at all.. very good huh.. but yeah vpn quite pain in the ass..
please, may i know what BT client are you using and how the settings are like?

This post has been edited by -=Axis=-: Oct 2 2006, 12:58 AM
-=Axis=-
post Oct 2 2006, 01:31 AM

- SS -
2,453 posts

QUOTE(blackamikaze @ Oct 2 2006, 01:23 AM)
i using utorrent.. default setting. I only change the proxy, disable PE n in advace setting i change my max_halfopen to 50. thats all.. but the speed from private tracker. Its normal when sumtime the speed goes up n down..
okie. i'll give that a shot. thanks a lot.
-=Axis=-
post Oct 2 2006, 06:44 AM

- SS -
2,453 posts

@altie,

take it easy. legal disclaimer is a must for this type of service in order to clear themselves from any busy body like MPAA and such. who doesn't know smoking is bad and yet we have amaran oleh karajaan malaysia yada-yada. each and every torrent listing site also disclaimed all sort of this and that nonsense. take it easy, buddy :D
-=Axis=-
post Oct 2 2006, 01:10 PM

- SS -
2,453 posts

QUOTE(Zephro @ Oct 2 2006, 12:48 PM)
I'm curious though. How does this SSH bypass the throttling? Enlighten me smile.gif
encryption.

normally: your BT client <-> other BT clients. so TMNET knows what kind of data is being transferred and throttling can be applied.

with SSH: your BT client <-> 1 or sometimes 2 or may be more SSH Server(s) and encrypted <-> other BT clients. data is 1024-SSH encrypted.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ssh

my current connection: 1.06pm.

-=Axis=-
post Oct 5 2006, 11:27 PM

- SS -
2,453 posts

QUOTE(tvcat @ Oct 5 2006, 11:17 PM)
oh yeah, this is the reply i want....
u have to put this on first post...
i just dun want ppl die becos of rumor... it can kill, dun u think ??
how about me asking you to prove that TMNET doesn't cap the line? would you able to prove it? your screen shot doesn't prove nothing. that might not be you and if it is, you might not even be using streamyx. or may be you're on proxy, we don't know. more to the point, even if you can prove it, that's only YOU. how about majority of the slow screenies out there?

you have to be one the lamest, arrogant joker that i've ever met.
-=Axis=-
post Oct 5 2006, 11:37 PM

- SS -
2,453 posts

QUOTE(tvcat @ Oct 5 2006, 11:31 PM)
im so sad, that why i post screen shot upon request... do u follow the story ??
i did follow your fairy tales. your screenie proves nothing. no peer list, no connection info. there is much more to prove and please refer to my previous post if you're not following the story. if you can't prove nothing, what makes you think that we have to prove anything to you?

how then would you explain why only until recently, this issue surfaced? how on earth that ppl were doing 100-90kb/s for years and all of sudden having problem to reach 10kb/s at the moment?

This post has been edited by -=Axis=-: Oct 5 2006, 11:39 PM
-=Axis=-
post Oct 6 2006, 12:53 AM

- SS -
2,453 posts

QUOTE(altie @ Oct 6 2006, 12:40 AM)
Notice to thread posters

Thank you for your patience in regards to the recent unpleasant episode. The off-topic posts have been dealt with and should no longer hamper your browsing experience. As for the forumer in question, the matter is currently being handled via PM. An amicable solution has been offered. This incident will most likely not repeat itself.

My sincere apologies I took awhile to take action. I hope you will continue to contribute to this topic. We may now put this bitter incident behind us.

Onward!

This post will be deleted in 2 days.
further discussion of whether TMNET is capping our lines or not should be at another thread. ask that fella to open one if there isn't any. thank you for your effort of avoiding this thread from being contaminated by some arrogant apes.
-=Axis=-
post Oct 8 2006, 09:39 AM

- SS -
2,453 posts

QUOTE(TC_Boy @ Oct 8 2006, 02:09 AM)
There are no free stable proxy servers that will give u high speeds. Worse, using those free proxy servers could get you in trouble if they report you to TM Net for 'hacking' into their servers.
if someone listed their free proxy up to a proxy listing site, it's free and anyone could connect to it. it's not hacking by any means.
-=Axis=-
post Oct 11 2006, 11:46 PM

- SS -
2,453 posts

for the time being, i guess proxy, vpn are our only options. i don't put much hope on them about removing the cap. TMNet, i don't trust them at all. i use it because i have no choice. i been using it since its 1st launch years ago. i won't mind paying double, or even triple of the price that i'm paying now to have a proper broadband with no capping of whatsoever. until then, we do what we can. if you rely on them, you will go nuts.
-=Axis=-
post Oct 12 2006, 12:17 AM

- SS -
2,453 posts

QUOTE(kemikelx @ Oct 12 2006, 12:08 AM)
If you guys are using VPN or proxy, isnt it defeating the purpose of the nutz limiting international bandwidth.
Either way, you are still utilizing the int'l bandwidth right?
from what i've noticed, they didn't limit all international connection. they targetted on P2P. with proxy and such, data is highly encrypted accross the network thus throttling is impossible, period.
-=Axis=-
post Oct 14 2006, 12:52 PM

- SS -
2,453 posts

take it easy man. i've never send them any email as they will just copy and paste a formal bullshit to me and i'm dead sure that it's not helping at all. if urgent, call them and give them a piece of your mind. for line capping, look around and try one of the solution that has been discussed before. you do what you can, for your own good. no point messing around with their customer service because they're not the one who capped your line. they can't do shit about it besides telling you stories and waste your time.

relakks seems to be working fine for me at the moment. limit my DL speed to 60kb/s, max peers 100 per torrent, 200 global. everything else left untouched.

-=Axis=-
post Oct 16 2006, 06:49 AM

- SS -
2,453 posts

guess my line is doomed. no matter what method i tried, my DL speed in under 20kb/s. i spent the whole night messing around bitcomet, utorrent, different torrents, ST, relakks, secureIX.. none of them worked.

http download is fine though.
-=Axis=-
post Oct 20 2006, 03:07 PM

- SS -
2,453 posts

help needed. even with ST i'm running under 10kb/s. any alternatives? or may be let me punch someone right between his eyes.
-=Axis=-
post Oct 21 2006, 08:27 AM

- SS -
2,453 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Oct 20 2006, 05:50 PM)
I am using HTTP tunnel, and my speed DOUBLED, YEAHH

Before tunneling, 2kb, after tunelling 4kb....at least my 1gb file will download in half the time.
1 GB at constant 4kb/s = 582.5 hours = 24 days. well, better than 2kb/s anyway.

48 days for 1GB. that's what TMNet wanted us to do. anymore than that and they'll accuse us for abusing our connection. they really deserved a big middle finger (not our money) for providing this kind of so called services.
-=Axis=-
post Oct 28 2006, 12:59 AM

- SS -
2,453 posts

finally, i got a reply from relakks. i sent them 4 or 5 emails ages ago because i wasn't able to connect to their server. looks like they were having problem with their mail server as well. they sent me a reply after 19 days. extended my subscription for another month without charge as compensation.
-=Axis=-
post Nov 2 2006, 11:32 AM

- SS -
2,453 posts

having weird connection here. i got 2 files, loaded with international seeders. one is runinng at 160kb/s while the other one is less than 5kb/s. on 1mb package, not using any tunnel/proxy though. if i pause the fast one, the slow ain't increasing either. what the hell is going on?

user posted image user posted image

-=Axis=-
post Nov 2 2006, 12:21 PM

- SS -
2,453 posts

QUOTE(Salamander @ Nov 2 2006, 12:15 PM)
I notice the fast torrent you have going is primarily made up of people using the utorrent client. Taking a look at the flags (DE/D IE) , all of them are running encryption (I wish i was connected to more utorrent seeders like that hehe). In the other pic, you are indeed connected to only a few of the seeds who aren't running any encryption (flags are D I, though there was one with an E that you were connected with). Not sure though, I see other ip's with encryption on but no speed. I'm curious, are these two torrents from the same tracker? Can you give me a pm of the address of the tracker if possible? That speed is pretty darned good for the 1mb package, I think you've been upgraded to 1.5m. In any case, when you paused the first torrent, it probably still had open connections (the previous connections were not dropped, but weren't transferring any data, because you may have already reached the limit of global maximum connections) that's why the other torrent did not increase in speed (I may be wrong though).
you've got pm.

0.0426sec    1.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:47 AM