The Official Lowyat.NET Sintua Thread, A thread on Chinese folk religion.
Dec 2 2017, 03:26 PM
0 posts Joined: Nov 2017 |
Dec 2 2017, 05:44 PM
403 posts Joined: Dec 2014 From: Klang |
Dec 2 2017, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(davidwkw71 @ Dec 2 2017, 03:25 PM) Hi Nacht, another ritual using the dragon method. Check out the purple light, does it look like something or am I just imagining. I don't believe that otherworldly beings can be caught on camera or otherwise captured using mortal technology. |
Dec 2 2017, 10:31 PM
Dec 3 2017, 10:19 AM
Dec 3 2017, 06:38 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
862 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
Not sure if this is related. Anyone has pixiu/ tianlu?
Dec 3 2017, 10:02 PM
Dec 4 2017, 06:35 PM
Hey Nacht, suddenly rmb during kew ong ya (9 emperor festival).
1.Usually theres a day where we will walk across the "ping an bridge" for peace. Its like a short makeshift bridge to symbolize crossing over troubled waters. Than at the end of the bridge we will throw a coin into a pail. Is there a reason for doing that? Any meaning behind it? 2. I also heard the 9 emperor festival even tho it originated from fujian province in china, its actually not celebrated in China or Taiwan? Any truth to that? And also if this is true do china and taiwan people still worship Doumu and the 9 emperors but maybe don't have the festival like we do here? I know chinese in thailand also got celebrate kew ong ya. But they call it a separate thai name. So is it a unique south east asian festival? 3. Is the queen mother of the west (xi wang mu) a strictly taoist goddess or do people in the sintua circles revere her too? I go many temple but it seems i don't really see her around too much. She seem only to be in those formal Taoist ceremonies or the occasional Buddhist temple art. Why don't many people talk about her like people talk about tua pek gong and guanyin? Also i know many women reverer her and also people wanting long life because she guards the longevity peaches. But is there any other aspects of her people look up to? Thanks again! |
Dec 5 2017, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(davidwkw71 @ Dec 3 2017, 10:02 PM) This would be none other than Jin Ying Zu Shi/金英祖师He was a divine child prodigy. In ancient Jiang Su Province, born and raised; mastered the scriptures and canons at the age of three, developed mystical powers by the time he was seven. Saved entire towns from epidemics and droughts before ascending to the heavens on a multicoloured cloud, still not quite eight years old. ![]() ![]() |
Dec 5 2017, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(raggen @ Dec 4 2017, 06:35 PM) Hey Nacht, suddenly rmb during kew ong ya (9 emperor festival). 1. The tossed coin is symbolic payment for the bridge-crossing service.1.Usually theres a day where we will walk across the "ping an bridge" for peace. Its like a short makeshift bridge to symbolize crossing over troubled waters. Than at the end of the bridge we will throw a coin into a pail. Is there a reason for doing that? Any meaning behind it? 2. I also heard the 9 emperor festival even tho it originated from fujian province in china, its actually not celebrated in China or Taiwan? Any truth to that? And also if this is true do china and taiwan people still worship Doumu and the 9 emperors but maybe don't have the festival like we do here? I know chinese in thailand also got celebrate kew ong ya. But they call it a separate thai name. So is it a unique south east asian festival? 3. Is the queen mother of the west (xi wang mu) a strictly taoist goddess or do people in the sintua circles revere her too? I go many temple but it seems i don't really see her around too much. She seem only to be in those formal Taoist ceremonies or the occasional Buddhist temple art. Why don't many people talk about her like people talk about tua pek gong and guanyin? Also i know many women reverer her and also people wanting long life because she guards the longevity peaches. But is there any other aspects of her people look up to? Thanks again! 2. China is now a Communist country and Communist countries list atheism as their official religious stance. They do not approve of organised religion of any kind. Sintua practices of ALL KINDS are thus virtually extinct in China, not just the Nine Emperor Gods festival. It is not true that Taiwan does not revere the Nine Emperors at all; they are worshiped in some little enclaves in northern and central Taiwan, but they remain eclipsed in popularity by Ma Zu and other deities. 3. There are definitely certain deities that are paid less attention to than others. As I have mentioned earlier, the higher up the ladder you go, the less involved the deities become with mortal affairs, and they thus become less relevant to devotees' daily worship. Xi Wang Mu is one of these deities. She is definitely revered by the sintua crowd, as well, but not to the extent that Guan Yin and Tua Pek Gong are, of course. She is revered for being a matron of women and upholder of women's rights. |
Dec 7 2017, 11:27 PM
Dec 7 2017, 11:39 PM
Dec 12 2017, 11:12 AM
446 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Malaysia |
Recently saw a chinese drama - 三生三世十里桃花 (English: Eternal Love) This talks about the love for 3 lives that the main characters have, but the setting is based on Chinese Folk religion, quite fascinating to see actually, mainly on heavenly deities like the heavenly tribe who are actually dragons, and there is the 9-tails fox tribe who are foxes and the phoenix tribe, and how they work their way up the heavenly hierarchy to become celestial beings. There's also loose mentioning of 佛祖,三清,太上老君,灵宝天尊 and various dragon deities that govern the 4 seas and 5 plains.
They also talk about how when a celestial being is cast to earth as mortals, they are either living a punishment or here to experience life n death (this echos the chinese folk believe of how someone is an incarnation of certain celestial being) and the example of 1 day in heaven is the equivalent of 1 year in mortal life so that could explain why when we talk about the heavenly or hell deities they are always in ancient chinese costume Although I know it is fiction, but they explained the storyline so well like it really happens that way up there. This post has been edited by audreyreiko: Dec 12 2017, 11:15 AM |
Dec 12 2017, 08:28 PM
Dec 13 2017, 10:22 AM
446 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Malaysia |
Dec 13 2017, 12:22 PM
35 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(counselor @ Dec 13 2017, 10:25 AM) Hello Nacht, Have you heard of the Broga Sak Dato Temple (石拿督庙)? deity looks like a dato kong to meI went there on Monday. Someone ask me to pray to the middle Deity at the main hall (Please refer to the picture). Also ask me to burn a lot of papers for the Deity. If you do know about that Deity there, can explain a bit to me? Thanks |
Dec 13 2017, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(counselor @ Dec 13 2017, 10:25 AM) Hello Nacht, Have you heard of the Broga Sak Dato Temple (石拿督庙)? I can barely see anything in that photo of yours.I went there on Monday. Someone ask me to pray to the middle Deity at the main hall (Please refer to the picture). Also ask me to burn a lot of papers for the Deity. If you do know about that Deity there, can explain a bit to me? Thanks Do you have a close up, or at least a description of what he looks like? |
Dec 15 2017, 08:55 PM
5 posts Joined: Dec 2017 |
Dec 17 2017, 07:41 AM
Dec 17 2017, 10:41 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
862 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
Recently have been hit with many bad luck. Lost of money, car broke down, health issues, lost of business opportunity.
I wonder what went wrong & what should i do... |
| Change to: | 0.0361sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:42 PM |