The Official Lowyat.NET Sintua Thread, A thread on Chinese folk religion.

conxtion
post Oct 5 2021, 12:32 AM

245 posts

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ji_Gong
conxtion
post Oct 5 2021, 12:34 AM

245 posts

Anyone's temple here celebrating Nine Emperor Gods festival?
estcin
post Oct 5 2021, 08:43 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(conxtion @ Oct 5 2021, 12:34 AM)
Anyone's temple here celebrating Nine Emperor Gods festival?
Ampang
conxtion
post Oct 18 2021, 02:13 AM

245 posts

Seems very low key and uneventful celebration this year. Didn't even rain much.
empire
post Oct 30 2021, 09:16 PM

2,549 posts

wow I baru saw this amazing thread.
mindwarpe
post Nov 14 2021, 12:03 AM

40 posts

me too. just saw this thread. so much to read.
i feel its important to preserve this practice . also these kind of content quite lacking in english language.. any friends here willing to shoot a documentary with me?

do PM me smile.gif

recently been reading - Voices from the Underworld: Chinese Hell deity worship in contemporary Singapore and Malaysia.
putra23
post Nov 26 2021, 04:55 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(mindwarpe @ Nov 14 2021, 12:03 AM)
me too. just saw this thread. so much to read.
i feel its important to preserve this practice . also these kind of content quite lacking in english language..  any friends here willing to shoot a documentary with me?

do PM me smile.gif

recently been reading - Voices from the Underworld: Chinese Hell deity worship in contemporary Singapore and Malaysia.
Kind enough to share share some of what you read here?
empire
post Nov 26 2021, 05:04 PM

2,549 posts

Let's keep this thread alive
mindwarpe
post Dec 3 2021, 02:26 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(putra23 @ Nov 26 2021, 04:55 PM)
Kind enough to share share some of what you read here?
mainly about the DI YA PEK character channeled thru a tang ki (medium) - or i think some call it hei bai wu chang.
so talk about how this guy can become a medium how he inherited it..or more like how he was 'chosen'

"Underworld altars in Singapore and Malaysia are dominated by Tua Ya Pek
(Great Grand Elder) and Di Ya Pek (Second Grand Elder), the deities whose
original human names were Xie Bian and Fan Wujiu"

notable temples in the book
yinfu tan in klang.

the comparison with sg temples abit too much for me to digest ler.
putra23
post Feb 22 2022, 11:00 AM

654 posts

Research paper on Datuk Kong...

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/29...p_of_Datuk_Gong

empire
post Feb 23 2022, 01:10 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(putra23 @ Feb 22 2022, 11:00 AM)
Nice article. In my area, I didnt see any Datok Gong shrine....so 1 day I looked out of my balcony, and said: is there a datok Gong here? After a few seconds, I heard a voice...a very old voice saying ' Yes, ada'. ohmy.gif So I bought a Datok Gong 'Papan' to pray to that Datok Gong.

This post has been edited by empire: Feb 24 2022, 01:49 PM
empire
post Feb 24 2022, 01:49 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(The_Rock @ Feb 26 2021, 09:57 AM)
I will start new thread with new dupe.
Bro, can you start a new thread now?
The_Rock
post Feb 24 2022, 07:58 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Feb 24 2022, 01:49 PM)
Bro, can you start a new thread now?
Can. Wait I register new dupe
The_Rock
post Feb 24 2022, 07:59 PM

451 posts

A lot of temples now closed. Some are open but we as chinese still go pray for health and wealth regardless what happen
empire
post Feb 24 2022, 11:09 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(The_Rock @ Feb 24 2022, 07:59 PM)
A lot of temples now closed. Some are open but we as chinese still go pray for health and wealth regardless what happen
good to know you are opening new thread. May I know why you need a new account to do this?
The_Rock
post Feb 25 2022, 09:52 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Feb 24 2022, 11:09 PM)
good to know you are opening new thread. May I know why you need a new account to do this?
I talk cock nonsense a lot in kopitiam. Later people come kecam me
empire
post Feb 25 2022, 10:55 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(The_Rock @ Feb 25 2022, 09:52 AM)
I talk cock nonsense a lot in kopitiam. Later people come kecam me
hahaha ok.
nihility
post Feb 25 2022, 11:01 AM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Feb 23 2022, 01:10 AM)
Nice article. In my area, I didnt see any Datok Gong shrine....so 1 day I looked out of my balcony, and said: is there a datok Gong here? After a few seconds, I heard a voice...a very old voice saying ' Yes, ada'.  ohmy.gif So I bought a Datok Gong 'Papan' to pray to that Datok Gong.
You are gifted with the "3rd eye" & selected by the guardian ?
The_Rock
post Feb 25 2022, 11:31 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Feb 25 2022, 10:55 AM)
hahaha ok.
Thanks for understanding
The_Rock
post Feb 25 2022, 11:32 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Feb 25 2022, 11:01 AM)
You are gifted with the "3rd eye" & selected by the guardian ?
Sometime the GoOD wants you to see him sure you will have the feeling to see

146 Pages « < 142 143 144 145 146 >Top

0.0239sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:18 AM