The Official Lowyat.NET Sintua Thread, A thread on Chinese folk religion.
flintfrostfire
Apr 24 2016, 10:31 AM
Hi Nachtsider, longtime lurker here, this thread has always been a thoroughly fascinating read. Thank you for your various commentaries/providing us with insight into sintua worship. I would identify myself as Buddhist, but have a strong spiritual affinity with Guan Yin as a personal guardian of sorts since childhood. Faith is intrinsically personal and inexplicable, and there have been many, many instances where my prayers have carried me through trying times. Recently got to know of Cundi and Matsu worship as well. Are these goddesses various emanations/aspects of Guan Yin, or different beings altogether? I was recently in a temple in Petaling Street where I saw a Cundi idol being worshipped alongside Thousand-Armed Guan Yin, thus sparking my curiosity. My grandma has always worshipped Matsu, so I'd like to carry on the family tradition of honouring the goddess. Thanks
flintfrostfire
Apr 30 2016, 07:27 AM
QUOTE(nachtsider @ Apr 25 2016, 07:53 PM) Hello Flint, my gratitude goes out to you, rather, for your viewership and interest. Don't be a stranger; feel absolutely free to drop whatever comments and questions on the topic that come to mind. My door is always open.  I'm overjoyed to hear of your close relationship with Guan Yin; may you know no less than a lifetime of sacred bliss in her care. My late maternal grandfather was the family's die-hard Guan Yin devotee; my allegiances lie elsewhere, as you no doubt know by now, but I deeply respect her and continue to maintain the altar he set up in her honour. Below is its centrepiece - a Guan Yin statue that has been with us for more than fifty years.  Zhun Di and Guan Yin are two similar female aspects of the sexless Avalokitesvara. I regard them as being sisters of sorts, which isn't entirely wrong, I would think. While Guan Yin personifies compassion, Zhun Di symbolises enlightenment, wisdom and courage. She is a more dynamic and martial individual than Guan Yin, signified by the fact that she can often be seen wielding divine weapons and making sacred mudras with her hands to shield/protect her followers, actively ward off evil and dispel the dark clouds of doubt. By contrast, Guan Yin is a strict pacifist.  Ma Zu is an entirely different goddess with no connection to either of the abovementioned Bodhisattvas. I have spoken about her earlier in the thread; here is the relevant post: Ahh, I see. I recall reading somewhere that the Guan Yin temple in Pitt Street, Penang started off primarily as a Mazu temple, thus wondered bout the connection. Thank you for your reply, and for sharing that lovely statue of Guan Yin with us. (: