How To Turn An Idea Into A Business

TSlouislim2
post Sep 25 2006, 08:20 PM, updated 20y ago

49 posts

I found this articles would help who wanna do business.Check this out.

Do you have an idea for a business? Perhaps the only idea you have is that you NEED an idea so you CAN start a business. Before turning any idea into a business, you must first have a plan to succeed.

Behind every successful business you'll find at least one great idea. For most people, the definition of a successful business is one which is profitable, and a profitable business is built upon ideas that have been properly researched.

Here are some steps you can take to research your idea and turn it into a profitable business:

1.Make a list of the reasons why you want to go into business for yourself. Look at your list critically. Does starting your own business help you realize these things? An excellent eBook to help you get in touch with your underlying motivations and desires, and create true prosperity from your venture is "The Science of Getting Rich". You can get it free here.

2.Make a list of the things you like to do with your time. Success can be elusive if you're not truly excited about your business. What are your interests and hobbies? What are you good at? What do other people say you are good at? This list represents broad business models which will give you the greatest joy over time. Decide which item(s) on your list you would most like to develop into a business. If you need help coming up with an idea, try Wayne Yeager's book "1000 Ways To Make Money".

3.Focus on filling a niche. It is your expertise, uniquely practiced and applied within your business field, that creates your niche in the market. Throughout the research stage of your idea, pay close attention to how your business can fill a niche. For more on choosing a niche, here is some sound advice from Willie Crawford.

4.Talk to friends or family who own or work in a similar business. Get their input on your idea. What needs improved on? Why should it be improved and how? Talk to business owners in neighboring towns - so you won't be perceived as a competitor - and get their input on your idea. These people will likely have insights you never considered.

5.Participate in discussion forums. This is a great way to take the pulse of your potential customers. You can also see trends, get feedback, and establish working relationships with like-minded people.

6.Evaluate the demand for your product or service. You need to understand the pace and direction of your industry. This understanding alerts you to shortcomings with your idea and helps you channel your energies correctly. It also helps you approach your business with innovation and vision.

7.For a snapshot of demand by Internet users for your product of service, try the Keyword Suggestion Tool from DigitalPoint.com. It shows how often people are searching for phrases related to your business idea.

8.You should also analyze the available research data. There are several professional organizations which gather data on a wide variety of subjects. Here a few starting points:

National Small Business Association
http://www.nsba.biz/

Nua Internet Surveys
http://www.nua.ie/surveys/

Forrester Research
http://www.forrester.com

National Association for the Self-Employed
http://www.nase.org/

National Foundation of Women Business Owners
http://www.nfwbo.org/

National Federation of Independent Business
http://www.nfib.com/

9.Research businesses in your surrounding area in order to size up the competition. Look for ways you can gain a business advantage over your competitors. Ask yourself how your business will be better and different.
Visit your competitors online. To speed up online searches, utilize Dogpile's multiple search capabilities. Dogpile queries the top engines for your search term and returns the top 10 listings for each.
http://www.dogpile.com

10.Define the operation of your business. Here are some key questions you should answer:

- What skills and experience do you bring into the business?
- What are your fixed costs and expenses?
- How long will it take to make a profit?
- What laws do you need to comply with?
- If you need financing where will you get it?
- Do you need insurance coverage specific to your business?
- What will be the legal structure of your business?

11.For help with these questions try these resources:

Budget Calculator
http://www.homebiztools.com/startup.htm

Start-up tutorial by the Small Business Administration
http://www.sba.gov/starting_business/startup/basics.html

Free email counseling from SCORE
http://www.score.org/

12.With the information gathered from the steps above, you now have the means to begin writing a comprehensive business and marketing plan. For help in this area try the resources and software available at:
http://www.bplans.com
http://www.sba.gov/starting_business/planning/basic.html

At the root level, the small business owner has a burning desire to succeed, a "never quit" attitude, and the ability to attract and implement needed resources. All you have to do is throw your research and planning into the mix and you're well on your way to a successful business.

If this post would help you,please leave some comment or you can visit my blog at Business Guides for more info about business.i m here just try to help others!! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by louislim2: Sep 26 2006, 04:59 PM
ah_suknat
post Sep 26 2006, 02:13 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

thanks for sharing!

so what's your business idea?

rexis
post Sep 26 2006, 08:40 AM

*** 7-star status Old Bird ***
3,590 posts

very informative! Thanks.
ah_suknat
post Sep 26 2006, 09:06 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

i am gonna start my own ironing service business and partly nail art counter too here in uk,but lot's of obstacles,most of it is budget concern, the shop rent is damn expensive!...

the money available only enough to cover the expenses but not yet enough to cover the loss of starting business(1st 3 month)...there's no exit plan yet.

happy4ever
post Sep 26 2006, 10:27 AM

(✿◠‿◠) Queen of Love ⎝⏠⏝⏠⎠
7,194 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Sep 26 2006, 09:06 AM)
i am gonna start my own ironing service business and partly nail art counter too here in uk,but lot's of obstacles,most of it is budget concern, the shop rent is damn expensive!...

the money available only enough to cover the expenses but not yet enough to cover the loss of starting business(1st 3 month)...there's no exit plan yet.
Got niche market for this? First time I hear got such a service, which normally provided by laundrette service rite?

I'm going for a new redefined webhosting services thats affordable to the masses, even students (particularly for adsense focused people who need many domain names and websites for internetworking with each other to boost site ranking)

In addition, I'm going to sell stainless steel jewelry online as well. Zero overhead cost, and I earn 8% to 10% from profit of sales...coz all bourne by my fren who's selling it at a flea market!

All the best to you! Dont forget to share your success here ya icon_rolleyes.gif

ah_suknat
post Sep 26 2006, 11:45 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(happy4ever @ Sep 26 2006, 10:27 AM)
Got niche market for this? First time I hear got such a service, which normally provided by laundrette service rite?

I'm going for a new redefined webhosting services thats affordable to the masses, even students (particularly for adsense focused people who need many domain names and websites for internetworking with each other to boost site ranking)

In addition, I'm going to sell stainless steel jewelry online as well. Zero overhead cost, and I earn 8% to 10% from profit of sales...coz all bourne by my fren who's selling it at a flea market!

All the best to you! Dont forget to share your success here ya  icon_rolleyes.gif
thanks for the wish!

not really understand your business bout the domain thing, i am not really an IT guy, anyway, wish you luck too.

yeap, ironing service is usually offered as part of laundrette service but it's they charge more expensive, we will target on mainly ironing service only with delivery service provided, as you know guai lou very lazy one,(that's why take away service is popular here) they hate ironing, and if we can target the city working people and other uniform working people like the hospital and goverment servants, with good service and cheaper price compare to others, we should have a steady market. it's a good business coz quite low on capital start up. business turn over is low too.

the nail art part is just my hobby, wish to learn and earn at the same time.

still need to find a cheaper shop. or may be rent a house and do it as homebased business. cheaper rent, but it have to be situated near the main road so passer by can see the house easily....

really hope everythings work.better doing business then earning salary. no offence to those working on salary, i am just not employee type of people(having bad experience working with retard boss).
happy4ever
post Sep 26 2006, 12:42 PM

7,194 posts

haha...whenever i'm at my gf's house, she sure force me iron ALL her clothes! hahaha...too bad, i cant charge her for it!

Hmm, nail art. Suppose if u turn yr passion/hobby online, you may make money from there with little cost other than your time. Perhaps u can sell online too, so customers and see yr services online.
TSlouislim2
post Sep 26 2006, 04:58 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Sep 26 2006, 02:13 AM)
thanks for sharing!

so what's your business idea?
now i m manage cycber cafe,i open at sri petaling,salak selatan and bandar damai perdana!Now i m going global business by my own!! biggrin.gif
TSlouislim2
post Sep 26 2006, 05:05 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(happy4ever @ Sep 26 2006, 10:27 AM)

All the best to you! Dont forget to share your success here ya  icon_rolleyes.gif
hey man,this is a cool business,cost effort is very low,and get profit just open a 24/7 store online!how much is your advertising cost??just curious!! drool.gif
crazyconsumer
post Sep 26 2006, 07:40 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

In order to do business ..... only need one thing .... BALL$!

Lots of people talk but never do. Some people no money, still do. Most educated people are very risk calculated, afraid to lose.
happy4ever
post Sep 26 2006, 10:09 PM

7,194 posts

QUOTE(louislim2 @ Sep 26 2006, 05:05 PM)
hey man,this is a cool business,cost effort is very low,and get profit just open a 24/7 store online!how much is your advertising cost??just curious!! drool.gif
haha...small time biz only. Site not up yet, but soon once the payment gateways get sorted out.
Advertising cost...so far is nil. We use SEOs via search engine submissions, key words, and referrals, links to get the site up to 1st page (if possible). Takes a few months to populate all the search engines out there.

Cost of setting up the site, abt RM50 including domain name. Thats why everyone's on the net to make money. icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(crazyconsumer @ Sep 26 2006, 07:40 PM)
In order to do business ..... only need one thing .... BALL$!

Lots of people talk but never do. Some people no money, still do. Most educated people are very risk calculated, afraid to lose.
Yes, no risk no gain. smile.gif
TSlouislim2
post Sep 26 2006, 11:15 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(happy4ever @ Sep 26 2006, 10:09 PM)
haha...small time biz only. Site not up yet, but soon once the payment gateways get sorted out.
Advertising cost...so far is nil. We use SEOs via search engine submissions, key words, and referrals, links to get the site up to 1st page (if possible). Takes a few months to populate all the search engines out there.

Cost of setting up the site, abt RM50 including domain name. Thats why everyone's on the net to make money.  icon_idea.gif
Yes, no risk no gain. smile.gif
how about your webhosting?RM50 include all??if can you also recomand me!!!thanks biggrin.gif
happy4ever
post Sep 27 2006, 03:47 AM

7,194 posts

QUOTE(louislim2 @ Sep 26 2006, 11:15 PM)
how about your webhosting?RM50 include all??if can you also recomand me!!!thanks biggrin.gif
can. domain registration i chose aplus.net. If u dont have CC, i can register for you. Normal rate is USD8.2 inclusive of 0.25 ICANN fees. Convert to RM abt RM30++

Starter hosting is cheap and with add ons for u to topup according to your needs. So you dont have to buy what you dont use, and add in whenever you want it. Its like the prepaid/postpaid thingy, dollar per MB is higher than hostings like Exabytes, but low startup for low usage in storage plus flexibility makes up for it.

With the small overhead cost and flexibility, you can have many domain names and sites, that interlinks one another. Thats how some sites gets boosting on rankings due to the networking. You can have each site to cater to different issues/topics/interests.

PM me yr email and I'll mail you a quotation. The site is not up yet as I'm struggling to design it. My webdesign skills sux la.. hehe sweat.gif paiseh.
darun
post Sep 27 2006, 08:25 AM

978 posts

Here's another piece of advice. Keep your accounting in tabs and accurate. The last thing you want is not getting a correct view of how much you spend vs how much you earned. I'm talking about small businesses here of course, where you cannot afford to have an accountant. It sounds like a trivial task but it is not. It helps a lot if you can get a software to keep track of you inventory and accounts.
TSlouislim2
post Sep 27 2006, 04:09 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(darun @ Sep 27 2006, 08:25 AM)
Here's another piece of advice.  Keep your accounting in tabs and accurate.  The last thing you want is not getting a correct view of how much you spend vs how much you earned.  I'm talking about small businesses here of course, where you cannot afford to have an accountant.  It sounds like a trivial task but it is not.  It helps a lot if you can get a software to keep track of you inventory and accounts.
ya,you are right!!!anyway,thanks !! biggrin.gif
Kimmy
post Sep 28 2006, 01:57 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Sep 26 2006, 03:45 AM)
thanks for the wish!

not really understand your business bout the domain thing, i am not really an IT guy, anyway, wish you luck too.

yeap, ironing service is usually offered as part of laundrette service but it's they charge more expensive, we will target on mainly ironing service only with delivery service provided, as you know guai lou very lazy one,(that's why take away service is popular here) they hate ironing, and if we can target the city working people and other uniform working people like the hospital and goverment servants, with good service and cheaper price compare to others, we should have a steady market. it's a good business coz quite low on capital start up. business turn over is low too.

the nail art part is just my hobby, wish to learn and earn at the same time.

still need to find a cheaper shop. or may be rent a house and do it as homebased business. cheaper rent, but it have to be situated near the main road so passer by can see the house easily....

really hope everythings work.better doing business then earning salary. no offence to those working on salary, i am just not employee type of people(having bad experience working with retard boss).
If I were you, I will start with the homebased business as you said the shop rental is far too expensive for you as a starter. Of course you will be thinking ppl might not see the service you provided. But, you can always do the flyer and send it out to ppl.. or advertised on the local shops (you know like those kedai runcit, take away shops).. this ppl are usually lazy ppl. smile.gif Oh yes, one more thing.. you can also advertised on tesco notice board, if you notice you will see a board on every tesco. Worth a try.. smile.gif

Once things are ok and stable.. you can easily get a shop anywhere in the town centre.
hans.excel
post Sep 28 2006, 09:26 AM

401 posts

there are also periodicals that you can advertise. the cost is cheaper compare to newspaper. with less cost, you can get a quite large ad space and you can advertise for a week or so. the fall back is that the coverage is not large compare to newspapers or magazines.
andyxp
post Sep 28 2006, 10:54 AM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

i am planning to start my own car wash service at my neighbourhood.... but most of my friends are discouraging me...

i dont blame them because i also think that the people in the place that i stay (bukit damansara) might not even let me wash their cars.

i am not planning to setup a car wash centre but rather a mobile car wash service (together with vacumming). 2 options, they come to my house and i wash their cars or I go to their house and wash their cars ('armed' with pails, soap and plenty of cloth)

what do you guys think?
SUSspanker
post Sep 28 2006, 12:44 PM

Custom Made e-Penis
7,606 posts

QUOTE(andyxp @ Sep 28 2006, 10:54 AM)
i am planning to start my own car wash service at my neighbourhood.... but most of my friends are discouraging me...

i dont blame them because i also think that the people in the place that i stay (bukit damansara) might not even let me wash their cars.

i am not planning to setup a car wash centre but rather a mobile car wash service (together with vacumming). 2 options, they come to my house and i wash their cars or I go to their house and wash their cars ('armed' with pails, soap and plenty of cloth)

what do you guys think?
I think it's all about how you package your service. I don't see anything wrong with what you have to offer though, in fact i think it's a good idea.
happy4ever
post Sep 28 2006, 02:14 PM

7,194 posts

There was on guy who did this:
At his apartment, he offered to take the trash for everyone at his block for a small fee. In due time, he began collecting trash for his neighbours to throw at the larger bin below, and it grew until he covered the whole apartment. he will set specific time of collection, and each unit just leave the bags at the open.
Later he hired boys to collect for himself, leaving him free to venture into other areas.

Moral, when you do a business, you need hands on. Later on, leverage it by getting the right ppl to do the job for you, so you can focus more on growing your business rather than operating it by yourself.

Washing car for your neighbours is good. You can allow them to set appointment for you to wash it at their convenience. So far no one has done it. Next you can hire people to cover more homes! biggrin.gif

0.0216sec    1.05    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:25 AM