The Official Lowyat.NET Sintua Thread, A thread on Chinese folk religion.

prince_mk
post Aug 23 2015, 09:53 AM

2,679 posts

Hi i m new here. Previously from the Ghost Experience Stories thread. Coincidentally found this thread. Love this thread too. Keep up. Just finished page 4
prince_mk
post Aug 23 2015, 03:12 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Dec 28 2014, 07:47 AM)
Greetings, Lowyat/Kopitiam goers. smile.gif
I'm a lifelong Klang resident, and a long-time enthusiast/practitioner/student of Chinese folk religion and ritual activities (the 'sintua [神坛] scene', as some call it). I primarily associate with the Hell deities, such as Elder and Second Brother [大二爷伯, also known as the 黑白无常 or Black and White Ghosts], and Hell-related topics are where I am most knowledgeable; however, I do pray to several Heavenly gods, as well.
The sintua scene is so vibrant and widespread in Malaysia; I was thinking of starting a discussion thread about it here, so that fellow sintua buffs might be able to discuss this wonderful aspect of Chinese culture. A lot of misconceptions, ignorant beliefs, etc concerning the sintua scene have been going around; perhaps this thread can be used as an educational tool. I'm more than happy to answer questions, clarify facts and so on.
Pics related; the first is me at the temple I normally attend, and the second is me worshipping at home. Let's hear it from all the other sintua people here! biggrin.gif
Hello Nacht. love to see all these from you.

hope to hear more frm you. pls upload more photo esp when you dressed up like second brother.
prince_mk
post Aug 30 2015, 12:37 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ Feb 12 2015, 05:28 PM)
Can you post details about the common Thai occult worship? I always see some altars have a lady with snake-like hand posture. Wondering who or what is she?
sorry Natch. if you dont mind, i side track abit.

Nang Kwak is represented as a beautiful woman wearing a red dress (not always, but more often than other colors) fashioned in the Thai. She also wears a golden crown on her head and is in the sitting or kneeling position. Her right hand is raised in the Thai way of beckoning a customer, with the palm of the hand pointing downwards. Her left hand is resting on her side or holds a bag full of gold on her lap.

The present iconographic figure of Nang Kwak evolved from Mae Po Sop (แม่โพสพ), the Siamese rice goddess,[1] in recent times. The only difference is that she is not wearing the harvested rice sheaf on her right shoulder. The iconography of these goddesses is based in the Hindu goddess Sri Lakshmi, but their true origins are local and more ancient.

Nang Kwak is a benevolent spirit. She is deemed to bring luck, especially in the form of money, to the household. She is the patron Deity of all Merchants and Salesmen and can be seen in almost every business establishment in Thailand[4]

Thai people like to have a figurine or cloth poster (called a Pha Yant,or Yantra Cloth) of this goddess in their home or shop, where it is often placed by the shrine. Some people also wear amulets with her figure around the neck, which is a logical development, due to the fact that many people in Thailand must travel around to sell their wares, which makes a portable nang Kwak amulet the obvious choice for such a person.

Attached image(s)
prince_mk
post Aug 30 2015, 12:47 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Feb 18 2015, 08:47 PM)
My New Year garments have arrived on time - special thanks to sales.convenience for helping me obtain them.

Bidding all and sundry a happy and prosperous Year of the Goat - 祝朋友们大吉大利, 万事如意!  notworthy.gif

nice costume. do you get trance also ? and how long do you put on the costume?

prince_mk
post Sep 6 2015, 10:34 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Mar 3 2015, 09:04 PM)
The Five Ghosts serve the Hell deities alone, Joey. They have zero involvement with the Heavenly side of things. Heavenly gods have their own, non-undead/non-ghostly helpers.

That being said, you have the right idea; they are assistants both soldierly and clerical, who also do things like shine their masters' shoes and make their tea.  tongue.gif
I observed normal god temple does display five ghosts on their alter. But seem you said they only serving hell deity, why they display five ghost on the alter?
prince_mk
post Sep 11 2015, 07:53 AM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Mar 11 2015, 09:12 PM)
Alright already. Let's not turn this into a Guai Tan discussion thread. tongue.gif
Ia there any Quai Tan thread ? I am a big fan of Quai Tan.

Btw can give any other programme name besides Quai Tan aired in HK? coz i dont read Chinese characters. Difficult for me to find out. I managed to find some spooky radio stations in HK. Will share later.
prince_mk
post Sep 11 2015, 11:00 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(sales.convenience @ Mar 16 2015, 08:45 PM)
anybody keen on abit of thai-buddism ?
I m okay as long as abt heaven or hell deities. Make it more interesting and variety.
prince_mk
post Sep 11 2015, 11:18 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Mar 25 2015, 11:40 PM)
The Nine Emperors are beings of great cosmic power, whose bombastic energy, akin to nuclear fire, would not be tolerable for prolonged periods.

Under normal circumstances, their images are kept within sealed chambers, behind heavy curtains or closed doors (see first picture below).

During their festival days, however, their images are revealed with great pomp and ceremony (the second picture is a statue of the second of the Nine Emperors).

He is the 9th Emperor? Can confirm. How come such photo can be leaked out? Just curious

prince_mk
post Sep 12 2015, 07:33 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(sales.convenience @ May 13 2015, 01:30 PM)
Tales of the mysterious Toa Payoh God Tree

It is believed to be more than 100 years old. It was approximately six storeys tall.

The tree collapsed on Sept. 11 2013 at around 2 p.m. during a storm.

Urban legend has it that when work began to develop Toa Payoh New Town in 1965, the bulldozers sent to flatten the area allegedly malfunctioned when they approached the tree.
The history

The bulldozers could only move in reverse, but not forward towards the tree.

Religious leaders offered prayers to the tree but it “refused” to budge.

The authorities then decided to leave the tree alone.

Residents believe the government took the tree into consideration when planning Toa Payoh town’s layout.

The initial plan to build a long row of shophouses was abandoned. Instead, the government split the development in two to accommodate the ficus.
Current buildup
info cr. mothership.sg
photos by me
Is this temple still there? Thinking of visiting this temple

prince_mk
post Sep 12 2015, 07:38 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Sep 12 2015, 06:09 AM)
He is the second, not the ninth; I said as much in that post of mine.

Leaked? What do you mean, 'leaked'? As long as you ask nicely before you do so, and as long as you obtain approval, any deity can be photographed and the photos made public.
Nach, i wonder can get the Nineth Emperor photo? Really thought of seeing him. Some people said he is headless. What do u think?
prince_mk
post Sep 14 2015, 05:47 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Sep 14 2015, 11:19 AM)
I can most unequivocally assure you that none of the Nine Emperors are headless.

Awesome Nach. I would assume the rightmost is the Nineth Emperor.
prince_mk
post Sep 14 2015, 08:46 PM

2,679 posts

Nacht, lately my career luck was not so good and smooth. friendship is fading too. just wonder what can I do to enhance my luck?

can i do so by worshipping to the elders?
prince_mk
post Sep 14 2015, 08:48 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Sep 12 2015, 07:27 PM)
The Seventh Month has now come to a close.

May the spirits return peacefully to the Netherworld and someday attain salvation.

how abt another elder ? should get in pair, then it would be very intersting.

btw i wonder would you dress like this at your sifu temple when there is a trance or special day? rolleyes.gif
prince_mk
post Sep 23 2015, 09:38 AM

2,679 posts

Just back frm praying the four face budha. So crowded in Bangkok. Prayed alot
prince_mk
post Oct 6 2015, 12:33 PM

2,679 posts

anyone planning to on vege for coming week - Nine Emperor festival?
prince_mk
post Feb 18 2016, 07:31 AM

2,679 posts

Nice photo.
prince_mk
post Feb 23 2016, 05:40 PM

2,679 posts

If someone is not in good health this year, who can we pray for and where?
prince_mk
post Feb 23 2016, 07:30 PM

2,679 posts

I mean i just wan change my health luck.
prince_mk
post Feb 24 2016, 04:43 PM

2,679 posts

I m ok. Got see doc.
prince_mk
post Feb 27 2016, 11:13 PM

2,679 posts

I prayed to tai shui alrdy lately. Offended tai shui too. How abt u